Disc Golf Store
Pasadena, TX
Burke Crenshaw Park Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #7 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 7 Tee: Basket in the trees



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun, Easy, Great for Beginers

5+    6/23/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: Kursk
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 10 Holes so it's short. Entirely par 3 with wide open spaces. A couple holes require some skill but they always have an easy out for people with less skills.
Drought: The drought is a huge plus. If it's at all wet, it becomes a swamp. Not as bad as Moffit but it's gets very gumbo like.
Wind: It's almost always windy so it helps keep it cool-ish but not to the point where your throws are getting tossed about. Good practice.
Cons: Course wraps around and crosses a sometimes busy pedestrian path. 4/5 can have congestion between the paths and picnic people. 9 will punish you if you seriously hook your drive. The street and a fetid gulley await you to the right.
10 holes: it's a short course that you can blow through quickly if you're experienced.
Maintenance: It's an afterthought of a course. No tee boxes, just posts with the hole number and usually someone having penciled or Sharpied in the distance. The city can't decide what the permanent layout should be, or if there should be one it seems.
Other Thoughts: 10 is fun. I love a tiny over the pathway shot with trees, a nasty drop off, and water to the left and trees and benches to the right and over. You have to think.
My group makes it into an 18 by playing to 10 and then throwing from basket to basket back. A fun wide open course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun to play

1    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: soonerpa
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like everyone has said, its vanilla. But sometimes vanilla is fun.

Holes are short in distance. Easily marked baskets.
The squirrels will come eat out of your hand!
Cons: People tend to picnic next to the baskets. Not good.

The course maps on DiscGolfReview.com are not the current layout at the park. This needs to be changed. I will see if I can update it myself but BEWARE, the maps for the course on this website are NOT the current course layout.

****I uploaded a course map approximation as of today May 26 2012. Its pretty close and usable but someone needs to go out and measure it and update.********
Other Thoughts: Had fun playing there as it was fast paced and not very strenuous - thats ok sometimes and today was one of those days.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easy 10 hole

1    10/25/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 59  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee boxes are pretty well marked with white posts. Decent scenery for a small park. This course is a typical. Nine hole course with an additional basket to make it ten holes. Nearly every hole except maybe holes #2 and #7 are ace runs. I think the avg length for the hole is mid 200's. A few holes reach past 300ft. Fitness stations located by hole 10.
Cons: Pretty easy course. Great for beginners. But with the low avg of distance on the holes this course is a typical nine hole located in a park close to a school. High traffic walking path is not that annoying, just make sure you watch when you throw. The park could really only offer a few more holes that would be worth playing. When you finish hole ten you have a long walk back to the parking lot. If additional holes where added, and I bet they might, I would guess the last few holes would be long ones. After hole ten there is a ton of open space. Additionally the baskets are DisCatcher. I had two nice putts spit out because this type of basket has only one set of chains to catch the disc. This type of basket just doesn't catch the disc very well.
Other Thoughts: Additional holes could be added. Maybe some that involve the water a little more. I don't really see the point of adding a back nine unless the design usues the front nine as part of the back nine. This is a nice little ace run course in my opinion. Again great for beginners and those without a lot of distance on their drives.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Luck...

1    9/15/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: kkoether
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners. 10 holes and there's not a hard shot on any hole. Beginners can practice with different discs/throws to get a better feel for the game. The flow of the holes is nice as the tees are close to the last basket (except #10 basket to #1 tee). For that, it's a long walk back to #1 or the parking lot.
Cons: Tees are dirt and/or roots and can be a slight hinderance. Too open and not much of a challenge for intermediate/advanced players. Popular walking trail can make a difference, if crowded. I went at 3 PM and many people were walking on trail, so had to wait for them to pass. Also, a couple of holes are close to the street so depending on how you throw, that COULD be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners as this is a "PLAIN VANILLA" course. I stopped by as I was in the area on business, at least I can say I played it now. Not sure if I would go back again. Maybe if the expand to 18 as I've heard.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Stopover on the way to Hobby Airport

