Trussville, AL 
Civitan Park (John LeMaster DGC) Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #8 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 194ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Nice setting and variety

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice variety in the look and feel to the holes. Many are very tight and some are more open, it's definitely not boring from hole to hole.

Most of the course feels woodsy and some feels more park-like, but it all mixes well without overlapping with other park users.

The two sets of tees are nice and I play both, depending upon my mood. The course is challenging without being frustrating and you can bring your beginner friends here without frustrating them.
Cons: I played recently after a heavy rain and there are quite a few places that the fairways resembled small creeks.
Other Thoughts: One of several good courses in the area. Worth a play if you're in the area. Hit me up if you'd like a guide.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Course is VASTLY IMPROVED

5+    1/28/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: Jebb
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recent course improvements (added benches, bag/sign poles, signage, clearing) have really notched up the quality of this course. A SUPERB new bulletin board is now installed at hole 1 and a large new sign points the way towards hole 2's tee (previously difficult to find). The course now has 3 pins for each hole and is currently in the "A" setup. The City of Trussville has been extremely accomodating towards disc golf, so this course should continue to thrive.
Cons: Tee signs out of date (new ones in progress). Parking turn-around area has a big rut in it, but we are trying to get the city to repair.
Other Thoughts: I like this course so much, I bought a home right next to it. Nothing quite like walking out the back yard onto one of your favorite disc golf courses with another course just 2 blocks away! :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

5+    10/17/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: keebler
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Concrete Pads
2. Easy to find pads
3. Good Distances
Cons: 1. Grass is overgrown
2. Tee Placements are typicaly always in the same spot.
3. Mostly straight shots
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course for 4+ years now, its a good course with a lot of replayability. Challenging, yet most holes are basically straight shots. The baskets have not been moved in few months, and the course seems to have become neglected (grass overgrown in many areas) as the new Carter course has opened.. I enjoy courses with more shot variety, but still enjoy playing this course weekly!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun place to throw some plastic...

1    10/1/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Variety of distances (~200' to 600')
2. Variety of shots (FH, BH, Hammer / Thumber, etc...)
3. Great use of elevation
4. Maps at beginning of course (needed if first timer)
5. Decent signage, including "Next Tee" in most places
6. Concrete tee pads (Pro only)
7. Multiple basket placement (some not visible from tee pad)
8. Good mix of open / wooded
Cons:
1. Signage could use updating
2. Difficult to navigate for first timers
3. No permanent facilities located on site
4. Dirt (and short) tee pads for Am tee boxes
5. Limited number of garbage cans
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is very good. The first tee is played off the driveway out over an open field, but the scenery changes dramatically after that (#2 is a tight wooded fairway over a small ravine). The park itself is only used for disc golf and picnickers, so it works out pretty well. I found the course difficult to navigate, even with "Next Tee" signs around, so get a map at the beginning and bring it along, you'll need it! Most of the holes provide some wooded obstacles and elevation change. There's ample opportunity to really let it rip, and also times where it pays to be very accurate. The course is fun and offers enough challenge for beginners and pros alike, and in my opinion, the course is worth playing if you're a visiting disc golf junkie!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

1    10/14/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't let the first hole fool you; it's nothing like the rest of the course. I give the actual holes - the design and difficulty of shots required - a high A. It is a challenging course with many trees and a fair amount of risk/reward. The course has limited elevation change, but uses OB well. Most of the pro tee pads are large and concrete (though covered with debris). The directional signs are adequate and well placed. The course has many benches, ample garbage cans, and the park is reasonably well kept.
Cons: The course flow gets a D. The course backtracks many times and requires some long walks between holes. The first fairway is uninteresting, tees off from a spot on a paved road, and crosses a paved road (though this is not representative of the course.) The signs are often missing and, while it is not too hard to find the next tee, it is often unclear at which basket the tee is aiming. The am/blue tees are just dirt - though flat and well marked. The course wanders around a building and across roads and driveways.
Other Thoughts: If you believe that every shot should be reachable on the drive, this course may offend you. A few fairways are designed so that dueces would require a large measure of luck. If you prefer open shots, this is not the course for you; the fairways make excellent use of trees and prevailing wind patterns to frustrate your drives. If you want a significant challenge and are willing to do some extra walking, you'll love this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite

5+    9/1/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: livinitupzzz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me preface by saying that this is my primary course. I play it sometimes on a weekly basis and it is about a mile from my house so I have a personal affinity for it. However, as a beginner, I have now played something around 8 courses and have yet to find another course that has the mix of challenges that this course provides. I've found much easier courses and I've found much longer courses (not necessarily harder- just longer).
The mix of shaping shots from amateur tees to accurate driving from pro tees makes a great outing if you have mixed skill levels.
Cons: The city personnel could cut grass a little more frequently. When it is well-manicured- it's hard to beat.

