Pittsford, VT 
Pittsford DGC Share
Uploaded By: StevenFoster Hole #9 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 150ft.   3 / 212ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Much improved since the last time I was here.

2-4    6/27/2016   6/29/2016
Review By: HoosickTony
Played: 74  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 21.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Great scenery
*Easy to navigate
*a fair mix of R/L and straight, altough it starts mostly RHFH or LHBH friendly
*great swimming hole for when you are finished
*nice use of topography
*well maintained (you can see that some people who care about this course are cleaning stuff out and keeping the lines open)
Cons: *most of front 9 short "plinko" throws.
*tees "au natural" with roots and rocks and mud pits oh my!
*lots of semi-fair, mostly unfair, or complete luck trees left in the intended path to the basket that could/should be removed IMHO
*deer ticks
Other Thoughts: Bag used/needed: 6 discs. I carried my usual tournament bag of 17 discs, but only I used two drivers, three midranges and a putter. And I could have gotten away with the basic 3 starter set.

Impression: I think that the reviewer who gave this a 0.5 star rating has a few good points, but that he/she is totally wrong about the current state of the course. Every hole was very pleasantly maintained, discs were easy to find, and the undergrowth was mostly manageable except for #18, where it is never going to be anything but dense thickets edging both sides of a power line.

After the first few holes I thought I was going to hate this course because they were all short holes that featured a "Right turn Clyde" intended path where I just had to choose a semi-gap and pray for a good kick. Eventually things evened out, and my natural RHBH hyzer did come in handy, but the first few were more luck than skill for the first time player. Eventually, if you are a local, these holes have familiar lines that you can hit, but trying to hit 5 foot gaps followed by 5 foot gaps is not really fair to us tourists.

Those who have said that this is a short course with pars that are a little inflated are correct. There is only one legitimate par 4 (uphill and 400+ feet and narrow narrow), and one illegitimate par 4 (260 feet with two opposing 90 degree doglegs, putter/putter/pray you didn't hit anything).

The final hole is arguably a par4 at 450+ feet, but it is very downhill, and all three times I've played here I've been even with the basket or just past it on my drive. And my long throwing friends would be bombing this one with a midrange, so let's say this is a par4 for beginner/intermediate and par3 for advanced.

On a scale of 0 (horrible) to 5 (heavenly):
Scenery:4
Ease of navigation:4
Tee pads:1
Baskets:4
Variety:2.5
Bomb factor:1 (only 1 hole to bomb)
Risk/reward opportunities:2 (mostly just find a path and throw)
Fairness:2.5
Use of terrain:4
Amenities:4
Beginner friendliness:3.5
Non-disc golfer opportunities for fun:4


About the reviewer: I've been playing for over 20 years, but only seriously since 2007. I throw RHBH predominantly, with a wide arsenal of other shots that I use when I need them, and my drives average about 320ft on flat ground. My PDGA rating hovers around 900, which means on good days I shoot a few below par, on bad days a few above.

About my preferences: In my opinion the perfect disc golf course is an interesting walk in a natural space, with a wide variety of challenging but fair opportunities that test ALL of your shot making skills regardless of which hand you favor for throwing discs. I am happiest when I have to think my way from tee to basket hole after hole after hole. In my opinion the worst disc golf courses have nothing to offer but holes that a) only test of how far you can throw b) only favor one particular type of throw c) feature "plinko" lines choked with obstacles where luck is more important than skill d) are so short that a putter is all you need e) are so wide open that the only challenge is one of judging distance f) feature lines that discs were never meant to travel (such as a hole with two 90 degree doglegs in opposite directions) I am saddest when I am bored or cheated by a hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

# 18 Alone Is Worth The Price Of Admission!

1    8/4/2015   8/4/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 945  Reviewed: 895  Exp: 38.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pittsford DGC is at back of a recreation complex that features a couple of ball fields, restroom facilities, a small lake for swimming , hiking trails and a playground area. The course has these beautiful wooden tee signs showing the hole #, par, distance, map and a sponsor. They're quite nice and I'm impressed that all are intact with no signs of any vandalism. The pads are natural. They were fine for August but how would they be in October? The baskets are Discatchers with the yellow band and numbers. There are two pads for hole, the Long Whites and the Short Reds. The tees are marked like golf tees with colored wooden markers on the ground. There are next tee signs where needed.

The course is mostly technical. You're going to battle the trees on most every hole but I always felt there was a fair route.

I liked # 6 quite a lot. It's 300' from the Longs but downhill. A fun throw, I thought.

But I feel the best was saved for last. I loved # 17. It's 330' downhill anhyser shot to a very cool protected basket location. Just an overall complete hole!

Then I walked up to # 18. 487' down the power lines. Playing by myself, a whole range of emotions swept over me....Awesome....Scary...Intimidation...Excitement! It's scary and intimidating playing by yourself, the fairway seems to shrink. The rough on both sides looks deeper and darker and more foreboding, kind of like when you were a kid walking down a road alone at night, those scary old woods!
Cons: # 14 is a 345' downhill throw. It's listed as a Par 4. It should be a 3. I bet there's quite a few Eagles on that hole.

Course was boggy in places even in early August.

Although the course plays fairly short, all those trees do tend to jump out and bat down a few discs. Kind of like trying to throw a pass through the Kentucky zone defense.
Other Thoughts: If this were a course that I were to play often, I think I would always (or whenever possible) play a 19th hole. I would throw from the picnic table near the 9th basket to the practice basket. Par 3.

