Greeley, CO
The Outback DGC Share
Uploaded By: jcolgate Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   3 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Outback of the Funplex

1    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Some quirky but fun elevation changes. Hole 2 and 5 especially come to mind. Hole 2 you can't see the basket so there's a flag on top of it.
-Concrete tees (or at least a tee painted on the path on some)
-Signage is being installed right now. I hope they put the bag holders like at Oxbow.
-A good variety of distance, nothing too short or too long. Holes range for around 200 to a few in the 400s.
-Multiple pin positions for every hole to freshen it up a little.
-The creek makes for a more scenic round as well as a challenging one (see cons)
-The Funplex is an adequate name for the building next to this course. Drop off the kids there and then get a few rounds in.
-Clear evidence of the great area disc golf club: 3 rivers DGC. They had recently put in a few sign posts.
Cons: -Navigation is pretty average. It should get better with signage if done right but right now it isn't great. It can be hard to find the next tee, especially if it is across the creek or path.
-Safety can be an issue as a path splits this course in two. You even tee off from the path a few times. Nobody was on the path at all when I was playing but it could be dangerous.
-Could lose a disc in the trees, creek or long grass. I did put on in the creek on 11 (more hidden on the bank, wasn't wet but hard to find) but got it back. Two golfers ahead of me weren't so lucky on 4.
-The creek reminded me too much of my home course. The baskets are pretty close to the creek and sometimes you can't see it until you are right next to it (i.e. not off the tee). It is a legitimate hazard, just not my favorite one.
Other Thoughts: -This course might get bumped up to 3.5 if the signage is done well. That would help the navigation and overall enjoyment of the course.
-Another good example of marginal land used well for disc golf.
-I would rate this course just behind Oxbow in terms of fun for this area. Definitely not a bad course. I would recommend it for sure.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A boggy good time

1    3/9/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: little oz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well thought out basket positions, frequently within 3 feet of by the ever-present stream, causing plenty of pucker putts.
-Nice variety of long and short holes.
-Quality, well sized cement tee pads
-Nice use of the terrain, requiring you to use a variety of shots. There were actually more anhzyer holes than i usually see.
-Very nice community center adjacent to the park. Get your maps here.
-Grass fairways were cut down. If they let it grow in summer, it may be tough to find a disc, but it was nice and short this time.
-Not crowded on a nice saturday afternoon.
Cons: -Navigation is by no means intuitive. Play with a local or get a map at the fun plex.
-No tee signs, basket position or distances marked (with the exception of a couple holes that have laminated paper sign on a stake. When this place gets these, it will bump up the course another 0.5.
-I came after a snow/melt day, and the course was unbelievably muddy. The marsh will consume discs and humans that wander in. The marsh is a nice feature, but i mean every step of the course squished water.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun, and looks to be improving. Bring an extra pair of socks in your bag, or wear totally waterproof shoes (not vented); at some point you or a buddy will end up in the stream/marsh. This would be a great home course, as there is enough variety and lines to keep it interesting over multiple rounds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/29/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-good variety of shots and distance, good amount of trees, creek running through course
-good basket placement, many of the baskets are near the shallow creek making some of your putts and approaches more technical
-good use of a relatively small area
Cons: -lack of signage making it difficult to navigate even with a course map
-very few tee signs making the tee pads hard to find
-the course is kinda swamping in spot around the creek
-some shots you'll need to check ahead to find the basket, good course to use a spotter
Other Thoughts: good course just make sure you pick up a map in the funplex, and I wouldn't play it alone

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Growing into a Pro Style Course

5+    1/5/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: b_rosso
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the premier course of Greeley and surrounding area. It has 18 holes that include a variety of hyzer, anhyzer, and tunnel shots. I've only been able to play it in the winter so far but the course maintenance group has done A LOT of work here with trimming up the dead trees and installing QUALITY discraft baskets. The holes move around quite often which is nice to see. There usually isn't a crowd here in the winter time so play is relatively fast.
Cons: This is a work in progress course. There is still a lot of cleanup and course maintenance to do. If its your first time playing you will want to park in the Funplex center parking lot and walk behind the building to the sidewalk converging spot to the 1st hole. There are a lot of holes that use the path as a teebox. I can tell this course gets very grown in fast so dont wear shorts and t shirt to play. If it is your first time playing, go and grab a map from the front desk inside the funplex center.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to hold a large tournament here once things get cleaned up. This course has lots of promise!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Out and Around

1    12/29/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great new course in Greeley with a consistent 18 holes from start to finish. There is really good balance in hole length with nothing too similar back to back. There are some really short holes and some really long holes. The design of the course makes great use of the land that is available. There are some great views to the mountains. The baskets are new and very nice. All but one tee pad right now is concrete or on concrete. The land has started to get some maintenance work done on it to improve the overall quality and feel of the course. You will have to use a wide variety of shots. There are some good technical shots and there are some really wise open shots. There is a family fun plex and other park like ameneties closeby including what looks like a really nice putt putt golf course when it is not covered in snow. There is a great local club that has put the time and effort into making this course great and they continue to work on this course. I would expect that this course will continue to improve over the next year until most of the easy to take care of cons are taken care of. There was a really high fun factor to this course that can best be explained by a lack of boredom. Similar holes are not next to each other and you keep seeing something new as you go through the course.
Cons: Tee signs are temporary and in some cases non existent. There is no chance of easily navigating this course without a map (maps are available at the front desk of the funplex). There is a walking, biking running path that comes into play on several holes (please let these people have the right of way). The one tee pad that is currently carpet is not very level. There are several wood plank bridges to allow people to walk back and forth over the little creek taht runs through the course, which is needed because of the layout, but they will not last long in the current means of use. I did not see a trash can of any kind out on the course though I did see a bench or two. There is some sort of industrial/enviornmental pressure thing on the course that will make noise from time to time and release a less than pleasant smell.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course and expect that it will be a destination course in Northern Colorado. I would love to see it host a regular tournament as well and I would expect with the strong local crowd that this will happen in the near future. Be sure to get a map before you play this course. The walk from hole 3 to 4 crosses 7's fairway so please be cautious and look for other players and discs. 7 also throws right past 4's tee box so be careful when you are throwing on 7. The course starts and finishes on the eastern side of the funplex center so it would be best to park close to there. Directions coming from the South can be a bit confusing, I found it much easier to come in on Business 34 and hang a turn south on 59th and then a right on 13th. This course is well worth playing and will only get better with time.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Outback DGC review

