Orlando, FL 
Airport Lakes Park Share
Uploaded By: stsren Hole #5 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 235ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
9 holes, 36 options

2-4    1/24/2015   1/31/2015
Review By: The Drake
Played: 96  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed "9 hole" course on a relatively small piece of land. But don't let the 9 holes fool you. There are two sets of pins and tees on each hole which legitimately make for 36 holes for play. Every pin has a tee sign with pretty accurate distances and solid cement tee pads.

The holes themselves are well designed given the land available for use. The first hole is really the only open hole, after that its all wooded, but fair. While some holes play better from certain pin/tee locations, overall there are no bad options.

This is an excellent introduction into wooded golf for the new player and the fairways, while tight, give legitimate lines and options. Its a good course to learn some of the basics of shot shaping which you may not pick up on tougher courses in the area or the more open options around town.

Cons: The holes themselves are pretty short. With the exception of hole 6 and 8 you definitely could get away playing this course with your favorite midrange and putter. For experienced players this is not a course that is going to challenge you very much. Even from the "all long" setup (blue to gold) you should be able to put yourself within the putting circle on nearly every hole.

This course is just north of the airport, meaning there are planes taking off and landing all the time, which are loud and can get annoying if you're playing with friends.

Given the fact that there are two sets of tees and 2 permanent pins on each hole I'm not even going to count the "9 holes" as a con for this course.
Other Thoughts: While this is not a course you would find yourself playing all the time given the other good courses in town if you're in southeast Orlando or staying near the airport this is the only good close option. Given the multiple pins you can really tailor the round to how much time you have.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short, but good course

2-4    4/21/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: drgonzo712
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
Pros: Right next to the Airport so good course to play quick before a flight
Mix of wooded holes and a couple of open holes
Layout is good for a 9 hole course
actually really nice scenery in the woods
Multiple pin and tee pad locations
Cons: Short course with no long bomb opportunities
They leave all pins up at all times, so it can get a little confusing
Just no real signature holes that stand out in my mind

Quite the Layover

1    12/5/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 258  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I avoided playing this course for a long time. Nine holes by the airport? Sounds like a snoozefest. But upon realizing that it is about to be my closet course, decided to give it a round. I was pleasantly surprised. While it is indeed comprised of nine holes and it is near the airport, that description is selling it short.

While it may be bereft of signature holes, there is not a bad hole among the nine. (ok, well, besides one, but that's the warmup hole) From the red tees especially, the fairways offer great throwing lines and a fair shot at every basket.

Every hole has two tees, and two baskets. Not two pin locations, two baskets in the ground. While you can mix and match tees and baskets in various ways, I played the two most obvious. Short to short, and long to long. The short course is actually probably the better one. The majority of the holes are very parkable so well-placed drives will be well-rewarded.
Cons: The long layout suffers from too many holes with no scoring separation. Really no separation. The extra angle from the red basket to the gold basically makes the hole unparkable, so good play will lead to a tap in par. A shanked drive will yield a tougher putt but generally, it will still lead to par. I don't mind some of these holes at all, but it really feels like all of them are like that.

For the experienced players, even the longest arrangement won't be too difficult. The holes would definitely be described as wooded but the fairways are more than wide enough.

There are also a few location where multiple fairways are in play. It doesn't feel cramped but it actually is, as is made clear when there are players on other holes. I everyone is keeping it in their own fairway there will be no issues, but off drives can easily cross over into neighboring fairways.
Other Thoughts: So it's a course that is more suited for beginners, albeit one that is very-well suited for them. It's also a course than be looped quickly. It wouldn't take long to play four rounds of nine here, taking advantage of all the possible layouts.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect course for beginners.

2-4    11/2/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: KyrieandSteve
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -When playing from the short tee's par is obtainable for first time players, Boosting confidence and making the game more enjoyable.
-Good course if your worried about loosing your disc, pretty safe here.
Cons: -Slightly confusing layout with the multiple baskets and pads, Good idea to download map and walk the course before you start.
Other Thoughts: -We found some strange items(shotgun shells, empty bottles of motor oil) in the woods around the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Airport Lakes DGC

5+    2/1/2013   2/1/2013
Review By: KickballTom
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Two sets of tees (Red & Blue) to Two sets of baskets (Red & Gold). Variations of rounds possible for you to complete 18.
*Not a "grip it & rip it" course - offers technical shots through trees and brush.
*Offers a shaded play area while also keeping away from park traffic.
Cons: *Walk from #8 basket to #9 tees is a bit much - Could have reversed #6,#7, & #8 holes for a better flow into 9.
*A few holes offer tight OB (Fence) Lines.
*Hole #9 is very cluttered with trees and brush - very hard to get any type of clean path to baskets.
*Baskets are older and some are leaning.
Other Thoughts: *Overall a great course in my opinion.
*Park offers other amenities (Playground, Dock on Lake, Soccer Fields) to keep family busy for you to put in a round or two.
*As a beginning player, I enjoy the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Layover Getaway!

