Street, MD 
Scarboro Hills Share
Uploaded By: Natural Hole #5
3 / 214ft.   3 / 201ft.   3 / 201ft.   3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Disc Golf and Mountain Hiking

2-4    7/19/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: unsmith
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dedicated park space, which is rare around these parts. Well maintained with thought put into hole locations and multiple pin placements per hole. While kind of in the middle of nowhere, there is sufficient parking.

This course encourages (and sometimes requires) different shots to play well. Backhand, forehand/flick, thumber/tomahawk, roller, rescue shots, and putts with elevation changes are ALL part of your round here. It will challenge you but you will enjoy it.

OB exists here and there, but it's just there to keep play out of certain areas and isn't set up to punish players.
Cons: If you are a beginner or out of shape this course will brutalize you. Most of the woods holes have plenty of trees to contend with and plenty of stickers/thorns to shred your legs when you go looking for wayward discs. The back nine involves a few treks up and down the mountain which can be challenging to walk.

Many of the baskets are missing flags and/or have shredded flags, so the baskets can be challenging to find for a first-timer since they are the older Mach 3 type with no bright spots to catch your eye. Could do with some new flags or bright pink tape around the top of the baskets to make them stick out in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Popular course on the weekends, so if you are the social type this is a decent chance to meet up with other disc golfers. Please pick up after yourself; I saw far too many discarded beer cans for a course like this.

If there are mandos here I couldn't find them. A couple of holes look like they might have them, but nothing sticks out to indicate that.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/4/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: mheredia65
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course. Fun layout, with something a little different on each hole.

Very unique layout with multiple tee pads and pin placements. As a visitor, I was slightly concerned about navigation but the system they have there is great. I saved a PDF of the course map to my phone, which proved to be beneficial, so I would recommend that to any first time player.

This course is aesthetically pleasing and is in a beautiful part of the US.

There are some memorable holes (especially 12, which you can absolutely bomb).

If you are experienced enough, I recommend playing from the blue tees. You will be challenged with some tough shots, but it is worth putting yourself to the test. My first time out there from blues, I shot -1, but it was hard fought round.

There are some mean downhill holes followed directly by a mean uphill drive. So be prepared for that.
Cons: There are not too many things I disliked about this course. Some of the separate blue tee pads were hard to find (especially #5), but other than that it was great.

The grass was a little thick in the fairways, but with all the rain lately it is understandable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great navigation

1    6/2/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 139  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing a few courses out East I was super happy to have an easy day of navigation on this course. With multiple pin options I was worried it would be challenging to see where the basket was but the course took care of that EXTREMELY well. The "washer" system is the perfect way to indicate the current pin location. Navigation is extremely important to me, as is knowing where to throw.

Having multiple pin locations is a huge pro for me. As stated, the course has a marker system on the sign to indicate which position the pin is. This is truly how any course should be that uses alternate pins. The signs were also phenomenal. I always knew where to throw and how far to throw. I know that sounds silly but I have played some courses that don't even have signs so I guess you can't take it lightly. There were also multiple tees as well, which really allows a lot of different options on this course.

The course has a very serene feeling to it. The park appeared to be dedicated solely to disc golf, which is a huge plus.

Memorable holes included holes 12, 14 and 15. Hole 12 was a downhill 450 foot hole that was just screaming at you to throw all of the drivers in your bag. What a neat hole to throw! Hole 14 was a tight hole but it was so much downhill that it was truly a fun hole to throw. On the flip side, what goes down must come back up so 15 played sharply uphill. It was a tough walk back up that hill but a fun hole to play.
Cons: Besides the holes mentioned above nothing truly stood out about the course that said this course is among the best of the best. The course wasn't very long and didn't have too many memorable holes. As stated above, this was a solid but unspectacular course. Almost all of the holes were par 3's and that made the course feel a little repetitive in some ways.

While the teepads were nice and big they were not concrete and since the course seemed to be in a lower area (holes 1 and 2 were very very wet) I would imagine the tee pads can get slick.

