Starkville, MS 
Champion Ridge Share
Uploaded By: mgcarney Hole #7 (Taken 3/2014)
-- / --   3 / 262ft.   -- / --   3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course

1    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: mateo4815
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.5 Years
Pros: Really enjoyed playing
Some challenging holes
Fairly well maintained
Cons: A bit hard to follow with out numbers on the holes or tees
A little overgrown
Other Thoughts: Really fun course. Wish it was still the original 18 that used to be here though.

Mississippi Mud

1    3/24/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: This is a 9 hole that will truly challenge you. There are open fairways that lead to tree surrounded baskets. It makes full use of the space available. They could have crammed a shorter 18 hole in this space, but by keeping it 9, it is a very challenging relaxed feel.
Cons: As the title suggests, Mississippi can get pretty muddy if it has rained recently. Bring some boots. (Nothing out of the ordinary if you are used to disc golfing in the south of course, I'm from the drought-stricken midwest)
Other Thoughts: I wish my campus had a course like this.

The tunnel shot on hole 5 is sweet!!!

The last 5 holes are way better than the first 4.

Thank God for smart phones...

1    5/31/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Multiple Tees
-Exelent mixture of long and technical holes occasionally combining the two
-Good use of available space
-Elevation factors in on every hole
-Several hole make you pull out your bag-o-tricks
-Baskets are in great condition
-Concrete tee pad are always a plus
-Challenging without being ridiculous
-Minimal issues with navigation
-Decent course flow
Cons: -No trash cans
-No benches
-No (accurate) tee signs
-No convenient restrooms
-No scorecards or course maps
-Hole #8 tee is positioned between #4 and #5 and without a map would likely be played out of order
-On the Mississippi State University campus; school/sporting events could make travel difficult
-When school is in parking and course traffic could be an issue
Other Thoughts: If we hadn't been able to pull up the course map on my phone we would've been as lost as last year's Easter eggs. The absence of benches and trash cans is a con but unless there is heavy traffic the benches aren't essential; no trash cans, however, could lead to this pretty course being not so pretty.
All-in-all, this is a great little course and I had a great time playing it. My In-Laws live in Starkville, so I'm looking forward to playing this one again and again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/10/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: jtblount2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
Pros: Great mix of long, short, tight, and wide open shots. Nice concrete tees and baskets. A lot of woods to throw through and around, but they aren't so thick that you will lose discs.
Cons: Signage is horrible. You will more than likely need help to get around if it is your first time. There used to be 18 holes and they moved 9 to another location, but they didn't move most of the signs.
Other Thoughts: I definitely encourage anyone to play this course despite that its hard to navigate. It is always a challenge and I have personally never shot under par. It is definitely my favorite course in Starkville

 Great mixture of shots for 9 holes

5+    7/10/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: Efan08
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course will make you throw just about every shot you have. I know it seems impossible since it's only 9 holes. It has a good mixture of long holes, tight fairways and really technical shots. You definitely need to play well to shoot a good score.
Cons: People walking on the sidewalk next to hole 6, almost always. You can wait on them or take the chance. It is hard to find the course if you are not from around the area.
Other Thoughts: Tee signs will be installed in the near future.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/21/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: asjones
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great challenge for all types of players. Great elevation changse for a northern Mississippi course. Awards great play and can really punish poor play. This course is fun for all types of players.
Cons: Hidden on campus, it may be hard to find if you are not familiar with the campus. Students who live in nearby apartments constant walk along side hole 6, so it can take some time to tee off on hole 6.
Other Thoughts: Hitting the fairway is key on this course if you want a birdie. So don't be afraid to throw a mid range off the tee, even if the hole is 700 ft.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.