Layout Extinct

Salisbury, NC 
Ellis Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #8 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    7/5/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: ABFutrell
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
Pros: This course is intended to be beginner friendly; however, some holes were purposely designed to make intermediate players or better work to get birdies.

Hole #1 while intimidating it may look, that's the point. Don't feel comfortable with a backhand, try an overhand, sidearm or roller. Consider yourself lucky if you are a lefty.

Hole #2 is fairly straight forward.

Hole #3 does have a route(s). I've found three so far. Straight, anny sidearm, or f you look up spike hyzer. All the of those can get you a birdie.

Hole #4 is an easy bird. Don't mind the horshoe pits, they are not used from what I've been told.

Hole #5 is straight forward.

Hole #6 the "garden box" as a previous poster called it is actually a bocce court (Italian bowling) and yes you actually do play the game on a court, not in the sand at the beach or in the yard. Back to the hole, righty's can throw an anny shot, sidearm, or hyzer between trees over the parking lot.

I'll refer the final three holes to their current number as nine holes have been added to this course for a total of 18.

Hole #16 (formally 7) is the longest open hole around the main park (~330 ft). Bigger arms can easily get there, but beware of OB behind basket.

Hole #17 (formally 8) is somewhat interesting OB right, but beware keeping left as there is a large sign there that makes putting a challenge.

Hole #18 (formally 9) has a straight route or anny route. Both require to keep the disc low with a lot of power.
Cons: Some of the natural tee-pads are uneven and can effect disc release.
Other Thoughts: This course originally had nine holes, but now has 18. The holes added are numbers 7 - 15. These holes will be on the opposite side of the road from the park. After hole #6, walk over the gravel parking lot and across the road and you should find hole #7. I have not played the new holes as the baskets were just installed;, however, I did assist in the course layout. 2 or 3 of these new holes will be legit par 4's. You will have to layup on some shots, otherwise you'll have fun throwing threw young growth getting back to the fairway. Holes 7 - 15 should be more professional and challenging as this land does not weave around ball fields, tennis courts, playgrounds, bocce courts. etc. This land is mostly stand alone accept for some equestrian use, but the baskets and fairways should stay clear of this.

One more thing, these new holes will have elevation. Some of the new holes will be 400+ feet (hole #7 and #11).

 Waste of Time

1    5/31/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: backhandelvis
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -um, errr
Cons: -3 and 4 are both putter drives
-5,6,8,9 prolly not playable during littleleague season
Other Thoughts: This is a course for children.

6 of the nine holes have potential to be blocked by park goers.

Unless you live close or are a 12 year old with a 3 pack starter set i wouldn't waste your time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I found a dollar!....

1    5/13/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: chain-addicted
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There isnt much to list on this one.... really.

Baskets - Brand spankin' NEW Innova DISCatcher Pro baskets. Probably the main "pro" about this course. They even had arrows pointing to where the next tee is on the "chastity belt" (top yellow rung).

Tee signs - The tee signs are pretty well constructed and tell you the hole number, the par, as well as the distance to the basket on them.

The dollar bill! - (see "Other Thoughts" below)
Cons: Almost EVERYTHING -Basically this course couldnt be designed any worse than it already is. It's terrible. The first hole (which could be hard to locate for a first-timer) is next to this about 18 foot high fence topped with razor-wire that makes you feel as though you are doing hard time in the state pen.... I felt as though I was starting off my round in some sort of concentration camp or Gulag for that matter: shank your errant drive over that fence and the chances of getting your disc back are probably around 1/10 to the 27th power. The course has natural teepads that are marked with what look like Jiffy peanut butter top yellow lids that are sometimes not even lined up perpendicular to the line you are supposed to be taking. Hole #4 is played right over the horseshoe pits and that looks to me like an obvious safety hazard. As if it wasnt bad enough having one of the fairways going over the horseshoe pits, when I got to hole #8 it was the same safety hazard! ANOTHER "throw over the horseshoe pits" hole. Hole #6 is a shot over some type of weird "garden box"(?) game that I couldnt figure out what it was for the life of me. These "boxes" had benches next to them that was obviously put there for the viewers of said "game", whatever the heck it was. The very few wooded holes that were there were basically like a "throw and pray" concept with no real defined fairway or line to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Even though it seemed like a beautiful little family park when we rolled up to it, this course just drips with bad design. It's like the design was left up to someone who had no real concept of the game of DG.

I gotta admit that at least it is SOMETHING for that small town country folk that are just being introduced to the sport but I feel as though baskets that nice would be better off placed in some other park. You could pretty much skip this park and you wouldnt be missing anything.

