Medina, OH 
PoolSide DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall   (Taken 4/2011)
PoolSide DGC Sign



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Poolside

2-4    3/1/2013   3/1/2013
Review By: Rowdy216
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great place to learn the sport or to get someone into the sport.
Awesome place to bring the family/kids out for an inexpensive day of fun.
Public pool and an amazing playground.
Great use of pavers for tee pads.
Lay out is easy to navigate
The park is well kept.
Good usage of a small amount of space.
Cons: I suppose this course would be less fun to some more advanced players.
Other Thoughts: I really wish the Idea of city parks putting in smaller beginner level courses would spread. This is a good spot to warm up before playing Rosce, or to work on up shots and putting. I also think this would be a great spot to do things like a local club sponsored "Ace Race" or something similar.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for the sport!

5+    11/9/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 64  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great big sign greets you as you pull into a good size gravel parking lot. Signs will lead you from there to a nice bulletin board with a Google map of the layout and some rules. Nice kick boards with numbers on them makes it pretty easy to navigate here. Baskets are old but still mach 2's I believe. They are in pretty good shape though. All but 1 hole here has mature trees scattered very nicely. As well as the last two holes having slight elevation in play. I really like #8 pin placement, being right next to small but steep hill. This course is awesome to practice your up-shots before a round at Roscoe.
Cons: Very short here. #3 is gonna be the longest, not even breaking 230'. Every hole basically plays straight. Old baskets, deliver a lot of spit outs. No tee pads besides on #1. #9 plays pretty close to a busy dog park. A beginner could easily land in there giving some dog a new chew toy.
Other Thoughts: Course is really good for the sport here in Medina. It allows for new players to get that confidence boost sometimes needed when first starting. Or for an experienced player to come practice those tricky up-shots. Park also has a nice public pool($3 fee), bathrooms, a good size pavilion. As well as a high quality wooden playground city!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Poolside

2-4    9/6/2013   11/7/2011
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2013
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A nice short course to introduce beginners to the game. It can be used to play a quick 9, or as a warm-up for Roscoe. It has many amenities like a playground and a public pool. The course design is great with the limited space they had.
Cons: The baskets are not in the best shape. Most are rusted out. Can get a little crowded near no. 8 basket. No cement tee pads. Dog park to left of 9 makes for a risky throw.
Other Thoughts: Poolside is a nice beginner course in Medina. With Roscoe down the street, you can play both courses. Have a nice day!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Prototype Beginner Course

1    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Top notch beginner level course
~Good layout & easy to navigate
~Putting & mid range practice course
~Well manicured
~Great park for the entire family
Cons:
~All short straight shots
~Minor interference with other park activities
~Beginner level only
~Land locked, no ability to further develop
Other Thoughts:
This is tough to put a solid numerical rating on. One one hand it's a top notch beginner level course as advertised, on the other it lacks many of the features and diversity that a regular course should offer. As previously stated I enjoyed this course for two main reasons: it's a near perfect display on how to introduce new players and help them develop good traits immediately, and it can function as a great warm-up before heading down the short drive to Roscoe Ewing. All of the holes are short, but eight of them have trees to contend with. It's nice to throw putters and short mids off the tee and get some solid reps with theses discs. It's also birdie and ace friendly to help with your confidence and attitude. Great job to those who put this course in, well done.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course Well Suited To Beginners

1    7/27/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: Mike C
Played: 39  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Numbered teepads and baskets, with next tee signs on each basket pointing the way. Navigation was a breeze and the course flows well except for a decent walk from 7 to 8.

-The designers made excellent use of the land available. The course consists of short but fun shots, well suited to beginners and people who can't throw far. Great place to try to boost your ace count and work on your putter drives.

-Great location for exposing people to the game. Compliments Roscoe Ewing nicely if you're introducing someone to the game or if you just want a quick putter round warm-up.
Cons: -Plays through a park with playgrounds, a pool and a walking path, so there is a potential for people to be in the way depending on how busy things are.

-Not challenging to anyone who's decent at the game. Can't really fault the course since it's labeled a beginner level course, but if you're expecting long holes and a challenge you're better off at Roscoe.
Other Thoughts: I thought this park was executed very well. It's a short, beginner friendly course in a location that already gets a lot of foot traffic, so it's a great introductory course. I think this is probably the best course around for introducing someone to disc golf for the first time. Also nice to see the old Roscoe baskets put to use.

Despite how short and easy the holes are I still had a fun time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good suplemental course

1    6/5/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained course.
Very easy holes with trees for a slight challenge for beginners.
Cons: All holes are short which is fine considering the style of course.
Other Thoughts: If this course was not in the same town as Roscoe Ewing Park I would probably give it a 2. But considering the concept that is meant to be a basic practice course it deserves to be called "Decent."

