Moundsville, WV
The Yellow Course Share
Uploaded By: el_duder Hole #1 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 93ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Warm Up Ace Race Style

2-4    4/5/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: timbur3
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 6.9 Years
Pros: - The entire course had great baskets. The yellow rims on the top were nice to know it was the yellow course.
- The course is great for beginners and practicing your midrange game. It can really help you to practice those tighter straight shots at about 150-200 feet.
-The signs were helpful with the distance and pointing you in the direction of the next tee.
Cons: - Very close to a road and cars go flying around a lot so if you go on the road your disc might get crushed.
Other Thoughts: There are not too many cons because there is the bigger Black Course right on the property. This is a great Ace Race course to take a run at some 1s. It is fun to warm up with this course and then take on the Black Course.

It's Short, and That's Not Bad

1    4/7/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: knettles
Played: 56  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All nice Innova Discatchers.
- Wonderful use of terrain.
- Tree locations made more challenging than one would expect.
- Out of bounds on majority of holes upped challenge even more.
Cons: - Short enough to where you only need a putter and maybe a midrange.
- Tees were just grass (but mostly flat).
Other Thoughts: This course really surprised me. I went to Grand Vue Park to play the Black Course. After it, we played this one just because it was there. I was expecting it to be super easy and boring, but was wrong. It wasn't difficult, but not as easy as I was expecting. I would say for the length of the holes, this is one of the best short courses I've played. The variety of terrain and OB makes it a really fun round. You can come to Moundsville for the Black Course, but you shouldn't leave without playing this one as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short and simple

1    3/19/2013   3/31/2013
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short, easy holes. Good for beginners to learn to play on, but also good for experienced players to get warmed up or get some ace chances.
Cons: Not a ton of variety. Each hole is about the same distance it just changes whether you shoot up or down hill.
Other Thoughts: overall, this is a fun course. especially with the black course right there to play after

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner / warmup course

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Set in a beautiful park with lots of other activities going on there.
2. Two courses on site so great course for beginners or even a quick warm-up for The Black (monster) course
3. Short holes provide younger players to be introduced to the game and enjoy doing well on it.
4. Nice (very new looking) Innova yellow topped baskets through the 18 holes. Nice layout of a quick rounder.
5. Well maintained, mowed and in some ways manicured fairways.
Cons:
1. The tee area is a stone with a number painted on it and sometimes hard to located
2. No tee pads or signs other than the next tee pointer sign on each basket although the course is short to pretty easy to find most of the time.
3. No trash cans and just a few benches. (short course so not a big deal)
Other Thoughts:
Grand Vue Park is an expansive park with now two 18 hole disc golf courses (Yellow and Black), a par 3 ball golf course, zip lines and cabins among many other wonderful features. The park alone is worth going to. With not a ton of options in the immediate area for disc golf, this park now offers a family friendly, beginner friendly learning course where the holes are short and the risk is low. Great place to bring newbies to learn and enjoy the game.

The 18 holes of The Yellow course uses a nice piece of land off to the right of the monstrous Black course but they tee off at the same 1 tee area so if you would like, you to do a quick 18 holes warm-up round on the yellow course and then go right into the Black course. Brilliant use of land for the layout.
At tee #1, there are the nicest scorecards I have ever seen for a disc golf course and detailed maps for the course. The tee pads were the big drawback to the current Yellow course as there were no pads but rather a stone with a number indicating where you should stand to tee off.

The layout is pretty much a lynx style layout so once you start the course, to get back to your car by Tee #1, you really have to follow and play the whole course.

I commend the gentleman who have designed developed and maintain these two park course as they do an absolutely wonderful job doing so.

I would highly recommend getting your children into the sport early on in their life and The Yellow Course is a perfect place to start!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Yello DGC is 4 mello/ or rec players

1    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: for the length of the DGC, the land was used very stragtically. most Basket placements we're placed where if you made a mistake on this par 2 (is this DGC a par 2 or 3 course?) DGc you got a bogey or worse. good balance of Left, right or straight holes, even had a cool steep downhill hole (but one shot over an park road, so ...even though I thought the hole was cool it could present some danger if the thrower didn't know how to play DG <not waiting for a car>)
Cons: poor signage, poor next tee signage (As the player had to look for flush to the ground circular numbered markers), grass tees (even though these tees we're 10,000,000 times better than the Black Diamond DGC tees). # 2 basket was shared with the Black Diamond DGC. Locked restrooms. Terrible directions, I don't know why the people responsible for submitting the directions to various directories use the "Disc Golf COURSE's name" as the destination instead of the "REAL" or "PROPER" name of the PARK as these DGC's are located in GRAND VUE PARK, not located in Black or Yellow DGC PARK (I'm a tourist, never been to your beautiful town and your trying to take me to a aprk that doesn't exsist, as when I ask a local where the BLACK DIAMOND/ YELLOW DGC is, they look at you like you just fell to earth.
Other Thoughts: GREAT PARK, IMHO few subtle changes here and there, like.... Decent tee signs and next tee signs (and I would suggest using some kind of colored electrical or duct tape wrapped around a spoke inside the basket well pointed in the direction of the next tee). Sprinkled with a few benches here and there and......... the yellow DGC would be an ideal DGC for rec/ or players who get intimedated by the black diamond for usage.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.