Greeley, CO 
The Outback DGC Share
Uploaded By: jcolgate Hole #7 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 459ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
G'day, Mate!

5+    1/5/2015   2/19/2015
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 24.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Challenging, yet intuitive basket placements provide some good risk/reward shots

-Good variety of distances

-Excellent use of the land available; there is a wide open field on the North side of the course that the designers wisely did not incorporate in favor of tighter shots

-Good group of locals, led by Chris Thomas, who all respect both the game and the property and are always happy to guide you around
Cons: -Huge multi-use area and, though the course is widely used, most people don't know what's going on...DO NOT THROW IN ON THEM

-In the summer months the holes that run along the creek are inundated with bugs

-Can get pretty marshy in some places
Other Thoughts: Not much to add to my review that others haven't already said. This is a good course that is in a somewhat out of the way area. It is a fantastic thing to have for the local community, as many of Colorado's more popular and acclaimed courses are quite a ways away.

Another note: Chris Thomas and the 3 Rivers Disc Golf Club hold PDGA-sanctioned leagues here regularly and the Outback also hosts other events. If you're in the area, hit up 3 Rivers on Facebook and see if they have anything planned while you're there. Even if they don't, someone from the club will be more than happy to show you around the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid in-town Colorado course

1    2/14/2015   2/19/2015
Review By: namar
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety in hole length and direction, ranging from 204 to 463 feet. A couple bomber holes, a couple shorties with high risk/reward due to basket placement, and everything in between. Lefties and righties should find equal challenge.
-Excellent use of the available (and somewhat limited) land and terrain features. What few hills there are have baskets behind or on them, providing numerous approach and putting challenges. The ever-present creek demands your attention on the other holes.
-Reasonably helpful signs on every tee pad, and the stated distances seemed accurate. Course maps are available at the Fun Plex front desk.
-Nice big concrete tee pads on all but one hole (which is carpet and a little bumpy, but not bad and still at least 3' x 8').
- Discraft Chainstar baskets throughout the course, which are all in excellent condition and catch really well.
-Two or three pin positions on every hole to keep the replay factor high.
Cons: -Most fairways play wide open, with the risk generally coming into play near the baskets.
-Safety issues abound, so please be mindful of other park users. The entire course plays across, along or near to a biking/jogging path, which saw heavy use during my round. Lots of kids here so don't be a jerk; just wait a minute to throw.
-There are a couple crossing fairways, and a number of others where an errant throw could easily endanger players on other tee pads.
-Signs do not indicate which particular basket position is being used, which is a big pet peeve of mine.
-No garbage or recycling containers that I could find out on the course.
-No "next tee" signage near the baskets, though the next tee location is marked on the tee pad signs.
-There were a couple benches scattered throughout, but they seemed to be in inconvenient places for us DG'ers.
Other Thoughts: I generally prefer tightly wooded courses and The Outback DGC looks wide open as you walk to the first hole. It had the potential to be a bummer of a course, but some clever tee and basket locations turned it into a legitimate challenge. All in all this was a surprisingly engaging course, especially considering the relatively narrow strip of land available. Safety concerns aside, I thought the course had a nice flow to it. If the hole shape got a bit repetitive in places, the creek and marsh hazards kept things interesting. Simple looking holes were made more difficult through the use of obstructed approach lines and tricky greens, and distances ranged from 204 to 463 feet.

I only had time for one round with a couple brand new discs (JL Thunderbird and a Nova, since you asked), so my first impression may have been colored by not having any distance drivers or mids. I was out visiting my brand new niece and for the first time in years I traveled without any plastic, but damn if it wasn't 60 degrees in mid-February. What's a disc golfer to do!? My time at the Outback was pretty spur-of-the-moment and I don't think I would call it a destination course due to the multi-use nature of the property. But If I lived in the area and the basket locations were changed regularly I could play a lot of rounds at The Outback DGC and be perfectly happy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outback of the Funplex