Holes 4 and 5 were very forgettable holes but I guess every course has filler holes. While I did like throwing from the open into a protected basket in the woods, it did seem that after a few times it got repetitive. This is not a huge con but maybe some more variety would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun, par 3 course in a nice setting. Its a nice walk in the park and I believe a rating of 3.5 is very fair. This course was super easy to play with no navigation issues and hole 12 was really fun to throw.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

On of the best in MD!

5+    4/19/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: MarkNizzle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scarboro is well kept and the land is dedicated for disc golf play. The Tee pads are nice and the baskets change often. This course Plays through a combination of fields and woods, and will require all shot types to master.
Cons: a few holes can be slushy a few days after a good rain. #2's tee pads come into mind as being swampy. Too far to play regularly.
Other Thoughts: This is a weekend course for me. it is about 45 minutes away, but well worth the drive! I think this course and PTAP are the best in Maryland!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

an absolute treat!

1    5/9/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
Pros: wow, where to start?
super well manicured grass fairways. excellent mix of long distance and short (sometimes long) technical shots through the woods.
a brief flirting with the babbling brook.
wonderful elevation change!
also the rough, when you did end up off the fairway was "rough" but not debilitating or prison like.
almost ALL the pins were in the LONG position when i played, which makes a tremendous difference. i can see how the SHORT positions would be rather easy. and the middle positions would benefit the throwers that max out at 350 feet.
great tee pads, 2 on almost every hole!!
accurate signage. first time playing and no issues navigating course :)
Cons: there is a mysterious muddy patch by the practice basket on the way to hole one. that said, i played the entire course without a towel and didnt have any real problems.
there were probably a couple too many big wide open holes (though with long pins, the basket was still nestled 30+ feet in the trees).
i guess this place being in the middle of nowhere is hardly a pro.....
Other Thoughts: i have played courses all over the country in past 15 years and was extremely impressed with this disc golf only facility that is well maintained and FREE.
granted, the top pro players would almost certainly tear this place up with their casual 450 foot drives.
however, you are not one of those 2 dozen people reading this, are you ;)?


5+    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Public course with a private course feel as the park is used just for disc golf.
-Multiple tees (all in good condition) for many holes, multiple pin positions which are moved often.
-Nice variety of shots, especially when the pins are all in their longest positions and nice mix of wooded and open holes.
-Really well maintained park
Cons: -There are a couple of holes i struggle to enjoy, In particular, 14 & 15 which feel very much like a chore throwing straight down and then throwing back up. I also don't like that stopping your disc near the pin on 14 is largely a matter of luck.
Other Thoughts: I went back an forth on how to rate this course. I've played it a lot and how much i enjoy it depends largely on the layout. When all the pins are in the long position as they have been of late, I enjoy this course a great deal and would give it a solid 4 or maybe even a 4.5. when all the positions are short, the front 9 is very pitch and putt i enjoy it much less and find it very average. Overall, I think the 3.5 is accurate and reflects that this is a solid course and one i am happy to have in my regular rotation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/11/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: bradharris
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Harford County Parks and Rec Department is really showing some love for disc golf with this course. They have dedicated this land exclusively for disc golf and keep it very clean and well maintained. This level of dedication is rare from parks departments.

The course itself uses the terrain well, featuring a nice mix of wooded holes with tough but fair fairways, and more open holes that emphasize placement.

With dual tees on each hole, the course is playable by a large range of skill levels. The shorter tees shorten most holes and provide easier lines. The longer tees add distance and tougher lines that can really change more experienced players.

Minimal OB is used primarily to address potential safety issues and to restrict play to park property rather than neighboring yards.
Cons: Some of the longer open holes can get repetitive. They mostly feature a long tee shot over a field to a protected pin beyond the tree line. This is a good test of placement, but is overused a bit on this course.

4 and 5 are very boring holes. The tee shot on each is basically a short upshot out in the open. Hole 4 in particular really feels like a filler hole.
Other Thoughts: It's really great to see a parks department with the dedication to create and maintain a park exclusively for disc golf. The local players seem to take a great deal of pride in what they have here, hopefully helping to foster a good relationship between the parks department and the disc golf community.

