Orlando, FL 
Airport Lakes Park Share
Uploaded By: The Miniac Hole #1 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Every 9 hole should have these features

1    11/12/2016   11/16/2016
Review By: Fletch50
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With 2 tees and 2 pins on every hole it gives a nice variety so you can play it over and over and essentially get 36 holes of similar variety. Excellent bathroom and playground area to keep everyone occupied. Being a beginner with a rating of maybe 825-850 it was challenging enough without losing any discs. Upkeep was nice and it was a beautiful day.
Cons: The course is well played so expect little wait from time to time. Airplane noise is the only other negative. Beware of the OB fence on hole #4 dogleg right, too far straight is over the fence.
Other Thoughts: If we lived closer I would play all the time, like course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Lot Of Good Golf Crammed In Here!

1    10/30/2016   10/30/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 114  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 41.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course featuring two sets of tees and two permanent baskets for every hole.This makes for a lot of different ways to play the course. Nice tee signs at each tee location. I would describe the course as short and technical with most holes throwing in the woods. There are a couple of holes where almost everything is covered in Spanish moss, giving these holes a spooky kind of vibe.

Very close to Orlando's airport and many local hotels.
Cons: Some of the baskets are very old school, but are in good repair.

The airplane noise can be loud at times.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of good golf here and although it is a little on the short and technical side, I think that most would enjoy a round or 3 here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

More like 18 holes

1    10/11/2016   10/26/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 73  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.619 Rating) Feels more like an 18 hole course than 9
- DUEL PINS AND TEES - By far the best thing about Airport Lakes is the duel pins and tees at each of the 9 holes. I'm a big fan of this type of format when space is at a premium. This setup is great for groups of multiple skill levels. It also allows players the opportunity to never play the same round twice as they could randomize the tee and pin they play at each of the 9 holes.
- CHARACTER - Airport Lakes is probably about average in terms of character. There is a wonderful course map at hole 1, there is great hole signage, most of the tees are well shaded, there are restrooms in the park and the tees are concrete. Probably the biggest thing that's missing is seating and trash cans. There is also no practice area, multiple pin placements or bag holders that you'd see at your older established courses.
- NAVIGATION - Would be issue except for the great course map placed at hole 1. If you take a picture, you'll have no issues on your first time threw.
- SHELTER - There is a great shelter with picnic tables placed right in the center of the course. perfect for the end of round gathering point and perfect for the summer pop-up thunderstorm.
- LOCATION - A 10 minute drive from the Airport - perfect for a layover if you have a means to get here.
- QUICK PLAY - Piggy backing off the layover comment above, playing nine holes can easily be done in under 30 minutes.
Cons: I did not find any major flaws with Airport Lakes, but by no means it this a destination must play course.
- CHAINS - They are in pretty bad shape. They are still playable but among the most rusted and beat up I've ever come across. I'll add that none of my putts missed due to the condition factor, I can shank a putt all by myself.
- MAINTENANCE - The rest of the park seems to get a lot more love than the course itself. There were twigs, branches and Spanish moss on the ground everywhere. the grass in some areas was over 10" in height. the overgrowth and rough areas weren't the worth I've seen, but it was definitely subpar. To those that prefer the well manicured courses, this isn't the one.
- SPACING - Not the best or worst but I did end up in an adjacent fairway several times.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Again, not the best or worst I've seen, but probably below average. You will have double back three times (1 to 2) and (3 to 4) and (7 to 8). It seems on paper that holes (8, 7 and 6) should have been reversed to lead into hole (9) Instead, the layout makes you jump around from (5 to 6) and (8 to 9) check out the course map and you'll see what I mean.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. There are really no water elements in play (some may consider this a blessing) There are no dog legs. The most that any one hole veers is perhaps 10 to 15 degrees. Nearly are the holes weave threw a live oak canopy and are moderately tight lines (#1 is an exception and is an open play) there are no overhead plays. None of the holes are gimmes and none are that exceedingly hard. There is one par 4 (#8) which is over 500 feet in the long position. This hole is also the one blind basket when playing the short position.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. no more than 10' change throughout the entire course layout.
Other Thoughts: I'd definitely play this course again if I was in the area. A good course for those living within 5-10 miles and for beginners threw the intermediate level. Advanced and Pro players will probably come away unchallenged.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Small Course

2-4    2/15/2016   2/19/2016
Review By: pickupman92
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bathroom Facilities! It's always fantastic when there is a bathroom at DG courses. Multiple pads and baskets fit into a small piece of land - can easily see room for expansion as well
Cons: Some of the holes were a tad short, definitely a midrange and putter course, I did use a driver on a couple of the longer holes, but only for a skip shot.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course, played short to short and then long to short with my gf. This is a great beginner and intermediate course. My home course is Debary and there are possiblities for some REALLY long holes at that course. This one is nice, has some twists and turns, nicely shaded so you're not stuck out in the sun the entire time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

9 holes, 36 options

2-4    1/24/2015   1/31/2015
Review By: The Drake
Played: 104  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed "9 hole" course on a relatively small piece of land. But don't let the 9 holes fool you. There are two sets of pins and tees on each hole which legitimately make for 36 holes for play. Every pin has a tee sign with pretty accurate distances and solid cement tee pads.

The holes themselves are well designed given the land available for use. The first hole is really the only open hole, after that its all wooded, but fair. While some holes play better from certain pin/tee locations, overall there are no bad options.

This is an excellent introduction into wooded golf for the new player and the fairways, while tight, give legitimate lines and options. Its a good course to learn some of the basics of shot shaping which you may not pick up on tougher courses in the area or the more open options around town.

