Lebanon, MO 
Jared Hilton Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: birdman101 Hole #2 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course!

5+    2/25/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Great range of distances, decent amount of variation between holes, great tee pads, and baskets!
Cons: Could probably use a few more trees to make a couple holes more difficult
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses in Southern MO, I love playing there!

 

5+    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: Mofrisbee
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: It has 18 very well placed holes some hills no water, some trees
Cons: needs more trees or obsticales
Other Thoughts: I love this course, I play here almost every weekend, it helps that it is close to home so it doesnt take long to get there

 Getting better

2-4    7/12/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: Disc_Legend
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: This course has wide variety of challenge.
Very good length wise for beginner and pros alike.
Hole 16 is a very neat hole to play, it is a short par 3 but the basket rests on top of a mound which makes it a very risky to go for the birdie.
The course itself is very well maintained.
Cons: Needs more trees to make the course more interesting for some holes, because they are just too bland.
There also was a homeless man sleeping on a park table when I was throwing off from one.

 

5+    2/17/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course to play and was in great shape. They have been doing some work to beautify it by adding in some block walls around a few of the tees.

Concrete pads have plenty of room for a run up that you will need due to the distance of the holes.

The elevation does come into play causing you to throw up and down hill making the open holes a little more challenging.

The 4 wooded holes seem to be made for lefties along with hole 12, because the basket is tucked off to the right on most of them which makes them a lot more difficult.

There are 3 mandos (5, 9, and 14) that make those holes more challenging.
Cons: The other 14 holes are pretty much wide open and its just a grab a disc and throw it as far as you can. that gets kind of boring after awhile.

There wasn't a single trash can on the course (there were a few along the walking path that weaves in and out of the course but you have to walk a decent distance to get to them)

There were also no benches to take a break on close to the tees.
Tee signs are a little small and short like 2 feet off the ground, but had sufficient information.

You are consistently throwing over the walking path. It comes into play almost every hole.

No next tee arrow or anything. It flows fairly well, but in a few spots you may get a little confused.
Other Thoughts: They put #16's basket up on a big hill, which turns it into a very challenging hole, with a big rick reward top shot on each throw at it.

There is potential for this course if some trees get planted, or some baskets get moved some.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open when It isn't Tight

1    8/15/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: DiscMan Walking
Played: 115  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 23.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Baskets! 18 holes. Wide open "throw and go" on several holes - one hole was over 650 feet with no trees in the way. If you have a big snap - you'll love this course.
Cons: Small signs. Crosses hiking/biking path multiple times. Unimaginative use of space. No number plates on baskets. Signage backwards on some holes. No indication of where the next tee is - you have to look around to find which way to leave the target for the next hole. There are 5 technical holes - one of which is merely luck with NO discernable route. You just throw at the picket fence of trees and hope that your disc makes it through - you would have to be the Zen master to consistently make it through this maze on a regular basis.
Other Thoughts: I hope that this is a work in progress and not declared as complete and abandoned. It IS a good course with great potential - I believe that it does need some tweeks to finish it.
1) number plates on the baskets. You are not sure if you are throwing at the correct basket.
2) larger signs on the pads - these signs are 1/3 the size of any signage on any disc golf course I have played in America. After completing a hole you can locate a pad in the vicinity - however, I was unable to discern the number on the sign indicating if I was heading to the correct pad. Not only that the signs seemed to placed sometimes at the front of the pad and sometimes at the rear of the pad - not only that the actual sign may have been turned outwards from where the previous target was so you have to get within about 3 feet of the sign to read it and determine what direction your next throw would be. Larger signs and consistent placement would be appreciated. Someone has penciled in on the signs the distance to the basket - this was probably not done in the first place because the signs are only 5" X 7" and are fairly full. An indication on the sign which way to the next basket would be appreciated as well.
3) Crossing walking paths. This has been a bugaboo of mine in several courses - to their credit people on the multi-use path tend to stay on the track and either walk or bicycle around without straying out into the grass. I did have to wait several times for people walking their dogs and stopping or Parents with children walking the trail with little children before I could throw. While not a show stopper - it was minorly aggrevating. Whoever designed the course realized this and they have created yellow crosswalk lanes on the biking trail - if only the disc remains in this narrow 5 foot crosswalk we will be okay. There is one hole with the potential of injury resulting from someone screeming around on the path on a bicycle and the unsuspecting golfer making a throw. It would be a 1:1000 chance but could happen.
4) I know that they have already poured the concrete and set the targets but I hope that they rethink the course and make some adjustments that make it more than a "throw and go" course. While it appeared as though they were working with a lot of open fields - I did see opportunity to put the baskets in more creative spots. I hope the Parks and Rec can see some potential too.
Please do not get the impression that you should not play here - I think it is a good course - but has the potential to so much better. It was nice to be able to crank on a couple of throws without any interference. The technical holes were tight and fun (with the exception of the hole that was simply a picket fence without a fairway). I enjoyed a Sunday afternoon round on the rolling hills just north of Lebanon - it was relaxing, fun and challenging. This is not a gimme course - but could be played consistently at par with a couple more rounds. Give it some love and attention and this will be great course some day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

1    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good flow from hole to hole

Managed to use the very limited wooded areas incredibly well.

Baskets are top notch.

As always, the disc golf monkey has come through and created some very accurate and descriptive signs.

Good mix of long and short holes
Cons: Trails are still not very beaten in.

Multi use park, so the walking trails (OB) get a lot of traffic, so you will probably have to watch out for a padestrian or 2 as you play this course.

The long holes are OPEN, and the short ones are really tight. Not much shot shaping on the long, and the short holes consist of picking out what looks like a good line with your putter and giving it a shot.

The wooded holes will get better as more and more people play it, and better lines become carved.
Other Thoughts: This is still a fairly new course, but seems to be coming along very well. The land that was provieded was used very well, the designer just didnt look like he was given much terrain to deal with. Its a great park thats always in good shape, and is hands down the round to play in town.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.