Moundsville, WV
The Yellow Course Share
Uploaded By: el_duder Hole #8 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Warm Up Ace Race Style

2-4    4/5/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: timbur3
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 6.9 Years
Pros: - The entire course had great baskets. The yellow rims on the top were nice to know it was the yellow course.
- The course is great for beginners and practicing your midrange game. It can really help you to practice those tighter straight shots at about 150-200 feet.
-The signs were helpful with the distance and pointing you in the direction of the next tee.
Cons: - Very close to a road and cars go flying around a lot so if you go on the road your disc might get crushed.
Other Thoughts: There are not too many cons because there is the bigger Black Course right on the property. This is a great Ace Race course to take a run at some 1s. It is fun to warm up with this course and then take on the Black Course.

Good for Warming up for Black Course and for Beginners

2-4    8/9/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 39  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Innova DISCatcher baskets
-Beautiful park in a beautiful setting
-Great for practicing upshots and putting
-Great for warming up for the Black Course
-Solid ace opportunities on every hole
- Despite the short length of holes, there is some good variety with a downhill shot on 10 and a few other slight elevation changes
-Great amenities nearby: camping, plenty of park staff, clean bathrooms, snack bar, and discs for sale
-Very well maintained
-Designers did a very good job of placing the holes on the land they used for this
-Can play in 30-45 min
-Good for children, girlfriends, wives, and beginners
-Use of OB on the road adds to the challenge
Cons: -Simple tee signs with just the hole number and hole length, although you don't need anything more for this course. Therefore, is not really a con here, just pointing this out because it may lower some people's ratings for this course.
-No tees to indicate where exactly to throw from
-Plays right next to road on about half of the holes
-Most holes are very short, or short at best. Don't bring a driver here (but bring it to the park; you'll need it more than ever on the Black Course!). Hole 1 is as throw-away of a hole as there can be. However, I'm sure they set up the first hole to be that easy to give the beginners a very easy first hole.
-As I noted, there are some changes in elevation and a few trees here and there, but there is hardly anything I felt that was changing my throwing or disc choice throughout the course.
-Course is located in a pretty remote/rundown area. Not too close to anything no matter which direction you come from.
Other Thoughts: It's hard for me to give a course such a low rating, especially a course in such a beautifully maintained park with very good course located right next to it. Also, I understand that this course is not designed to challenge someone who has played more than a few courses. I get that it is strictly and obviously a course designed for beginners. However, I rate courses strictly based upon my enjoyment while playing the course, and didn't factor in that this course is located right next to the Black Course. It is a wonderful course for beginners. But, if I am using the same scale as all my other ratings, a 1.5 is an accurate rating to me because it is not a complete course at all. This course isn't extremely easy, but it gets repetitive and boring. However, I do want to give credit to the wonderful park that it is located in. Very nice and very well-maintained park, with very nice staff. I recommend treating this only as a course for warming up for the Black Course, unless you bring a newbie to play with you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's Short, and That's Not Bad

1    4/7/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: knettles
Played: 56  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All nice Innova Discatchers.
- Wonderful use of terrain.
- Tree locations made more challenging than one would expect.
- Out of bounds on majority of holes upped challenge even more.
Cons: - Short enough to where you only need a putter and maybe a midrange.
- Tees were just grass (but mostly flat).
Other Thoughts: This course really surprised me. I went to Grand Vue Park to play the Black Course. After it, we played this one just because it was there. I was expecting it to be super easy and boring, but was wrong. It wasn't difficult, but not as easy as I was expecting. I would say for the length of the holes, this is one of the best short courses I've played. The variety of terrain and OB makes it a really fun round. You can come to Moundsville for the Black Course, but you shouldn't leave without playing this one as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short and simple

1    3/19/2013   3/31/2013
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short, easy holes. Good for beginners to learn to play on, but also good for experienced players to get warmed up or get some ace chances.
Cons: Not a ton of variety. Each hole is about the same distance it just changes whether you shoot up or down hill.
Other Thoughts: overall, this is a fun course. especially with the black course right there to play after

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: el_duder
Played: 32  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+Nice baskets
+Beautiful park with many activities available
+Amenities: benches, garbage cans, restroom at hole 1.
Cons:
-Not a lot of variety
-Plays close to road
-Tee signs only show distance, not a big con on the yellow course considering the baskets are pretty much straight ahead, but it would still be nice to show the layout for the hole on the tee sign. Hopefully these will get updated eventually.
Other Thoughts:
The Yellow Course is a great course for warm up (I only used a putter), ace runs, and to introduce new players and especially young players to the sport. It is very easy to navigate and plays pretty quick. I have small gripes about it playing along the road, but unless the park is really busy, it shouldn't be a problem to just wait for any cars to pass. Other than that it's pretty much just one straight, flat ace run after another. There are a couple of holes that offer some elevation change, like 10, 14 and 15, but that's about it.

