Greeley, CO 
The Outback DGC Share
Uploaded By: jugglerbri Hole #14 (Taken 8/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Outback of the Funplex

1    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Some quirky but fun elevation changes. Hole 2 and 5 especially come to mind. Hole 2 you can't see the basket so there's a flag on top of it.
-Concrete tees (or at least a tee painted on the path on some)
-Signage is being installed right now. I hope they put the bag holders like at Oxbow.
-A good variety of distance, nothing too short or too long. Holes range for around 200 to a few in the 400s.
-Multiple pin positions for every hole to freshen it up a little.
-The creek makes for a more scenic round as well as a challenging one (see cons)
-The Funplex is an adequate name for the building next to this course. Drop off the kids there and then get a few rounds in.
-Clear evidence of the great area disc golf club: 3 rivers DGC. They had recently put in a few sign posts.
Cons: -Navigation is pretty average. It should get better with signage if done right but right now it isn't great. It can be hard to find the next tee, especially if it is across the creek or path.
-Safety can be an issue as a path splits this course in two. You even tee off from the path a few times. Nobody was on the path at all when I was playing but it could be dangerous.
-Could lose a disc in the trees, creek or long grass. I did put on in the creek on 11 (more hidden on the bank, wasn't wet but hard to find) but got it back. Two golfers ahead of me weren't so lucky on 4.
-The creek reminded me too much of my home course. The baskets are pretty close to the creek and sometimes you can't see it until you are right next to it (i.e. not off the tee). It is a legitimate hazard, just not my favorite one.
Other Thoughts: -This course might get bumped up to 3.5 if the signage is done well. That would help the navigation and overall enjoyment of the course.
-Another good example of marginal land used well for disc golf.
-I would rate this course just behind Oxbow in terms of fun for this area. Definitely not a bad course. I would recommend it for sure.

+Update as of 7/20/14- Signage is installed. That will aid in navigation. As long as the grass is kept down this will be a good course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Improvements Are Being Made

1    7/17/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had a hard time locating this course. The course starts behind the recreation center. The early evening I played, a country and western band was giving a free concert in the park and I was fortunate to be able to play and listen to their sounds over the first nine holes. Some of the pads are painted on the sidewalks while others are standard concrete. The baskets are new Chainstar models. The signs are currently laminated pieces of paper stuck on little boards barely off the ground. They are going to get torn up pretty quickly. I had an extremely difficult time navgating the course. I was following some locals but quickly lost them on about hole # 5 or 6. The course plays through a desert type natural area. I didn't find it especially beautiful or enjoyable to play through. The creek cuts through the course and is a factor on many of the holes. I lost a disc in it and searched forever to no avail.
Cons: I was playing at dusk in July and didn't spot a misquito. I must have been lucky. Finishing the course off with baskets will certainly help. It does seem like a course where losing discs will be commonplace. The high grass and thick underbrush is not something I encountered on many other courses in the Denver area.
Other Thoughts: It seems like a solid course that is getting better with the support of so many. With some clean up and the additional baskets and signage, it will be a challenging 18 hole layout. The creek will keep players on their toes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  The outback

2-4    5/29/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Jdiebold1795
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Challenging course, good hole placements. It shows a natural setting is a practical place for a disc golf course.
Cons: Ants, lots of them. Easy to lose discs. No baskets yet just metal poles.
Other Thoughts: If baskets are installed it will be a great course.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.