Trussville, AL 
Civitan Park (John LeMaster DGC) Share
Uploaded By: Bensontbjj Hole #2
3 / 168ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Tight shot through the woods



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 This Courses Will Fool You!

1    7/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played # 1. It's a long, boring toss across an open field and I thought, "This is going to be a boring-ass course." Then I played # 2 and it's a super rough, engineering marvel, disc losing, ankle busting hole and I thought, "This course is going to wear me out." Then #'s 4-16 play through a park like setting like many city/state type courses and I thought, "Ok, I'm playing a park like course." Then I played #17 and #18 and I'm thinking, "Wow, this course really had some variety!" This is the first course I've seen down here (in the south) with bag hooks on several holes. I had little trouble navigating the course by myself the first time, a big plus in my book. The next tee signs really helped. There's plenty of parking available. There were three holes that really stood out for me as signature, type memorable holes.
The afore mentioned # 2. It's a little difficult to find. But once you do, you're going to marvel at it's sheer rugged, difficulty and the amount of work that went into carving this monster out of the wilderness.
# 11 is just a little 234 footer. The basket is perched on a small cliff right next to crystal clear little stream. It's an easy birdie but at the same time a treacherous hole. I loved it!
# 17 is a 394 foot (par 4) which starts with a very narrow tunnel shot about 200 feet. Then you can either take a right or left route to the basket. The underbrush is very thick all the way. It's just a really classically well designed hole.
Cons: The board at the beginner could use a nice map. Hole # 1 is boring. Hole # 18 is a bear but this is also a pro. Probably not a course to take a new player to teach them on.
Other Thoughts: This is a fair but challenging course. I'd love to have this as my home course. I highly recommned it to anyone in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Challenging Course

2-4    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Matthew Gardner
Played: 95  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice Course. Has great Baskets and Tees. The Course is well laid out with some great and beautiful holes. My fav hole was the 700 ft Monster Hole 15 through a dense set of trees. Nice benches on most holes.
Cons: Nothing reallly bad about this course. Holes 2, 17, 18 can be very unforgiving if you dont keep it in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course has I am pretty sure 3 pin placements on each hole and 2 sets of tees. If you are a new player I would suggest the shorter AM tees but if you want a challenge play from the concrete tees because the AM tees shorten and make the course a lil too easy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Civitan Park

1    3/26/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Top notch course design. Well maintained park. Not crowded, as of 03-26-09.
Cons: Bathrooms? Poison ivy
Other Thoughts: Tee signs, concrete tee pads, some benches on some of the holes. Several short, technical holes and a couple of +500 foot holes, the rest of the holes play 350 to 450 feet, with trees to deal with. Separate temporary directional signs between holes, a necessity for first time players, especially from hole 1 to tee pad 2, hole 11 to tee pad 12. There was no directional sign between hole 13 and tee pad 14, but this was talked about in a previous review and that helped a lot.
This course has wonderful terrain variety, starting in an open grassy field, then moving up into dense wooded areas with tight and hilly fairways. After a couple of holes it then breaks out into more open space with mature trees, and grassy fairways, still with elevation changes to deal with. The course has a creek running the length of the course but only comes into play on hole eleven when the pin placement is in the short position. The final two holes are played in the dense wooded area again, and will challenge you to finish your round at the same level as you played the rest of the course. In other words, 17 and 18 are not "feel good" holes, their level of difficulty being the highest on the whole course. Which is what the course designers wanted (Tim Keith, and Joe Thacker), the final holes a chance to make or break a tournament round when everything is on the line. Overall the course design is very well thought out, making the players execute a variety of shots - hyzer, annhyzer, tight controlled midrange tee shots, uphill and downhill shots. Every tee shot has trees to deal with, not unfairly, there are preferred flight paths that you will need hit to get your par, or have a chance at birdie. The heavily wooded fairways (holes 2 , 3, 17, and 18), have opened up compared to how it was a couple of years ago, still very technical though.
This park is user friendly, a solid, well balanced course all levels of ability will enjoy. Beginners wont like hole eighteen, but the pros will love it. Pros probably wont be challenged on hole 11, if its in the short position near the water, but beginners will. After talking to Sam the local, who was gracious enough to show me the course, he said there arent a lot of people who play this course compared to the George Ward course in Birmingham, just south of this course. If you want to avoid crowds and play a very fun and challenging course, this is probably the one to go to in the Birmingham area.
Last thoughts, which has nothing to do with the course, is when leaving the freeway to get to the course, or going back to the freeway during rush hour traffic, allow for extra time as the surface streets can get to be bumper to bumper and will feel like the longest mile you've ever crawled, which may be the case. You could certainly walk it faster. That section of road really needs to be upgraded. Once again, this is not a negative for the course, its just something you should be aware of and account for.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/27/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course designed by 2 very experienced pros. There are a few extra pin placements. There are also a second set of tees on some of the more difficult holes. The regular tees are all concrete. The designers are always working on this course and improving it, so I expect to see more changes the next time I play. The design is excellent, with a little elevation, great mix of righty, lefty, short and long shots. Located in a beautiful park, most of the course is full of mature pine trees and grassy fairways, with well placed tees and baskets that force an accurate shot to get the birdie, as well as a few very challenging holes amidst the thick shule around holes 2, 3, 17, and 18 that will really test your mental game.
Cons: The am tees still need to be concreted on several holes. Even from those tees, you better like a challenge when playing this course, as it can still be a difficult course. As mentioned, navigation can be tricky on a few holes, but this is getting improved. There are no bathrooms anywhere on or before the course, and more holes could use benches. Being a fairly new course, a few of the cons will get better in time, at which point my course rating may be subject to improve.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. This course will challenge ever aspect of your game and in my case, can leave you mentally battered and bruised by the end. I have played this course quite a few times in tournaments and have yet to turn in a satisfactory score, yet it only makes me want to play this course again and again. Most of the holes do not appear all that difficult, but the tees and baskets are well placed to require an accurate shot on every hole in order to turn in a good score. If you enjoy a challenge, then I highly recommend playing this course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 If only I lived closer to it.

