Disc Golf Store
Trussville, AL 
Civitan Park (John LeMaster DGC) Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #8 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 194ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Enjoyable

5+    10/17/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: keebler
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Concrete Pads
2. Easy to find pads
3. Good Distances
Cons: 1. Grass is overgrown
2. Tee Placements are typicaly always in the same spot.
3. Mostly straight shots
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course for 4+ years now, its a good course with a lot of replayability. Challenging, yet most holes are basically straight shots. The baskets have not been moved in few months, and the course seems to have become neglected (grass overgrown in many areas) as the new Carter course has opened.. I enjoy courses with more shot variety, but still enjoy playing this course weekly!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

1    10/14/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't let the first hole fool you; it's nothing like the rest of the course. I give the actual holes - the design and difficulty of shots required - a high A. It is a challenging course with many trees and a fair amount of risk/reward. The course has limited elevation change, but uses OB well. Most of the pro tee pads are large and concrete (though covered with debris). The directional signs are adequate and well placed. The course has many benches, ample garbage cans, and the park is reasonably well kept.
Cons: The course flow gets a D. The course backtracks many times and requires some long walks between holes. The first fairway is uninteresting, tees off from a spot on a paved road, and crosses a paved road (though this is not representative of the course.) The signs are often missing and, while it is not too hard to find the next tee, it is often unclear at which basket the tee is aiming. The am/blue tees are just dirt - though flat and well marked. The course wanders around a building and across roads and driveways.
Other Thoughts: If you believe that every shot should be reachable on the drive, this course may offend you. A few fairways are designed so that dueces would require a large measure of luck. If you prefer open shots, this is not the course for you; the fairways make excellent use of trees and prevailing wind patterns to frustrate your drives. If you want a significant challenge and are willing to do some extra walking, you'll love this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Trussville Disc Golf Course

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Super clean park in a nice small town setting along a river
Concrete tee pads for pros and dirt tee pads for ams on every hole
Benches and signs on every hole (although the signs are not permanent ones)
Sign poles have bag hooks on them
Alternate basket positions on every hole
Lots of shade when playing on hot afternoons
Great course for beginners
A handful of very tight wooded holes that demand accuracy
The "open" holes have plenty of trees that demand a carefully executed throw
No conflict with other park activities
Cons:
Most holes would not be very challenging to more advanced players
First timers really need the map from this website to navigate the course (the #5 basket really is there if you look long enough)
The wooded holes (2, 3, 17, 18) require extreme caution due to lots of rocks, roots, and steep drop-offs (take a look at the #2 basket photo!)
The open holes are very repetitive
Other Thoughts: Trussville Disc Golf Course is located in Civitan Park in Trussville, AL. While I was playing, a mail truck was delivering mail and a tractor went down the street. Some kids even had a lemonade stand in the neighborhood at the park entrance. Can there be a better small town America setting? While the course itself is not remarkable, it does offer a good round of disc golf in a very scenic surrounding and for this it rates a high "fun factor." You start off from the parking lot with the wide open hole #1, then immediately go into the deep woods for the very narrow, very demanding holes #2 and #3. You then emerge from the woods and most of the remainder of the course plays its way across nicely mowed grass and through trees along the Cahaba River. Finally, #17 and #18 play back through the same woods that you started in. Hole #18 is memorable because the first half of the nearly 400-foot long fairway is tightly wooded but then opens up back towards the parking lot, offering a very unique sightline from the tee pad to the basket. This would be an enjoyable course to play anytime when in the Birmingham area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good enough, not the best.

1    6/30/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LeMaster plays through a very nice park in a nice neighborhood. There were maps at the 1st when I visited, which came in handy. A couple of cool holes in the woods, I really liked 2 and 17 (except some jerks took the basket for 17). The diversity of shots required off the tee mixes up nicely. Signage and benches accompany the nice concrete tee boxes.
Cons: I thought the more open section of the course was a little bland, but works with what is available. One hole on the back nine tees from someone's driveway, and I thought that was sort of weak. Missing basket on 17 (punks) made a great hole anti-climactic.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very good course, but not one of my favorites. Play it if you have the opportunity. It is scenic, at least, and not boring.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Go to Trussville!

