Boise, ID 
Julia Davis Winter 9 Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers  
Park Sign



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cabin Fever Reliever

2-4    3/30/2013   12/20/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 24  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tree obstacles.
A variety of shots needed.
1 tee shot over water with good risk/reward.
A winter alternative to Ann Morrison Park.
Cons: All holes short.
People still use the park in the winter and early spring, so you sometimes have to wait until it's clear.
Lots of duck and goose "residue".
No tee pads, grass/mud is slick.
Broadway and Myrtle streets border the first 3 holes, so a bad shot might get flattened by a passing car.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to playing this course in the winter months because there aren't enough courses for a city the size of Boise in the summer. It's not a particularly hard course. I've been able to post pretty low scores every time I play, so it's good for the ego. It's also short, so you can play 3 or 4 rounds in a short time. The park is nice and is close to Ann Morrison. I usually play the Ann Mo winter course along with this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs Work

5+    5/18/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: Casually_Dismissive
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its more challenging than I usually give it credit for. Lots of shots under low hanging trees and around them. Very little chance of losing your discs out here too! I usually take beginning players out to this course. I use this course to practice on as it is rarely as busy as thr Anne Morrison course. In addition, though winter is long past, this course is still open.
Cons: For some reason they took the tee flags out. That might be because, as above, winter is long past. There are no permanent tees at all. We just pick the spot on the grass that looks most worn (bare of grass in fact) and tee from there. That is probably not best for the park over all but if they move the tees they should probably mark it. People seem to randomly wander on this course as well.
Other Thoughts: I really like the easy access of this course. The fact that all the shirtless college thugs play at Anne Morrison is a plus too. Saves some frustration ;)
Its probably the one course that Ip play the most as it gives me lots of opportunities for some practice on low risk shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Winter 9

5+    3/6/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: letterstoatlantis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This seasonal set up is right in the middle of Boise's most popular park. All 9 holes are fairly short with rotating tee areas (too limit wear on grass) marked by lawn flags. A couple holes boarder a pond that is easy to lose discs in but other than that the course is set up fairly decent. It's friendly to beginners but experienced players can pick some fun lines with a little imagination.
Cons: Beware of foot traffic and a chunk of Boise's homeless population. Drunks tend to frequent the area and tend not to care about flying discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great short course

1    3/13/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: appysdad
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good lil course full of ace runs some really nice open shots not much here that would excite the pros but im not one of em its a great course to get the feel of your throw down on with no real hazards to scare ya off
Cons: being its almost smack dab in the center of downtown and right next to bsu there can be alot of traffic theres only two real hazards one of them being you throw along to busy streets and goose scat is everywhere

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun City Park

1    4/30/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You really feel like you are in the middle of it all at the urban Boise Julia Davis Park. Its pretty immediately apparent that this is a well used, well loved city park with a lot of history. Thankfully, the disc course plays through one corner of the park which is a little lighter on the traffic. Most holes are lightly wooded with little to no rough and play over nicely trimmed rolling grass.

Variety: You'll need several shots off the tee because of nicely shaped fairways which force hyzer/turnover/straight shots and you might want to bring along a water disc or two - especially if you are the thrill-seeker who plays more aggressively around water.
Cons: Challenge: There really isn't that much here - not so much because there aren't obstacles, but because the holes with obstacles are quite short requiring only a putter or midrange.

Busy: This park is clearly a city favorite and you'll see plenty of non-golfer traffic including walkers, gawkers, and four-legged friends. Likewise, even on a pretty chilly spring day, we had to wait on several tees for groups of casual golfers.

Finally, the proximity of a few holes to a busy downtown road had me a little wary to give it my all on several of the tee shots. I'd hate to see a reckless newbie shot ruin this nice course for everyone and it seems like holes could be altered slightly to avoid the possibility of dangerous errant shots landing on the road.
Other Thoughts: Julia Davis is a perfect park for beginners because of the absence of rough, a variety of shortish hole distances, and variety in terms of tight/open fairways. The pond might be a bit scary for the newer player but it is relatively easily avoided. More experienced players will have to chill out a bit and enjoy the park for what is available - that said, it would be difficult not to have a fun round here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Pond

1    4/29/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Julia Davis nine hole Winter course plays on beautiful green grass and loops around and even plays over a duck pond. Most of the holes here are shorter but not too extremely easy due to a low ceiling or a well placed tree acting as a bunker. Hole seven is the only hole on the course that is a super easy birdie and ace run, in fact my playing partner hit his first ace in Idaho and his first Superclass ace all on hole seven, all on one throw. Hole eight is a short throw over the corner of the duck pond with a very real chance of losing your disc especially with the low ceiling and semi tight line you must take, there is also a safer way but the hole is so short I can't see many people wanting to play safe, besides it's a fun throw.
Cons: Being on the campus of the local college and having plenty of paved walking trails all throughout the course I can see why this course is only available to play during the Winter. Even so there are still people walking around out here on a weekend with some nice weather. The other issue is that the course is right along a busy street and some of the baskets are way too close to the street and there is a real possibility of hitting a car. The course is fun and pretty but anyone that has been playing for a couple of months are going to master this course in no time.
Other Thoughts: This is good little stop combined with the Winter Ann Morrison set up that is only a mile away. This is a pretty good option for anyone taking the kids or family out and want to get a good round in. You're going to want to watch your step as there is a lot of goose scat on the course. The day we were there the geese had their babies out and walking around the course by hole number eight; there must have been four different mothers and close to thirty babies, it was a pretty cool site.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Break

2-4    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: CaptianTrilogy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a very nice course. It was a tad bit short, but this made for a nice experience. The baskets were very nice (Innova DISCatcher). The layout was beginner friendly but still presented a good challenge to players of all levels. I played this course back to back along with two other golfers and we finished 18 hole in an hour and 15 minutes. The water shot on hole 8 was nice and there is a hole in one opportunity on hole 7. If ever in the Boise area this is a must play.
Cons: There is a lot of geese, thus resulting in a lot of goose poop. There are no solid tee boxes, being the tee boxes are grass. The grass tee boxes can cause some slippage and since it is a winter course, it is wet often. You don't want to loose your disc in the pond on 8, it is murky and looks deep.
Other Thoughts: If in Boise this is a must play. It is a good course to play before you go to Ann Morrison Park. It is very family friendly. Good course. Thank you to Gem State Disc Golf and the Boise Parks & Rec department.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.