Street, MD
Scarboro Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 267ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 267ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Red Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

5+    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Public course with a private course feel as the park is used just for disc golf.
-Multiple tees (all in good condition) for many holes, multiple pin positions which are moved often.
-Nice variety of shots, especially when the pins are all in their longest positions and nice mix of wooded and open holes.
-Really well maintained park
Cons: -There are a couple of holes i struggle to enjoy, In particular, 14 & 15 which feel very much like a chore throwing straight down and then throwing back up. I also don't like that stopping your disc near the pin on 14 is largely a matter of luck.
Other Thoughts: I went back an forth on how to rate this course. I've played it a lot and how much i enjoy it depends largely on the layout. When all the pins are in the long position as they have been of late, I enjoy this course a great deal and would give it a solid 4 or maybe even a 4.5. when all the positions are short, the front 9 is very pitch and putt i enjoy it much less and find it very average. Overall, I think the 3.5 is accurate and reflects that this is a solid course and one i am happy to have in my regular rotation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/11/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: bradharris
Played: 68  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Harford County Parks and Rec Department is really showing some love for disc golf with this course. They have dedicated this land exclusively for disc golf and keep it very clean and well maintained. This level of dedication is rare from parks departments.

The course itself uses the terrain well, featuring a nice mix of wooded holes with tough but fair fairways, and more open holes that emphasize placement.

With dual tees on each hole, the course is playable by a large range of skill levels. The shorter tees shorten most holes and provide easier lines. The longer tees add distance and tougher lines that can really change more experienced players.

Minimal OB is used primarily to address potential safety issues and to restrict play to park property rather than neighboring yards.
Cons: Some of the longer open holes can get repetitive. They mostly feature a long tee shot over a field to a protected pin beyond the tree line. This is a good test of placement, but is overused a bit on this course.

4 and 5 are very boring holes. The tee shot on each is basically a short upshot out in the open. Hole 4 in particular really feels like a filler hole.
Other Thoughts: It's really great to see a parks department with the dedication to create and maintain a park exclusively for disc golf. The local players seem to take a great deal of pride in what they have here, hopefully helping to foster a good relationship between the parks department and the disc golf community.

While I don't consider this an elite course (it does lack the wow-factor). It is still a very fun place to play. I always enjoy going out to Scarboro when I am in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

New Year, New Course

1    1/3/2013   1/3/2013
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find right off Rt.1. Great Signage. Wonderful layout. Multiple Teepads. Easily navigated without a map. Great mix of open and wooded holes. Great maintenance and upkeep. Mandos and fairways are pretty well defined. Nice challenge and opportunity to throw lots of different shots. Super nice locals. Baskets are in good condition and tee pads were stable and not slippery despite some snow and general wetness left around.
Cons: I find it a little hard to find many cons. Some of the wooded fairways tend to be very narrow, and some lines are hard to pick out from the tee, but I personally enjoy these aspects especially in contrast to the open holes.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing this course, and I'm usually hesitant to write a review after only one or two run throughs. However, I was so impressed with the course I was compelled to express it. Scarboro was a bit of a hike for me as I am located right outside of Philadelphia, but it was definitely worth my time and gas money. I have the privilege to play Tyler and Iron Hill often and tend to compare most courses to these standards and I would definitely place Scarboro right alongside both. The fun factor was definitely there throughout and the course never felt like it was a chore to navigate or play. There were a good variety of hole lengths and everything flowed nicely. All in all Scarboro was a great course to play and an even better way to start of a new year. Thanks to locals for the warm welcome as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Many More Pros Than Cons