1    2/21/2010   3/1/2010
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Civitan Park is a very solid course to check out and enjoy. Holes 2, 17, and 18 are really fun to play and really make this course memorable. I am particularly proud of my birdie on 10. There is also a ridiculously long hole which is fun to work your arm out with.
Cons: Transitions to holes from pins to pads don't always flow well. You have to cross a street more than once to play. Occasionally you have to look out for folks that don't play, so look for the kiddies before you flick your disc.
Other Thoughts: If you have spent any time playing at George Ward in Birmingham, I have one thing to say: NO HOMELESS PEOPLE, period.

Also, everybody there was VERY friendly, and I think every person in Trussville walked their dogs, and the dogs were friendly!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An OK course

1    8/12/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a decent course that had a few exceptional holes. Hole 1 is completely open. Holes 2,17, and 18 are in very thick woods. Holes 3-16 are in completely clean mowed areas with lots of large trees. I felt like hole #2 was exceptional as was #18. The course was clean.
Cons: I pretty much completely agree with the review and problems ZMann44 brought up. #2 is hard to find. Holes 4-16 are not exactly hard or awe inspiring in any way. You have a basket with randomn trees here and there. You have tons of different gaps are are just as likely to get close to the basket with a crap throw as you are with a good one. All of these holes felt the same and none of them offerred anything different from the ones before it. The basket might be different distances from hole to hole but it all looked the same and was really pretty boring. The course also didn't flow real well. You could see several baskets and tees from 4-16 and sometimes it wasn't real obvious were to go next.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a decent course but I didn't think it was a four disc like it was rated. I think a couple of the holes are excellent but there are a lot that are just bland and look the same. If you are in th area it is worth playing but I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good but not Great

1    3/28/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Civitan course in Trussville has good tee pads and baskets. Most of the course is set in a hilly, pasture-type area that has some large and mature trees. This makes it difficult to lose discs on these holes. On either hole 11 or 12, the pin was situated within feet of a large creek. Due to the rain last week, this was essentially a river. It was a pretty neat shot, given the conditions. The scenery in the area is great. There is a small creek bed that actually had some water flowing while we were there. This added to the aesthetic pleasure of the course.
Cons: No bathrooms that I could see. Maybe inside the Senior Center. We almost quit after hole 1 because we couldn't locate hole 2. There are some navigational issues that can hopefully be attended to in the near future. I have read in previous reviews that there are a few that really work to improve this course. Tee signs and navigation directionals would be a great start. There are a few benches...but not very many.
Other Thoughts: I will just say what I feel...I was extremely disappointed with this course. It has nothing to do with those who take the time to put it together. It is a good course and is definitely above average. However, from reading the reviews, I was expecting a much more difficult course with a better design. There were a few mandos that added to the challenge, but not nearly enough. Most tee shots had multiple routes to the basket which doesn't mandate a lot of shot execution or skill. Some holes were long, but that doesn't add difficulty in my opinion. The wooded holes (2,17,18) were rather difficult. However, they were rather overgrown and "gimmicky" when we played them.

After playing hole 1, I thought "they are giving you an easy hole before they throw you to the wolves". After hole 2, I thought "if the rest is this hard, it will be a long day." From that point on it was rather boring until hole 17.

Again, I offer my opinion up solely as a reference for other users of this site. I understand that many may not feel as I do. If I lived in the Birmingham area exactly halfway between this course and George Ward, I would play George Ward 90% of the time and use this course as one when I wanted something a little different.

Again, this review is not meant to bash those who put their efforts into installing and maintaining courses. It is meant as an honest review of the course. This is a good course and I feel extremely confident and fair in my rating as a 3. If I had reviewed it immediately after playing it, it probably would have received a lower rating because I was immensely disappointed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.