Richmond, VA 
University of Richmond Share
Uploaded By: FredVegasDGC Hole #16 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wasted Potential

5+    4/17/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 7/25/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There are several decent holes sprinkled throughout the property, particularly one that sits on a nice lake. The opening holes are at least playable without much overgrowth to fight.
Cons: -Brutal rough combined with overgrown fairways mean that lots of kicks end in a frustrating, thorny search that may or may nor return a disc.
Other Thoughts: I've played this, and every other course in the Richmond area, a number of times and this is the only one that I've never i had fun playing. The fairways in the woods are incredibly tight, not from design but because the course is not maintained and is heavily overgrown. When you kick off an early tree here you may find your disc and still come away wishing you hadn't bothered looking for it as the thorns and poison ivy are abundant. The distances listed on the signage can be wildly inaccurate (the first time i played the lake hole i must have launched my disc 75' out into the water based on the distance shown). This course could be nice if a bunch of work was put into in, right now there are too many good options in the Richmond area to spend time out here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

It could be great, with work

1    8/19/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: MrMax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course directory has a large course map and has a list of DG rules making it inviting for new players. The first 3 holes and the last 2 holes are set right on the campus on beautifully manicured lawns, except one (17) whose tee pad was missing from construction. One of the lakeside baskets was really nice. The tee pads are 3/4" rubber matting, and I believe are post consumer recycled. The tee signs and baskets are in good condition and the signs are very helpful.
Cons: I though I was lost when I went to find hole 4. And then when I found it I couldn't believe my eyes. It's a short blind shot, dog leg right, down 2 graded 10' elevation drops. There was a slight dirt path through the middle about 5' wide which would technically be the fairway? Surrounding that were 4-5' tall weeds, briars, shrubs and vines. I kept thinking that I was seeing discs in the undergrowth, only to find that what I was seeing were Doritos bags, natty ice cans and Mtn dew bottles. We had to throw in turns, with on person standing at the edge of the second teir down to act as a spotter. Then we had to jump the creek bed where the bridge was out. Then we had to creep behind the tennis court on the hobo-esque dirt path (keep in mind, the beer bottles and Doritos) to find the next couple baskets. Finally, the course led back to a real path, with steps and benches (and a trash can) and there were a few decent woods baskets to enjoy. Following this were 2 lakeside baskets, the first of which paralleled a tributary stream surrounded by chest high briars on each side. I fought said briars viciously to reclaim my flick (I know, personal problem :) before completing the basket about 10' from the lakes edge. I got in and waded around the lake a little, since I was already wet from getting my flick out of the stream, I saw another Doritos bag that I thought was a disc in the shallows. The following basket doubled back, this time parallel to the road. 17 rejoined civilization, it did not have a tee pad or sign. 18 was beautiful, right by the entrance. So, 5 good baskets where everyone can see them and 13 misadventures in overgrowth and litter. I wish the school would pu a little effort into, essentially, finishing their course. They got the most visible ones done, so all the non-players can enjoy looking at them. Now it would be nice if they completed it so it can actually be used with previous jungle-exploration experience.
Other Thoughts: I would love to play this course again if they fixed it. I won't be going back again until they do (unless they pay me to bring my weed whacker and chainsaw)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bob's back yard disc course...

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: Jpcole9702
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: At some point there was a large amount of money poured into this course.
Cons: Where to begin: Missing signs, trash everywhere on the course, very difficult to actually find the course, new trees planted with no consideration of the course, hasn't been maintained in months, 500 foot blind par 3's, most holes are not labeled and are nearly impossible to see the pin, trails are non-existant in some places... i could keep going on and on...
Other Thoughts: Over all this course must have started with something really great in mind, but maybe a lack of use, or lack of maintenance or possibly multiple unknown reasons this course has fallen to the way-side. There was several times that even with a perfect throw, you may never see the disc again as it hasn't been maintained in several months. I felt like I was in someones personal back yard course with only a days worth of preparation used to build this course. Do not go here unless you are in need of some real disappointment!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 All hyped up