1    12/20/2012   12/20/2012
Review By: Blackmer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2012
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: good technical course. having to throw around groups of trees, avoiding the small creek. baskets are in decent shape good quality. most of the tee pads are good. fun course to play. definitely a work in progress if they made a couple upgrades it would a much better course. it would be fun to play when it is spring time and green. couple holes test your skills because you are unable to see the basket and have to throw an anhueser shot.
Cons: GO GET A COURSE MAP from inside the rec center, just go ask the front desk for a course map. The course starts behind the rec center. it can be difficult to find where tee pads are. the on;y markings are laminated pieces of paper on teh ground. if you never played this course before. it can be extremely confusing to find the tee box and the baskets. Holes 3,4, 5,10, you can not even see the basket. found it hard to know which basket i was throwing too when i could see it because the next holes basket would be close.
Other Thoughts: definitely play this course again now that i know the lay out. really fun course about time Greeley created a good course and a 18 hole one.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    8/27/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: ColoradoJay
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Water hazards. Long drives near/over water.
Cons: Not a park course. Wear your boots and jeans. Still working on all concrete tees. Without the map(obtained from the rec center nearby) you'll likely be lost.
Other Thoughts: This course is going to be great in 5 years. While we were playing there was an active volunteer out there clearing brush from the baskets so I think they just need a little more man power. Lots of hole that cater to both backhand and forehand tossers. Hole 5 is like throwing a boomerang. Literally.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long Overdue 18 in Greeley

5+    8/4/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: Lennie Bottorff
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 39.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots required: long, short, tunnel, over trees, around trees to left and right, always avoiding the water.
Enough deuce possibilities to keep trying, mixed with the very real bogey possibilities for most skill levels.
Enough non-player traffic to attract attention to the game, without having to spend too much time or effort waiting for them to clear the fairways.
Cons: Clearly still a work in progress. Many tall, nasty weeds, trees, and bushes to deal with, even on the most accurate of drives.
Some baskets too close to the creek, leaving the penalty for a near perfect shot to be out-of-bounds.
Needing signage.
Other Thoughts: All 18 baskets are now in.
Many thanks to the designers and volunteer crews that made this course happen. Great job.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Improvements Are Being Made

1    7/17/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had a hard time locating this course. The course starts behind the recreation center. The early evening I played, a country and western band was giving a free concert in the park and I was fortunate to be able to play and listen to their sounds over the first nine holes. Some of the pads are painted on the sidewalks while others are standard concrete. The baskets are new Chainstar models. The signs are currently laminated pieces of paper stuck on little boards barely off the ground. They are going to get torn up pretty quickly. I had an extremely difficult time navgating the course. I was following some locals but quickly lost them on about hole # 5 or 6. The course plays through a desert type natural area. I didn't find it especially beautiful or enjoyable to play through. The creek cuts through the course and is a factor on many of the holes. I lost a disc in it and searched forever to no avail.
Cons: I was playing at dusk in July and didn't spot a misquito. I must have been lucky. Finishing the course off with baskets will certainly help. It does seem like a course where losing discs will be commonplace. The high grass and thick underbrush is not something I encountered on many other courses in the Denver area.
Other Thoughts: It seems like a solid course that is getting better with the support of so many. With some clean up and the additional baskets and signage, it will be a challenging 18 hole layout. The creek will keep players on their toes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best Course In Greeley

2-4    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The only 18 hole course in Greeley
-Good variety of holes ( a variety of hole lengths from just above two hundred to close to five)
-Mix of wide open shots, some tunnel shots and some moderately wooded shots. Good use of the elevation that the land does feature
-Some unique and different holes like hole 5 which feels like trying to throw a u-turn
-Some holes have a couple of different basket positions
-All of the teepads are concrete and in good shape
-A river winds through out the course and comes into play on many of the holes
-Use of lots of out of bounds and mandos to make some of the holes more difficult
-Nice new Chainstar Baskets and all of the holes now have baskets on them
-Lots of wildlife we saw squirrels, ducks, and rabbits
Cons: -The tee signs need to be improved currently they are just laminated signs that stand just barely off the ground an can easily be missed. About halfway through the course there ceases to be any tee signs. Many of the tee-signs on this course are missing, after about hole 5 there are really no tee-signs on the course
-This course is very hard to navigate, even if you have played it before. Some of the tee-pads that are painted on the sidewalks are really hard to see.
-Sidewalks come into play on many of the holes but the area doesn't seem to crowded so it isn't too bad
-Five or six of the tees are currently marked on the sidewalk and with the area around these tee pads I feel like there could be tee pads separate from the sidewalk on each of them
-In the summer this course gets extremely overgrown and especially on some holes it is very easy to spend a lot of time searching for a disc or possibly lose a disc.
-Watch out for snakes, we saw one on hole number 2
Other Thoughts: This course is clearly still and development and will just continue to get better. The first half of the course up to Hole 10 feels a lot more refined than the back 8. Overall, those course has a lot of good potential and I think it will continue to improve

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.