Greeley, CO 
The Outback DGC Share
Uploaded By: CBass Hole #4
3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Long Overdue 18 in Greeley

5+    8/4/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: Lennie Bottorff
Played: 57  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 41.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots required: long, short, tunnel, over trees, around trees to left and right, always avoiding the water.
Enough deuce possibilities to keep trying, mixed with the very real bogey possibilities for most skill levels.
Enough non-player traffic to attract attention to the game, without having to spend too much time or effort waiting for them to clear the fairways.
Cons: Clearly still a work in progress. Many tall, nasty weeds, trees, and bushes to deal with, even on the most accurate of drives.
Some baskets too close to the creek, leaving the penalty for a near perfect shot to be out-of-bounds.
Needing signage.
Other Thoughts: All 18 baskets are now in.
Many thanks to the designers and volunteer crews that made this course happen. Great job.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Improvements Are Being Made

1    7/17/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had a hard time locating this course. The course starts behind the recreation center. The early evening I played, a country and western band was giving a free concert in the park and I was fortunate to be able to play and listen to their sounds over the first nine holes. Some of the pads are painted on the sidewalks while others are standard concrete. The baskets are new Chainstar models. The signs are currently laminated pieces of paper stuck on little boards barely off the ground. They are going to get torn up pretty quickly. I had an extremely difficult time navgating the course. I was following some locals but quickly lost them on about hole # 5 or 6. The course plays through a desert type natural area. I didn't find it especially beautiful or enjoyable to play through. The creek cuts through the course and is a factor on many of the holes. I lost a disc in it and searched forever to no avail.
Cons: I was playing at dusk in July and didn't spot a misquito. I must have been lucky. Finishing the course off with baskets will certainly help. It does seem like a course where losing discs will be commonplace. The high grass and thick underbrush is not something I encountered on many other courses in the Denver area.
Other Thoughts: It seems like a solid course that is getting better with the support of so many. With some clean up and the additional baskets and signage, it will be a challenging 18 hole layout. The creek will keep players on their toes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In Greeley

2-4    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The only 18 hole course in Greeley
-Good variety of holes ( a variety of hole lengths from just above two hundred to close to five)
-Mix of wide open shots, some tunnel shots and some moderately wooded shots. Good use of the elevation that the land does feature
-Some unique and different holes like hole 5 which feels like trying to throw a u-turn
-Some holes have a couple of different basket positions
-All of the teepads are concrete and in good shape
-A river winds through out the course and comes into play on many of the holes
-Use of lots of out of bounds and mandos to make some of the holes more difficult
-Nice new Chainstar Baskets and all of the holes now have baskets on them
-Lots of wildlife we saw squirrels, ducks, and rabbits
Cons: -The tee signs need to be improved currently they are just laminated signs that stand just barely off the ground an can easily be missed. About halfway through the course there ceases to be any tee signs. Many of the tee-signs on this course are missing, after about hole 5 there are really no tee-signs on the course
-This course is very hard to navigate, even if you have played it before. Some of the tee-pads that are painted on the sidewalks are really hard to see.
-Sidewalks come into play on many of the holes but the area doesn't seem to crowded so it isn't too bad
-Five or six of the tees are currently marked on the sidewalk and with the area around these tee pads I feel like there could be tee pads separate from the sidewalk on each of them
-In the summer this course gets extremely overgrown and especially on some holes it is very easy to spend a lot of time searching for a disc or possibly lose a disc.
-Watch out for snakes, we saw one on hole number 2
Other Thoughts: This course is clearly still and development and will just continue to get better. The first half of the course up to Hole 10 feels a lot more refined than the back 8. Overall, those course has a lot of good potential and I think it will continue to improve

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 2.5 at Best

1    1/19/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: rbnorris32
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The totem poles make the course very challenging. You better bring your "A" putting game. They are very risky. The designer did a good job with the property; using elevation and trees as best as possible.
Cons: Given all that, the course is just okay. I found the course boring, with exception to just a handful of holes. There were no holes that gave me goosebumps. Needs baskets!
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course only because there are no baskets. I am from the east and enjoy playing in the woods. I would not recommend someone going out of their way to play this course.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Improve your control game