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Can be appreciated for what it is

1    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a disc golf course!
A great way for young beginners to get a feel for the game without getting frustrated
Very fun looking playground for the kids
Excellent use of a limited amount of space
A short drive to Roscoe Ewing Park
Cons: Anyone over absolute beginner might get bored very easily
Very little in terms of elevation change / challenge / obstacles
Other Thoughts: The enjoyment you get out of Poolside Course in Medina will be directly proportional to the attitude you come into it with. If you're anything other than an absolute beginner and are looking for an awesome challenge, then this course isn't for you. The holes play fairly straight and short, with only a couple playing through any kind of foliage. I'm bad to horrible, and I found myself trying to get my elusive first ace on three of the holes. So yeah, the challenge level isn't high. But that's not what this course is about. Where Poolside excels is that it is possibly the PERFECT location and difficulty to attract new players and casual players to the sport. The course plays around a playground, and several families were trying out the game with frisbees. (a few had discs) Saw a good mix of ages. The Jenkins family (who designed the course) probably should be knighted for getting this course installed. For the experienced player, Poolside Medina can serve as a warm up for the much larger and more challenging Roscoe Ewing Course right down the street, as PSM plays very quickly. (our group of six, including two young kids played through in a blistering 25 minutes) Is it a destination course for people who have been playing for awhile? No, but it's a great introductory / warm - up course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *One of the coolest playgrounds I've seen.
*Easy to follow course, Course plays to each hole very nicely
*Very clean well kept
*Pool...for those hot days
*Nice baskets,
Cons: *was very muddy when i went
*no signage
* people occupying fairways
Other Thoughts: Pretty easy 9 hole course that is obviously set for the beginners . I respect courses like this becuase it invites new people to the game.

You have to follow the path to the 1st hole but other than that the course flows pretty nicely.
I particularly like hole 7 you can go around the trees or you can shoot a very narrow gap straight through.


However i don't hink the locals have picked up the idea of disc golf yet. One person walking there Dog through fairway as i was getting ready to Drive, only to watch this Dog Drop a Duce in the fairway aacck!. Another guy was practicing his golf swing in another.

Aside from that pretty fun course if your looking for a quick fix. Don't think ya need a driver as i over threw every hole except 8 & 9 ...those 2 seem to be the longest.

As said above Kick boards with numbers on them to represent the hole, baskets numbered . Ya know with a second set of tees, and some Mando's this course might actually appeal to the intermediates.

size considered, very well laid out

Very Pristine park , Huge playground for the kids, bathrooms,pool , trash cans...etc

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Beginners Course

5+    4/14/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Please keep in mind that this park is labeled as a beginner's course and I have rated this course as such. Having said that, this is a PERFECT beginner's course! It's mainly flat with shorter holes so the little tykes you bring wont get exhausted. There's no real blind shots and lots of ace opportunity. This course alone will be responsible for adding more new players to disc golf than another other course in Ohio. The reason is LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. This park is very popular with parents that have little kids and they are constantly looking at the baskets and players trying to figure out what this disc golf thing is. Little kids ask their parents, parents talk to us, it's a great chain reaction that will pull in a lot of interest to the sport in Medina. I've had so many people of all ages ask me about the sport and have stopped what they were doing to watch me throw. I will always try to keep a few spare discs to give to any kid that seems really interested.
- Great amenities. Pavilions, tables, pool, bathrooms, HUGE grade A play area for the kids and a dog park.
- Plenty of parking
- Signs marking the disc golf course
- Billboard with an accurate map
- Some signs to next tee
- Nice flow. A small walk to hole #1 from the parking area but hole #18 ends at the parking lot.
- Fantastic use of the available land
- Nice mix of shots and optional paths to take
- Baskets are labeled
- Trashcans are available and the park is very clean. Great upkeep!
- No vandalism
Cons: - Old baskets
- Natural tees could use some mulching during the very muddy spring time. The course doesn't drain well during that time at all.
- Course plays close to the kids play area and picnic area
- Expect this park to be very busy in the summer and having to pause play so that you can allow people to pass by. The areas of note are the entrance to the park (hole #9) and the sidewalk going out the back of the park cuts across most of the back 7.
Other Thoughts: - The first 7 holes are behind the pool and kids play area. Holes 8 & 9 are in the front by the dog park.
- Great course to hit before or after a round at Roscoe which is a destination course for all players
- The most challenging hole for me is hole #3. I am in a constant state of confusion about whether to anhyzer a beat disc, throw a low and straight disc or hyzer an overstable disc.
- My favorite hole is hole #7. I love doing a silly trick shot here and throw a line drive at the ground about 80' away and have the disc skip immediately left right at the basket. Just a fun shot to make and nail metal with.
- This is not a destination course for the average player. This IS a destination course if you want to bring the little tykes out for great family outing.
- Huge thanks to all those that have put this course together! I love bringing the family to this park and it's great to have a course here now.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little 9 hole course

2-4    4/2/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative kick boards on natural tees
Good markings guide you to next tee
shot options available
very efficient use of land
Cons: natural tees
only 9 holes
Could be trouble in warmer weather and increased traffic
All holes seem real close in length
Other Thoughts: Well, I must say that I hate listing cons of this course with what I must because most of the cons have to do with dealing with a limited space that otherwise; the designers did a great job of making the most of it.

Natural tee pads are what they are but the kick boards for each hole with the hole number on them is a nice touch and really, for the distances, you don't need a concrete pad as all holes are probably within 50' of being 200' in length (just guessing here).

After each hole, and I don't know if this is from construction or intended but there are orange arrows painted on the ground guiding you to the next tee and is quite nice if they are able to maintain that with lawn mowing and leafs falling.

Its still early and has not warmed up but that park could have more traffic in warmer weather to where I could see you really needing to use caution with walking paths throughout and kids running around from the playground, but that is yet to be seen.

Overall, I took my 2 boys and they enjoyed the straight forward course which is great for beginners and would be worth a stop if you are taking someone new BEFORE heading to Roscoe Ewing which is only a mile or 2 away.

When the kids and their short attention span wore out, they were able to go play on the playground and I was left to enjoy a very pleasant few rounds to myself. Part of the joy to this course is the fact that swimming is there, along with said playground and even a fenced in dog park. Its the perfect family course.

I give this course a 3 because it really is a decent, fun course but just not big enough to rate with the big boy courses.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.