1    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We were definitely looking forward to playing this course after reading some of the reviews from some of the players who enjoyed the course. The course does have several unique shots making great use of elevation and the landscape. The signs are in great condition, for the holes that have them. And the tee pads were great.
Cons: The course is not well maintained. A couple of the holes were just plain un-playable unless you had a disc that you were just itching to lose. And speaking of itching, there is poison ivy/oak everywhere in the woods and some of it is just unavoidable, even in the "fairways." Several of the holes are missing tee pad signs which makes finding where the basket is a challenge, and where the next tee is even harder. It took some time finding some of the holes, and we never did find the pad for hole 17. Several of the holes, while the layout was nice, were just impossible with the trees and overgrowth.
Other Thoughts: The course has great potential, but unfortunately, just did not live up to the hype. And it is definitely not worth the poison ivy!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/7/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: seanwrodgers
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good mix of in the trees and some open holes; nice amount of trees as obstacles and uphill/downhill or blind shots.
Cons: oddly enough, the course needs to be played more to be better; lots of little twigs and branches in the way that wouldn't be there if it were played more; also there is some construction causing some temporary problems with some holes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Hike Through Too Many Trees

1    3/29/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an absolutely beautiful course. The first few holes through the edge of campus and the alumni center are awesome. Other holes by the lake are also beautiful.

Lots of easygoing college kids nearby.

Nice walking trail through the course.

Course was made with the intent of being as eco-friendly as possible.

Great use of elevation changes to make a wide variety of approaches.

Great rubber tee mats! That is a real treat in the Richmond area.

Awesome hole signs with directions to the next tee (although the signs are funny...they show 1-4 trees per hole, whereas there isn't a hole out there between 4 and 17 with less than 100 trees in play).

Nice course map on the first tee. I would recommend downloading or printing a copy for your first round because some of the navigation is a bit difficult.
Cons: This place is simply too narrow. I know they wanted to conserve nature, but some of the holes are just ridiculously skinny.

17 tee box is not available due to construction.

Lots of OB on the first few holes. The parking lot is a bit too close for comfort.

Construction currently makes navigation a bit difficult.

The bridge between 4 and 5 is out...its a pretty big jump across the creek
Other Thoughts: This course could be awesome with a few tree trimmings. It is a course based solely on shot placement, but some of the holes are 95% luck. A little work on this course would make it great. As it stands, its just not that much fun for beginners as it is incredibly narrow and frustrating. I may return for a hike, but not to play disc golf.

Lots of the tees have trees just to the right of the tee box which are a bit of a problem for RHFH players.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/15/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The entire University of Richmond was beautifully maintained. There were many fun holes. Most of the holes range between 250-300ft so it is beginner friendly but it still can be challenging with tightly wooded holes.

Other Pros:
- scenic lake scenes on some holes
- nice tee signs (with direction to next tee)
- elevation used
- spider logo on top of the basket looks great
Cons: The biggest con is when non-DG obstacles come into play. Please watch out for joggers, bikers, dog walkers, and cars. There are plenty of people around the area near the lake and most are not college students.

If you take a look at the map you will see where navigation issues will come into play. The tee signs will get you in the correct direction while you're on the course but a map in hand would be best.

Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised with this course and I think it compliments the other Richmond area courses very well.

I had a great time and I think the course will only become better with some more time to break in.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Multiple Challenges, Multiple Rewards

2-4    7/27/2013   6/6/2011
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Landscape, shot variety, signage and teepads
Cons: Average length
Other Thoughts: The disc golf course at the University of Richmond shows it's Jekyll side for the first three holes, with excellent signage and well manicured and mostly open holes typical of other college campus courses. Then the course moves into the woods for #4, turning Hyde in terms of holes (though not in terms of signage and teepads) with thick woods and the sort of touch shots that demand your most reliable mid-range discs, and beat those discs up when you don't put them where you mean too. You don't come out of the woods until #12, for two more picture perfect lakeside holes, and then right back into the woods for a tight uphill shot on #14. The course finishes with its kinder face, with #17 and #18 resuming the characteristics of the first three holes.

