Street, MD
Scarboro Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 239ft.   3 / 354ft.   3 / 354ft.   3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Beautiful but too short -- well groomed and tremendous potential

1    3/27/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 209  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 16.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had a chance to play this course recently on a roadtrip with my girlfriend (a newbie to disc golf), and we loved this course. It was so well-tended and beautiful that it was enjoyable, despite the wide skill-discrepancy between us.

I was especially grateful that every hole was in the long pins. That makes it much better IMHO -- in the short layout this course would be far too easy. If anything, holes need to be stretched out not shortened.

Holes 1-9 were particularly enjoyable with a great balance of shots. The opening holes to this course are awesome, with holes 1-4 one of the most enjoyable opening sequences of any course I've played. Front nine has a great balance of different shots and most holes are designed in such a way to cause score separation (playing longs, unsure how shorts would play).

Teepads are flypads and are good in most places, signage is also decent and the map is very helpful in navigating the course. We had little trouble our first time through, though blind basket placements on a few holes made it necessary to run up the fairway (you DEFINITELY need to take a look and probably have a spotter playing hole 4 for the first time).

When we played, the grass was well cut and underbrush off the fairways was minimal. Stream doesn't really come into play as a hazard, but is scenic and the course is just beautiful to walk around at, and being a dedicated disc golf course makes it all the better.

Hole 13 is my favorite shot on the course. The pin placement could benefit from an alternate location a few hundred feet further up the hill, but this is the most memorable hole on the back half of the course, and is a type of shot you don't see very often: first 350' feet are slightly downhill and across an open field; at ~350' is a hard treeline and the basket is another 120' into the trees and uphill. There is a narrow window up to the basket -- landing to either side of the gap makes the upshot much, much harder. So players truly have to place their drive in the gap across the open field so they have a look for shot two. The farther you throw it, the narrower your window to have an upshot, so its an open field that requires true golf-distance precision instead of just a big huck: I would love to see more holes designed this way. Really stresses accuracy AND distance.

Course has only been open a year or two, and has amazing potential to grow and change -- some ongoing work is obvious and some holes are being lengthened, which will help the course.

As it is, lots of birdie opportunities and a few long holes, with plenty of elevation and a couple of great fields for hucking make this a sheer joy to play. The "fun factor" is higher than the 3.5 rating -- the 3.5 rating comes from some of the cons, listed below that take away from the potential of the course to be truly top-tier (it's a great piece of land for disc golf).

Cons: Too many short holes, even in longs -- if the course was in shorts, this would get painfully repetitious and wouldn't be worth all the hiking around.

Hole 10 was incredibly disappointing. Epitomizes "filler" hole. 230' of open field. Waste of space IMHO. Find somewhere else to put the basket for that one -- stretch it back into the trees or something. As is, it is frustratingly silly. (update: word from the locals is that this hole is being changed to make it more challenging)

Hole 12 looks like there are plans for a deeper teepad, which would be great on that hole. As it is, the course has three 4 short hyzer shots in a row (9-12), three of which are pretty wide open. It just gets repetitious. Stretching hole 12 into a monster uphill through the woods (ala PawPaw) would be great.

Hole 14 needs a more clearly defined Mando -- I understand why the current one is there to prevent big hyzers, but the current marker is so unclear that I can see some room for gray -- especially in a tournament, and especially on a thumber route. And that's when you don't want room for gray.

Holes 16-18 are good, but are also a little repetitious. I'm not sure if they could be stretched out or find other alleys to carve up and down that hill, but these are a very anticlimactic way to finish the course. The course starts very strong, but finishes weak and redundant, which it shouldn't, given the potential of the property.

It may have just been a weird day, but I had unusual problems with bounce-outs on those baskets? I had three putts that felt perfect (middle of the chains on nice hyzer putts) that all fell out. One hit chains, fell, bounced off the rim and out, the other two hit the bottom of the basket and popped up and out over the rim. It was really crazy. Still shot a 53 longs to longs, which felt pretty good. But the bounce-outs were just plain weird. Same Wizard I've used for hundreds of other rounds that hasn't had that problem before at other courses.

Really, not a lot of true "cons" -- except that the course has so much room to be better. The overall maintenance of the course was great at the time of my visit. No bathrooms; gravel parking; few trashcans; but these are all non-essentials.