I could come back here time and time again. Knowing that 17 and 18 are coming up, would always keep me pumped, even after thumping tree after tree.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Free is free

5+    8/5/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: DiscFan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/29/2015
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a free course. I love free...the rec is in a nice spot. They put in a practice basket at the beginning of the course if you want to work on putting. If you go there at an off time, there is huge field work potential. All you want really...multiple directions back and forth, it's great. The 9th hole is a wide open (almost) 217' to the basket, if you prefer field practice with a target.

It is well marked, hand carved signs at tees are nice.
Cons: As others have mentioned the trees are numerous! You will be hitting a tree or two through a round. It calls for a precise shot in many spots. Some holes are more ridiculous than others. I think they may have been limited by what the rec would allow in terms of clearing. (just a guess)
Other Thoughts: I think some of the reviewers (M@M for example) were a bit harsh. This is not a world class destination course for sure. But it is a decent course, and it's right by my house, and it's free! More volunteers might improve the situation? If you live around here play here. (you probably already do) Don't expect too much, and have fun!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I love you, but I don't have to like you.

5+    6/3/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Whytie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Signage is hand carved!
- Care has been taken making this course.
- Hole 18 makes your heart just lift up.
- Good terrain changes.
- Good baskets.
- Deers!
Cons: - A lot of trees. Be prepared to donk.
- I've seen local kids hanging out on the course with their dirt bikes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 excellent course

5+    3/13/2013   3/13/2013
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 well designed fairways, two tee pads each hole (short=red and long=white) but everybody plays from the whites. The pins are discatchers and look slick. Well engineered greens on every hole. I don't know why the other reviews say the course is short, they must have played from the reds or something. There are 6 legitimate pro par 4 holes so "every hole is par 3" goes out the door, giving you a chance to birdy even if you blow your tee shot by making an awesome 2nd shot. Lots of elevation changes, some tight woods holes, some more open. One hole (18) is monster grip and rip of 487 feet down an open power line clearing. The tee signs are superb, somebody took big thick wooden boards and routered all the info on, with a map of each hole gouged into the wood. Looks like a professional sign maker did this. I took pictures of the signs.
Cons: A fairway is the place where there are no trees. Some of these fairways didn't get the memo. If you stand on the tee pad and say "where's the fairway" it's time to get out the Husqvarna. But the locals told me the park won't allow much tree cutting, just the minimum. I'm thinking of sneaking in during the night and cutting some, and say a beaver did it. The tee pads uh, there aren't any. Just dirt which turns to mud when it rains. If there were concrete pads and treeless fairways I'd give this course a 4.5
Other Thoughts: This has been my local course since moving to VT and while waiting for the snow to melt on Killington and Sugar Bush. It's been good to me and I've grown to like this course a lot. It is NOT a beginners course as some of these reviews say. They make it sound like a pitch and putt on a grassy field. Noooooo way Ho Zaaaaaay!!!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Development Options

5+    10/31/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: TeeSquared
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2014
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Other Thoughts: I think M@ hit the proverbial nail with his review here. That said, I visit this course weekly for practice and to introduce beginners, since it is the closest to both my home and work. There has been a little work done on the back nine as of 9/2012. I could go into a long description of each hole I think needs work or that could be expanded upon but instead I will just say that I would be willing to volunteer help with future development and layout if any of the course designers/maintainers are looking for help to bolster this course by adding some longer tees for advanced players. (PM me on this site.)

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A COURSE IS BETTER THAN NO COURSE

5+    7/6/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: M@MARRO
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great Baskets - Good quality baskets always make a day golfing more enjoyable.

Well Marked - If you find yourself wondering where you're going next, just look around. Tee box signs or "next tee" indicators are at every hole.

Cute - Seems like the front 9 are a great place for families to learn

Wonderful hand carved signs from local sponsors.
Cons: Short. And by short i mean short, short. It's a pitch and putt and most. I think I use a driver for onc shot on this course and that because I throw a roller.

- It honestly seems like someone heard about Disc Golf on TV and the internet and then decided to put up a course without having actually played. The land could have been used beautifully if someone would have taken the time to find a player in the area with literally "any" knowledge of the game.

- The "newer" back 9 has fewer lines to the tee than pretty much any course i have ever played. It seems like the designer wanted it "hard for the sake of hard". Rather than taking the time to creatively solve a way to maximize land it literally plays like someone said "oh, there's a bunch of trees let's put the basket 200 feet away and see if anyone can get through".

- Throw and pray is no way to play disc golf.

- The course is several years old at this point and I haven't seen a single brush pile moved or burned. Great for insects and squirrels, horrible for discs.

- Unrealistic pars. There are "NO REAL PAR 4's" on this course. But some should probably be Par 2.
Other Thoughts: Any course is better than no course. I hope pittsford rec takes the time to improve this amazing piece of land for a proper course.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/24/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: BIG O
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Quiet, challenging, disc catcher pro targets, free, different than anything in the area. There is a perfect driving range from the #9 pin to the practice basket.
Cons: Front 9 is well established and playing better than last year, but back 9 just went in and is a little rough around the edges still.
Other Thoughts: Quiet, heavily wooded course that makes you think more strategy than grip it and rip it.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.