1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a secluded, disc-golf-only park containing a good balance of wooded and more open holes. A porta pottie lies near the practice basket as you enter the course and a message board sits in the ground by hole #1. Every hole has a red (short) and blue (long) tee as well as two possible basket placements. Outstanding over-sized rubber tee pads surrounded by railroad ties/posts and good signage at each hole depicting basket placement, disc flight path and distance. Well-worn pathways make walking easier and huge green arrows between holes point to the next tee box. The field holes are mowed and nicely groomed. Elevation is ever-present and adds to the challenge of playing here. Decent hole variation, with hole 6 (steep drop-off behind the basket), hole 12 (long open downhill to a basket in the woods) and hole 14 (long, wooded downhill shot) particularly interesting.
Cons: More benches would be a help, as would bag poles at each tee box. Course doesn't feature many long distance holes that would appeal to the big guns. Some of the holes play relatively close together, making errant tee shots a possible concern. Rocky terrain prevents run-ups. Not a fan of the manufactured out-of-bounds- area around the basket on hole 1.
Other Thoughts: With rolling hills and much elevation throughout the course, The Scarboro Hills DG Course is aptly named. Much work has been done here- reconfiguration of several holes, improved tee boxes, grooming, etc. to improve the quality of play by the loyal local club. Scarboro has all the essentials of a good disc golfing experience plus enough variety to challenge all ability levels. Although there are only a couple of holes over 450 feet, and some pro/advanced players have bellyached over this, it didn't detract from my personal playing experience.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly Above-Average Course

1    3/10/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 3/22/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Overall, this course is a solid course. There is some elevation change, and a decent mix of open and wooded holes. The signage at the course helps to direct players with no course experience. The tee boxes at this point are all framed, with some gravel and fly pads to top them off. There are several easy ace runs, and a few uphill holes that are pretty tricky.
Cons: The course is not overly challenging. This is a true par-3 course for a high rated Am or Pro player, as the long holes are wide open and easy 3 opportunities. There are also a few holes whose tees are very close to one another, which would certainly cause issues with heavy traffic or tournament play.
Other Thoughts: I think the course has tremendous potential to be a championship-caliber course with some extensions to the holes, and some redesign. There is plentiful elevation change, yet only a few holes maximize the use of it. The course was designed with minimal risk-reward shots. Overall, I would rate this slightly lower than Druid Hill in Baltimore, but a good option for Harford Co residents. For being a "disc golf only park," I dealt with plenty of non-golfers who were meandering around the property.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hands Down A Great Course!!!

5+    8/7/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Mavrix
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A Great course for all skill levels! Has something for everyone, forces you to use every disc in your bag, challenges from every angle! Can't get enough of this course!!!
Cons: Cant think of a thing I don't like about Scarbs!
Other Thoughts: The layout is very well done, easy to navigate and fun to play!!!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  A Hidden Gem

1    8/2/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: Jnewcomb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Excellent Pin Placements
-Multiple Tee Pads
-Ace Run Placements
-Multiple Styles of Holes
-Disc Golf Only Park (No risk of hitting walkers)
Cons: -Some blind tee shots make it difficult if you are new to the course.
-Few Gunner (400'+) Holes (not an issue for me)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with some great holes. Open Fields with cut fairways. Wooded holes with good shooting lanes cut through them. Wooded holes with tight placement lines. It is a must play!!!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Getting close to perfection?

5+    7/30/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: Josh L
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scarboro Hills is an excellent disc golf course which is located in a very isolated park and makes good use of the lay of the land. The course is well maintained by the Parks and Rec department. The course has undergone a major overhaul since it's original installation and local club work can be seen in progress. Several weekly events take place during the week and year (tags, doubles, tournaments). The course is easy to follow as fairways are cut into the open fields. Plenty of risk and reward type shots can be found throughout the holes (multiple fairways in the wood holes and roughs in the open fields). Many of the holes have multiple tees (Blue/Red) and opportunity for other tees on holes with only single tees at the moment. While Scarboro Hills is a work in progress in some regards, it is still worth the trip as it offers so much.