2-4    1/5/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: el_duder
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
- Location! It's very easy for people with a layover for a few hours to hit this place up for a couple quick rounds.
- Multiple layouts (4 different ways to play the course).
- Good technical challenge.
- Concrete tee pads are nice, tee signs in good condition and at each pad, arrows on basket indicate location of next tee.
- Garbage cans located around the course and water fountains.
- Baskets are a little rough, but they function pretty well so it's not a major con.
- Similar Distances on many holes (but they do vary with the different layouts)
- The park could use a bit of a cleanup with some trash scattered about and some larger piles of trash.
Other Thoughts:
This was the first time playing disc golf for my Dad and one of my brothers. We all had a good time playing red to red and I think that layout provides an excellent intro to the sport. There is a good bit of technical shots, but one and two provide for some open throws. There are also soccer fields nearby to allow for a pre-round warm-up or teaching lesson.

After the first round we met a fellow traveler from Colorado looking to play, so I gladly joined in for a round of blue to red. This provided a bit more of a technical challenge as the blue tees can greatly alter the layout of a hole.

Notable holes were 8 which is a long technical throw through the woods and 9 which, from the blues, requires a really straight shot through a couple of clumps of trees, over a creek and into another grouping of trees.

I really enjoyed the two rounds I played at Airport Lakes. I wish I had had time to play the other two layouts. This place really can't be beat for a long layover or someone spending a night in one of the many nearby hotels. I don't think it'd be wise to walk from the airport to the park, but it's a very short cab ride. The immediate area also offers plenty of restaurants nearby if you want to grab a bite to eat. I give it three discs mostly because of the variety of layouts and the great location!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 From a Rec Player's Point of View

1    6/23/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety, due to 2 baskets and 2 pads, there are 6 different ways to play 18 holes.
Practicing straight shots and Anhyzer shots, I am a Rec player and those are the 2 shots I needed to practice the most.
Some of the shorter holes still make you navigate arounds trees and make you work for your pars.
Cons: Bugs! The course goes into the natural woods, and with the humidity, I had to fend off mosquitos on a couple of holes.
Ant pile by the #6 Blue tee pad, please be careful, before you know it they're on your legs.
Not enough garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice park, nice place to take my 10 yr old son. They have a playground, and a nice walking trail around the park/woods.
Plus my 10 yr old can play 9 holes and call it a day, or he can play the Red-Red setting twice (shortest).
If you're in the area, or want a nice change, or pratice straight, anhyzer, or low ceiling shots, this is a nice place to do it

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/15/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: CDashMAN
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of options to satisfy all skill levels
Other than Hole 1 and parts of hole 2&9, well shaded for summer play.
Can be a quick round for layovers
Clear signage
Great place to practice control
2 baskets and tees per hole
Cons: Are vines that can be tripped over
A few holes are a bit close to one another
Trees can not be beginner friendly
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Orlando fro a quick round. A nice variety of throws and the short to long then long to short combo make a great 18 hole run.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nine Squared

1    3/4/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 14.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Teepads, signs, dual baskets
Other Thoughts: Airport Lakes is another Central Florida 9+. This course has only nine holes, but each one has two teepads and two baskets. Play long to long and you're in for a challenging outing demanding both distance and control. Play short to short and you're on a nice little beginner course. Do something in between as your mood and ability suits.

Airport Lakes stands out in two ways: amenities (signage, teepads) and meeting its design standard, in terms of getting the most out of the land allotted. Bring a beginner out here, and the course will suit. Bring a tourney veteran out here, and it should at least prove a worthy use of time. The course features excellent concrete teepads for the both the pro and am spots, and great signs for both also. Only the first hole is in the open; the rest of the course plays through some nice forest that would be peaceful if not for the constant jet noise - yes it's really that close to the airport. There's not a lot of room for error out here; end up in the rough and you'll rue it. Playing long to long, par is 29 and you'll have to earn it. The downside to this course is the non-distinct landscape and lack of variety, hole to hole. Nine holes of mostly straight shots, eight in the woods. Not entirely, but mostly.

Overall, I rate Airport Lakes on the high side of Decent, and well worth checking out if you're in the area. It succeeds as a nine-holer but with lots of options, and will take many plays before you'll tire of it. I would be more enamored if the course had a little more variety in terms of landscape and fairway shape, and perhaps actually had a view of the lake. Still, a sweet little course that was much needed on that side of Orlando.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with challenge

1    1/12/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to airport, shopping, and restaurants.
Good use of land.
Great course for mid range and putter drives to improve your placement. Even though it was close and had foot traffic it seemed very secluded. Multiple tee pads and baskets gave the course a great feel and changed it when you circle back and play again.
Cons: These dont bother me but may bother some.
Walking trails
Signage could be a little better

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.