Disc Golf Store
Salisbury, NC 
Kelsey Scott Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #9 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 376ft.   3 / 235ft.   3 / 315ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The "Bike Share Program" Course

2-4    8/5/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 205  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool old school Discatchers, play on some history.
Multiple tees on every hole.
Quick play, open enough for beginners and families.
Minimal tee signs with hole number and distance helped find the start of every hole and keep the flow pretty smooth.
Cons: some tee signs were confusing, on hole 2 there were 2 signs 20 feet apart, but it said the holes were 60 feet different.
If you turn over a disc on hole 1's far tee you could end up in the road.
No tee pads, just colored circles makring where to throw from.
Other Thoughts: Course is not memorable. I was playing it for the second time, I got to hole 4 and realized I had already played this course before. Gotafixit, Jrawk and I called it the bikeshare program because Gotafixit rode an abandoned bike around the course.
With in walking distance of the college and much better than their 9 hole course. put them together for 18 holes of mediocrity.
I never felt that this was a bad area, but if you are uncomfortable, you can see your car for a majority of the course.
I have played this course twice because it is a quick play that was not too far from my main route. This is a nice place to quickly stretch your legs on a road trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun for what it is

5+    6/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 201  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For what land is there the designers have used it to the max. With 3 or 4 tees per hole you could play this little 9 holer several times with 36 unique holes.

These holes may not be very long but they take lots of shot shaping and precision.

signage is good and its pretty easy to find the different holes around the course.

It is a perfect course for those learning the game and a great place to learn how to control a mid or putter.

Love the downhill shot on hole 9.
Cons: The shorts are pretty easy and open almost too much so.

Ive heard story about it being in the ghetto and crazy stuff going on but I've never had any issues.

The greens are kind of boring.
Other Thoughts: For being in a tiny park with limited space this course is a great little 9 holer with variety. It may not be a championship course but it is a fun one to play. I love the way the designers have made the most out of what they have to work with.

While its not worth a road trip if youre in the area stoping here to play would not be a waste of time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Yo Dawg....

1    6/3/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - The highlight of this nine holer is that it gives you three different tee positions which are very different shots throughout the course. The alternate tees add difficulty and some character to what would be very short and very open shots from the main tees.

I actually think the alternate longer tees are meant in a way to be an optional back 9 but just play those.

You will need to be able to work the disc a bit to get close but even the harder tees aren't really hard. I'd say this course is an excellent place to learn the game or just get some practice in on driving your putters/mids and putting.

There isn't much in the park to work with and the designer squeezed shots out of every situation possible. There's more than a couple tee positions that looked great and required me to work my putter.

The flow of the course works well, it didn't feel awkward at any point.

There's a couple longer shots thrown in from the alternate tees that gives you chance to let a disc fly more than most 9'ers I've played.

Equipment - The tee signs are very visible so it's easy to find the tees even without a map. The baskets are old but I found no problem with them, they caught all of my putts.
Cons: Layout - The main tees are nothing but open short shots. I'd say about half of the alternate tees don't make it much better. The course is in a way kind of strewn a long the edge of the park because that's where the trees are. It works but makes everything kind of crammed in.

Only a couple of the greens and basket positions had anything near them to create challenge.

Most of the course is flat and the one area where there is elevation isn't much.

Not much difficulty here for more experienced players, it's really just a practice course or a place for new players to learn.

Equipment - No pads although I don't see a point in installing any.

Atmosphere - Yeah.. it's in the ghetto. There are ghetto happenings going on here. I kept an eye on my car the entire time. It's probably a good place to learn disc golf but a bad place to be associated with disc golf.

The park itself is an older park and not much for looks. You're playing along the edge around the basketball court and parking lot.
Other Thoughts: I don't live there so I wouldn't play here again even though the layout itself was done well with what there is to work with.

If I did live there I could see myself going out there for some putter rounds... or to build my ace count.

There was couple of memorable holes. I think #3 or 12a/12b.. whichever one is an anny shot over the leaning tree. Then the big downhill optional shots on #9 were really fun.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

short and sweet

5+    11/5/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: scottlarson
Played: 38  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2012
Pros: Multiple tees - usually creating very different shots. Not thickly wooded and zero underbrush. 3A is the only hole with danger of losing a disc (creek). Very obvious signage. Good variety of shots.
Cons: Does not have concrete tees. Holes 1 and 2 can be squishy. Guys with big arms will wine about the distance being too short, but holes 2 and 9 are almost 400ft. Because the A/B tees were added after the beginner course was made, many of the A/B tees are to the side of the previous fairway - could be a problem if it was crowded (I've never seen more than one other player)
Other Thoughts: Apparently this course used to be too easy and trashed. I found the newer "a" and "b" tees quite entertaining and only saw some trash in the woods by the railroad. All of the summer pictures are from the "beginner" tees which are about half the distance and without obstacles. The blue mandos on hole 5 are for the beginner tee only. Gold mandos are for the gold tees. The basket for hole 9 is currently 15 feet into the woods on the right at the bottom of the hill.

 Great Course

2-4    6/18/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Rythum55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course, 4 different 9 hole courses in one. Very good in design. You can play the Gold tees and have 18 holes, but it uses the same baskets for them. Its a pretty easy course, good for beginners.
Cons: Holes are short, somewhat bad area

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Love

5+    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: backhandelvis
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 4 tee locations per holes:
-White:Ladies/kids tees
-Blue:Short mostly open
-Yellow A/B-New Tee areas give 18 holes
-NEW TEE MARKERS ELIMINATE HUNTING(four feet high permanent metal signs with yardage.
that are a far cry from the past.
-Permenent Porta-Potties
-Easy Parking
-Relitivly low traffic from non disc golf park goers
Cons: -In the Hood
-Litterbugs preferto smash beer bottles(always seems to be Icehouse!)
-1 and 2 can get swampy
-muddy runups
-3 A and 3B yellows are horrible holes....no flow to em and extremely short.
Other Thoughts: Great change of pace from the Kelsey of the Past. 400yard holes with annie, mandos and tight squeezes. Grreat use of limited space.

