Street, MD 
Scarboro Hills Share
Uploaded By: Natural Hole #14 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 352ft.   4 / 478ft.   4 / 352ft.   3 / 478ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Red Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Hands Down A Great Course!!!

5+    8/7/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Mavrix
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A Great course for all skill levels! Has something for everyone, forces you to use every disc in your bag, challenges from every angle! Can't get enough of this course!!!
Cons: Cant think of a thing I don't like about Scarbs!
Other Thoughts: The layout is very well done, easy to navigate and fun to play!!!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  A Hidden Gem

1    8/2/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: Jnewcomb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Excellent Pin Placements
-Multiple Tee Pads
-Ace Run Placements
-Multiple Styles of Holes
-Disc Golf Only Park (No risk of hitting walkers)
Cons: -Some blind tee shots make it difficult if you are new to the course.
-Few Gunner (400'+) Holes (not an issue for me)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with some great holes. Open Fields with cut fairways. Wooded holes with good shooting lanes cut through them. Wooded holes with tight placement lines. It is a must play!!!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Getting close to perfection?

5+    7/30/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: Josh L
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scarboro Hills is an excellent disc golf course which is located in a very isolated park and makes good use of the lay of the land. The course is well maintained by the Parks and Rec department. The course has undergone a major overhaul since it's original installation and local club work can be seen in progress. Several weekly events take place during the week and year (tags, doubles, tournaments). The course is easy to follow as fairways are cut into the open fields. Plenty of risk and reward type shots can be found throughout the holes (multiple fairways in the wood holes and roughs in the open fields). Many of the holes have multiple tees (Blue/Red) and opportunity for other tees on holes with only single tees at the moment. While Scarboro Hills is a work in progress in some regards, it is still worth the trip as it offers so much.

Summary:
+Well maintained
+Multiple Pins
+Multiple tees (on most holes)
+Good mix of open and wood holes
+Club presence is obvious and work is making this course great
+Fairly easy to navigate
Cons: Scarboro Hills as stated above is a course that is always seeing work being done to improve it. But at this time there still is some things that have not been finished (but are obviously in the plans at some point). Some of the more obvious points is that not all the tees have been boxed and framed. Also the club has noted the complaints about the hill climb between holes 16 and 17 and are in the stages of discussing options. Again when this is implemented we may see a number of major changes and may be why some of the work seems unfinished at this time. Other issues that can be found at the course is being that it is a public park it is subject to the will of the Parks and Rec department of upkeep schedule. While fairways are maintained regularly, the roughs at times can become very deep (so keep an eye on your throws!) Other oddball type problems include limited parking (especially during tournaments) and the park itself is so isolated. It does in fact seem like you are driving down someones driveway to reach the course.

Summary:
-Course is in a standby of what the next major move will be
-Roughs (and other work) can be subject to the will/ability of the local Parks and Rec department (To my knowledge the local department is several men short on staff at this time)
-Can be difficult to find and is kinda out of the way unless it's a planned excursion to the course.
Other Thoughts: Scarboro Hills is a gem for sure. The work being done is making it a wish list to play for sure and you would be hard pressed not to enjoy the course if you make the trip. With so much promise in the future this course is sure to become just that much more top notch as the course is finalized after it's recreational roots.

Summary and notes:
~ Practice basket was stolen recently
~ Potential to become much better
~ Club work promises that changes and quality can be expected in not too distant future.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Remote and Refined

1    7/29/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Remote County park off the beaten path a little. This is a disc golf only course so there are no issues with other park users. Ample parking and a porta potty at the gate. Plenty of trash cans at the gate also. Pack it in, pack it out. Also plenty of benches spread out throughout the course.

Multiple pads and basket locations for each hole. Pads are either crushed gravel, or gravel with a rubber pad on top. All but one were in great condition. A new one was just finished while I was playing and the park employees said they are working to make sure all are done, and in great shape for an upcoming tournament.