5+    1/4/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 54  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course does an excellent job of using the trees and natural lanes to create a course that is extremely challenging for all levels of players. The Outback allows for a variety of shot selections and multiple routes to the baskets. Good solid baskets and excellent teepads.
Cons: Tough course, in the sense that if you aren't careful with your throw it could be lost. I would recommend playing it with a friend so that you can help each other look. Grass gets long in June and July. Russian Olives can hurt.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that is great for intermediate and advanced player. New players should allow themselves some extra time when coming out to play. Don't get mad if your score doesn't reflect your normal round, this course is designed to be mean.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good challenging course

5+    11/5/2011   11/6/2011
Review By: toddkrau
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has nice concrete tee pads that are 12x5 and have a rough broom finish for excellent grip even when wet. The course is challenging with a good mixture of long and shorter basket locations with plenty of obstacles. Good balance for both right and left handed shots. Multiple pin locations to change the course up. Natural area with a lot of beauty and wildlife.
Cons: Only 9 baskets right now and the back nine has tone poles. Natural area with a fair number of Russian Olive Trees that can be a bit nasty if you get into one.
Other Thoughts: Some tee pads are off of the sidewalk/bike trail so you need to watch for oncoming traffic. Luckily the paths are not heavily used. The local club 3Rivers Disc Golf Club are raising money to finish the course. Hopefully disc golfers will step up and donate to make sure we get an 18 hole course completed in Northern Colorado.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sweet course!

5+    11/6/2011   11/6/2011
Review By: CBass
Played: 98  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2015
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees throughout the entire course make teeing off easy. There is a feeling of something different and interesting on almost every hole making each hole somewhat unique. Lots of shot variations with many trees and water hazards to navigate and account for. There are controlled left, right, keyhole, layup and straight shots, as well as the high risk/reward type. Several different hole locations help keep things interesting and fresh. Chainstar baskets are a nice feature for the course. All of the Russian Olive tress have been removed, we definitely will not miss those. This should help the native trees to flourish now. There are restrooms, maps and water at the funplex if you need it.
Cons: The grass/weeds can get high in the summer so use the buddy system. The creek can swallow discs in summer months when it runs muddy from upstream irrigation.
Other Thoughts: All 18 holes now have baskets installed. Temporary course signage is now up on the posts at every hole. Such a fun course, and it will only keep getting better as it gets finished.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for the hearty adventurer

5+    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: jugglerbri
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: <update3>Looks like the area is changing quite a bit. The city is in the process of removing the Russian Olives from the area so the course definitely has a different feel if you haven't played it in a while. It will definitely be interesting to see how the course changes with the removal of so much vegetation, hopefully for the better.
<end update3>

<update2> BASKETS ARE IN! Yup, you heard right, all 18 holes have baskets and each hole has at least two pin locations. Concrete pads all around (except for 14 which is a carpet pad staked down). Just watch out for those nasty Russian Olives.
<end update2>

<update> Holes 1-9 now have baskets and concrete tees. Very difficult course but a lot of fun! Now that it has tees and baskets for at least part of the course, it's time to increase the rating. <end update>

Wow, where to begin? This is a great course! I love the layout of the course. The shots are challenging, the location is scenic, the only thing missing is some elevation variations. The tees are well marked (except perhaps 15, still not exactly sure where that tee is). I love hole 5 with the major dogleg and hole six shooting through the V notch in the tree.
Cons: Because this course is in a greenbelt area, it's a natural area. That's the primary drawback to it. The last time I played, we called it quits after the third hole because of the tall grass (spent way too much time looking for discs) and the mosiquitoes (using repellant with 25% Deet and I still had 5 mosquitoes biting me at one time). <edit>Since writing this review, I've played the course close to 30 times and haven't had the mosquito problem since.</edit> Perhaps at other times of the year it's better but in July, it's really bad.

The course is still new so the tee pads are either the sidewalk that runs through the area or dirt tees and because of the tall grass, they can be very difficult to find. Also, there are no baskets, just targets (piece of PVC pipe on a t-post).
Other Thoughts: The course runs through a greenbelt area between HWY 34 and the Family Funplex Rec Center. Park by the four glass column art sculpture things and it's a short walk to the number 1 tee and a short walk back from 18 basket. I'm not giving up on this course. I think it's got a lot of potential and I'm hoping it's better at other times of the year.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  The outback

2-4    5/29/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Jdiebold1795
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Challenging course, good hole placements. It shows a natural setting is a practical place for a disc golf course.
Cons: Ants, lots of them. Easy to lose discs. No baskets yet just metal poles.
Other Thoughts: If baskets are installed it will be a great course.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center