1    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 357  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2014
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Some quirky but fun elevation changes. Hole 2 and 5 especially come to mind. Hole 2 you can't see the basket so there's a flag on top of it.
-Concrete tees (or at least a tee painted on the path on some)
-Signage is being installed right now. I hope they put the bag holders like at Oxbow.
-A good variety of distance, nothing too short or too long. Holes range for around 200 to a few in the 400s.
-Multiple pin positions for every hole to freshen it up a little.
-The creek makes for a more scenic round as well as a challenging one (see cons)
-The Funplex is an adequate name for the building next to this course. Drop off the kids there and then get a few rounds in.
-Clear evidence of the great area disc golf club: 3 rivers DGC. They had recently put in a few sign posts.
Cons: -Navigation is pretty average. It should get better with signage if done right but right now it isn't great. It can be hard to find the next tee, especially if it is across the creek or path.
-Safety can be an issue as a path splits this course in two. You even tee off from the path a few times. Nobody was on the path at all when I was playing but it could be dangerous.
-Could lose a disc in the trees, creek or long grass. I did put on in the creek on 11 (more hidden on the bank, wasn't wet but hard to find) but got it back. Two golfers ahead of me weren't so lucky on 4.
-The creek reminded me too much of my home course. The baskets are pretty close to the creek and sometimes you can't see it until you are right next to it (i.e. not off the tee). It is a legitimate hazard, just not my favorite one.
Other Thoughts: -This course might get bumped up to 3.5 if the signage is done well. That would help the navigation and overall enjoyment of the course.
-Another good example of marginal land used well for disc golf.
-I would rate this course just behind Oxbow in terms of fun for this area. Definitely not a bad course. I would recommend it for sure.

+Update as of 7/20/14- Signage is installed. That will aid in navigation. As long as the grass is kept down this will be a good course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A boggy good time

1    3/9/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: little oz
Played: 69  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well thought out basket positions, frequently within 3 feet of by the ever-present stream, causing plenty of pucker putts.
-Nice variety of long and short holes.
-Quality, well sized cement tee pads
-Nice use of the terrain, requiring you to use a variety of shots. There were actually more anhzyer holes than i usually see.
-Very nice community center adjacent to the park. Get your maps here.
-Grass fairways were cut down. If they let it grow in summer, it may be tough to find a disc, but it was nice and short this time.
-Not crowded on a nice saturday afternoon.
Cons: -Navigation is by no means intuitive. Play with a local or get a map at the fun plex.
-No tee signs, basket position or distances marked (with the exception of a couple holes that have laminated paper sign on a stake. When this place gets these, it will bump up the course another 0.5.
-I came after a snow/melt day, and the course was unbelievably muddy. The marsh will consume discs and humans that wander in. The marsh is a nice feature, but i mean every step of the course squished water.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun, and looks to be improving. Bring an extra pair of socks in your bag, or wear totally waterproof shoes (not vented); at some point you or a buddy will end up in the stream/marsh. This would be a great home course, as there is enough variety and lines to keep it interesting over multiple rounds.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    9/29/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 77  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-good variety of shots and distance, good amount of trees, creek running through course
-good basket placement, many of the baskets are near the shallow creek making some of your putts and approaches more technical
-good use of a relatively small area
Cons: -lack of signage making it difficult to navigate even with a course map
-very few tee signs making the tee pads hard to find
-the course is kinda swamping in spot around the creek
-some shots you'll need to check ahead to find the basket, good course to use a spotter
Other Thoughts: good course just make sure you pick up a map in the funplex, and I wouldn't play it alone

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Growing into a Pro Style Course

5+    1/5/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: b_rosso
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the premier course of Greeley and surrounding area. It has 18 holes that include a variety of hyzer, anhyzer, and tunnel shots. I've only been able to play it in the winter so far but the course maintenance group has done A LOT of work here with trimming up the dead trees and installing QUALITY discraft baskets. The holes move around quite often which is nice to see. There usually isn't a crowd here in the winter time so play is relatively fast.
Cons: This is a work in progress course. There is still a lot of cleanup and course maintenance to do. If its your first time playing you will want to park in the Funplex center parking lot and walk behind the building to the sidewalk converging spot to the 1st hole. There are a lot of holes that use the path as a teebox. I can tell this course gets very grown in fast so dont wear shorts and t shirt to play. If it is your first time playing, go and grab a map from the front desk inside the funplex center.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to hold a large tournament here once things get cleaned up. This course has lots of promise!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Out and Around