Signs that show basket positions, distances and hole layout were adequate. Good signs and navigation also. I had no problems finding anything.

Perfectly mowed fairways with some rough and extra grass kept to about a foot high. Very well kept park.

This course has a private course feel to it. Even driving down the gravel road on the way in, I was thinking this course is located in a very cool spot for disc golf. I was not disappointed.

Good variety of shots needed on this course. It has a nice blend of open and wooded holes. It also has a few holes that start open, and then play into the woods. I think I used most discs in my bag to navigate the lefts, rights, up and downs here. Speaking of ups and downs. It uses elevation well, even though there isn't any huge hills around. Until you run into #16. Wow, it's an uphill disaster waiting to happen. It's steep and tight. It's followed by a cool downhill on 17. Very nice wooded hills for a non-mountain course.

I also never felt like there was a hole with the dreaded 'unfairway'. There was always a line to the basket, if you could hit it.
Cons: Not too much to complain about. Maybe there could be some longer holes for the big guns, but there is a 479' and pretty cool 509' hole.

Signs could be improved at tee pads.

There were two holes that used an old dirt road for the fairway. Might not really be a negative, but those fairways always bother me. Just my personal issue.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a must play course. If you get the chance and are traveling through Maryland, PA or Deleware take the scenic route, and play this course. It may not be quite as good as the best courses in Maryland, but it is simply fun. It has a great blend of ace runs, trees and elevation. I think it is the kind of course that plays really well for the average player. If you have a big arm, and feel the need to throw 400' on every hole then you may not like it. But if you want a great blend of tight ace runs and medium shots requiring line shaping skills, this is a really fun course. And hole 16 can just kick your butt.

With the care and maintenance that this course gets I could see this course continuing to improve. It is definitely one to add you your wish list if you haven't played it yet.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Can't wait to play again!!!

1    6/17/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: cmcrouse
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Creative hole layout. Hole placement made good use of the natural landscape. "B" holes are somewhat difficult, but the placement is extremely fun and created. Creative use of hyzers and anhyzer helps.
Cons: Missing one hole map, and there was a map that was drawn backwards.
Other Thoughts: Locals were friendly and informative. Hole 16 is a beast! A local called it buzz-kill hill. I would love to see someone make this hole in two.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 i like

1    2/27/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: scarboro is a great fun course. everytime i take the hour drive to it i love it. the way the course is laid out is brilliant. i would suggest anyone go to this course
Cons: hole 16 and 17 are a lil unneccessary. its a major pain in the ass having to hike way up that damn hill. its very tiring. and then to have to go right back down with all those damn trees is ridiculous

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of Maryland's top 5

1    10/31/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NEW CHANGES IN LAYOUT=UPDATED RATING.
Course is well maintained and only occupied by disc golfers. Course looks and feels more like a PA or DE course with elevation changes and scenery.
Map available on line, but not really needed.
Multiple basket locations, many multiple tees.
Hole 1 has a novelty elevated basket and there is a practice basket.
Nice tee signs with hose clamps marking which tee position the basket is in.
good variety of shots required and enough elevation to give you a good work out.
Jrawk noticed there is a prefered layout. If you are only going to play once, play from what ever tee the signs are on instead of sticking with red or blue, those are usually the more fun tee.
even when there was a crowd for a tag tourney, there was plenty of room for all, no waiting.
Course seems like it would be great for tourneys because there are so many chances to catch up or blow a hole, you could gain or gain 2-3 strokes on your competition in one hole.
New trash bag dispenser at hole one to help keep the park clean.
The new hole added is a signature hole, great addition!
Cons: Course strongly favors right handed players.
Some very narrow areas may make the course far too difficult for new players. New players may need 6 throws on hole 3 where advance players can get an easy 2. Some ofthe wide open holes are too easy for the advanced players with wide open sub-300ft holes. (Can't please everyone with every hole)
Some OBs seemed arbitrary or to force you to play safe, they had nothing to do with safety or course upkeep. Hole 1 has some lame OB about a meter from the 10 meter circle.
I never saw a bathroom.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the top 5 courses in Maryland. It is worth playing, unfortunatley it is so far from everything. An air bounce took my disc over the trees and dropped it 2 feet from the basket on hole 15, other than that this course and the wind kicked my butt.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 scarby