2-4    12/15/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I started playing B-C when I go to pick up my son at Hobby Airport, since it is so easy to get to and from on the way. It is a fairly easy course, but fun.Hard to get into much trouble unless you grip lock RHBH on #3 and scare the cars on Burke. 10 holes. #1 is an annie. The rest are pretty straight. Some use of small hills for holes and tees. All holes are pretty much wide-open with a few trees on most holes being a slight factor. I like #3 and #9 best with tees elevated somewhat. #10 is a small peninsula, so there is a risk there. Locals have a backward course to go back to #1 by the parking lot, otherwise it is a long way from #10 to #1. Course is mowed nicely.
Cons: Not really challenging for strong players. People do walk on the walkpath, which is hittable on several holes. No one was unfriendly to me. I just let them clear. Rest room is by #10 and is a long way from the parking lot, if you need to get comfortable before you start. I suggest driving in the little gravel road to the RR and then driving to the lot to park.Wind was 20 mph, no lie, last time I played. I drove #9, hit the middle of the fairway, and rolled straight toward the hole with the wind and disc pushing against each other. Hit a bump and when the disc bounced up, the wind picked it up and over the rise bordering the road, across two lanes, and into the drainage gully in the middle of the divided street. Easily a 100' from the spot I hit the middle of the fairway. Guy I played with said he had never seen anything like that, and neither had I. Murphy's Law again.
Other Thoughts: Map is available here. I usually stop at Copperhead by Vidor, TX, right on I-10, and do 18, then head to Burke-Crenshaw for 10. Since I lucked in a 100' approach on #5, I'll always have fond thoughts about B-C. Will play again. Great course for new players and short-distance wives and GF's.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/28/2010   10/15/2009
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 79  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Burke-Crenshaw Park is a good course for people just starting out at disc golf. It is a decent course (10 holes now) and none of the holes are too long, too hard or too exceptional.
Cons: In 2009 the course was redesigned due to a big softball complex taking over what used to be holes 5-9. The new course design puts disc golfers in a bad situation with a number of the holes crossing a very popular walking path around the lake. Hole ten is a nice looking hole and all, but the park has a swinging chair about 20 feet from the basket making it a very dangerous hole.

Most rounds I play at Burke-Crenshaw take twice as long as they should due to waiting on a clear shot because of the course design.
Other Thoughts: Be very careful when throwing on this course. The majority of the people in the park are not very familiar with disc golf. I've had to ask parents to get their kids out of baskets in the park and have been yelled at twice now in the park for playing the course.

The city of Pasadena should revisit the design of this course for safety issues ASAP.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  In the works

5+    9/26/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: Ted G
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No high weeds or thick brush to fight or lose your disc in.
Light usage.
Good practice course.
Since it is used lightly, you can throw several discs at one hole and get some good practice throws in.
Cons: Too open. There is no challenging throws. It's all straight throws unless you happen to miss on the initial throw. It is easy to throw a disc in the street or the lake if you get one up in the wind by mistake. They have re-vamped the holes and they took away the best hole #3 the tunnel shot down the side of Burke Rd. It isn't even a hole any more.
Other Thoughts: They are re-doing everthing. They have 7 holes available for play and there is a sign that the course will be completed in October. The problem is if they leave it at 9 holes you will finish on the complete other side of the park from your car. I hope they make it 18 and wrap way around the lake. At least they are doing something. Wouldn't hurt if they planted some trees in the fairways and made it necessary to throw something besides straight and long on every hole. Here's hoping...

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course

5+    2/2/2010   9/17/2009
Review By: Hostel
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course now has 10 holes, and this side of town needs more courses so i'm pretty happy to see that this course is not going to just disapear. The new layout is much better than the previous 7 hole layout and offers great practice for begginers. The changes make this course more fun to play than before, especially for a little more experienced players who have not thrown thier first ACE!
Cons: Its still pretty easy to end up with a disc in the street or the water. Hole 8 is short enough and close enough to the water that if you throw too hard your disc has a good chance of going in the pond. However, for hole 10 this is an understatement. Don't get me wrong this hole is pretty cool and looks cool, but it's intimidating because its very short and sits right on the side of the pond on a hill.
Other Thoughts: I can almost say for certain now that when this course is finished we will have a great introductory and practice course for our area. I hope they make use of the huge hill in the final plan for the course so that Burke has a good signature hole.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

5+    6/9/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: shamgar07
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is an open course that is good for practicing on. All the holes that are left are open except 3. It is nice for beginners and a great place to practicing with all your disc's.
Cons: Holes five through 9 are gone and it doesnt look like they will be coming back which then makes the course not very fun.
Other Thoughts: This course is a quick one if your driving by and want to have an open field to see how all your disc's fly but other then that move on to a better course that is not torn up.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Once good - now destroyed

1    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is full color map, along with good color maps on each of the main tee boxes. Each existing hole has two tee options, even though the alternate box mainly just adds length.
Cons: Like many courses in east Houston this too looks like it's going the way of the dodo.

The existing holes aren't great, and hole three is the only one that plays in the trees - which it actually does too much - and hole 4 plays precariously close to a fenced amphitheater.
Other Thoughts: (Unfortunately, I have not been back to this park since it was redone, so please refer to the other reviews until I can properly update my review.)

On my first trip out, I was saddened to see that holes 5-9 have been removed and the entire area is undergoing construction to make way for a new softball complex. Everything in the 5-9 areas is fenced off, and the only areas still untouched are the hills in the distance where seven and eight used to be.

Holes one through four still exist though, so if you are in the area and need a few holes for practice - then you could stop by. Otherwise my suggestion is head north to MacGregor Park or south to Jack Brooks Park or Tom Bass Park if you actually want to play any real courses.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.