Street, MD 
Scarboro Hills Share
Uploaded By: Natural Hole #8 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 274ft.   3 / 201ft.   3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Day Trip

1    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: JJantzi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation change on most every hole. Course makes you use almost every shot in your bag. Challenging course but very playable. Easy course to navigate because of signs on nearly every hole.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes seemed excessively narrow. Course is right near a bog so there might be a problem with bugs in the summer. Some tee signs were missing. No bathrooms on site.
Other Thoughts: My buddys and I went down for a day and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Kind of irked with the lack of a port a potty but we dealt.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    3/20/2010   11/29/2009
Review By: cblack129
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee signs have distance, pin position, flight path, and next tee location on them. Almost impossible to get lost. Am and Pro tees for most holes. Multiple basket positions for most holes. Scorecards available. Disc golf only area. Good mix of different holes. Course kept in excellent condition. Ample parking.
Cons: Long, steep uphill walk to 17 tee. Some holes share the same tee.
Other Thoughts: Beginners may have a tough time on the wooded holes. Can get busy and backed up on a beautiful day.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Changes

5+    8/25/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: Natural
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love coming here. The Harford County Parks and Rec. crew do a great job at maintaining the course(along with some other volunteers). There are no other activities going on here except disc golf. It's a great place to get away from everything. Very quiet and peaceful. Every hole has at least two pin placements to keep things fresh. There is good variety here as well. Lots of different elevation changes, good mix between open and wooded shots. Great signage and website (http://www.scarborohills.com ) with any info you need, makes it a breeze to find your way around. The local player base is growing and running weekly events(doubles, tags, and legal winter glow).
Cons: Not too many cons here. Not every hole has two tee pads. A few holes are stuck that way from the original design. Could benefit from a few more benches. There are some, but not enough in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: (Update: Some reviews say there is no bathroom, there is now a port-a-pot on site, as of 7/21/10) The course has gone through some great changes just recently. The tees are setup as red and blues now(red being the shorts and blue being the longs) clearing up the confusion of the "alt" tees where some were shorter and some were longer. Holes 11 & 17 were completely removed and moved between what was 16(now 15) and 18. 16 is now a steep uphill battle and 17 is a long steep downhill, both through the woods. Doing this enabled the placement of at least two basket sleeves at every hole, got rid of a safety issue at 18's tee, and allowed for a few more longer tee pads, stretching the max length of the course over 6100 feet. My favorite change, 12's blue tee (old 13) was moved back 100 ft to the top of the hill making for an epic hole (509ft to the B pin).

Update 8/20/12: Course has gone through a slight reroute. Hole 13 has been moved to top of hill behind 12. So now after 13 the course plays holes 17, 16, 14, 15, 18. This eliminated the long walk up the hill from 16 to 17.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable and Scenic Course

2-4    6/13/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm new to disc golf and have a limited frame of reference, but this course was far nicer than the three others that I've played. All fairways were recently mowed, all holes were clearly labeled, all tees were either rubber mats or neatly kept gravel pits.

A great mix of technical wooded holes, and wide open fields. Very scenic area that would have been an enjoyable hike even without throwing discs around.
Cons: If you drive 300+, you won't find any holes where your distance gives a big advantage over newbs like myself. It's a relatively short 18 hole course. To me that's not a con at all, but I could see it being so to more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: If you find my buddy's red champion fairway driver (think it was a leopard?), hit me up!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course Close to New Home

2-4    6/16/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: oneeyemay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays great for new comers and intermediate players. I've been playing DG for 18 years (seriously i'm not old), in many states, and this course is sweet. It has a great mix of open and woodsy holes. I played doubles with the group that maintains and designs the course and they have big plans for Scarboro.

The county maintains the course and I haven't played on one that was publicly maintained. There are some tricky blind shots (#3) and some hidden holes. The first time I played #8, I actually threw it to the #10 basket - LOL. I don't thinkt that's a con, they did a good job hiding #8.

Bottom line: This course is fun and close to home. I haven't really played consistently in a few years, but this course will ensure I'm throwing bees on a regular basis.

There are 2 tee and pin locations at every hole. The current pin locations are a good mix of long and short that presents a decent challenge.
Cons: As is, I think this course will get repetitive; however, the 'crew has plans to make this a great challenging course.

Lacks a pro shop or bee sellers. The area will benefit from someone selling plastic on site.
Other Thoughts: Stay tuned and come out to play @ Scarboro. I'm glad I found this course and met the 'crew. This is a really fun course. Like I mentioned, I've only played this course 4 times, but it had me hooked after the 1st time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful but too short -- well groomed and tremendous potential

1    3/27/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had a chance to play this course recently on a roadtrip with my girlfriend (a newbie to disc golf), and we loved this course. It was so well-tended and beautiful that it was enjoyable, despite the wide skill-discrepancy between us.

I was especially grateful that every hole was in the long pins. That makes it much better IMHO -- in the short layout this course would be far too easy. If anything, holes need to be stretched out not shortened.