This course is multi-faceted, and will challenge most aspects of most players' games. With only one set of tees, and playing mostly 200-350 feet, it's not built for the big arms, but otherwise you'll need to put drivers where you want to, and shape touch shots in the woods just right. This is the sort of course where the more you play it, the more you can figure out how best to play it. Most of the woods holes are tight, a couple perhaps unreasonably so, but maybe the designers meant for you to play two well placed mid-range shots, rather than one drive. These holes play around turns left and right, up and down hills, and the effect is the sort of course where scoring spreads can vary pretty widely I'd think; stay on course and you'll be par all the way, but let up for one throw and you're off in the thicket, looking at a double. Players with good control are rewarded here, but those whose strength is off the tee can catch up a bit on the seven more mixed/open holes.

The course at UR is somewhat complementary to the area's one sort of high-end course, Bryan Park. Both play over an attractive landscape featuring some impressive trees and idyllic water views. Bryan Park is a classic city park landscape, long, mostly open, natural teepads, and most holes playing in straight line. UR is not long by any definition, but does give Richmonders a taste of the top-end DG landscape that can be found on some college campus courses. This nice taste, however, is offset by a couple holes with a very high potential for losing discs (#4 especially) and a couple more that many players might consider unreasonably tight and wooded. The signage at UR is top-notch, but even so there are three or four transitions where first time players could easily get off course, especially going from #3 to #4, and a bunch of next tee signs would help a lot. The teepads are rubber mats over level ground, so not concrete but still pretty good, and the landscape and scenery are as fine as any course in the area, however.

Overall I rate this course as Good, and worth seeing if you're in the area and it suits your taste. Taken as a whole, this course has a bunch of good holes, and the landscape, signage, and teepads are a plus. The frustration factor introduced by some other aspects of the course, however, must be acknowledged. Bring a map the first time through, and your best touch game, and you should be glad you made your way to this course.

Favorite Hole - #12 - straighforward hole out of the woods plays to basket set right on the lake.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Campus Course

1    5/21/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 88  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 28.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really like this course. Designed to fit the campus & still be challenging. The open holes at the beginning & end were great ways to warm up and end the round.

Not being a big drive thrower the course fit my style of play. I was able to hit a few birdies and when I missed the path on the wooded holes I paid the price.

Some criticize the course for being heavy woods if you miss a throw, but I think it's the incentive to not go there. Just keep an eye on your disc if it sails off the path.

The course is a good mix of holes given that it's on a University campus.

The tee pads are wearing in nicely and the hole signs are accurate.

The wood holes have a diversity that is a challenge, up hill, down hill & hyzers & anhyzers. Yet if you hit the line a birdie is very possible.
Cons: The only con was the walk from hole 3 to 4. I got lost but a little sign mid-way would fix that. This con was negated for me when a University grounds keeper saw me and gave me a ride in his cart to the #4 tee.
Other Thoughts: Some may not like this course because there are some short holes. But the short holes are tree heavy and there are ace lines you just have to hit them. If you don't your in the jail house and that's where you should be for missing the drive.

Once the newness of the course gets worn in to remove some of the walking hazards, some trails in the bushes to help look for a stray disc will lift the 4 rating to a 5 for me.

I'll be playing this course again.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good addition to the campus

2-4    4/21/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: BPIdiscDUDE
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Like the new rubber tees
-nice new baskets
-great signs at every tee
-challenging drives
-nice atmosphere
Cons: -difficult to navigate without a map
-VERY heavily wooded on most holes
-areas off fairways are fairly rough (wear long pants)
-fairways are a little nasty, not yet broken in
Other Thoughts: -make sure that you have discs that are easy to spot, my buddies and I spent a long time looking for discs in the bushes all round the course

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.