2-4    10/8/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained
-17 is alot of fun...besides the climb up to it.
-navigation is fairly straightforward.
-seems like there is a dedicated group of people who play and work at this course
-interesting pin placement on hole 1. i like it.
-i liked the well defined mando on one of the holes (i forget which one...14, maybe?) but unlike most crappy mandos i've seen in the past it is well-defined. it's like a baseball foul pole. its a yellow pole about 30 feet long or so. thats a HUGE plus for me.
-not too much trash on the course
Cons: -location
-dump next to the course
-some holes are entirely too easy and boring. theres 4 or 5 holes in a row that are just open fields
-some OB's are pointless.
-i played during the week, but still, it seemed deserted.
Other Thoughts: this is a very strange location for a DG course. But it turned out to be very nice once i got to the actual course. It provides relative solitude. except for the incessant noise of dump trucks. this course is a little bit out of the way for me. It's about an hour and a half drive. But if i was ever in the area i'd play it again in a heartbeat.

solid course overall. great for beginners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Intermediate Course

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc-golf only park! Beautiful scenery and well maintained course with great local club support. Practice basket. Most holes have two tees and made of crushed stone/gravel with rubber mat. All holes have A/B pins, and hole 2 has a C pin. Hole signs have map with tees and pins and hose clamp indicating basket position. Good use land with even amount of left, right and straight, open and wooded, short and long, and elevation changes on holes. OB and mandos clearly marked. Fairly easy to navigate the course. Trash cans and port-a-potty in parking lot.
Cons: Could use a welcome kiosk with a course map. There are a lot of blind shots that could cost a disc or possibility to be thrown at. Almost lost my disc on 17 with the blind landing down a very steep fairway. A couple shorter holes seemed like deja-vu. Blue tees for holes 11, 13, and 17 are dirt at the moment.
Other Thoughts: Being an advanced player playing from the blue tees I had a good time, but I didn't quite feel challenged enough, wanted a little more distance, or more holes. I was shooting ok until holes 17(parked upshot but then it stood up and began rolling faster and faster downhill) and 18 got me for my only two 5s, and I ended up with a 59 which is listed as par 59, but I believe pro par is 54. My buddy shot a 65. Hole 16 is a bear to hike up and then hiking up to 17 blue tee took a lot. I wouldn't recommend wearing flip flops.

This is a very good intermediate level course. Rank beginners might have some difficultly with this course especially the last few holes. Advanced and pro level players should enjoy the course, but will likely want a little more challenge. I would love to have this course in my backyard and stop by to play when traveling through the area.

The course is about 14 miles(25 min) off I-95 in between Baltimore and Delaware and not very hard to find. There is not much in the nearby neighborhood in terms of food and gas. Bel Air, Md is the closest city with all kinds of restaurants and stores within about 15 min drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Us Tubes
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes. Some were wide open, others were literally carved out of moderatly dense woods. Even some good elevation changes. No water hazards, and its not that easy to lose a disc.
Cons: "no mow" areas or "ob" grass was pretty high, and for a few wild throws I spent a few minutes trekking through 2+ foot tall grass looking for my plastic.
Other Thoughts: I must say this course is my new favorite course... and that says a lot. Even for a new guy like me, the difficult highly wooded holes were challenging yet fun. Unlike some parks there wasnt anyone there who wasnt playing golf, or being in your way of throwing, no derelicts awkwardly sitting in their car feet from the course. No strange people in the way of playing any holes. Grass was cut unlike some courses (druid) Very clean, no litter. Excellently maintained. Relaxing, serene setting, with VERY friendly locals who pitch in to keep the course looking great... Keep it up guys! A++

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.