Signage could be better
Other Thoughts: There is a new 18 hole wooded course across the road in the sports complex. Not my favorite but definitely worth a play. You will love if you love wooded courses. I like a course with mixed bag variety.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Trussville Disc Golf Course

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Super clean park in a nice small town setting along a river
Concrete tee pads for pros and dirt tee pads for ams on every hole
Benches and signs on every hole (although the signs are not permanent ones)
Sign poles have bag hooks on them
Alternate basket positions on every hole
Lots of shade when playing on hot afternoons
Great course for beginners
A handful of very tight wooded holes that demand accuracy
The "open" holes have plenty of trees that demand a carefully executed throw
No conflict with other park activities
Cons:
Most holes would not be very challenging to more advanced players
First timers really need the map from this website to navigate the course (the #5 basket really is there if you look long enough)
The wooded holes (2, 3, 17, 18) require extreme caution due to lots of rocks, roots, and steep drop-offs (take a look at the #2 basket photo!)
The open holes are very repetitive
Other Thoughts: Trussville Disc Golf Course is located in Civitan Park in Trussville, AL. While I was playing, a mail truck was delivering mail and a tractor went down the street. Some kids even had a lemonade stand in the neighborhood at the park entrance. Can there be a better small town America setting? While the course itself is not remarkable, it does offer a good round of disc golf in a very scenic surrounding and for this it rates a high "fun factor." You start off from the parking lot with the wide open hole #1, then immediately go into the deep woods for the very narrow, very demanding holes #2 and #3. You then emerge from the woods and most of the remainder of the course plays its way across nicely mowed grass and through trees along the Cahaba River. Finally, #17 and #18 play back through the same woods that you started in. Hole #18 is memorable because the first half of the nearly 400-foot long fairway is tightly wooded but then opens up back towards the parking lot, offering a very unique sightline from the tee pad to the basket. This would be an enjoyable course to play anytime when in the Birmingham area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good enough, not the best.

1    6/30/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LeMaster plays through a very nice park in a nice neighborhood. There were maps at the 1st when I visited, which came in handy. A couple of cool holes in the woods, I really liked 2 and 17 (except some jerks took the basket for 17). The diversity of shots required off the tee mixes up nicely. Signage and benches accompany the nice concrete tee boxes.
Cons: I thought the more open section of the course was a little bland, but works with what is available. One hole on the back nine tees from someone's driveway, and I thought that was sort of weak. Missing basket on 17 (punks) made a great hole anti-climactic.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very good course, but not one of my favorites. Play it if you have the opportunity. It is scenic, at least, and not boring.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Course along the Cahaba River

1    2/2/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros:
-Civitan Park is located in a very scenic Park. Very Clean, well manicured and has a terrific scenic beauty along the Cahaba River.
-Beginner friendly, yet challenging enough for advanced players to enjoy
-Very Nice Tee's: Concrete, Benches, Signs w/ Maps & bag hooks
-Multiple tees (Red & White) and multiple pin placements
-Good use of the terrain: Tight wooded shots, up and down hill sides, navigating your line through the trees, and a couple of wide open shots.
-HIgh "Fun Factor"
-Practice Basket
-1 good distance hole (#10 Red tee=400ft White tee=600ft)
-3 Good narrow risk/reward shots #2,#17,and #18. (17 being a choose the high road vs. the low road shot)
-Course navigates back to the parking lot
-You'll be able to retrieve your discs out of Most of the water Hazards. (With the exception of 11, which is along the river)
-Hole #2 has become a personal favorite of mine
-The rest of the course has you choosing your line through the trees.
Cons: Cons:
-No Course Map or Scorecard (Except for the Hand Drawn map on the bulletin board) I would recommend printing the map from this site. (Links/Files tab) Also, see "Hole Info" tab to print the scorecard.
-Can be hard to navigate for first timers without a map. Also, some of the Teepads were hard to locate as well. This will probably not be a problem after you have played here once.
-No bathrooms (possibly the senior rec-center would allow you to use theirs, but I didn't ask)
-Some of the holes can become a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts:
This course plays through a very enjoyable and well landscaped park. The course starts near the billboard and practice basket, as you pull into the senior citizen rec-center. I found that I struggled with the navigation, even though I snapped a picture of the map on my phone. I got turned around a couple of times, but the for the most part, I didn't have too much of a problem. The streams coming down the hill weren't much of a water hazard, but they did add a very nice touch to the scenery. This made playing some of the repetitive holes, a bit more enjoyable. No special footwear is needed here, but you will be walking up and down some hills and across some rocky terrain. The natural elements made this a very enjoyable experience. It would not be hard to hit George Ward and Civitan both in one day.

Hole #2 has become one of my favorite shots to play. It's tight, rocky, and plays along a steep embankment down into a ravine, making it a challenging risk/reward shot. You'll find your tight wooded shots appear at the beginning and at the end. (2,3,17,18) I'm echoing what has already been said, but most of the course can get a bit repetitive and redundant. Now, let me say this, I think the next time I play here will be a better experience, because I'll know what to expect, and I'll know my way around. I will be able to enjoy it and have fun. I look forward to playing here on future trips to Birmingham.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Go to Trussville!

1    2/21/2010   3/1/2010
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Civitan Park is a very solid course to check out and enjoy. Holes 2, 17, and 18 are really fun to play and really make this course memorable. I am particularly proud of my birdie on 10. There is also a ridiculously long hole which is fun to work your arm out with.
Cons: Transitions to holes from pins to pads don't always flow well. You have to cross a street more than once to play. Occasionally you have to look out for folks that don't play, so look for the kiddies before you flick your disc.
Other Thoughts: If you have spent any time playing at George Ward in Birmingham, I have one thing to say: NO HOMELESS PEOPLE, period.

Also, everybody there was VERY friendly, and I think every person in Trussville walked their dogs, and the dogs were friendly!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.