Salisbury, NC 
Kelsey Scott Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #5 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 135ft.   3 / 158ft.   3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The "Bike Share Program" Course

2-4    8/5/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool old school Discatchers, play on some history.
Multiple tees on every hole.
Quick play, open enough for beginners and families.
Minimal tee signs with hole number and distance helped find the start of every hole and keep the flow pretty smooth.
Cons: some tee signs were confusing, on hole 2 there were 2 signs 20 feet apart, but it said the holes were 60 feet different.
If you turn over a disc on hole 1's far tee you could end up in the road.
No tee pads, just colored circles makring where to throw from.
Other Thoughts: Course is not memorable. I was playing it for the second time, I got to hole 4 and realized I had already played this course before. Gotafixit, Jrawk and I called it the bikeshare program because Gotafixit rode an abandoned bike around the course.
With in walking distance of the college and much better than their 9 hole course. put them together for 18 holes of mediocrity.
I never felt that this was a bad area, but if you are uncomfortable, you can see your car for a majority of the course.
I have played this course twice because it is a quick play that was not too far from my main route. This is a nice place to quickly stretch your legs on a road trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for what it is

5+    6/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 224  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For what land is there the designers have used it to the max. With 3 or 4 tees per hole you could play this little 9 holer several times with 36 unique holes.

These holes may not be very long but they take lots of shot shaping and precision.

signage is good and its pretty easy to find the different holes around the course.

It is a perfect course for those learning the game and a great place to learn how to control a mid or putter.

Love the downhill shot on hole 9.
Cons: The shorts are pretty easy and open almost too much so.

Ive heard story about it being in the ghetto and crazy stuff going on but I've never had any issues.

The greens are kind of boring.
Other Thoughts: For being in a tiny park with limited space this course is a great little 9 holer with variety. It may not be a championship course but it is a fun one to play. I love the way the designers have made the most out of what they have to work with.

While its not worth a road trip if youre in the area stoping here to play would not be a waste of time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better

2-4    8/15/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: hycard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with FOUR tees per hole, including two challenging yellow tees.

White and Blue tees are well marked and great for ace runs or beginning players.

Gold tees allow enough distance, tough angles, and/or well marked "mandos" to every hole for intermediate and advanced players to get a variety of shots.

Creek comes into play on two holes.

Adequate bathrooms, nice shelters and a playground are all on site.

Basketball courts and softball field also adjacent but do not interfere with the well established course layout.

Do not bypass this course - grab a map and take on the gold tee layouts....two laps around from both gold tees make an enjoyable 18 hole round.

Local club has regular events.

Tournament director(s) welcome new players .



Cons: Could make the gold tees more obvious for those without a map.

The issue of the neighborhood not appreciating the disc golf presence has already been addressed on other reviews. However, if more disc golfers were chunking plastic here it would validate having the course among the softball and basketball areas.
Other Thoughts: Yes there are four tees - check out the updated map.

Bottom line: the local club has improved this small but fun course; they have made excellent use of the land available.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  5 Minutes from My House

5+    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: filmflicker
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course for beginners to hone their skills.
Great practice for your midrange game.
Three tees for each hole. Yellow, Blue and White.
Last hole is a fun downhill shot with woods on the right side, causing right handers to anny.
Cons: Blue and White tees are fairly simple.
No real challenges.
Im sure that the yellow tees would prove more difficult, but are hard to find. Had another local tell me where to find them today.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I end up playing the most, for the simple fact that it is so close to my house. The is nothing too terribly difficult in the course if you play the blue or white tees. Have yet to play the yellow tees. Just found out where they were from another local. This course is good practice for your mid-range game, since almost all the holes are under 300 ft. Most of the holes are out in the open. There is one hole that the tee is in the woods you have to throw out of for the blue and white tees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, short course

1    11/29/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: jedwards
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Baskets - All baskets were intact as of May 2009 and in good condition.
- Tee Pads - Grass. Decent traction, some hard to find (yellow pads especially).
- Tee Signs/Maps/Markers - Tee signs at every white tee but only to designate which hole you are on. No map on tee signs. At the time of review there were no course maps on site. Markers were easy to find with printed map (in the Links/Files tab).
- General Course Design - In general, I would classify this as a strictly novice course. Definitely a "family" course or good starter course.
Cons: The white tees are not very challenging for anyone more than a beginner. As stated above, the yellow tees are quite hard to find. Without a map you would never even know they were there. With 2 sets of yellow it would be nice to know which are designated as "A", "B", etc.
Other Thoughts: I did not find the area to be "bad" whatsoever. The park was actually quite nice and well kept for a small community park. After reading the other reviews I was a little nervous about playing it by myself but that was quickly gone once I arrived. The white tees provide a fun course to practice your short game while the blue and yellow tees add a decent amount of difficulty.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.