Trussville, AL 
Civitan Park (John LeMaster DGC) Share
Uploaded By: Bensontbjj Hole #2
3 / 168ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

5+    7/27/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course designed by 2 very experienced pros. There are a few extra pin placements. There are also a second set of tees on some of the more difficult holes. The regular tees are all concrete. The designers are always working on this course and improving it, so I expect to see more changes the next time I play. The design is excellent, with a little elevation, great mix of righty, lefty, short and long shots. Located in a beautiful park, most of the course is full of mature pine trees and grassy fairways, with well placed tees and baskets that force an accurate shot to get the birdie, as well as a few very challenging holes amidst the thick shule around holes 2, 3, 17, and 18 that will really test your mental game.
Cons: The am tees still need to be concreted on several holes. Even from those tees, you better like a challenge when playing this course, as it can still be a difficult course. As mentioned, navigation can be tricky on a few holes, but this is getting improved. There are no bathrooms anywhere on or before the course, and more holes could use benches. Being a fairly new course, a few of the cons will get better in time, at which point my course rating may be subject to improve.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. This course will challenge ever aspect of your game and in my case, can leave you mentally battered and bruised by the end. I have played this course quite a few times in tournaments and have yet to turn in a satisfactory score, yet it only makes me want to play this course again and again. Most of the holes do not appear all that difficult, but the tees and baskets are well placed to require an accurate shot on every hole in order to turn in a good score. If you enjoy a challenge, then I highly recommend playing this course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 If only I lived closer to it.

5+    6/12/2010   2/25/2008
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course on a great piece of land. A great compliment/step up to the other local course (George Ward) pro level players will enjoy this course for its added difficulty. Four holes (2, 3, 17, and 18) play with thick shule lining both sides of the fairway while the other holes have a plethora of trees to require accuracy off the tee. There aren't a whole lot of deuce or die holes (at least when playing from pro pads to pro tees). There are both pro and am pads as well as some newer placements being installed for each hole. A couple of blind tee shots really test your accuracy and control as well as trust of your game. Most holes have had shorter "am friendly" pin placements installed to accommodate the ever growing crop of new players coming out to this park. Some of the rougher holes have cleared up nicely since the courses initial installation. The big stroke killers (2, 17, 18) have all opened up just enough to make the hole less frustrating but are still legitimately tough holes to play. Very nice, long benches with tall bag holding tee posts mark nearly every tee pad.
As I'm writing this post a brand new course just a 2 minute drive away in the Trussville Sports Complex adjacent to LeMaster has just opened.
Cons: Hole 1 has gone through major revisions since its initial installation (mainly secondary to requests from the adjacent activity center worried about cars being hit in the parking lot) which unfortunately adds for considerable confusion and a lengthy transition to get to hole 2. Most am pads still play natural which given the lack of distance on the course really isn't much of a problem. The lack of benches and tee signs is no longer a problem with some very nicely made teeing areas that make it obvious where the next hole is. Tee signs with hole descriptors are present though some of the newer placements have not been added. New signs are on the way. The 13, 14, 15 hole transition is still a bit bothersome as you walk from 13s pin past 15s tee to 14 and then have to trek back to 15s pad. In talks with the course designers ideas have been flown to possible add a couple of holes to at least not make the 14-15 transition seem so redundant.
Other Thoughts: This is my "other home course", George Ward being my true home course. Of the two I much prefer to play trussville as it provides a better challenge for pro players (I just happen to live 1 minute away from GW and 30 from Civitan). The holes on average are longer and they're more wooded in general leaving stray shots in trouble. The location of the course is very serene providing for a calm day of golf and due to its relative immaturity is not very busy. If you're in the area and only have time to play one of our courses I highly recommend this course. This course is getting better and better all the time with adjustments being made and new ideas cropping up.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A pretty course with nice terrain

1    5/26/2007   9/25/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is on pretty land on the outskrts of a small town. Although it doesn't come into play the nearby Cahaba River adds to the ambience. There are lots of nice trees, especially pines, and lush green grass. With moderate elevation changes and some interesting terrain, like ravines and dry creek beds, this is a fun course. Hole 2 has some of the most unusual and interesting terrain on the course.
*With two sets of tees there's lots of variety for several skill levels. The longer tees are a nice addition to the Birmingham area.
Cons: This is a small quibble, but I found several of the OB markings as kind of quirky. Personally, I didn't think that the creek bed behind the 10 basket should be OB. I also think that the on hole 8 it's kind of quirky to have the dry creek bed in the fairway as OB.
-From basket 13 the closest tee is Tee 15, so it's easy to get confused and miss tee 14. (I did this.) With time better tee signs will correct this.
Other Thoughts: -Long tees = Blue level. Short tees = White level.

-Favorite hole = 16. An uphill shot over a dry creek bed, with a very pretty green grassy fairway with pine trees. It's serene and loaded with natural beauty. Also, hole 2 has a cool ravine near the basket.


12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.