Toronto (Etobicoke), ON 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
-- / 270ft.   -- / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Long Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Needs Revamping!

1    8/20/2013   8/30/2013
Review By: DGKev
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: A good mix of long and short holes as well as changes in elevation. Mostly open holes with a few amongst scattered trees. A couple water hazards including a large pond that comes into play especially on #12.
Cons: Not well maintained, tees on the first twelve holes are difficult to find and signs are missing, damaged, or vandalized. Centennial Park is very busy and I found myself waiting on people walking on paths that interfere with several holes.
Other Thoughts: Holes 13-18 no longer exist, and holes 19-27 now exist as if they are 13-21 for a total of 21 holes and not 27.

 Disrepair

1    5/29/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course starts out in mostly open hilly areas. There are some scattered trees and bushes that often come into play around the pin, and some large hills that make for some tough uphills and a fun downhill shot. A pond comes into play for a little bit of a risk/reward decision on a couple holes. The final 9 holes play through a small valley area with more trees forcing some tighter lines. Another water hazard is in play on these holes as well.

There is decent distance variety, with some long bombs early in the course, and more technical shorter holes at the end. The valley holes make you shape some different lines with enough trees that you're punished for errant shots. The final 9 have tees and signs, so it's much easier to navigate.
Cons: The course feels neglected and forgotten. 6 of the original 18 holes are gone due to maintenance issues, and the other 12 are overgrown. They aren't marked, except with a couple old signposts and some ground level markers. Even with the course map it was difficult to find most of these tees, and we only found one set not the two that are supposedly there. The baskets on these 12 holes are old and in pretty poor shape.

The final 9 have better tees and signage, but the tees are asphalt and are slick with even a little water on them. This area of the course wasn't well mowed either, so there were lots of holes where you could lose your disc on a great shot in the middle of the fairway. A few of the signs were missing entirely. There are several places on these 9 holes where other park users walk and picnic, making for some potential safety issues.
Other Thoughts: This is a frustrating course, with poor maintenance and some major navigation issues. There is potential here for a pretty good course, especially if the 6 holes on the ski hill could be brought back. As it is now, beginners will hate this course. There's lots of length and lots of tall grass and prickly rough waiting to punish errant (or sometimes good) shots. More experienced players will find a few nice challenging holes, and it's always fun to have a shot where you want to empty your bag off the top of the hill. Even the locals told me they don't play the original holes much though, due to the poor shape they're in.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 landfill

2-4    4/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: Pete and Vendy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 19 to 27 have a nice flow to them with elevation changes and challenging throws through or around evergreen trees. One scary throw over a dirty duck pond that gathers one hundred discs over the course of a year.
Cons: The course is built on top of a giant garbage dump landfill site. There are marshy wet areas around several of the holes 1-18 that have god knows what kind of chemical soup in them. Retrieving discs from them is probably not good for your health.
"Where is the next hole?" is a common question.
You share holes 19 to 27 with joggers, dog walkers and picnickers.
Other Thoughts: watch the steam rise off Centennial hill is the winter.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Newer Nine + the old 18(ish)

5+    3/24/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: rlbontrager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The very back nine (19-27) make a pretty descent little 9 hole course with paved tees and quite a bit of signage (although there are some missing). Some of the hole are a bit bland, but there are couple of holes that have nice layouts that challenge you. A great stop for a quick nine if you live in the area.
Cons: The front 18 seems uninviting, and is very hard to follow. Most of the tees have a sign at or near them, but they signs don't giving much more info beyond a distance and general direction. After going through these holes once, there were a few holes we just couldn't find. The holes we did play weren't bad, but left a kind of bland feeling in your mouth. High wind at least added some excitement.

The biggest downside of the last nine holes (19-27), as mentioned elsewhere, is the amount of people in the area. The park was relatively slow every time I've gone so far, but even still, there were many times that we had to wait for people to clear an area.

There is also a "water hole" that can eat your disc. Beware the muck and the dirty pool...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/27/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: danomite
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The last 9 holes were fantastic with well marked hole placement and great concrete tee offs!

Holes #3-6 & 8-13 were fun too play with great elevation and you could really unleash your heavy drives with the super wide open fairways!
Cons: Hole #14 was completely missing! most of the tees were missing the signage and we could not figure out where we were going. For some holes we had to make up our own tees because we could not find anything that looked like a tee off or even a sign to show us where we could throw from! The baskets were old and really need repair! the water shots were terrible because of the gross state of the water!

The park was filthy and there was trash everywhere! and when you think your disk has just lande in some tall grass NOPE! it fell in some nasty swamp like water that you would never go in because the smell of the water is repulsive!
Other Thoughts: we spent more time wandering around trying to find where to tee-off from then we did actually playing the course and it really dampened the day for us!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tee pads

2-4    6/27/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Che Starr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 19 thru 27 are excellent and have some nice challenges such as shooting over water and elevation changes.
Tee pads for 19 thru 27 are in good shape.
Cons: Holes 1 - 18 are wide open with no true fairway.
Wind is often a challenge for holes 1-18.
Tee pads and easy to follow course are totally missing for holes 1-18
Weekend picnic folks often sit on pads, in the fairway or on the pin for holes 19 - 27.
Other Thoughts: 19-27 are terrific and worth playing
Great potential but the needs some landscaping help for holes 1-18. I stopped playing my second time thru due to frustration.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Some Work

8/8/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with some interesting topography. Could be an outstanding course with a lot more attention. Good elevation and rolling hills. Friendly locals and baskets in decent repair.
Cons: From what we hear, wind is almost a constant issue here. When we played it was close to 25 mph. The course map we downloaded online was more confusing than helpful. Some tees are marked with a sign, others with impossible to find red markers flush with the grass. Unless you can get a local to guide you, you will waste a lot of time searching for the next tee on almost every hole. Many holes run along the side of a busy road, and the course is nearby a major metropolitan airport, so the noise factor is a bit offputting.
Other Thoughts: As a disclaimer, we only played the first 11 holes on this course before getting so frustrated with the lack of signage that we gave up. So I'm being generous with my score on this one, giving the remaining 26 holes the benefit of the doubt.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To really give an accurate review I must break it into 2 separate reviews. Holes 1-18 are basically wide open holes. Very hard to find tees, and the signs are not much help. (When there was a sign) One hole was missing, and later I found out they moved it for a putting basket. (which I never did find) Good use of elevation changes and nice choices for pin locations. Holes 19-27 are a different story. These holes have very good signs, nice concrete tee-pads. And the holes were well designed and use distance and accuracy perfectly, however this portion of the park is used by many, many non disc golfers, making it tough to throw around the crowds. I think I would enjoy this course more if everything was more well defined in the beginning 18 and less crowded on 19-27. I have heard/read that some changes have taken place in course layout since I last visited.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a re-haul

7/13/2007   8/9/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes are better than 9 or 18. The layout is such that monster holes are often created for tournament play, lots of elevation adds spice.
Cons: The baskets are in serious disrepair. Very little signage. Parts of the course become unplayable on summer weekends due to picnickers.
Other Thoughts: CP gets very windy - not a bad thing, but this is one of the windiest places in Toronto. Pearson International Airport is nearby, so it is convenient for travellers, but adds a cacophony of distracting noise. Huge local club play on Monday nights. Apparently a course re-design is in the works.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.