While I don't consider this an elite course (it does lack the wow-factor). It is still a very fun place to play. I always enjoy going out to Scarboro when I am in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

New Year, New Course

1    1/3/2013   1/3/2013
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find right off Rt.1. Great Signage. Wonderful layout. Multiple Teepads. Easily navigated without a map. Great mix of open and wooded holes. Great maintenance and upkeep. Mandos and fairways are pretty well defined. Nice challenge and opportunity to throw lots of different shots. Super nice locals. Baskets are in good condition and tee pads were stable and not slippery despite some snow and general wetness left around.
Cons: I find it a little hard to find many cons. Some of the wooded fairways tend to be very narrow, and some lines are hard to pick out from the tee, but I personally enjoy these aspects especially in contrast to the open holes.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing this course, and I'm usually hesitant to write a review after only one or two run throughs. However, I was so impressed with the course I was compelled to express it. Scarboro was a bit of a hike for me as I am located right outside of Philadelphia, but it was definitely worth my time and gas money. I have the privilege to play Tyler and Iron Hill often and tend to compare most courses to these standards and I would definitely place Scarboro right alongside both. The fun factor was definitely there throughout and the course never felt like it was a chore to navigate or play. There were a good variety of hole lengths and everything flowed nicely. All in all Scarboro was a great course to play and an even better way to start of a new year. Thanks to locals for the warm welcome as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Many More Pros Than Cons

1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a secluded, disc-golf-only park containing a good balance of wooded and more open holes. A porta pottie lies near the practice basket as you enter the course and a message board sits in the ground by hole #1. Every hole has a red (short) and blue (long) tee as well as two possible basket placements. Outstanding over-sized rubber tee pads surrounded by railroad ties/posts and good signage at each hole depicting basket placement, disc flight path and distance. Well-worn pathways make walking easier and huge green arrows between holes point to the next tee box. The field holes are mowed and nicely groomed. Elevation is ever-present and adds to the challenge of playing here. Decent hole variation, with hole 6 (steep drop-off behind the basket), hole 12 (long open downhill to a basket in the woods) and hole 14 (long, wooded downhill shot) particularly interesting.
Cons: More benches would be a help, as would bag poles at each tee box. Course doesn't feature many long distance holes that would appeal to the big guns. Some of the holes play relatively close together, making errant tee shots a possible concern. Rocky terrain prevents run-ups. Not a fan of the manufactured out-of-bounds- area around the basket on hole 1.
Other Thoughts: With rolling hills and much elevation throughout the course, The Scarboro Hills DG Course is aptly named. Much work has been done here- reconfiguration of several holes, improved tee boxes, grooming, etc. to improve the quality of play by the loyal local club. Scarboro has all the essentials of a good disc golfing experience plus enough variety to challenge all ability levels. Although there are only a couple of holes over 450 feet, and some pro/advanced players have bellyached over this, it didn't detract from my personal playing experience.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly Above-Average Course

1    3/10/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 3/22/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Overall, this course is a solid course. There is some elevation change, and a decent mix of open and wooded holes. The signage at the course helps to direct players with no course experience. The tee boxes at this point are all framed, with some gravel and fly pads to top them off. There are several easy ace runs, and a few uphill holes that are pretty tricky.
Cons: The course is not overly challenging. This is a true par-3 course for a high rated Am or Pro player, as the long holes are wide open and easy 3 opportunities. There are also a few holes whose tees are very close to one another, which would certainly cause issues with heavy traffic or tournament play.
Other Thoughts: I think the course has tremendous potential to be a championship-caliber course with some extensions to the holes, and some redesign. There is plentiful elevation change, yet only a few holes maximize the use of it. The course was designed with minimal risk-reward shots. Overall, I would rate this slightly lower than Druid Hill in Baltimore, but a good option for Harford Co residents. For being a "disc golf only park," I dealt with plenty of non-golfers who were meandering around the property.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.