Cons: The holes themselves are pretty short. With the exception of hole 6 and 8 you definitely could get away playing this course with your favorite midrange and putter. For experienced players this is not a course that is going to challenge you very much. Even from the "all long" setup (blue to gold) you should be able to put yourself within the putting circle on nearly every hole.

This course is just north of the airport, meaning there are planes taking off and landing all the time, which are loud and can get annoying if you're playing with friends.

Given the fact that there are two sets of tees and 2 permanent pins on each hole I'm not even going to count the "9 holes" as a con for this course.
Other Thoughts: While this is not a course you would find yourself playing all the time given the other good courses in town if you're in southeast Orlando or staying near the airport this is the only good close option. Given the multiple pins you can really tailor the round to how much time you have.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but good course

2-4    4/21/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: drgonzo712
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right next to the Airport so good course to play quick before a flight
Mix of wooded holes and a couple of open holes
Layout is good for a 9 hole course
actually really nice scenery in the woods
Multiple pin and tee pad locations
Cons: Short course with no long bomb opportunities
They leave all pins up at all times, so it can get a little confusing
Just no real signature holes that stand out in my mind

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quite the Layover

1    12/5/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I avoided playing this course for a long time. Nine holes by the airport? Sounds like a snoozefest. But upon realizing that it is about to be my closet course, decided to give it a round. I was pleasantly surprised. While it is indeed comprised of nine holes and it is near the airport, that description is selling it short.

While it may be bereft of signature holes, there is not a bad hole among the nine. (ok, well, besides one, but that's the warmup hole) From the red tees especially, the fairways offer great throwing lines and a fair shot at every basket.

Every hole has two tees, and two baskets. Not two pin locations, two baskets in the ground. While you can mix and match tees and baskets in various ways, I played the two most obvious. Short to short, and long to long. The short course is actually probably the better one. The majority of the holes are very parkable so well-placed drives will be well-rewarded.
Cons: The long layout suffers from too many holes with no scoring separation. Really no separation. The extra angle from the red basket to the gold basically makes the hole unparkable, so good play will lead to a tap in par. A shanked drive will yield a tougher putt but generally, it will still lead to par. I don't mind some of these holes at all, but it really feels like all of them are like that.

For the experienced players, even the longest arrangement won't be too difficult. The holes would definitely be described as wooded but the fairways are more than wide enough.

There are also a few location where multiple fairways are in play. It doesn't feel cramped but it actually is, as is made clear when there are players on other holes. I everyone is keeping it in their own fairway there will be no issues, but off drives can easily cross over into neighboring fairways.
Other Thoughts: So it's a course that is more suited for beginners, albeit one that is very-well suited for them. It's also a course than be looped quickly. It wouldn't take long to play four rounds of nine here, taking advantage of all the possible layouts.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Perfect course for beginners.

2-4    11/2/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: KyrieandSteve
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -When playing from the short tee's par is obtainable for first time players, Boosting confidence and making the game more enjoyable.
-Good course if your worried about loosing your disc, pretty safe here.
Cons: -Slightly confusing layout with the multiple baskets and pads, Good idea to download map and walk the course before you start.
Other Thoughts: -We found some strange items(shotgun shells, empty bottles of motor oil) in the woods around the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Airport Lakes DGC

5+    2/1/2013   2/1/2013
Review By: KickballTom
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Two sets of tees (Red & Blue) to Two sets of baskets (Red & Gold). Variations of rounds possible for you to complete 18.
*Not a "grip it & rip it" course - offers technical shots through trees and brush.
*Offers a shaded play area while also keeping away from park traffic.
Cons: *Walk from #8 basket to #9 tees is a bit much - Could have reversed #6,#7, & #8 holes for a better flow into 9.
*A few holes offer tight OB (Fence) Lines.
*Hole #9 is very cluttered with trees and brush - very hard to get any type of clean path to baskets.
*Baskets are older and some are leaning.
Other Thoughts: *Overall a great course in my opinion.
*Park offers other amenities (Playground, Dock on Lake, Soccer Fields) to keep family busy for you to put in a round or two.
*As a beginning player, I enjoy the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Layover Getaway!

2-4    1/5/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: el_duder
Played: 44  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Location! It's very easy for people with a layover for a few hours to hit this place up for a couple quick rounds.
- Multiple layouts (4 different ways to play the course).
- Good technical challenge.
- Concrete tee pads are nice, tee signs in good condition and at each pad, arrows on basket indicate location of next tee.
- Garbage cans located around the course and water fountains.
Cons:
- Baskets are a little rough, but they function pretty well so it's not a major con.
- Similar Distances on many holes (but they do vary with the different layouts)
- The park could use a bit of a cleanup with some trash scattered about and some larger piles of trash.
Other Thoughts:
This was the first time playing disc golf for my Dad and one of my brothers. We all had a good time playing red to red and I think that layout provides an excellent intro to the sport. There is a good bit of technical shots, but one and two provide for some open throws. There are also soccer fields nearby to allow for a pre-round warm-up or teaching lesson.

After the first round we met a fellow traveler from Colorado looking to play, so I gladly joined in for a round of blue to red. This provided a bit more of a technical challenge as the blue tees can greatly alter the layout of a hole.

Notable holes were 8 which is a long technical throw through the woods and 9 which, from the blues, requires a really straight shot through a couple of clumps of trees, over a creek and into another grouping of trees.

I really enjoyed the two rounds I played at Airport Lakes. I wish I had had time to play the other two layouts. This place really can't be beat for a long layover or someone spending a night in one of the many nearby hotels. I don't think it'd be wise to walk from the airport to the park, but it's a very short cab ride. The immediate area also offers plenty of restaurants nearby if you want to grab a bite to eat. I give it three discs mostly because of the variety of layouts and the great location!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.