Howell, MI 
Cleary University DGC Share
Uploaded By: PepsiCola0613 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not a bad little course

1    9/24/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: doods9
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some decent variety as far as angles and elevation for such a small course with pretty little area to work with. Was not busy when I was there. Long ans short tee options are nice (I played short my first time through).
Cons: All tees are well marked, but where to go after each was not at all. I had to go ahead and scout every hole, since there are so many located in a small area, there was no telling if the one I spotted was actually the next one.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

can you blow me where the pampers is?

1    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- plays through a tiny section of a tiny campus in a small town on the east side of the state. there is always risk of running into people out here.

Baskets- all present and in decent repair.

Variety- there are many different shots here and different shots on the same hole secondary to the two tees. The little bit of elevation here is reasonably used.

Maps- these are an absolute necessity for this course. you will be utterly lost without them. I had a map and was lost most of the time.
Cons:
Tees- signs and pads are abysmal at best. the signs have NO information on them, just red and blue posts in the ground. Because of this the routing and navigation of this course is as abysmal as the signs.

8 & 9-- just terribly laid out holes. I can't understand why a designer would put these holes in here... they play along the grass then plunge into the woods. 8 plays next to a drainage ditch that was infested with many bubble-producing animals. 9 plays down a six foot fairway about 20' into the woods? seriously, worst two holes in dg, ever.

Other Thoughts:
this place is a serious cluster eff. the baskets had signs hanging under them to tell you what hole the basket was. also, advertising a tournament. the fairways are on top of each other and present a definite cross challenge(danger)...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

baskets 8 & 9 replaced, now all are welded

5+    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: rohrean
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2013
Pros: long and short tees
nice layout
Cons: now two baskets have been stolen by some brainless punks. Thanks
only 9 holes
upkeep isn't the best during the summer
Other Thoughts: Room to expand into the woods near 8 and 9 but why would they with the theft that is going on with the stolen baskets. Thanks for ruining a good thing. You better hope that I don't catch you.

 Fun course, needs a bit more work

1    11/20/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Dual tees on 7 out of 9 baskets (holes 6 & 8 each have only one tee) make it worth playing 18 holes.
• Some interesting holes with decent variety. Most holes offer a few different lines that could work, but all take decent execution. Hole 3 is a simple, wooded tunnel, with pretty much one line - "Here it is, hit it if you can.
• Good use of natural elements. Carefully placed baskets make you earn birdies. Flat for the most part, but capitalizes quite well on few topographical features available.
• Course actually flows OK…. once you get the hang of it. Seems like it might have you throwing across a fairway, but it doesn't. They did well squeezing seven decent holes into the parcel on the north side of the street ( 8 & 9 are on the south side Cleary Dr).
• Provides some reasonably long shots if you play the blue tees.
• Good use of land. Unless they need another relatively small building on campus, I really can't picture another decent use for that parcel of land. Well located on the campus for a quick, quiet round.
• Quite a good course for beginners.
• Nice new Chainstars.
Cons: • Navigation could be tough for 1st timers. Would really benefit from better tee markers. A decent map would help (thanks for trying, but the linked Google map of the course just isn't quite right)... not always clear which basket you're throwing to.
• Not a fan of holes that run near and parallel to roads (holes 8 & 9).
• Litter, too much for a quiet college course. This course can't get that much traffic.
• Seems a bit RHBH friendly - could be tough going for LHBH players.
Other Thoughts: A fun round, all in all. Enough challenge and variety to keep it from being boring, but nothing particularly special or out of the ordinary. I can't complain about the tee pads. Sure, concrete would be nice, but that probably won't happen, and the "natural" tees were in good shape… at least at this point.
I'd give this 2.25 if I could. Improve the signage (nothing fancy, just make the distances clearer and point the direction to make it obvious which basket is the target) and I'll call this a very solid 2.5.

Hole Info corrected: Blue = long, Red = short
They were reversed on the Hole Info tab.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice nine tucked in back there

1    7/27/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course for being nine with two tees. Very fun pin areas requiring accuracy off the tee. Maintenance is good. Two tees are hard to find but aren't too hidden. Quiet spot for a dgc. I was kind of impressed.
Cons: Pin areas are super tight sometimes. Poison Ivy on 3.
Other Thoughts: Fun course! I enjoyed it. The shots aren't too easy. Tee 1 is right off the parking area so not hard to find the start. Needs someone to come and put some signage in and other numbering signage systems. Space for nine more in those pines! Needs concrete and can be considered a great addition to DGCs in the area. Fun course. Very high replay value.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Local Hideout

5+    5/9/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Dinger
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun nine hole course that has a short play time for those looking to get in a quick game.

An undiscovered course with lots of possibilites.
Cons: I feel that pin location on some of the holes makes for an impossible shot. 90 degree turns around full trees is impossible. Trim some of them to make a better approach

Lots of debris. A weekend of volunteers to help clean up the course would greatly help this course.

This is a free course so there really isnt any funds to help fix these problems.

Other Thoughts: I recently measured all hole distances and updated DGC course info and marked the tee markers.

Pin markers for the baskets would make a drastic improvement to ease of play to new players.

This course just needs a little attention to make it a FUN 3(course rating) for rec players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

5+    4/12/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: cheesegrater
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2011
Pros: Great location, right off of 96 in Howell located on the Cleary University Campus.

Great course for beginners just starting out
Cons: Holes aren't very well marked, very confusing layout (i'd recommend you play your first time at this course with someone who has played it)

No teepads as of yet (4-12-11)
No mulch around pins (4-12-11)

No real "flow" to the course YET (as i said, great potential. Can't wait for it to grow out and they get pads and pins fully installed)
Other Thoughts: Not sure if distance has been measured yet for each hole.

Some water holes that i can see filling up very nice for some awesome shots this summer

I made a makeshift course map in google maps, not 100%, pic hasnt been updated in year doesn't show new construction


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.