Street, MD
Scarboro Hills Share
Uploaded By: Natural Hole #16 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 219ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Blue Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 i like

1    2/27/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: scarboro is a great fun course. everytime i take the hour drive to it i love it. the way the course is laid out is brilliant. i would suggest anyone go to this course
Cons: hole 16 and 17 are a lil unneccessary. its a major pain in the ass having to hike way up that damn hill. its very tiring. and then to have to go right back down with all those damn trees is ridiculous

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of Maryland's top 5

1    10/31/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NEW CHANGES IN LAYOUT=UPDATED RATING.
Course is well maintained and only occupied by disc golfers. Course looks and feels more like a PA or DE course with elevation changes and scenery.
Map available on line, but not really needed.
Multiple basket locations, many multiple tees.
Hole 1 has a novelty elevated basket and there is a practice basket.
Nice tee signs with hose clamps marking which tee position the basket is in.
good variety of shots required and enough elevation to give you a good work out.
Jrawk noticed there is a prefered layout. If you are only going to play once, play from what ever tee the signs are on instead of sticking with red or blue, those are usually the more fun tee.
even when there was a crowd for a tag tourney, there was plenty of room for all, no waiting.
Course seems like it would be great for tourneys because there are so many chances to catch up or blow a hole, you could gain or gain 2-3 strokes on your competition in one hole.
New trash bag dispenser at hole one to help keep the park clean.
The new hole added is a signature hole, great addition!
Cons: Course strongly favors right handed players.
Some very narrow areas may make the course far too difficult for new players. New players may need 6 throws on hole 3 where advance players can get an easy 2. Some ofthe wide open holes are too easy for the advanced players with wide open sub-300ft holes. (Can't please everyone with every hole)
Some OBs seemed arbitrary or to force you to play safe, they had nothing to do with safety or course upkeep. Hole 1 has some lame OB about a meter from the 10 meter circle.
I never saw a bathroom.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the top 5 courses in Maryland. It is worth playing, unfortunatley it is so far from everything. An air bounce took my disc over the trees and dropped it 2 feet from the basket on hole 15, other than that this course and the wind kicked my butt.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 scarby

2-4    10/8/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained
-17 is alot of fun...besides the climb up to it.
-navigation is fairly straightforward.
-seems like there is a dedicated group of people who play and work at this course
-interesting pin placement on hole 1. i like it.
-i liked the well defined mando on one of the holes (i forget which one...14, maybe?) but unlike most crappy mandos i've seen in the past it is well-defined. it's like a baseball foul pole. its a yellow pole about 30 feet long or so. thats a HUGE plus for me.
-not too much trash on the course
Cons: -location
-dump next to the course
-some holes are entirely too easy and boring. theres 4 or 5 holes in a row that are just open fields
-some OB's are pointless.
-i played during the week, but still, it seemed deserted.
Other Thoughts: this is a very strange location for a DG course. But it turned out to be very nice once i got to the actual course. It provides relative solitude. except for the incessant noise of dump trucks. this course is a little bit out of the way for me. It's about an hour and a half drive. But if i was ever in the area i'd play it again in a heartbeat.

solid course overall. great for beginners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Intermediate Course

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 87  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc-golf only park! Beautiful scenery and well maintained course with great local club support. Practice basket. Most holes have two tees and made of crushed stone/gravel with rubber mat. All holes have A/B pins, and hole 2 has a C pin. Hole signs have map with tees and pins and hose clamp indicating basket position. Good use land with even amount of left, right and straight, open and wooded, short and long, and elevation changes on holes. OB and mandos clearly marked. Fairly easy to navigate the course. Trash cans and port-a-potty in parking lot.
Cons: Could use a welcome kiosk with a course map. There are a lot of blind shots that could cost a disc or possibility to be thrown at. Almost lost my disc on 17 with the blind landing down a very steep fairway. A couple shorter holes seemed like deja-vu. Blue tees for holes 11, 13, and 17 are dirt at the moment.
Other Thoughts: Being an advanced player playing from the blue tees I had a good time, but I didn't quite feel challenged enough, wanted a little more distance, or more holes. I was shooting ok until holes 17(parked upshot but then it stood up and began rolling faster and faster downhill) and 18 got me for my only two 5s, and I ended up with a 59 which is listed as par 59, but I believe pro par is 54. My buddy shot a 65. Hole 16 is a bear to hike up and then hiking up to 17 blue tee took a lot. I wouldn't recommend wearing flip flops.

This is a very good intermediate level course. Rank beginners might have some difficultly with this course especially the last few holes. Advanced and pro level players should enjoy the course, but will likely want a little more challenge. I would love to have this course in my backyard and stop by to play when traveling through the area.