Other Thoughts: This is the only course in the area, and is a great little jaunt not far off the I-95 corridor. In addition, the exit has the most-highbrow looking Chick-Fil-A I've ever been in (CFA near disc golf is a plus for me), and the beer/wine store next door to the CFA has an incredible selection of microbrews and bombers -- plenty to choose from, and well worth the stop, along with reasonable prices. CFA, great beer selection, and fantastic disc golf make this a must-stop exit if you're heading up or down I-95 between Baltimore and Newark...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Splendid Isolation

1    4/12/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect disc golf environment. This is a Disc Golf only park! Makes use of 3 big fields and the woods that surround these. Has elevation, tight fairways, field holes and often shoots from woods into grassy field or from field into woods,fun! Big exorbitant level rubber tees. Multiple tee and pin locations. Well maintained. Amenities include Info sign and scorecards. Map on this web site is very informative and helpful. This is truly a wonderful disc golf environment here. No noise, Nature and disc golf, you feel as though your in a slice of heaven when you pull up to this hidden gem at the end of an almost secret stone driveway. Very fun to throw and not worry about hitting people etc. A great stop if your heading north/south or west/east between other Mid Atlantic Disc Meccas. This one is worth being on your radar despite it's backwater locale...I think any trip from Paw Paw to Delaware or from Wash/Balt to PA would benefit from this little sidetrip. BTW it's not that far out of the way and the drive over the Susquehanna River makes it worth the trip.
Cons: The course is a bit of a letdown after the first 2 holes. I was prepared for something epic after seeing the geology and landscape here, I was really amped up after holes 1 and 2 but the rest of the course seemed to fizzle after those 2 holes. A couple of really unfair plinko holes, #3 and #15. A couple of just way too short and uncreative holes,#5 and #10, annoying mando hole #14 and then a repetitive finish on #16, #17,#18 kind of left me wanting more. All of the holes are good quality holes but just not that epic championship caliber you might expect from such an amazing plot of land. Seems much more of the woods and elevations could have been used and then maybe the field holes could have been bigger and more dramatic rather than simple little drives back and forth. It's still a fun and wonderful destination though...I always dream too much when I am at courses, perhaps. Should at least have a port-o-potty here I think, no wonder girls hate our game?
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a fun big drive slightly uphill and then hole 2 is a dogleg right with woods and a stream containing a wide open fairway. There are some ace chances here on 5 and 10. Plenty of short challenging holes that will punish you if you drift off the fairway. 16 is a fun downhill screamer through a wooded fairway. #6 is fun drive over a grassy meadow valley to a protected pin in front of a steep bank to a stream below. I really liked hole #13 a big open slightly downhill crush across a field to a protected pin...you have to place your big drive precisiely in order to enter the woods cleanly to get par. Course was well designed for all levels and is done first class. If it offered a bit more challenge this course would be Elite.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Even better than before

2-4    2/17/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: turbo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alternate tees and multiple pin positions allow a different course look each time you play. (Look at the score card to see what I mean.)
Cons: Conversely, the course is a little confusing, at first, with some holes having alternate tees and some not, and alternate tees' not always being easier (or harder).
Other Thoughts: Finally got back to Scarboro yesterday for a mid-afternoon round -- my first visit since the tees and pins were upgraded! Playing partner and I both rang up a couple of 5s before we loosened up and settled in. Everything went smoothly until we both blew the mando on the ridiculously Scylla-like 14th (B-position) for circle 6s! (Hint: lay up left of the mando, and carefully pick your way into the trees.)

One interesting note: there are alternate ("Wood") tees on nine holes (4 front, 5 back), but some are easier than the regular ("Fly") tees on those holes and some appear harder (or longer), depending on the pin positions. That makes it interesting to plan your round (in terms of which tee to play on which hole) after you see what the current pin positions are.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Are You Going to Scarboro Hills?