5+    6/12/2010   2/25/2008
Review By: The Drake
Played: 91  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course on a great piece of land. A great compliment/step up to the other local course (George Ward) pro level players will enjoy this course for its added difficulty. Four holes (2, 3, 17, and 18) play with thick shule lining both sides of the fairway while the other holes have a plethora of trees to require accuracy off the tee. There aren't a whole lot of deuce or die holes (at least when playing from pro pads to pro tees). There are both pro and am pads as well as some newer placements being installed for each hole. A couple of blind tee shots really test your accuracy and control as well as trust of your game. Most holes have had shorter "am friendly" pin placements installed to accommodate the ever growing crop of new players coming out to this park. Some of the rougher holes have cleared up nicely since the courses initial installation. The big stroke killers (2, 17, 18) have all opened up just enough to make the hole less frustrating but are still legitimately tough holes to play. Very nice, long benches with tall bag holding tee posts mark nearly every tee pad.
As I'm writing this post a brand new course just a 2 minute drive away in the Trussville Sports Complex adjacent to LeMaster has just opened.
Cons: Hole 1 has gone through major revisions since its initial installation (mainly secondary to requests from the adjacent activity center worried about cars being hit in the parking lot) which unfortunately adds for considerable confusion and a lengthy transition to get to hole 2. Most am pads still play natural which given the lack of distance on the course really isn't much of a problem. The lack of benches and tee signs is no longer a problem with some very nicely made teeing areas that make it obvious where the next hole is. Tee signs with hole descriptors are present though some of the newer placements have not been added. New signs are on the way. The 13, 14, 15 hole transition is still a bit bothersome as you walk from 13s pin past 15s tee to 14 and then have to trek back to 15s pad. In talks with the course designers ideas have been flown to possible add a couple of holes to at least not make the 14-15 transition seem so redundant.
Other Thoughts: This is my "other home course", George Ward being my true home course. Of the two I much prefer to play trussville as it provides a better challenge for pro players (I just happen to live 1 minute away from GW and 30 from Civitan). The holes on average are longer and they're more wooded in general leaving stray shots in trouble. The location of the course is very serene providing for a calm day of golf and due to its relative immaturity is not very busy. If you're in the area and only have time to play one of our courses I highly recommend this course. This course is getting better and better all the time with adjustments being made and new ideas cropping up.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.