1    12/29/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great new course in Greeley with a consistent 18 holes from start to finish. There is really good balance in hole length with nothing too similar back to back. There are some really short holes and some really long holes. The design of the course makes great use of the land that is available. There are some great views to the mountains. The baskets are new and very nice. All but one tee pad right now is concrete or on concrete. The land has started to get some maintenance work done on it to improve the overall quality and feel of the course. You will have to use a wide variety of shots. There are some good technical shots and there are some really wise open shots. There is a family fun plex and other park like ameneties closeby including what looks like a really nice putt putt golf course when it is not covered in snow. There is a great local club that has put the time and effort into making this course great and they continue to work on this course. I would expect that this course will continue to improve over the next year until most of the easy to take care of cons are taken care of. There was a really high fun factor to this course that can best be explained by a lack of boredom. Similar holes are not next to each other and you keep seeing something new as you go through the course.
Cons: Tee signs are temporary and in some cases non existent. There is no chance of easily navigating this course without a map (maps are available at the front desk of the funplex). There is a walking, biking running path that comes into play on several holes (please let these people have the right of way). The one tee pad that is currently carpet is not very level. There are several wood plank bridges to allow people to walk back and forth over the little creek taht runs through the course, which is needed because of the layout, but they will not last long in the current means of use. I did not see a trash can of any kind out on the course though I did see a bench or two. There is some sort of industrial/enviornmental pressure thing on the course that will make noise from time to time and release a less than pleasant smell.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course and expect that it will be a destination course in Northern Colorado. I would love to see it host a regular tournament as well and I would expect with the strong local crowd that this will happen in the near future. Be sure to get a map before you play this course. The walk from hole 3 to 4 crosses 7's fairway so please be cautious and look for other players and discs. 7 also throws right past 4's tee box so be careful when you are throwing on 7. The course starts and finishes on the eastern side of the funplex center so it would be best to park close to there. Directions coming from the South can be a bit confusing, I found it much easier to come in on Business 34 and hang a turn south on 59th and then a right on 13th. This course is well worth playing and will only get better with time.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Outback DGC review

1    12/20/2012   12/20/2012
Review By: Blackmer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2012
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: good technical course. having to throw around groups of trees, avoiding the small creek. baskets are in decent shape good quality. most of the tee pads are good. fun course to play. definitely a work in progress if they made a couple upgrades it would a much better course. it would be fun to play when it is spring time and green. couple holes test your skills because you are unable to see the basket and have to throw an anhueser shot.
Cons: GO GET A COURSE MAP from inside the rec center, just go ask the front desk for a course map. The course starts behind the rec center. it can be difficult to find where tee pads are. the on;y markings are laminated pieces of paper on teh ground. if you never played this course before. it can be extremely confusing to find the tee box and the baskets. Holes 3,4, 5,10, you can not even see the basket. found it hard to know which basket i was throwing too when i could see it because the next holes basket would be close.
Other Thoughts: definitely play this course again now that i know the lay out. really fun course about time Greeley created a good course and a 18 hole one.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Lots of potential

1    8/27/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: ColoradoJay
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Water hazards. Long drives near/over water.
Cons: Not a park course. Wear your boots and jeans. Still working on all concrete tees. Without the map(obtained from the rec center nearby) you'll likely be lost.
Other Thoughts: This course is going to be great in 5 years. While we were playing there was an active volunteer out there clearing brush from the baskets so I think they just need a little more man power. Lots of hole that cater to both backhand and forehand tossers. Hole 5 is like throwing a boomerang. Literally.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long Overdue 18 in Greeley

5+    8/4/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: Lennie Bottorff
Played: 57  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 41.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots required: long, short, tunnel, over trees, around trees to left and right, always avoiding the water.
Enough deuce possibilities to keep trying, mixed with the very real bogey possibilities for most skill levels.
Enough non-player traffic to attract attention to the game, without having to spend too much time or effort waiting for them to clear the fairways.
Cons: Clearly still a work in progress. Many tall, nasty weeds, trees, and bushes to deal with, even on the most accurate of drives.
Some baskets too close to the creek, leaving the penalty for a near perfect shot to be out-of-bounds.
Needing signage.
Other Thoughts: All 18 baskets are now in.
Many thanks to the designers and volunteer crews that made this course happen. Great job.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.