Pasadena, TX 
Burke Crenshaw Park Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #7 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 7 Tee: Basket in the trees



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner's Luck...

1    9/15/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: kkoether
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners. 10 holes and there's not a hard shot on any hole. Beginners can practice with different discs/throws to get a better feel for the game. The flow of the holes is nice as the tees are close to the last basket (except #10 basket to #1 tee). For that, it's a long walk back to #1 or the parking lot.
Cons: Tees are dirt and/or roots and can be a slight hinderance. Too open and not much of a challenge for intermediate/advanced players. Popular walking trail can make a difference, if crowded. I went at 3 PM and many people were walking on trail, so had to wait for them to pass. Also, a couple of holes are close to the street so depending on how you throw, that COULD be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners as this is a "PLAIN VANILLA" course. I stopped by as I was in the area on business, at least I can say I played it now. Not sure if I would go back again. Maybe if the expand to 18 as I've heard.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Once good - now destroyed

1    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is full color map, along with good color maps on each of the main tee boxes. Each existing hole has two tee options, even though the alternate box mainly just adds length.
Cons: Like many courses in east Houston this too looks like it's going the way of the dodo.

The existing holes aren't great, and hole three is the only one that plays in the trees - which it actually does too much - and hole 4 plays precariously close to a fenced amphitheater.
Other Thoughts: (Unfortunately, I have not been back to this park since it was redone, so please refer to the other reviews until I can properly update my review.)

On my first trip out, I was saddened to see that holes 5-9 have been removed and the entire area is undergoing construction to make way for a new softball complex. Everything in the 5-9 areas is fenced off, and the only areas still untouched are the hills in the distance where seven and eight used to be.

Holes one through four still exist though, so if you are in the area and need a few holes for practice - then you could stop by. Otherwise my suggestion is head north to MacGregor Park or south to Jack Brooks Park or Tom Bass Park if you actually want to play any real courses.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Pasadena course

4/13/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Never crowded. Wide open course. The hills on 6 to 9 make things a little interesting. Good practice course,or if you live in the area and don't want to drive far to play a round. Good course for beginners.
Cons: Very windy. Missing basket on #6 , just a pole. # 8 is almost in the ground. Really needs an update.
Other Thoughts: This course is alright if you are in the area and want to practice your game. Most of the locals look at you funny because it seems none of them see to know what disc golf is. It looks like this was a really nice course at one time, with a nice map and nice signs, but it looks like it has fallen by the way side. If this course was cleaned up and redesigned , it would be a cool course again.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 B-C

3/13/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Practice in wind. Signs marking course. It's a disc golf course!
Cons: Only 9 holes. Baskets tend to disappear (stolen?). Not a lot of variety. Rarely many people playing so you are usually the only person out on the course.
Other Thoughts: Any DG course is fine by me, but don't expect to see the gem of the Houston area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.