Trussville, AL 
Civitan Park (John LeMaster DGC) Share
Uploaded By: Bensontbjj Hole #2
3 / 168ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice setting and variety

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice variety in the look and feel to the holes. Many are very tight and some are more open, it's definitely not boring from hole to hole.

Most of the course feels woodsy and some feels more park-like, but it all mixes well without overlapping with other park users.

The two sets of tees are nice and I play both, depending upon my mood. The course is challenging without being frustrating and you can bring your beginner friends here without frustrating them.
Cons: I played recently after a heavy rain and there are quite a few places that the fairways resembled small creeks.
Other Thoughts: One of several good courses in the area. Worth a play if you're in the area. Hit me up if you'd like a guide.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun place to throw some plastic...

1    10/1/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Variety of distances (~200' to 600')
2. Variety of shots (FH, BH, Hammer / Thumber, etc...)
3. Great use of elevation
4. Maps at beginning of course (needed if first timer)
5. Decent signage, including "Next Tee" in most places
6. Concrete tee pads (Pro only)
7. Multiple basket placement (some not visible from tee pad)
8. Good mix of open / wooded
Cons:
1. Signage could use updating
2. Difficult to navigate for first timers
3. No permanent facilities located on site
4. Dirt (and short) tee pads for Am tee boxes
5. Limited number of garbage cans
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is very good. The first tee is played off the driveway out over an open field, but the scenery changes dramatically after that (#2 is a tight wooded fairway over a small ravine). The park itself is only used for disc golf and picnickers, so it works out pretty well. I found the course difficult to navigate, even with "Next Tee" signs around, so get a map at the beginning and bring it along, you'll need it! Most of the holes provide some wooded obstacles and elevation change. There's ample opportunity to really let it rip, and also times where it pays to be very accurate. The course is fun and offers enough challenge for beginners and pros alike, and in my opinion, the course is worth playing if you're a visiting disc golf junkie!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course along the Cahaba River

1    2/2/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros:
-Civitan Park is located in a very scenic Park. Very Clean, well manicured and has a terrific scenic beauty along the Cahaba River.
-Beginner friendly, yet challenging enough for advanced players to enjoy
-Very Nice Tee's: Concrete, Benches, Signs w/ Maps & bag hooks
-Multiple tees (Red & White) and multiple pin placements
-Good use of the terrain: Tight wooded shots, up and down hill sides, navigating your line through the trees, and a couple of wide open shots.
-HIgh "Fun Factor"
-Practice Basket
-1 good distance hole (#10 Red tee=400ft White tee=600ft)
-3 Good narrow risk/reward shots #2,#17,and #18. (17 being a choose the high road vs. the low road shot)
-Course navigates back to the parking lot
-You'll be able to retrieve your discs out of Most of the water Hazards. (With the exception of 11, which is along the river)
-Hole #2 has become a personal favorite of mine
-The rest of the course has you choosing your line through the trees.
Cons: Cons:
-No Course Map or Scorecard (Except for the Hand Drawn map on the bulletin board) I would recommend printing the map from this site. (Links/Files tab) Also, see "Hole Info" tab to print the scorecard.
-Can be hard to navigate for first timers without a map. Also, some of the Teepads were hard to locate as well. This will probably not be a problem after you have played here once.
-No bathrooms (possibly the senior rec-center would allow you to use theirs, but I didn't ask)
-Some of the holes can become a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts:
This course plays through a very enjoyable and well landscaped park. The course starts near the billboard and practice basket, as you pull into the senior citizen rec-center. I found that I struggled with the navigation, even though I snapped a picture of the map on my phone. I got turned around a couple of times, but the for the most part, I didn't have too much of a problem. The streams coming down the hill weren't much of a water hazard, but they did add a very nice touch to the scenery. This made playing some of the repetitive holes, a bit more enjoyable. No special footwear is needed here, but you will be walking up and down some hills and across some rocky terrain. The natural elements made this a very enjoyable experience. It would not be hard to hit George Ward and Civitan both in one day.