Summary:
+Well maintained
+Multiple Pins
+Multiple tees (on most holes)
+Good mix of open and wood holes
+Club presence is obvious and work is making this course great
+Fairly easy to navigate
Cons: Scarboro Hills as stated above is a course that is always seeing work being done to improve it. But at this time there still is some things that have not been finished (but are obviously in the plans at some point). Some of the more obvious points is that not all the tees have been boxed and framed. Also the club has noted the complaints about the hill climb between holes 16 and 17 and are in the stages of discussing options. Again when this is implemented we may see a number of major changes and may be why some of the work seems unfinished at this time. Other issues that can be found at the course is being that it is a public park it is subject to the will of the Parks and Rec department of upkeep schedule. While fairways are maintained regularly, the roughs at times can become very deep (so keep an eye on your throws!) Other oddball type problems include limited parking (especially during tournaments) and the park itself is so isolated. It does in fact seem like you are driving down someones driveway to reach the course.

Summary:
-Course is in a standby of what the next major move will be
-Roughs (and other work) can be subject to the will/ability of the local Parks and Rec department (To my knowledge the local department is several men short on staff at this time)
-Can be difficult to find and is kinda out of the way unless it's a planned excursion to the course.
Other Thoughts: Scarboro Hills is a gem for sure. The work being done is making it a wish list to play for sure and you would be hard pressed not to enjoy the course if you make the trip. With so much promise in the future this course is sure to become just that much more top notch as the course is finalized after it's recreational roots.

Summary and notes:
~ Practice basket was stolen recently
~ Potential to become much better
~ Club work promises that changes and quality can be expected in not too distant future.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Remote and Refined

1    7/29/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Remote County park off the beaten path a little. This is a disc golf only course so there are no issues with other park users. Ample parking and a porta potty at the gate. Plenty of trash cans at the gate also. Pack it in, pack it out. Also plenty of benches spread out throughout the course.

Multiple pads and basket locations for each hole. Pads are either crushed gravel, or gravel with a rubber pad on top. All but one were in great condition. A new one was just finished while I was playing and the park employees said they are working to make sure all are done, and in great shape for an upcoming tournament.

Signs that show basket positions, distances and hole layout were adequate. Good signs and navigation also. I had no problems finding anything.

Perfectly mowed fairways with some rough and extra grass kept to about a foot high. Very well kept park.

This course has a private course feel to it. Even driving down the gravel road on the way in, I was thinking this course is located in a very cool spot for disc golf. I was not disappointed.

Good variety of shots needed on this course. It has a nice blend of open and wooded holes. It also has a few holes that start open, and then play into the woods. I think I used most discs in my bag to navigate the lefts, rights, up and downs here. Speaking of ups and downs. It uses elevation well, even though there isn't any huge hills around. Until you run into #16. Wow, it's an uphill disaster waiting to happen. It's steep and tight. It's followed by a cool downhill on 17. Very nice wooded hills for a non-mountain course.

I also never felt like there was a hole with the dreaded 'unfairway'. There was always a line to the basket, if you could hit it.
Cons: Not too much to complain about. Maybe there could be some longer holes for the big guns, but there is a 479' and pretty cool 509' hole.

Signs could be improved at tee pads.

There were two holes that used an old dirt road for the fairway. Might not really be a negative, but those fairways always bother me. Just my personal issue.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a must play course. If you get the chance and are traveling through Maryland, PA or Deleware take the scenic route, and play this course. It may not be quite as good as the best courses in Maryland, but it is simply fun. It has a great blend of ace runs, trees and elevation. I think it is the kind of course that plays really well for the average player. If you have a big arm, and feel the need to throw 400' on every hole then you may not like it. But if you want a great blend of tight ace runs and medium shots requiring line shaping skills, this is a really fun course. And hole 16 can just kick your butt.

With the care and maintenance that this course gets I could see this course continuing to improve. It is definitely one to add you your wish list if you haven't played it yet.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Can't wait to play again!!!

1    6/17/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: cmcrouse
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Creative hole layout. Hole placement made good use of the natural landscape. "B" holes are somewhat difficult, but the placement is extremely fun and created. Creative use of hyzers and anhyzer helps.
Cons: Missing one hole map, and there was a map that was drawn backwards.
Other Thoughts: Locals were friendly and informative. Hole 16 is a beast! A local called it buzz-kill hill. I would love to see someone make this hole in two.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.