Homer, AK 
The Moose Pretzel Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Alaska's Best

5+    6/12/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 86  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
- challenging layouts
- multiple pin placements
- multiple tees
- mostly rubber mats to throw from
- multiple layouts
- good mix of hole lengths
- variations in elevations
- lots of risk vs reward
- low traffic
- free camping
- some natural tees
- confusing layout
- blind pins
- needs spotters
- easy to lose a disc
- pay to play (well worth it)
Other Thoughts:

Honestly, I didn't exactly know what to expect from the course on my first visit at this course. I thought maybe Lou could have embellished how good the course is/was, but he actually nailed it with his review. It was a pleasant surprise to say the least. Moose Pretzel's eclectic arrangement of elevated baskets, creative assortment of alternate tees and fairways, plus the risk/reward mix make great use of the 40 some odd acres of unique landscape. After throwing all 4 layouts during my trip to Homer (pink twice), I can confidently say that this course is one of my all time favorites.

Navigation can be pretty tough, especially on the tee pads with blind pin placements. If you're not careful the rough will eat up errant throws. Finding the next tee between holes can be equally as tough. Pro tip: If you look close you'll notice each basket with have electrical tape facing the direction of the next tee. I had the luxury of playing every round with at least someone that knew the layout, but even then we had some difficulties. Watch out for bears, moose, and be prepared to battle bugs.

It's hard rate a course like this because it is so different than what I would call a traditionally great course. The course lacks quality tees, placards with distances, and has a complicated layout. These are the biggest cons. I don't think most baskets are numbered either. Everything else about the course was amazing. You can tell a lot of thought went into the design. The fairways mainly require the ability to throw straight 300-400 feet. If you can do that paired with the occasional hyzer bomb or massive sky anny over the tree line, you'll have a fun time. Lower level/power players will probably have a more frustrating time. Some fairways have tall bushes that obstruct paths to the basket that power players can easily bypass.

The course forced me to use my whole bag, which is always a good sign. Each color layout was like playing a completely different course. I especially liked how blue layout is the red layout played backward.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in the Kenai Penninsula

5+    12/28/2015   12/28/2015
Review By: Lou Dogg 31463
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
-This is on private property so it's easy to have the course(s) to yourself. And because of that it's one of the cleanest courses out there. Please do your part to keep it that way. If a can, bottle or butt is left out there Edan will know who it was as there's not a lot of traffic out there and he plays his courses daily. Don't be that person!

-The Moose Pretzel is made up of 4 courses on one 40 acre plot of land. There are Reds (shorts), Blues (longs), Greens (backwards) and Pinks (a Safari 12). I may have the Blues and Greens mixed up but either way...

-All the different layouts offer a little something different.

-If you attend one of the 2 or 3 tournaments at the MP you'll be back time after time. Most people head down on Friday and leave after dinner on Sunday. They usually have a player's party at his place. I'll let you find out what all that entails on your own ;-) He lets all the out of towners camp out on his property which can save you a Bill since it's summer time in Homer, AK. and the smallest of hotels will easily cost you $120-150 per night.

-Edan has custom and regular discs for sale.

-This is a true disc golf destination!
-Like you'll see on a lot of these reviews, the course needs tee pads. It'll happen.

-Also, tee signs would be great and directional signs too.

-It does get overgrown but again, it's one person maintaining 40 acres. Plus, one of the tournaments is called the Tall Grass Open. He'd have to change the name for that one if he mowed it all the time, haha!
Other Thoughts:
-It's a pay to play but in my opinion, every worthy course should be.

-At the time of my review, this property was rated at a 2.88. This is not accurate! Please add 1 to 1.5 to that rating.

-Edan is a great guy! If you are going to play his property please have the decency to give him a heads up.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wilderness Course

5+    2/1/2015   2/8/2015
Review By: edanori
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pristine Alaska Wilderness Course, private, quite, and intimate. Multiple tee pads and configurations ranging from recreational to challenging.
Cons: Can be covered in snow in the winter and tall grass in summer. Tee pads are still a work in progress.
Other Thoughts: Owner and club members have been working hard to improve the course and every year it becomes more playable!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/20/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: Slider
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great lines, very fun and challenging and there are many different holes to play!
Cons: No teepads!! And a lot of the ground for their "teepads" are uneven and can be slick when wet, can be a little dangerous for that reason. The shots are challenging enough and to make it even worse are no teepads. For a lot of the holes, you have to step over roots off the tee and a lot of the tee areas are not flat i.e. you are throwing on slight dips/slopes and sometimes there are places on the tee where you don't want to step.
Other Thoughts: Has a lot of potential, but the teepads can make this course almost unplayable and a little dangerous.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good Idea...Poor Execution

5+    6/12/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: oldpath777
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging
Pristine enviroment
Owner is super nice
Cons: Tee pads are horrible
Course is very confusing
Covered with snow in winter, a complete the rest of the year besides a choice few weeks in spring and fall
Looks that just don't make sense(impossible)
Very out of the way
Hanging Basket
Non Matching baskets, baskets non regulation heights
Spruce Trees eat discs
Other Thoughts: The beginning of the course is kind of nice.....
This would have been way better as a 9 or possibly 12. The front 9 itself is a jungle and the back 9 is just ridiculous. Some looks require you throw through a tiny window and then somehow crash through an absolute wall of spruce.....?? why?
There is no way you will not get lost unless your with a path finding indian guide....almost like it was made intentionally challenging, as if you needed more to concentrate on than searching for your disc for 45 minutes on each hole in 3 feet of grass.
There are alot of just plain stupid things like that on this course. A hanging basket....and different basket heights just further add to the annoyances of this course. I would highly advise cutting this course back to 9 with dual tees, making(LEVEL!) pads and taking proper care of the course and reconsidering the wacky looks presented here.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

1    7/9/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: AKeZtArGeT
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course, the holes were awesome, nice pins and the tees were pretty clear. Great terrain and the difficulty makes competition fun and enjoyable.
Cons: Needs to be cleared and the trails were a little iffy if they were the right direction or not. The map that was given didn't show the flight path, but just were the general direction of the pin.
Other Thoughts: If the tees were better marked and the flight path was given, this course would be a 5*. Edan wasn't there due to Championships in Anchorage and would have been nice to play a round with him and have him show us were the pro tees were. They let us have Brutus their dog follow us, which was nice due to the nature setting and possible bear interaction. He took off when it started to rain. lol!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.