Disc Golf Store
West Milford, NJ 
Browns Point/Buzzy's Creek Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #10
3 / 190ft.   3 / --   3 / 190ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    4/20/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: pdisc
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 4/24/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice short course if you want to play a quick round. It is technical enough to give to a challenge.
Cons: It was crowded when I played. I had to worry about decapitating people fishing on #16. If I did not have a map, it would have taken me a long time to find the tee boxes.

I think the baskets were horrible. There were not a lot of chains hanging from the baskets. One time, I putt it head on to the center of the basket. It hit the metal bar with no chains and it bounced out.
Other Thoughts: Print a online map of the course! It will save you a lot of aggravation.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Buzzy is a Short Old Has Been!

1    1/11/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buzzy is a good warm-up course or confidence builder/salvager to go along with nearby Warwick and Campgaw. A fine course to work on your approach game as only 2 holes stretch to 300 ft. Plenty of severely technical holes with tight fairways (5,6,7,8,10). Signs that remain are unique and serviceable. The environment here is just gorgeous with the course being set on the shore of a huge mountain lake. 2 of the holes playing along the lakeshore, one with the lake running the entire left of the fairway 12 and then 16 with the lake running the entire right of the fairway. Both are around 200 ft but with the lake following the drive from tee to basket it plays tougher. A few more open holes (2,13,14,15,18) to go with the more defined fairway golf holes (1,3,4,9,11,12,16,17) A good place to learn the game. A good place to learn your putters and mids. Despite the short length theres plenty of difficulty here either in OOB driveways & lots, the lake, and of course the tight woods. The variety of shots including a J-slice on 9, a couple lake drives, open field holes to protected greens holes, multiple route woods holes, and a fun #5 as you drop into the tight woods makes up for the short length. It's more fun once you learn your way around.
Cons: This course has a lot of flaws. I will use an analogy to describe this guy Buzzy. He's not a very good hoops player. He's too short(4277 ft), can't catch (poor baskets), gives up too many 2s and 3s (hard to get a 4 here), too much walking and traveling (often your walking through other holes to traverse the course...simply the worst flow I have encountered in over 100 courses), has a terrible crossover problem (many holes criss cross one another in flightpaths), can't drive to the basket(you really don't need a driver here), you can't bench him (theres no benches to sit on), he hangs out near the lot too much(holes 1,13,2,4,18) and lastly Buzzy is just plain old and frankly past his prime and can't improve.
The tees are rough natural and the course truly is almost impossible to navigate without a map. I played it in 20 degree January and was trying to envision players walking across fairways, sharing fairways (1,13), facing off fairways (3,4&11,12&16,17) and then driving to baskets next to the lot(DINK) or the public at large just being everywhere as the lake,playground, and fields must be quite popular in summer.
Other Thoughts: I remember when I first started playing real DG in 2002 and seeing a bunch of Buzzy's T-shirts worn by guys who were playing. I always wanted to see the course. What a letdown. I think this course would be better served to scale down to 9 holes with permanent alternate baskets. Maybe one round of ace shots and one round a tad tougher. Would be a better use of limited space and improve both safety and make for better holes as there would be more space. It's probably a good winter course as it's not long or a good course for Glow as it's short and it would require few discs to play. (fisherman lure LEDS probably come in handy on lake) I guess I was expecting so much more as the drive up into those Jersey Mountains was so scenic passing huge reservoirs and mountain terrain. I thought I was out west or upstate NY and the anticipation was building. To drive into a cramped park and see a bunch of crowded baskets next to one another made me quickly realize I was still in Jersey.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Buzzy's

2-4    6/21/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: hack123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice lake. Nice mix of open and wooded layouts.
Cons: Hard to follow. Wet, wet, wet. Lots of garbage. Several holes are near where people are playing, fishing, etc.
Other Thoughts: Not awful, but better choices close by.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Really Tight - Hard to Follow

1    9/1/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: five2loves42
Played: 90  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice park near a lake. Good variety of holes.
Cons: Hard to follow, tee signs missing or un-readable. The 4-9 in the woods and VERY difficult to follow.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.