Oh, and I would have probably gave this course a zero disc rating except for the fact I found a dollar on the last hole! That right there raised it to a half a disc in my book! [Thumbs-up]

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A solid 1.0 (in a good way)

1    5/7/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ellis Park is a decent little 9-hole course, with a good mix of open and wooded holes. Not an overly challenging course, but will need to throw good shots to get your 2s.
- Course flows throughout the entire park, starting in the back left corner, before heading to the far right side of the park (#7), before making its way back. Perhaps a bit too much walking/space between some holes, but I give them credit for spreading things out to create 9 decent holes.
- Very beginner friendly. Longest hole is 334 feet, and its wide open. The only potential risk is the tall, barbed-wire fence that runs along #1. Any shot that goes high and sails over the fence will be difficult to get back.
- Every hole has a tee sign and markers. Neither is anything special, but not a lot is needed. Grass/dirt teepads work because ground is level.
- Nice little park with lots of other amenities: ball fields, playground, walking trail. Concession stand is open during games.
- Very nice map. With the course so spread out, it comes in handy.
Cons: No major problems with the course. It's meant to be a simple course, and it accomplishes that nicely. That said, only a couple of issues with the course.
- While it's good that the course plays throughout the park, it actually interferes with other parts of the park. For example, the basket for #4 is in the middle of horseshoe pits, baskets for #3, 7 & 9 all play close to the ball fields, basket for #6 is along side parking lot, and #8 plays close to playground. #1 is the only hole that is completely isolated. If other parts of park are occupied, some holes may not be playable.
- Along those lines, be careful when throwing. Several holes are along walking paths, plus with others near playgrounds, ball fields, kids can suddenly appear. I had to deal with this when I played.
- As stated above, the fence along #1 could pose a lost disc threat. Fence is at least 10 feet tall, so any decent player should have no problem keeping a shot low. This may a hole you loan a junk disc to a newbie.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate when even a below-average course is well maintained. Just because it's not the most difficult course, nor tries to be, doesn't mean it can't be in good shape.
- No truly great holes, nor any truly bad holes. What you see is what you get with this course.
- I actually like the feel of #1, with the fence running along the entire left side of fairway. It's a different look from anything I've seen, and it allows you to be creative, if you want to throw a rebound shot of the chains.
- It's pretty far out of the way, 15 minutes off I-85, on the far side of downtown Salisbury. So you either have to be really determined to play here, or wanting to add this to your courses played list.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A true waste of nice baskets!

1    4/8/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The baskets are new and nice. It is a full 9 hole course in a public park. Parking is free. Bathrooms were clean. Park worker was helpful and friendly directing me to first hole.
Cons: Almost everything. Course design was terrible, starting at the first hole. The fence and barb wire were truly enough to make me play it safe.

The holes in the woods were very short. Flat footed, throw your putter short. All 2 of them. Hole 3 has virtually no line to hit. Maybe a forehand line if you get real creative.

The last 6 holes are a disastrous mix of shots that require you to go over horseshoe pits, volleyball courts, near fences and parking lots, and even in and along baseball fields.

Natural tee pads too. Maybe not a big con considering the length and other issues facing this course.
Other Thoughts: Like I said in the title, a terrible waste of nice baskets. This a small park that has no business having a course. Maybe there is some upside if you live close by and can make sure you play when no one else is around, but for most people this course isn't worth thinking about. Just move along folks. I apologize that you had to spend the time to read this because frankly, Ellis Park just isn't worth it.


7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for Salisbury

1    3/25/2011   3/25/2011
Review By: jedwards
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park in a decent area. Several lightly wooded holes are a nice change from nearby Kelsey Scott Park, which is also a 9-hole course but very open. A good deal of the challenge on this course comes from trying to avoid obstacles (razor wire, barbed wire fences, etc.). Several holes provide a good risk/reward factor.
Cons: Although mentioned in my "Pros", the danger of losing a disc over the 15-foot fence on hole 1 could be considered a con to some players. If it goes over there's zero chance of getting it back since this fence is not scalable even by the most expert fence climber as it is topped with razor wire. Similarly, hole 8 is lined on the right by a barbed wire fence. I bounced my 9x KC Pro Gazelle through it when I played but was lucky enough to reach it with a stick for a safe recovery. No tee pads, only natural/grass. This park is very flat, so no elevation changes whatsoever. Several holes required a 40-50 yard walk to the next tee (5 to 6 and 6 to 7). Course flow is a little confusing without a map for first-timers. There's also not really enough parking near the first tee. There is an additional lot near the basket for hole #6 and a gravel overflow lot near the tee for hole #7, but it is along way to the first tee from either of these lots.
Other Thoughts: This course has tee signs that only contain minimal information - Hole #, distance and par. Since most holes are short this isn't a huge problem but you will probably want to bring a map the first time you play. Try to park in the lot closest to the first tee - it is to the left and behind the park office. The park office has starter sets available (~$20) for sale if you are bringing any first-timers.
Overall not the worst course I have ever played, but there's just something missing to rate it any higher.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center