If you can shoot under on the 18 yellows,you deserve a HapsGrill Burger and a Cheerwine!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great little course

5+    11/30/2008   5/25/2010
Review By: unclemike
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great little course, not too short, not too long. Not too much is wooded, so your unlikely to loose discs. Most holes are very open. It's seldom busy or backed up. Interesting that it doesn't get more play...
Cons: Can get seasonally wet because of a low area on the first 3 holes.
Other Thoughts: I'm suprised at some of the low ratings people have given this course. I've played on MUCH worse! A couple arrow signs to the next tee might help, and a water fountain, but it always seems to be well maintained and not a lot of litter to pick up as at some other courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short and not so sweet

1    4/12/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: Behindatree
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The only thing I can thing of good about this course is it can be played on a short lunch break.
Cons: High grass + soft ground not a good combo. Spent more time looking for a safe place to sit my bag down than I did throwing (and it hasn't rained in over a week)
The maps that seem to be the highlight of the course were nowhere to be found
Hole numbers are worn off of most baskets ,chains are rusted, tee signs are useless and I'm pretty sure the baskets are a significant amount lower than standard.
Using a beach frisbee MIGHT make this course challenging.
Today was one of the nicest days this year and the only other people at the park were eating lunch...IN THERE CAR!!!
Other Thoughts: I am far from a pro and I hate to completely bash a course like this but...
I've been wanting to play this course for awhile simply because it is so close to were I work.
Today I got an hour for lunch so...
Left work at 1130 went to subway took my sub to the park (about 7 miles away). Ate in my car, then played the entire course shooting 4 under par from blue with nothing but my roc and was back at work at 1225.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/5/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate 9 hole course with good flow of holes. Use the map and you'll find the tees no problem.
- Each hole has 3 tee locations, with #1 & 9 having additional tee locations. The short tees are clearly aimed for the most elementary of players.
- I also liked how the creek only comes into play for the advanced (yellow) tees on holes #3 & 4. Water shouldn't even be a factor for the easier tees unless you do something freakishly bad.
- The map may be the most detailed/accurate one I've ever used. (Look at the course map file for a reference.) I was trying to find the yellow tee for #6 and the map shows it's next to the last tree closest to the path. I walk to said tree and, low and behold, there are the markers for the yellow tee. Same goes for the B tee for #1. The tee is located right between a tree and a bench, as shown on the map. If only they'd spent as much time making a good course as they did making a detailed map, this would be a good course.
- You only need short to mid-range discs for most of the course. Only one hole is more than 300 feet - #9 from two of the advanced (yellow) tees.
- The course only had one hole (#2) where each the three tees presented the same shot at varying lengths, two, if you count the B location for the yellow tee on #9. The other holes presented different shots and angles from each tee location. I also liked how the advanced tee wasn't always the longest shot, while still being the most difficult. On #7, the yellow tee is actually the shortest shot, but it's most difficult as you're throwing through the woods, versus the open and easier tee shots from the other locations.
Cons: The course lacks some basic amenities - no water fountains/drink machines and no toilets - port-a-jons only. With only 9 holes, you shouldn't be at the course for that long that this will be an issue. A shopping center is only about 2 minutes away.
- As mentioned earlier, there's lots of graffiti along the walking path by hole #5. The walking path continues on the other side of the train tracks, but I didn't, and don't have any desire to see what's over there.
- The course has a clear feel it was built by non-disc golfers. Some tee/basket locations seemed un-natural, where I feel the "designers" found some trees and decided to place the tee or basket right there for a challenge. Specifically, the yellow tee on #3 and #9C tee shots come to mind. There aren't many other obstacles, such as elevation, so I guess they were trying to get creative.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't meant to be great, but it's not that bad either. It seemed like every other basic 9-hole course you'd find anywhere.
- My favorite hole is #4 from the yellow (advanced tee). It's a 265-foot shot that requires you to maneuver you're shot through some trees to the basket. That'd make a nice hole on any course.
- I didn't get a sense of the course being sketch. It didn't seem to be any less safe than Kilborne or Sugaw Creek in Charlotte, plus the road has plenty of traffic on it, so I never felt any trouble.
- You can easily play this course twice in under an hour. It's not worth driving out of the way to play, but if you're on I-85, it's less than 10 minutes off the exit.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better

2-4    8/15/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: hycard
Played: 48  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with FOUR tees per hole, including two challenging yellow tees.

White and Blue tees are well marked and great for ace runs or beginning players.

Gold tees allow enough distance, tough angles, and/or well marked "mandos" to every hole for intermediate and advanced players to get a variety of shots.

Creek comes into play on two holes.

Adequate bathrooms, nice shelters and a playground are all on site.

Basketball courts and softball field also adjacent but do not interfere with the well established course layout.

Do not bypass this course - grab a map and take on the gold tee layouts....two laps around from both gold tees make an enjoyable 18 hole round.

Local club has regular events.

Tournament director(s) welcome new players .



Cons: Could make the gold tees more obvious for those without a map.

The issue of the neighborhood not appreciating the disc golf presence has already been addressed on other reviews. However, if more disc golfers were chunking plastic here it would validate having the course among the softball and basketball areas.
Other Thoughts: Yes there are four tees - check out the updated map.

Bottom line: the local club has improved this small but fun course; they have made excellent use of the land available.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.