Holes 1-9 were particularly enjoyable with a great balance of shots. The opening holes to this course are awesome, with holes 1-4 one of the most enjoyable opening sequences of any course I've played. Front nine has a great balance of different shots and most holes are designed in such a way to cause score separation (playing longs, unsure how shorts would play).

Teepads are flypads and are good in most places, signage is also decent and the map is very helpful in navigating the course. We had little trouble our first time through, though blind basket placements on a few holes made it necessary to run up the fairway (you DEFINITELY need to take a look and probably have a spotter playing hole 4 for the first time).

When we played, the grass was well cut and underbrush off the fairways was minimal. Stream doesn't really come into play as a hazard, but is scenic and the course is just beautiful to walk around at, and being a dedicated disc golf course makes it all the better.

Hole 13 is my favorite shot on the course. The pin placement could benefit from an alternate location a few hundred feet further up the hill, but this is the most memorable hole on the back half of the course, and is a type of shot you don't see very often: first 350' feet are slightly downhill and across an open field; at ~350' is a hard treeline and the basket is another 120' into the trees and uphill. There is a narrow window up to the basket -- landing to either side of the gap makes the upshot much, much harder. So players truly have to place their drive in the gap across the open field so they have a look for shot two. The farther you throw it, the narrower your window to have an upshot, so its an open field that requires true golf-distance precision instead of just a big huck: I would love to see more holes designed this way. Really stresses accuracy AND distance.

Course has only been open a year or two, and has amazing potential to grow and change -- some ongoing work is obvious and some holes are being lengthened, which will help the course.

As it is, lots of birdie opportunities and a few long holes, with plenty of elevation and a couple of great fields for hucking make this a sheer joy to play. The "fun factor" is higher than the 3.5 rating -- the 3.5 rating comes from some of the cons, listed below that take away from the potential of the course to be truly top-tier (it's a great piece of land for disc golf).

Cons: Too many short holes, even in longs -- if the course was in shorts, this would get painfully repetitious and wouldn't be worth all the hiking around.

Hole 10 was incredibly disappointing. Epitomizes "filler" hole. 230' of open field. Waste of space IMHO. Find somewhere else to put the basket for that one -- stretch it back into the trees or something. As is, it is frustratingly silly. (update: word from the locals is that this hole is being changed to make it more challenging)

Hole 12 looks like there are plans for a deeper teepad, which would be great on that hole. As it is, the course has three 4 short hyzer shots in a row (9-12), three of which are pretty wide open. It just gets repetitious. Stretching hole 12 into a monster uphill through the woods (ala PawPaw) would be great.

Hole 14 needs a more clearly defined Mando -- I understand why the current one is there to prevent big hyzers, but the current marker is so unclear that I can see some room for gray -- especially in a tournament, and especially on a thumber route. And that's when you don't want room for gray.

Holes 16-18 are good, but are also a little repetitious. I'm not sure if they could be stretched out or find other alleys to carve up and down that hill, but these are a very anticlimactic way to finish the course. The course starts very strong, but finishes weak and redundant, which it shouldn't, given the potential of the property.

It may have just been a weird day, but I had unusual problems with bounce-outs on those baskets? I had three putts that felt perfect (middle of the chains on nice hyzer putts) that all fell out. One hit chains, fell, bounced off the rim and out, the other two hit the bottom of the basket and popped up and out over the rim. It was really crazy. Still shot a 53 longs to longs, which felt pretty good. But the bounce-outs were just plain weird. Same Wizard I've used for hundreds of other rounds that hasn't had that problem before at other courses.

Really, not a lot of true "cons" -- except that the course has so much room to be better. The overall maintenance of the course was great at the time of my visit. No bathrooms; gravel parking; few trashcans; but these are all non-essentials.

Other Thoughts: This is the only course in the area, and is a great little jaunt not far off the I-95 corridor. In addition, the exit has the most-highbrow looking Chick-Fil-A I've ever been in (CFA near disc golf is a plus for me), and the beer/wine store next door to the CFA has an incredible selection of microbrews and bombers -- plenty to choose from, and well worth the stop, along with reasonable prices. CFA, great beer selection, and fantastic disc golf make this a must-stop exit if you're heading up or down I-95 between Baltimore and Newark...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Splendid Isolation