The course is about 14 miles(25 min) off I-95 in between Baltimore and Delaware and not very hard to find. There is not much in the nearby neighborhood in terms of food and gas. Bel Air, Md is the closest city with all kinds of restaurants and stores within about 15 min drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Us Tubes
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes. Some were wide open, others were literally carved out of moderatly dense woods. Even some good elevation changes. No water hazards, and its not that easy to lose a disc.
Cons: "no mow" areas or "ob" grass was pretty high, and for a few wild throws I spent a few minutes trekking through 2+ foot tall grass looking for my plastic.
Other Thoughts: I must say this course is my new favorite course... and that says a lot. Even for a new guy like me, the difficult highly wooded holes were challenging yet fun. Unlike some parks there wasnt anyone there who wasnt playing golf, or being in your way of throwing, no derelicts awkwardly sitting in their car feet from the course. No strange people in the way of playing any holes. Grass was cut unlike some courses (druid) Very clean, no litter. Excellently maintained. Relaxing, serene setting, with VERY friendly locals who pitch in to keep the course looking great... Keep it up guys! A++

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Day Trip

1    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: JJantzi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation change on most every hole. Course makes you use almost every shot in your bag. Challenging course but very playable. Easy course to navigate because of signs on nearly every hole.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes seemed excessively narrow. Course is right near a bog so there might be a problem with bugs in the summer. Some tee signs were missing. No bathrooms on site.
Other Thoughts: My buddys and I went down for a day and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Kind of irked with the lack of a port a potty but we dealt.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    3/20/2010   11/29/2009
Review By: cblack129
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee signs have distance, pin position, flight path, and next tee location on them. Almost impossible to get lost. Am and Pro tees for most holes. Multiple basket positions for most holes. Scorecards available. Disc golf only area. Good mix of different holes. Course kept in excellent condition. Ample parking.
Cons: Long, steep uphill walk to 17 tee. Some holes share the same tee.
Other Thoughts: Beginners may have a tough time on the wooded holes. Can get busy and backed up on a beautiful day.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Changes

5+    8/25/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: Natural
Played: 66  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love coming here. The Harford County Parks and Rec. crew do a great job at maintaining the course(along with some other volunteers). There are no other activities going on here except disc golf. It's a great place to get away from everything. Very quiet and peaceful. Every hole has at least two pin placements to keep things fresh. There is good variety here as well. Lots of different elevation changes, good mix between open and wooded shots. Great signage and website (http://www.scarborohills.com ) with any info you need, makes it a breeze to find your way around. The local player base is growing and running weekly events(doubles, tags, and legal winter glow).
Cons: Not too many cons here. Not every hole has two tee pads. A few holes are stuck that way from the original design. Could benefit from a few more benches. There are some, but not enough in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: (Update: Some reviews say there is no bathroom, there is now a port-a-pot on site, as of 7/21/10) The course has gone through some great changes just recently. The tees are setup as red and blues now(red being the shorts and blue being the longs) clearing up the confusion of the "alt" tees where some were shorter and some were longer. Holes 11 & 17 were completely removed and moved between what was 16(now 15) and 18. 16 is now a steep uphill battle and 17 is a long steep downhill, both through the woods. Doing this enabled the placement of at least two basket sleeves at every hole, got rid of a safety issue at 18's tee, and allowed for a few more longer tee pads, stretching the max length of the course over 6100 feet. My favorite change, 12's blue tee (old 13) was moved back 100 ft to the top of the hill making for an epic hole (509ft to the B pin).

Update 8/20/12: Course has gone through a slight reroute. Hole 13 has been moved to top of hill behind 12. So now after 13 the course plays holes 17, 16, 14, 15, 18. This eliminated the long walk up the hill from 16 to 17.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable and Scenic Course

2-4    6/13/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm new to disc golf and have a limited frame of reference, but this course was far nicer than the three others that I've played. All fairways were recently mowed, all holes were clearly labeled, all tees were either rubber mats or neatly kept gravel pits.

A great mix of technical wooded holes, and wide open fields. Very scenic area that would have been an enjoyable hike even without throwing discs around.
Cons: If you drive 300+, you won't find any holes where your distance gives a big advantage over newbs like myself. It's a relatively short 18 hole course. To me that's not a con at all, but I could see it being so to more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: If you find my buddy's red champion fairway driver (think it was a leopard?), hit me up!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course Close to New Home

2-4    6/16/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: oneeyemay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays great for new comers and intermediate players. I've been playing DG for 18 years (seriously i'm not old), in many states, and this course is sweet. It has a great mix of open and woodsy holes. I played doubles with the group that maintains and designs the course and they have big plans for Scarboro.

The county maintains the course and I haven't played on one that was publicly maintained. There are some tricky blind shots (#3) and some hidden holes. The first time I played #8, I actually threw it to the #10 basket - LOL. I don't thinkt that's a con, they did a good job hiding #8.

Bottom line: This course is fun and close to home. I haven't really played consistently in a few years, but this course will ensure I'm throwing bees on a regular basis.

There are 2 tee and pin locations at every hole. The current pin locations are a good mix of long and short that presents a decent challenge.
Cons: As is, I think this course will get repetitive; however, the 'crew has plans to make this a great challenging course.

Lacks a pro shop or bee sellers. The area will benefit from someone selling plastic on site.
Other Thoughts: Stay tuned and come out to play @ Scarboro. I'm glad I found this course and met the 'crew. This is a really fun course. Like I mentioned, I've only played this course 4 times, but it had me hooked after the 1st time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.