Disc Golf Store
Pittsford, VT 
Pittsford DGC Share
Uploaded By: StevenFoster Hole #13 (Taken 3/2013)
4 / 280ft.   4 / 426ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Free is free

5+    8/5/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: DiscFan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a free course. I love free...the rec is in a nice spot. They put in a practice basket at the beginning of the course if you want to work on putting. If you go there at an off time, there is huge field work potential. All you want really...multiple directions back and forth, it's great. The 9th hole is a wide open (almost) 217' to the basket, if you prefer field practice with a target.

It is well marked, hand carved signs at tees are nice.
Cons: As others have mentioned the trees are numerous! You will be hitting a tree or two through a round. It calls for a precise shot in many spots. Some holes are more ridiculous than others. I think they may have been limited by what the rec would allow in terms of clearing. (just a guess)
Other Thoughts: I think some of the reviewers (M@M for example) were a bit harsh. This is not a world class destination course for sure. But it is a decent course, and it's right by my house, and it's free! More volunteers might improve the situation? If you live around here play here. (you probably already do) Don't expect too much, and have fun!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love you, but I don't have to like you.

5+    6/3/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Whytie
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Signage is hand carved!
- Care has been taken making this course.
- Hole 18 makes your heart just lift up.
- Good terrain changes.
- Good baskets.
- Deers!
Cons: - A lot of trees. Be prepared to donk.
- I've seen local kids hanging out on the course with their dirt bikes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

excellent course

5+    3/13/2013   3/13/2013
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 well designed fairways, two tee pads each hole (short=red and long=white) but everybody plays from the whites. The pins are discatchers and look slick. Well engineered greens on every hole. I don't know why the other reviews say the course is short, they must have played from the reds or something. There are 6 legitimate pro par 4 holes so "every hole is par 3" goes out the door, giving you a chance to birdy even if you blow your tee shot by making an awesome 2nd shot. Lots of elevation changes, some tight woods holes, some more open. One hole (18) is monster grip and rip of 487 feet down an open power line clearing. The tee signs are superb, somebody took big thick wooden boards and routered all the info on, with a map of each hole gouged into the wood. Looks like a professional sign maker did this. I took pictures of the signs.
Cons: A fairway is the place where there are no trees. Some of these fairways didn't get the memo. If you stand on the tee pad and say "where's the fairway" it's time to get out the Husqvarna. But the locals told me the park won't allow much tree cutting, just the minimum. I'm thinking of sneaking in during the night and cutting some, and say a beaver did it. The tee pads uh, there aren't any. Just dirt which turns to mud when it rains. If there were concrete pads and treeless fairways I'd give this course a 4.5
Other Thoughts: This has been my local course since moving to VT and while waiting for the snow to melt on Killington and Sugar Bush. It's been good to me and I've grown to like this course a lot. It is NOT a beginners course as some of these reviews say. They make it sound like a pitch and putt on a grassy field. Noooooo way Ho Zaaaaaay!!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Development Options

5+    10/31/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: TeeSquared
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2014
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Other Thoughts: I think M@ hit the proverbial nail with his review here. That said, I visit this course weekly for practice and to introduce beginners, since it is the closest to both my home and work. There has been a little work done on the back nine as of 9/2012. I could go into a long description of each hole I think needs work or that could be expanded upon but instead I will just say that I would be willing to volunteer help with future development and layout if any of the course designers/maintainers are looking for help to bolster this course by adding some longer tees for advanced players. (PM me on this site.)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A COURSE IS BETTER THAN NO COURSE

5+    7/6/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: M@MARRO
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great Baskets - Good quality baskets always make a day golfing more enjoyable.

Well Marked - If you find yourself wondering where you're going next, just look around. Tee box signs or "next tee" indicators are at every hole.

Cute - Seems like the front 9 are a great place for families to learn

Wonderful hand carved signs from local sponsors.
Cons: Short. And by short i mean short, short. It's a pitch and putt and most. I think I use a driver for onc shot on this course and that because I throw a roller.

- It honestly seems like someone heard about Disc Golf on TV and the internet and then decided to put up a course without having actually played. The land could have been used beautifully if someone would have taken the time to find a player in the area with literally "any" knowledge of the game.

- The "newer" back 9 has fewer lines to the tee than pretty much any course i have ever played. It seems like the designer wanted it "hard for the sake of hard". Rather than taking the time to creatively solve a way to maximize land it literally plays like someone said "oh, there's a bunch of trees let's put the basket 200 feet away and see if anyone can get through".

- Throw and pray is no way to play disc golf.

- The course is several years old at this point and I haven't seen a single brush pile moved or burned. Great for insects and squirrels, horrible for discs.

- Unrealistic pars. There are "NO REAL PAR 4's" on this course. But some should probably be Par 2.
Other Thoughts: Any course is better than no course. I hope pittsford rec takes the time to improve this amazing piece of land for a proper course.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/24/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: BIG O
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quiet, challenging, disc catcher pro targets, free, different than anything in the area. There is a perfect driving range from the #9 pin to the practice basket.
Cons: Front 9 is well established and playing better than last year, but back 9 just went in and is a little rough around the edges still.
Other Thoughts: Quiet, heavily wooded course that makes you think more strategy than grip it and rip it.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.