Hole #2 has become one of my favorite shots to play. It's tight, rocky, and plays along a steep embankment down into a ravine, making it a challenging risk/reward shot. You'll find your tight wooded shots appear at the beginning and at the end. (2,3,17,18) I'm echoing what has already been said, but most of the course can get a bit repetitive and redundant. Now, let me say this, I think the next time I play here will be a better experience, because I'll know what to expect, and I'll know my way around. I will be able to enjoy it and have fun. I look forward to playing here on future trips to Birmingham.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid and Diverse

1    11/27/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Civitan Park (John LeMaster DGC) is an interesting mixture of "awe" and "what were they thinking?" First the awe - holes #2 and #18. Hole #2 is certainly the signature hole carved out of the mountainside that feels like it has no real place being a part of this course. It's brutally fun elevated tight rocky madness that makes you love the challenge of a great hole. I personally loved hole #18 as well with it's tight elevated tee box into the pin position cradled by a high burn and tight grouping of trees on the left side. Coupled with #17, a round isn't in the bag until you have conquered the last two holes.

The tee boxes are a mix of mostly good and some bad with decent markers and nice bag holders. Yardage seems fairly accurate, but can be deceiving with steep elevation changes forcing you to make certain throws. Parking is good, and the small community means that you're not going to fight crowds to fit in a round. Basically, it's a good round of diverse disc golf.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #18
Cons: While the use of elevation is interesting, and I loved the holes that played along the few brooks, most of the course is fairly straight forward and sometimes boring. The beautiful Cahaba River adds an additional feature not seen on many courses, but only comes into play on one relatively easy hole.

Civitan Park also suffers from some course flow issues - especially the transitions from holes #3, #4, and #5. You also have to be keen to watch the transitions after #10 through #13. It's not horribly difficult to find your way, but it would be nice if a local could generate a map for players to use.

WORST HOLE/S: #4
Other Thoughts: Playing in the winter time - I missed the sheer beauty of how this moderate to heavily wooded course looks like in the summer and fall. With the decent tree cover - it would be a nice escape in the summer heat. However, don't expect to bring the family, this is not a stroller friendly park - this baby is purely disc golf.

Overall, I enjoyed the experience of the this course, but the design issues and overall yawn factor of the middle portion rank it slightly lower than George Ward Park in downtown Birmingham. However, I still think it deserves a strong 3.5 disc rating, and if you are in the area - make sure you still hit this course and you won't be disappointed.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Gnats!

1    6/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a very fun course that provided good challenge for the shorter length that it was. Each tee has two tees: a pro tee and an am tee. In reality the pro tee is more like an experienced player tee and the am tee is for newbies. The park is wooded with most of the holes being played on grass with plenty of trees lining the fairways. A few of the holes were in more densely wooded areas and were very unforgiving with the lines that you could throw. When I played the course, it was two days after an A-tier tournament had taken place and so the course was really in great shape. Grass mowed short, signs at (almost, except for hole 1) most holes, benches and bag hooks at several tees. The pro boxes are concrete and the am boxes are on the dirt with small blue wooden markers on the ground showing where they are. The course had good balance with shots up and down hills as well as shots that were straight, right, and left.
Cons: Since this was my first time at the course I experienced some of the first timer confusion that happens at a lot of disc golf courses. There was no course map at the beginning and while I am pretty sure that I played hole 1 correctly, I could not find a sign or a well marked tee box for it. The rest of the course flowed moderately well, but we had to make a few longish walks to the next tee and some of those were not terribly obvious. Another small issue with the course was that some of the baskets were in alternate tee positions, but there were no alternates marked on the maps. This meant that it took a little bit of work to find some of the baskets and there were several that did not have accurate distances.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I really enjoyed playing this course. The dual tees made it so that we were both able to play at a difficulty closer to our own skill level. It would have been nice if we had an easier time finding our way around the course, but that is only something that would affect a golfer on their first time through the course. We also had another little challenge as these little gnats were bombarding us. We didn't have mosquito problems, but you couldn't stop moving without gnats flying into your eyes, mouth, nose, and ears. Needless to say, it made putting quite the challenge. Overall, highly recommended to anyone in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/27/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a newer 18 hole course with a lot of potential. There were 2 sets of tees on most (maybe all) of the holes. The long tees are pretty long and will make the long bombers happy. The shorter tees are by no means a pitch and putt however, they are also challenging and perfect for those who cannot throw 350'+ consistently.

