Street, MD 
Scarboro Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 166ft.   3 / 166ft.   3 / 166ft.   3 / 166ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red/Blue Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
an absolute treat!

1    5/9/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
Pros: wow, where to start?
super well manicured grass fairways. excellent mix of long distance and short (sometimes long) technical shots through the woods.
a brief flirting with the babbling brook.
wonderful elevation change!
also the rough, when you did end up off the fairway was "rough" but not debilitating or prison like.
almost ALL the pins were in the LONG position when i played, which makes a tremendous difference. i can see how the SHORT positions would be rather easy. and the middle positions would benefit the throwers that max out at 350 feet.
great tee pads, 2 on almost every hole!!
accurate signage. first time playing and no issues navigating course :)
Cons: there is a mysterious muddy patch by the practice basket on the way to hole one. that said, i played the entire course without a towel and didnt have any real problems.
there were probably a couple too many big wide open holes (though with long pins, the basket was still nestled 30+ feet in the trees).
i guess this place being in the middle of nowhere is hardly a pro.....
Other Thoughts: i have played courses all over the country in past 15 years and was extremely impressed with this disc golf only facility that is well maintained and FREE.
granted, the top pro players would almost certainly tear this place up with their casual 450 foot drives.
however, you are not one of those 2 dozen people reading this, are you ;)?

New Year, New Course

1    1/3/2013   1/3/2013
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find right off Rt.1. Great Signage. Wonderful layout. Multiple Teepads. Easily navigated without a map. Great mix of open and wooded holes. Great maintenance and upkeep. Mandos and fairways are pretty well defined. Nice challenge and opportunity to throw lots of different shots. Super nice locals. Baskets are in good condition and tee pads were stable and not slippery despite some snow and general wetness left around.
Cons: I find it a little hard to find many cons. Some of the wooded fairways tend to be very narrow, and some lines are hard to pick out from the tee, but I personally enjoy these aspects especially in contrast to the open holes.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing this course, and I'm usually hesitant to write a review after only one or two run throughs. However, I was so impressed with the course I was compelled to express it. Scarboro was a bit of a hike for me as I am located right outside of Philadelphia, but it was definitely worth my time and gas money. I have the privilege to play Tyler and Iron Hill often and tend to compare most courses to these standards and I would definitely place Scarboro right alongside both. The fun factor was definitely there throughout and the course never felt like it was a chore to navigate or play. There were a good variety of hole lengths and everything flowed nicely. All in all Scarboro was a great course to play and an even better way to start of a new year. Thanks to locals for the warm welcome as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A Hidden Gem

1    8/2/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: Jnewcomb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Excellent Pin Placements
-Multiple Tee Pads
-Ace Run Placements
-Multiple Styles of Holes
-Disc Golf Only Park (No risk of hitting walkers)
Cons: -Some blind tee shots make it difficult if you are new to the course.
-Few Gunner (400'+) Holes (not an issue for me)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with some great holes. Open Fields with cut fairways. Wooded holes with good shooting lanes cut through them. Wooded holes with tight placement lines. It is a must play!!!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Us Tubes
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes. Some were wide open, others were literally carved out of moderatly dense woods. Even some good elevation changes. No water hazards, and its not that easy to lose a disc.
Cons: "no mow" areas or "ob" grass was pretty high, and for a few wild throws I spent a few minutes trekking through 2+ foot tall grass looking for my plastic.
Other Thoughts: I must say this course is my new favorite course... and that says a lot. Even for a new guy like me, the difficult highly wooded holes were challenging yet fun. Unlike some parks there wasnt anyone there who wasnt playing golf, or being in your way of throwing, no derelicts awkwardly sitting in their car feet from the course. No strange people in the way of playing any holes. Grass was cut unlike some courses (druid) Very clean, no litter. Excellently maintained. Relaxing, serene setting, with VERY friendly locals who pitch in to keep the course looking great... Keep it up guys! A++

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.