5+    7/3/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 234  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scarboro Hills has a bit of everything. Elevation change, nice open holes, tight wooded shots, long and short and now even an elevated basket. Most holes have multiple pin placements, some changing the feel of the hole from the start. Course is very easy to follow, nice signs pointing to the next tee are abundant. I love the rubber tee pads, very nice to throw from. The hills also has beginner tees on most holes. Course plays fairly quick so both times I've gone its been for two rounds. With the exception of hole 4 and maybe 2 there is little chance of losing a disc here, if you find yourself off the fairway the foilage on the forest floor isn't very thick and bright plastic is easy to spot. Also, I love that the land is solely for the disc golf course. No worries about hitting dog walkers, bikers etc. I think hole 13 long open shot to basket about 40 ft deep in the woods and Hole 17, a long winding downhill wooded shot are my favorites. All and all, a very rewarding experience, beauty of a course.
Cons: Only con I can really think of is a few holes seem to repeat and there's only two holes with big distance, course is mostly short a couple holes are wide open short shots with little elevation change. But its nothing that's gonna stop me from coming back.
Other Thoughts: Being the only course for miles around and such a quality one, Scarboro Hills is a gem.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DG in Northern MD

2-4    9/20/2008   2/2/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 181  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 32.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course benefits from having a parks manager who went LOOKING for a place to put a DGC, and then PAYING to have a designer come in and lay it out. John Duesler did the initial design, and the course makes use of a somewhat difficult piece of property. The result is a somewhat shorter course, but one with a few tricks mixed in. The property is a large sweeping hillside that the course cycles up and then back down weaving through woods and meadows along the way. There are several nice uses of elevation, a couple nice field shots, and a few rather daunting woods holes (some more fair than others).
Except for the few dog walkers I saw, it appears the park is 90% dedicated to DG use. A local player base has developed and the course was expanded a bit with additional pin placements, adding some nice touches to the orginal basic layout.
Cons: Location - it's a little out of the way for regular play, but nice in that there were no courses between Wilmington, DE and Baltimore until this one.
No bathrooms, minimal parking
Other Thoughts: I've only played a couple rounds here, but it was an enjoyable course. The woods holes require some touch/control, and the open shots have a nice balance between gotta throw hard, vs, just be accurate. Not to many events here yet, but I'd go back to play given the opportunity.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Attention to Details

5+    11/28/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Update 9/17/11: The additional tee locations, the improvements to the teepads, the course redesign, and the overall upkeep of the course warrants an additional half-disc (3.5 to 4). Scarboro certainly deserves mention when discussing the top courses in Maryland!

Excellent webpage at http://www.scarborohills.com / made it easy to find and follow

Excellent signage at each hole, showing distances, typical flight paths, and current location of basket

Often there were directions to next tee location

Rubber tee pads
Alternate tee locations (dirt)
Multiple basket positions for most holes
Practice putting basket

Varitey of shots - completely open, into woods, out of woods, completely in woods
Cons:
Rough road to course
Small parking lot
No bathroom
A bit too much in woods
Other Thoughts:
Despite not being overly fond on holes that are mostly/entirely within the woods - and roughly half these holes are - I still enjoyed playing this course, despite the 1-hour drive, plan to return again.

Least favourite hole(s): tie between #3/#15 - both narrow and filled with trees

Favourite hole #18: despite the trees :-), this offered a wider flight path, requiring a good hyzer to reach the basket 250+ feet away


10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Really nice course

8/9/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: Markus Nowc
Played: 64  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice elevation changes, makes it appear easier then it is! - open as well as wooded holes - pure disc golf course, no hiker or bikers around - good signs and nice alt pins - well maintained fairway - the sign at the entrance makes it easy to find
Cons: restrooms and stuff are not really available
Other Thoughts: alt-tees could be nicer, but I know it takes a whole lot of work...so as time comes maybe...

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Birdie/Ace Festival!

11/17/2007   11/17/2007
Review By: CraigC
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open & woods holes. Good signage. Rubber tee pads on all holes, alt tees on most holes. Nice looking course overall.
Cons: Some fairways are close together. The driveway leading up to the course is horrible on your car...gravelly & bouncy. There were many holes that were 250 ft straight out in a field.
Other Thoughts: A nice easy & pleasant course to play. The course is kept up in very nice condition.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good

5/26/2007   6/19/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 220  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 11.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good hole variety, all tees had nice rubber pads, great signs.
Cons: Tough to find since it looks like you're going down someones driveway to get to the course. Keep going down the "driveway" and you'll get there :)
Other Thoughts: Most holes play in either open fields or the woods. I'd say it's a 50/50 mix of the two. The course played fairly short although there were some longer holes to be found.

This was a pretty fun course but I can't say it's worth a really long drive just to play this one course. If you're passing close by and manage to find it then it may be worth a stop to play a quick 18.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.