Greeley, CO 
The Outback DGC Share
Uploaded By: jcolgate Hole #18 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Solid in-town Colorado course

1    2/14/2015   2/19/2015
Review By: namar
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety in hole length and direction, ranging from 204 to 463 feet. A couple bomber holes, a couple shorties with high risk/reward due to basket placement, and everything in between. Lefties and righties should find equal challenge.
-Excellent use of the available (and somewhat limited) land and terrain features. What few hills there are have baskets behind or on them, providing numerous approach and putting challenges. The ever-present creek demands your attention on the other holes.
-Reasonably helpful signs on every tee pad, and the stated distances seemed accurate. Course maps are available at the Fun Plex front desk.
-Nice big concrete tee pads on all but one hole (which is carpet and a little bumpy, but not bad and still at least 3' x 8').
- Discraft Chainstar baskets throughout the course, which are all in excellent condition and catch really well.
-Two or three pin positions on every hole to keep the replay factor high.
Cons: -Most fairways play wide open, with the risk generally coming into play near the baskets.
-Safety issues abound, so please be mindful of other park users. The entire course plays across, along or near to a biking/jogging path, which saw heavy use during my round. Lots of kids here so don't be a jerk; just wait a minute to throw.
-There are a couple crossing fairways, and a number of others where an errant throw could easily endanger players on other tee pads.
-Signs do not indicate which particular basket position is being used, which is a big pet peeve of mine.
-No garbage or recycling containers that I could find out on the course.
-No "next tee" signage near the baskets, though the next tee location is marked on the tee pad signs.
-There were a couple benches scattered throughout, but they seemed to be in inconvenient places for us DG'ers.
Other Thoughts: I generally prefer tightly wooded courses and The Outback DGC looks wide open as you walk to the first hole. It had the potential to be a bummer of a course, but some clever tee and basket locations turned it into a legitimate challenge. All in all this was a surprisingly engaging course, especially considering the relatively narrow strip of land available. Safety concerns aside, I thought the course had a nice flow to it. If the hole shape got a bit repetitive in places, the creek and marsh hazards kept things interesting. Simple looking holes were made more difficult through the use of obstructed approach lines and tricky greens, and distances ranged from 204 to 463 feet.

I only had time for one round with a couple brand new discs (JL Thunderbird and a Nova, since you asked), so my first impression may have been colored by not having any distance drivers or mids. I was out visiting my brand new niece and for the first time in years I traveled without any plastic, but damn if it wasn't 60 degrees in mid-February. What's a disc golfer to do!? My time at the Outback was pretty spur-of-the-moment and I don't think I would call it a destination course due to the multi-use nature of the property. But If I lived in the area and the basket locations were changed regularly I could play a lot of rounds at The Outback DGC and be perfectly happy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A boggy good time

1    3/9/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: little oz
Played: 70  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well thought out basket positions, frequently within 3 feet of by the ever-present stream, causing plenty of pucker putts.
-Nice variety of long and short holes.
-Quality, well sized cement tee pads
-Nice use of the terrain, requiring you to use a variety of shots. There were actually more anhzyer holes than i usually see.
-Very nice community center adjacent to the park. Get your maps here.
-Grass fairways were cut down. If they let it grow in summer, it may be tough to find a disc, but it was nice and short this time.
-Not crowded on a nice saturday afternoon.
Cons: -Navigation is by no means intuitive. Play with a local or get a map at the fun plex.
-No tee signs, basket position or distances marked (with the exception of a couple holes that have laminated paper sign on a stake. When this place gets these, it will bump up the course another 0.5.
-I came after a snow/melt day, and the course was unbelievably muddy. The marsh will consume discs and humans that wander in. The marsh is a nice feature, but i mean every step of the course squished water.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun, and looks to be improving. Bring an extra pair of socks in your bag, or wear totally waterproof shoes (not vented); at some point you or a buddy will end up in the stream/marsh. This would be a great home course, as there is enough variety and lines to keep it interesting over multiple rounds.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    9/29/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 89  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-good variety of shots and distance, good amount of trees, creek running through course
-good basket placement, many of the baskets are near the shallow creek making some of your putts and approaches more technical
-good use of a relatively small area
Cons: -lack of signage making it difficult to navigate even with a course map
-very few tee signs making the tee pads hard to find
-the course is kinda swamping in spot around the creek
-some shots you'll need to check ahead to find the basket, good course to use a spotter
Other Thoughts: good course just make sure you pick up a map in the funplex, and I wouldn't play it alone

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Out and Around

1    12/29/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great new course in Greeley with a consistent 18 holes from start to finish. There is really good balance in hole length with nothing too similar back to back. There are some really short holes and some really long holes. The design of the course makes great use of the land that is available. There are some great views to the mountains. The baskets are new and very nice. All but one tee pad right now is concrete or on concrete. The land has started to get some maintenance work done on it to improve the overall quality and feel of the course. You will have to use a wide variety of shots. There are some good technical shots and there are some really wise open shots. There is a family fun plex and other park like ameneties closeby including what looks like a really nice putt putt golf course when it is not covered in snow. There is a great local club that has put the time and effort into making this course great and they continue to work on this course. I would expect that this course will continue to improve over the next year until most of the easy to take care of cons are taken care of. There was a really high fun factor to this course that can best be explained by a lack of boredom. Similar holes are not next to each other and you keep seeing something new as you go through the course.
Cons: Tee signs are temporary and in some cases non existent. There is no chance of easily navigating this course without a map (maps are available at the front desk of the funplex). There is a walking, biking running path that comes into play on several holes (please let these people have the right of way). The one tee pad that is currently carpet is not very level. There are several wood plank bridges to allow people to walk back and forth over the little creek taht runs through the course, which is needed because of the layout, but they will not last long in the current means of use. I did not see a trash can of any kind out on the course though I did see a bench or two. There is some sort of industrial/enviornmental pressure thing on the course that will make noise from time to time and release a less than pleasant smell.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course and expect that it will be a destination course in Northern Colorado. I would love to see it host a regular tournament as well and I would expect with the strong local crowd that this will happen in the near future. Be sure to get a map before you play this course. The walk from hole 3 to 4 crosses 7's fairway so please be cautious and look for other players and discs. 7 also throws right past 4's tee box so be careful when you are throwing on 7. The course starts and finishes on the eastern side of the funplex center so it would be best to park close to there. Directions coming from the South can be a bit confusing, I found it much easier to come in on Business 34 and hang a turn south on 59th and then a right on 13th. This course is well worth playing and will only get better with time.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center