West Milford, NJ
Browns Point/Buzzy's Creek Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #18
3 / 303ft.   3 / --   3 / 303ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

1    4/20/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on a relatively small amount of land, the designer really did the best he could with what he had to work with. The course is mostly short but there are still fun/ challenging holes to play.

Other Pros:
- risk/reward: water in play
- some long/short tee position
- adequate tee signs (short postion only)
- perfect for a quick 18 or finese players
Cons: The biggest problem is the cramped layout. There are crossing fairways and throws near other tees.

Other Cons:
- baskets have seen better days
- if the park is busy many holes may be unplayable

The navigation seemed confusing at first because you can see several tees from your last basket, but the tee signs have large metal numbers on them, so you just need to find your next number (easily seen from front and back.)
Other Thoughts: I played the course in the early morning and had the place to myself. I had a good time but as more people were arriving at the park I was thinking that the play could be very difficult with the small area.

Fun little course with some flaws.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Technical

5+    11/22/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course makes maximum use of a rather small park. The usage of very narrow gaps require accuracy, even with relatively short drives.
* easy walking and quick playing - can play in under an hour as a single
* good flow, minimum walking between holes
* some short/long tees
* water in play on several holes, adding challenge
* excellent one-disc course, or minimum disc course, if you like that
* several short yet difficult holes
Cons: While this course does make use of all available park space, this creates challenges when the park is busier.
* Holes 1, 11 & 12 are often unplayable during peak times
* Signage is poor - short tees are marked but distance/par may not be accurate - most long tees not marked
* Tees are natural, but many are worn out with usage
* No next tee signs - PRINT OUT THE MAP!
* Baskets are older and worn
Other Thoughts: This course serves local players well, in that it is a great place to tune up on line shaping and the short game. You can leave your drivers home as only 3 holes play over 300 ft. I wouldn't travel any distance just to play this course, but if you find yourself in the area, it's worth a quick visit.


Print out the map! While there is a good flow to the course, finding the correct next tee and basket can be challenging, especially hole 1 to 2, 4 to 5, 10 to 11, Sounds contradictory, but because of a bit of criss-crossing, it can be easy to get off track.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Better Than Expected

1    6/21/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: J Spurling
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the most scenic disc golf courses in the area. I enjoyed the lake views and even the shots where the water came into play. Because it is in a relatively small space you can play it quickly (we took our time and finished under 2 hours).
Cons: If it weren't for the local guide (David) who was there to walk us around it would have been somewhat difficult to figure out the layout. You will definitely want to print out a map of the course. We were there on a weekday, so there weren't many people around. However, it looks like it could be a high traffic area during the summer months and on the weekends. There is one place where the fairways cross over one another. And there are a couple places where you need to walk a good distance to find the next tee box. The Tee boxes are natural and in a couple of places have large tree roots that cause unsure footing.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by the course. I heard that Buzzy's wasn't a great course. Whereas it is not a big course, I think it is a fine course and I would visit again if I weren't moving from the area. I found the "par" designations very "gracious". Online it list every hole as par 3. However, on sight it list the course of having a par 68. I felt really good about posting a 63.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: pdisc
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 4/24/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice short course if you want to play a quick round. It is technical enough to give to a challenge.
Cons: It was crowded when I played. I had to worry about decapitating people fishing on #16. If I did not have a map, it would have taken me a long time to find the tee boxes.

I think the baskets were horrible. There were not a lot of chains hanging from the baskets. One time, I putt it head on to the center of the basket. It hit the metal bar with no chains and it bounced out.
Other Thoughts: Print a online map of the course! It will save you a lot of aggravation.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Syzzub

1    6/8/2009   4/8/2010
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Shady parking spots
*Fun, but short wooded Holes
*Cool hyzer toses over water
*Easy to get to and a Wendy's nearby
Cons: *Short
*Akward fence boundaries
*Confusing arrangement
*Heavily populated
Other Thoughts: Upon arrval i thought it was gonna be alot worse than it was. It was nothing special, but since we had already made the drive up there we decided to try and figure out where the beginning of the course was. It kind of overlaped itself and was a little confusing, but its a small park and to be expected. The hyzers toss over the waters edge is a fun one, but otherwise its kind of an easy and lackidasical course layout. Nedless to say i wouldnt return for another rund at Buzzys.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Buzzy is a Short Old Has Been!

