Pasadena, TX 
Burke Crenshaw Park Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #10 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 171ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach: Across the lake is the parking lot on far right, and first tee.



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun, Easy, Great for Beginers

5+    6/23/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: Kursk
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 10 Holes so it's short. Entirely par 3 with wide open spaces. A couple holes require some skill but they always have an easy out for people with less skills.
Drought: The drought is a huge plus. If it's at all wet, it becomes a swamp. Not as bad as Moffit but it's gets very gumbo like.
Wind: It's almost always windy so it helps keep it cool-ish but not to the point where your throws are getting tossed about. Good practice.
Cons: Course wraps around and crosses a sometimes busy pedestrian path. 4/5 can have congestion between the paths and picnic people. 9 will punish you if you seriously hook your drive. The street and a fetid gulley await you to the right.
10 holes: it's a short course that you can blow through quickly if you're experienced.
Maintenance: It's an afterthought of a course. No tee boxes, just posts with the hole number and usually someone having penciled or Sharpied in the distance. The city can't decide what the permanent layout should be, or if there should be one it seems.
Other Thoughts: 10 is fun. I love a tiny over the pathway shot with trees, a nasty drop off, and water to the left and trees and benches to the right and over. You have to think.
My group makes it into an 18 by playing to 10 and then throwing from basket to basket back. A fun wide open course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy 10 hole

1    10/25/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 74  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee boxes are pretty well marked with white posts. Decent scenery for a small park. This course is a typical. Nine hole course with an additional basket to make it ten holes. Nearly every hole except maybe holes #2 and #7 are ace runs. I think the avg length for the hole is mid 200's. A few holes reach past 300ft. Fitness stations located by hole 10.
Cons: Pretty easy course. Great for beginners. But with the low avg of distance on the holes this course is a typical nine hole located in a park close to a school. High traffic walking path is not that annoying, just make sure you watch when you throw. The park could really only offer a few more holes that would be worth playing. When you finish hole ten you have a long walk back to the parking lot. If additional holes where added, and I bet they might, I would guess the last few holes would be long ones. After hole ten there is a ton of open space. Additionally the baskets are DisCatcher. I had two nice putts spit out because this type of basket has only one set of chains to catch the disc. This type of basket just doesn't catch the disc very well.
Other Thoughts: Additional holes could be added. Maybe some that involve the water a little more. I don't really see the point of adding a back nine unless the design usues the front nine as part of the back nine. This is a nice little ace run course in my opinion. Again great for beginners and those without a lot of distance on their drives.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Stopover on the way to Hobby Airport

2-4    12/15/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: bayouace
Played: 39  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I started playing B-C when I go to pick up my son at Hobby Airport, since it is so easy to get to and from on the way. It is a fairly easy course, but fun.Hard to get into much trouble unless you grip lock RHBH on #3 and scare the cars on Burke. 10 holes. #1 is an annie. The rest are pretty straight. Some use of small hills for holes and tees. All holes are pretty much wide-open with a few trees on most holes being a slight factor. I like #3 and #9 best with tees elevated somewhat. #10 is a small peninsula, so there is a risk there. Locals have a backward course to go back to #1 by the parking lot, otherwise it is a long way from #10 to #1. Course is mowed nicely.
Cons: Not really challenging for strong players. People do walk on the walkpath, which is hittable on several holes. No one was unfriendly to me. I just let them clear. Rest room is by #10 and is a long way from the parking lot, if you need to get comfortable before you start. I suggest driving in the little gravel road to the RR and then driving to the lot to park.Wind was 20 mph, no lie, last time I played. I drove #9, hit the middle of the fairway, and rolled straight toward the hole with the wind and disc pushing against each other. Hit a bump and when the disc bounced up, the wind picked it up and over the rise bordering the road, across two lanes, and into the drainage gully in the middle of the divided street. Easily a 100' from the spot I hit the middle of the fairway. Guy I played with said he had never seen anything like that, and neither had I. Murphy's Law again.
Other Thoughts: Map is available here. I usually stop at Copperhead by Vidor, TX, right on I-10, and do 18, then head to Burke-Crenshaw for 10. Since I lucked in a 100' approach on #5, I'll always have fond thoughts about B-C. Will play again. Great course for new players and short-distance wives and GF's.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  In the works

5+    9/26/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: Ted G
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No high weeds or thick brush to fight or lose your disc in.
Light usage.
Good practice course.
Since it is used lightly, you can throw several discs at one hole and get some good practice throws in.
Cons: Too open. There is no challenging throws. It's all straight throws unless you happen to miss on the initial throw. It is easy to throw a disc in the street or the lake if you get one up in the wind by mistake. They have re-vamped the holes and they took away the best hole #3 the tunnel shot down the side of Burke Rd. It isn't even a hole any more.
Other Thoughts: They are re-doing everthing. They have 7 holes available for play and there is a sign that the course will be completed in October. The problem is if they leave it at 9 holes you will finish on the complete other side of the park from your car. I hope they make it 18 and wrap way around the lake. At least they are doing something. Wouldn't hurt if they planted some trees in the fairways and made it necessary to throw something besides straight and long on every hole. Here's hoping...

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.