The course does have a variety of hole types. The majority of the holes are grassy fairways with several large isolated trees as obstacles. Hole #1 is wide open. There are some holes that play in the dense woods, too.

The large creek/small river does come into play on a couple of holes. One basket is placed near the bank (do don't overthrow your drive), but be careful as the rough near the river bank is high and I spied a snake near the basket.
Cons: It still needs some work, especially in the area of navigational aids for first time players. We almost left after hole 1 because it took us forever to find tee #2! (There are several baskets behind the building that are in view after playing #1, but none of them are for #2. The next tee is on the other side of the building from basket 1. Cross the parking lot and climb up to an opening on the hillside and you will eventually find it.) There were a couple more confusing spots from basket to tee for a first time player. Sometimes there were paper signs attached to trees, but permanent signs and map would be a huge improvement. There was not really a parking lot either, just some gravel and some grass.

Hole #1 was boring, style did not fit the rest of the course, and was not really located with the rest of the course. The wooded holes were very dense, almost overgrown, but I played just as Spring was springing and it rained a lot, but maybe some routine maintenance happens from time to time; if not, those holes could become treacherous in the summer time!

There are no bathrooms anywhere. Some holes play right along a road that apparently is not in the park because people were driving about 30 mph. Some holes are practically in people's front yards, and one tee is a driveway.
Other Thoughts: This a decently challenging course that still needs some maturity and details. It is not nearly as busy as George Ward. It does have variety/mix (1- open, 2-3-tight woods, 4-16 open woods, 17-18 tight woods.) The middle 13 do start to become a little monotonous as the terrain is all very similar. I would have preferred the tight holes to be mixed in a bit more instead of just bookends, but I understand you have to take into consideration the lay of the land and the vision of the course designers who wanted it that way. At times I did not really enjoy this course as much as I had hoped despite the higher ratings from other reviews, but this is due the frustration of navigation. If I had the chance to play it a couple of more times where I could concentrate on my throws instead of trying not to get lost I think I could enjoy it more. Of the 2 in Birmingham, I liked George Ward better after 1 time playing each, but this is still a good course and has the potential to eventually become a great course.

*I realize this is a newer course. I rated it based on my playing experience as it is now, but there is definitely lots of room for maturity and improvements.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/20/2008   12/20/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: fun,very scenic with some holes that rewards good play and punishes bad.has a mix of heavy woods and pine thickets which gives good variety and a picturesque river close to the course
Cons: grass was high and some confusion on a few tee pads to which basket to throw at.The back 9 has long walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: beautiful scenery laid out well don't let hole 1 fool you into thinking the whole course is that easy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A pretty course with nice terrain

1    5/26/2007   9/25/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is on pretty land on the outskrts of a small town. Although it doesn't come into play the nearby Cahaba River adds to the ambience. There are lots of nice trees, especially pines, and lush green grass. With moderate elevation changes and some interesting terrain, like ravines and dry creek beds, this is a fun course. Hole 2 has some of the most unusual and interesting terrain on the course.
*With two sets of tees there's lots of variety for several skill levels. The longer tees are a nice addition to the Birmingham area.
Cons: This is a small quibble, but I found several of the OB markings as kind of quirky. Personally, I didn't think that the creek bed behind the 10 basket should be OB. I also think that the on hole 8 it's kind of quirky to have the dry creek bed in the fairway as OB.
-From basket 13 the closest tee is Tee 15, so it's easy to get confused and miss tee 14. (I did this.) With time better tee signs will correct this.
Other Thoughts: -Long tees = Blue level. Short tees = White level.

-Favorite hole = 16. An uphill shot over a dry creek bed, with a very pretty green grassy fairway with pine trees. It's serene and loaded with natural beauty. Also, hole 2 has a cool ravine near the basket.


12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.