Medina, OH 
PoolSide DGC Share
Uploaded By: Technohic Hole #3 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 229ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great for the sport!

5+    11/9/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 64  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great big sign greets you as you pull into a good size gravel parking lot. Signs will lead you from there to a nice bulletin board with a Google map of the layout and some rules. Nice kick boards with numbers on them makes it pretty easy to navigate here. Baskets are old but still mach 2's I believe. They are in pretty good shape though. All but 1 hole here has mature trees scattered very nicely. As well as the last two holes having slight elevation in play. I really like #8 pin placement, being right next to small but steep hill. This course is awesome to practice your up-shots before a round at Roscoe.
Cons: Very short here. #3 is gonna be the longest, not even breaking 230'. Every hole basically plays straight. Old baskets, deliver a lot of spit outs. No tee pads besides on #1. #9 plays pretty close to a busy dog park. A beginner could easily land in there giving some dog a new chew toy.
Other Thoughts: Course is really good for the sport here in Medina. It allows for new players to get that confidence boost sometimes needed when first starting. Or for an experienced player to come practice those tricky up-shots. Park also has a nice public pool($3 fee), bathrooms, a good size pavilion. As well as a high quality wooden playground city!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Poolside

2-4    9/6/2013   11/7/2011
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2013
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A nice short course to introduce beginners to the game. It can be used to play a quick 9, or as a warm-up for Roscoe. It has many amenities like a playground and a public pool. The course design is great with the limited space they had.
Cons: The baskets are not in the best shape. Most are rusted out. Can get a little crowded near no. 8 basket. No cement tee pads. Dog park to left of 9 makes for a risky throw.
Other Thoughts: Poolside is a nice beginner course in Medina. With Roscoe down the street, you can play both courses. Have a nice day!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course Well Suited To Beginners

1    7/27/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: Mike C
Played: 39  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Numbered teepads and baskets, with next tee signs on each basket pointing the way. Navigation was a breeze and the course flows well except for a decent walk from 7 to 8.

-The designers made excellent use of the land available. The course consists of short but fun shots, well suited to beginners and people who can't throw far. Great place to try to boost your ace count and work on your putter drives.

-Great location for exposing people to the game. Compliments Roscoe Ewing nicely if you're introducing someone to the game or if you just want a quick putter round warm-up.
Cons: -Plays through a park with playgrounds, a pool and a walking path, so there is a potential for people to be in the way depending on how busy things are.

-Not challenging to anyone who's decent at the game. Can't really fault the course since it's labeled a beginner level course, but if you're expecting long holes and a challenge you're better off at Roscoe.
Other Thoughts: I thought this park was executed very well. It's a short, beginner friendly course in a location that already gets a lot of foot traffic, so it's a great introductory course. I think this is probably the best course around for introducing someone to disc golf for the first time. Also nice to see the old Roscoe baskets put to use.

Despite how short and easy the holes are I still had a fun time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *One of the coolest playgrounds I've seen.
*Easy to follow course, Course plays to each hole very nicely
*Very clean well kept
*Pool...for those hot days
*Nice baskets,
Cons: *was very muddy when i went
*no signage
* people occupying fairways
Other Thoughts: Pretty easy 9 hole course that is obviously set for the beginners . I respect courses like this becuase it invites new people to the game.

You have to follow the path to the 1st hole but other than that the course flows pretty nicely.
I particularly like hole 7 you can go around the trees or you can shoot a very narrow gap straight through.


However i don't hink the locals have picked up the idea of disc golf yet. One person walking there Dog through fairway as i was getting ready to Drive, only to watch this Dog Drop a Duce in the fairway aacck!. Another guy was practicing his golf swing in another.

Aside from that pretty fun course if your looking for a quick fix. Don't think ya need a driver as i over threw every hole except 8 & 9 ...those 2 seem to be the longest.

As said above Kick boards with numbers on them to represent the hole, baskets numbered . Ya know with a second set of tees, and some Mando's this course might actually appeal to the intermediates.

size considered, very well laid out

Very Pristine park , Huge playground for the kids, bathrooms,pool , trash cans...etc

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little 9 hole course

2-4    4/2/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative kick boards on natural tees
Good markings guide you to next tee
shot options available
very efficient use of land
Cons: natural tees
only 9 holes
Could be trouble in warmer weather and increased traffic
All holes seem real close in length
Other Thoughts: Well, I must say that I hate listing cons of this course with what I must because most of the cons have to do with dealing with a limited space that otherwise; the designers did a great job of making the most of it.

Natural tee pads are what they are but the kick boards for each hole with the hole number on them is a nice touch and really, for the distances, you don't need a concrete pad as all holes are probably within 50' of being 200' in length (just guessing here).

After each hole, and I don't know if this is from construction or intended but there are orange arrows painted on the ground guiding you to the next tee and is quite nice if they are able to maintain that with lawn mowing and leafs falling.

Its still early and has not warmed up but that park could have more traffic in warmer weather to where I could see you really needing to use caution with walking paths throughout and kids running around from the playground, but that is yet to be seen.

Overall, I took my 2 boys and they enjoyed the straight forward course which is great for beginners and would be worth a stop if you are taking someone new BEFORE heading to Roscoe Ewing which is only a mile or 2 away.

When the kids and their short attention span wore out, they were able to go play on the playground and I was left to enjoy a very pleasant few rounds to myself. Part of the joy to this course is the fact that swimming is there, along with said playground and even a fenced in dog park. Its the perfect family course.

I give this course a 3 because it really is a decent, fun course but just not big enough to rate with the big boy courses.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.