1    4/12/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect disc golf environment. This is a Disc Golf only park! Makes use of 3 big fields and the woods that surround these. Has elevation, tight fairways, field holes and often shoots from woods into grassy field or from field into woods,fun! Big exorbitant level rubber tees. Multiple tee and pin locations. Well maintained. Amenities include Info sign and scorecards. Map on this web site is very informative and helpful. This is truly a wonderful disc golf environment here. No noise, Nature and disc golf, you feel as though your in a slice of heaven when you pull up to this hidden gem at the end of an almost secret stone driveway. Very fun to throw and not worry about hitting people etc. A great stop if your heading north/south or west/east between other Mid Atlantic Disc Meccas. This one is worth being on your radar despite it's backwater locale...I think any trip from Paw Paw to Delaware or from Wash/Balt to PA would benefit from this little sidetrip. BTW it's not that far out of the way and the drive over the Susquehanna River makes it worth the trip.
Cons: The course is a bit of a letdown after the first 2 holes. I was prepared for something epic after seeing the geology and landscape here, I was really amped up after holes 1 and 2 but the rest of the course seemed to fizzle after those 2 holes. A couple of really unfair plinko holes, #3 and #15. A couple of just way too short and uncreative holes,#5 and #10, annoying mando hole #14 and then a repetitive finish on #16, #17,#18 kind of left me wanting more. All of the holes are good quality holes but just not that epic championship caliber you might expect from such an amazing plot of land. Seems much more of the woods and elevations could have been used and then maybe the field holes could have been bigger and more dramatic rather than simple little drives back and forth. It's still a fun and wonderful destination though...I always dream too much when I am at courses, perhaps. Should at least have a port-o-potty here I think, no wonder girls hate our game?
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a fun big drive slightly uphill and then hole 2 is a dogleg right with woods and a stream containing a wide open fairway. There are some ace chances here on 5 and 10. Plenty of short challenging holes that will punish you if you drift off the fairway. 16 is a fun downhill screamer through a wooded fairway. #6 is fun drive over a grassy meadow valley to a protected pin in front of a steep bank to a stream below. I really liked hole #13 a big open slightly downhill crush across a field to a protected pin...you have to place your big drive precisiely in order to enter the woods cleanly to get par. Course was well designed for all levels and is done first class. If it offered a bit more challenge this course would be Elite.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Even better than before

2-4    2/17/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: turbo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 27.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alternate tees and multiple pin positions allow a different course look each time you play. (Look at the score card to see what I mean.)
Cons: Conversely, the course is a little confusing, at first, with some holes having alternate tees and some not, and alternate tees' not always being easier (or harder).
Other Thoughts: Finally got back to Scarboro yesterday for a mid-afternoon round -- my first visit since the tees and pins were upgraded! Playing partner and I both rang up a couple of 5s before we loosened up and settled in. Everything went smoothly until we both blew the mando on the ridiculously Scylla-like 14th (B-position) for circle 6s! (Hint: lay up left of the mando, and carefully pick your way into the trees.)

One interesting note: there are alternate ("Wood") tees on nine holes (4 front, 5 back), but some are easier than the regular ("Fly") tees on those holes and some appear harder (or longer), depending on the pin positions. That makes it interesting to plan your round (in terms of which tee to play on which hole) after you see what the current pin positions are.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Are You Going to Scarboro Hills?

5+    7/3/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 245  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scarboro Hills has a bit of everything. Elevation change, nice open holes, tight wooded shots, long and short and now even an elevated basket. Most holes have multiple pin placements, some changing the feel of the hole from the start. Course is very easy to follow, nice signs pointing to the next tee are abundant. I love the rubber tee pads, very nice to throw from. The hills also has beginner tees on most holes. Course plays fairly quick so both times I've gone its been for two rounds. With the exception of hole 4 and maybe 2 there is little chance of losing a disc here, if you find yourself off the fairway the foilage on the forest floor isn't very thick and bright plastic is easy to spot. Also, I love that the land is solely for the disc golf course. No worries about hitting dog walkers, bikers etc. I think hole 13 long open shot to basket about 40 ft deep in the woods and Hole 17, a long winding downhill wooded shot are my favorites. All and all, a very rewarding experience, beauty of a course.
Cons: Only con I can really think of is a few holes seem to repeat and there's only two holes with big distance, course is mostly short a couple holes are wide open short shots with little elevation change. But its nothing that's gonna stop me from coming back.
Other Thoughts: Being the only course for miles around and such a quality one, Scarboro Hills is a gem.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DG in Northern MD

2-4    9/20/2008   2/2/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course benefits from having a parks manager who went LOOKING for a place to put a DGC, and then PAYING to have a designer come in and lay it out. John Duesler did the initial design, and the course makes use of a somewhat difficult piece of property. The result is a somewhat shorter course, but one with a few tricks mixed in. The property is a large sweeping hillside that the course cycles up and then back down weaving through woods and meadows along the way. There are several nice uses of elevation, a couple nice field shots, and a few rather daunting woods holes (some more fair than others).
Except for the few dog walkers I saw, it appears the park is 90% dedicated to DG use. A local player base has developed and the course was expanded a bit with additional pin placements, adding some nice touches to the orginal basic layout.
Cons: Location - it's a little out of the way for regular play, but nice in that there were no courses between Wilmington, DE and Baltimore until this one.
No bathrooms, minimal parking
Other Thoughts: I've only played a couple rounds here, but it was an enjoyable course. The woods holes require some touch/control, and the open shots have a nice balance between gotta throw hard, vs, just be accurate. Not to many events here yet, but I'd go back to play given the opportunity.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.