I had a pretty fun time playing the Yellow Course, but really can't give it more than 2 discs. It is just too short to be considered a "typical" DG course. I think it has it's purpose and I will return to play it with my wife, but I'll be looking forward to taking on the Black Course next time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner / warmup course

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Set in a beautiful park with lots of other activities going on there.
2. Two courses on site so great course for beginners or even a quick warm-up for The Black (monster) course
3. Short holes provide younger players to be introduced to the game and enjoy doing well on it.
4. Nice (very new looking) Innova yellow topped baskets through the 18 holes. Nice layout of a quick rounder.
5. Well maintained, mowed and in some ways manicured fairways.
Cons:
1. The tee area is a stone with a number painted on it and sometimes hard to located
2. No tee pads or signs other than the next tee pointer sign on each basket although the course is short to pretty easy to find most of the time.
3. No trash cans and just a few benches. (short course so not a big deal)
Other Thoughts:
Grand Vue Park is an expansive park with now two 18 hole disc golf courses (Yellow and Black), a par 3 ball golf course, zip lines and cabins among many other wonderful features. The park alone is worth going to. With not a ton of options in the immediate area for disc golf, this park now offers a family friendly, beginner friendly learning course where the holes are short and the risk is low. Great place to bring newbies to learn and enjoy the game.

The 18 holes of The Yellow course uses a nice piece of land off to the right of the monstrous Black course but they tee off at the same 1 tee area so if you would like, you to do a quick 18 holes warm-up round on the yellow course and then go right into the Black course. Brilliant use of land for the layout.
At tee #1, there are the nicest scorecards I have ever seen for a disc golf course and detailed maps for the course. The tee pads were the big drawback to the current Yellow course as there were no pads but rather a stone with a number indicating where you should stand to tee off.

The layout is pretty much a lynx style layout so once you start the course, to get back to your car by Tee #1, you really have to follow and play the whole course.

I commend the gentleman who have designed developed and maintain these two park course as they do an absolutely wonderful job doing so.

I would highly recommend getting your children into the sport early on in their life and The Yellow Course is a perfect place to start!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Warm up to a monster

1    9/8/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety
Nice park
Good course to learn on
Good family course
High fun factor for it's size
Clean, mowed and well taken care of
Good use of available land
Cons: Small, which isn't necessarily a con
Not much of a challenge
Look for cars before throwing
Other Thoughts: Perfect addition to the area, I heard they were planning on using this land for multiple courses and this one is in perfect contrast to the Black course. The area is new to Disc Golf and if your not familiar you may want to sharpen you skills on this one before you attempt the much bigger, much harder,much more intimidating Black course.

All the holes are short but they did an excellent job of using the available land to the best of their ability. They have a very good balance of shot types and even some decent elevation changes for a course it's size. You do play on and around a road so look before you throw

The course is easy, but not as easy as you think at first glance. Place your throws carefully or you may end up in thick rough or over a steep hill. I thought this course had a pretty high fun factor considering how small it is

Good course for newbys, girlfriends, and kids. It would even be a good warm up for an experienced player before he heads off the tame the mighty Black course. I wouldn't recommend it for a road trip unless you are planning to combine it with the Black course. I don't know if there are more on the way but I sure hope so. Keep up the good work guys!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Yello DGC is 4 mello/ or rec players

1    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: for the length of the DGC, the land was used very stragtically. most Basket placements we're placed where if you made a mistake on this par 2 (is this DGC a par 2 or 3 course?) DGc you got a bogey or worse. good balance of Left, right or straight holes, even had a cool steep downhill hole (but one shot over an park road, so ...even though I thought the hole was cool it could present some danger if the thrower didn't know how to play DG <not waiting for a car>)
Cons: poor signage, poor next tee signage (As the player had to look for flush to the ground circular numbered markers), grass tees (even though these tees we're 10,000,000 times better than the Black Diamond DGC tees). # 2 basket was shared with the Black Diamond DGC. Locked restrooms. Terrible directions, I don't know why the people responsible for submitting the directions to various directories use the "Disc Golf COURSE's name" as the destination instead of the "REAL" or "PROPER" name of the PARK as these DGC's are located in GRAND VUE PARK, not located in Black or Yellow DGC PARK (I'm a tourist, never been to your beautiful town and your trying to take me to a aprk that doesn't exsist, as when I ask a local where the BLACK DIAMOND/ YELLOW DGC is, they look at you like you just fell to earth.
Other Thoughts: GREAT PARK, IMHO few subtle changes here and there, like.... Decent tee signs and next tee signs (and I would suggest using some kind of colored electrical or duct tape wrapped around a spoke inside the basket well pointed in the direction of the next tee). Sprinkled with a few benches here and there and......... the yellow DGC would be an ideal DGC for rec/ or players who get intimedated by the black diamond for usage.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.