1    1/11/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buzzy is a good warm-up course or confidence builder/salvager to go along with nearby Warwick and Campgaw. A fine course to work on your approach game as only 2 holes stretch to 300 ft. Plenty of severely technical holes with tight fairways (5,6,7,8,10). Signs that remain are unique and serviceable. The environment here is just gorgeous with the course being set on the shore of a huge mountain lake. 2 of the holes playing along the lakeshore, one with the lake running the entire left of the fairway 12 and then 16 with the lake running the entire right of the fairway. Both are around 200 ft but with the lake following the drive from tee to basket it plays tougher. A few more open holes (2,13,14,15,18) to go with the more defined fairway golf holes (1,3,4,9,11,12,16,17) A good place to learn the game. A good place to learn your putters and mids. Despite the short length theres plenty of difficulty here either in OOB driveways & lots, the lake, and of course the tight woods. The variety of shots including a J-slice on 9, a couple lake drives, open field holes to protected greens holes, multiple route woods holes, and a fun #5 as you drop into the tight woods makes up for the short length. It's more fun once you learn your way around.
Cons: This course has a lot of flaws. I will use an analogy to describe this guy Buzzy. He's not a very good hoops player. He's too short(4277 ft), can't catch (poor baskets), gives up too many 2s and 3s (hard to get a 4 here), too much walking and traveling (often your walking through other holes to traverse the course...simply the worst flow I have encountered in over 100 courses), has a terrible crossover problem (many holes criss cross one another in flightpaths), can't drive to the basket(you really don't need a driver here), you can't bench him (theres no benches to sit on), he hangs out near the lot too much(holes 1,13,2,4,18) and lastly Buzzy is just plain old and frankly past his prime and can't improve.
The tees are rough natural and the course truly is almost impossible to navigate without a map. I played it in 20 degree January and was trying to envision players walking across fairways, sharing fairways (1,13), facing off fairways (3,4&11,12&16,17) and then driving to baskets next to the lot(DINK) or the public at large just being everywhere as the lake,playground, and fields must be quite popular in summer.
Other Thoughts: I remember when I first started playing real DG in 2002 and seeing a bunch of Buzzy's T-shirts worn by guys who were playing. I always wanted to see the course. What a letdown. I think this course would be better served to scale down to 9 holes with permanent alternate baskets. Maybe one round of ace shots and one round a tad tougher. Would be a better use of limited space and improve both safety and make for better holes as there would be more space. It's probably a good winter course as it's not long or a good course for Glow as it's short and it would require few discs to play. (fisherman lure LEDS probably come in handy on lake) I guess I was expecting so much more as the drive up into those Jersey Mountains was so scenic passing huge reservoirs and mountain terrain. I thought I was out west or upstate NY and the anticipation was building. To drive into a cramped park and see a bunch of crowded baskets next to one another made me quickly realize I was still in Jersey.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/31/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: Snuugans
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course isn't all about long drives. It's about tactical tosses and accurate fades. Great landscape, stopped to take a few pics over the lake as the sunset. You have to be surgical through the trees sometimes.
Cons: Holes cross on the front 9. Hole three and four are in the same clearing, as you shoot up to hole 3 you will be walking directly down hole 4's path. Lots of geese poo through one hole near the lake. Inconsiderate people with dogs walk right in your discs potential path of flight.
Other Thoughts: Plenty of smoke spots. Hole 16's tee is missing a sign. Could use some concrete slab tees but the natural elements add a nice variety to your disc game. LOST BLUE Innova Star TL fairway driver on hole 16, please email me if you find jd@abyssproduction.com you will make a disc friend, thanks.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good short 18

5+    8/13/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Good short 18-hole course. If you don't have time to play a longer, more challenging course, but don't want to waste time with a simple 9-hole course, this is a good one.
--Tricky woods and some water hazards
Cons: --This course needs some maintenance. The teepads are a mess, it's a bit tricky to find the next tee, and it's just getting a bit run down.
--Old baskets that do not catch discs very well
--Don't even bother going on a weekend--too many people fishing and picnicking.
Other Thoughts: I play this course just about every Thursday night for doubles, and it's a great course for that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Buzzy's

2-4    6/21/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: hack123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice lake. Nice mix of open and wooded layouts.
Cons: Hard to follow. Wet, wet, wet. Lots of garbage. Several holes are near where people are playing, fishing, etc.
Other Thoughts: Not awful, but better choices close by.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice picnic course

1    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: leroybrow
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful spot overlooking a lake. Easy to get to
Cons: Holes are quite hard to find. Lots of trees (it was hard to play even now when there are no leaves on the trees!)
Other Thoughts: Great place to go to have a picnic and maybe do some disc golf as an aside.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.