Apopka, FL
Rock Springs Ridge - Executive DGC Share
Uploaded By: stsren Hole #8 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than first glance

1    12/14/2013   12/16/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the smaller of the courses on the property and though I've played the champ course three times previously, I'd always skipped this one. At least once I stood on the tee box and considered it, but passed. Well, on my fourth trip to the site, I finally gave it a round. And it was a better course than I thought it would be. The first two holes, which you can see easily from the road, aren't characteristic of the course. They aren't all as pitch-and-putt as you would assume from those beginning holes.

That isn't to say that there aren't a bunch of ace runs. Nine holes are under 250 feet to the pin and I'd say at least six offer a pretty solid look at the basket from the tee.

But many have more distance than that. With the wide open spaces here, there will be a few chances to air out a decent drive. Most of the challenge present comes from pin location, though. Seven is the best example of this: though the fairway is an open field, the pin is tucked into the woods, and it has to be approached down a narrow trail to the right, or a sharp hook and over a hill to the left.

There are a few exceptions(the early gap and sharp dogleg on 9) but most of the holes are scaled down versions of those on the other course. Open fairway with a pin hidden behind a tree or just beyond a small hill. It's fun and it plays quickly.

It's also an excellent course for beginners, what with the open spaces. The distances should actually challenge new players and allow them to figure out what discs do in the air without worrying about trying to hit lines and miss trees. Honestly, it's probably one of the better courses to start playing on.
Cons: If a veteran will find the champ course here to lack in challenge, said player will definitely be bored on this one. There is really little to do here if dries can be placed accurately because there is typically only one obstacle guarding the pin and there is usually an unobstructed path to that spot.

It's a quick round if you are playing the other course. It's a warmup. It's a training ground if you're in the area. (and would be willing to pay for training) And it's a place to go after aces. But other than that most players will probably pass this one up.

And the tees are in pretty bad shape. The carpet has been torn up on many of them. A handful of baskets have seen better days as well.
Other Thoughts: I avoided this course all summer because others had remarked on the lack of maintenance. I've never seen this course in a bad state but I've also never played it in late spring or early-mid summer. I can't say whether the lack of upkeep is seasonal or if it was temporary, but I'm reviewing the course as it is under good conditions, which is the only way I've seen it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

First Disc Golf Experience

5+    5/11/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: TeeRex
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seemed pretty challenging to me...but what the heck, first time to throw a Frisbee (or golf disc) in 30 years. Sore arm next day, but tons of fun. Am going to get into this. First game ever shot a 78 ! Ouch ! Will get better. Like the layouts, throws in some straight shots once in a while to keep you interested in your score.
Cons: Horrible maintenance. They have very limited funds and that goes primarily to regular golf course needs. Meanwhile, I account for the extra half hour after play picking hitchhikers out of socks & shoelaces. Basket #4 has been crunched by mower deck of tractor, can only make basket from one side, told shop pro, "no one cares".
Other Thoughts: With some real maintenance and upkeep and some real launch pads, along with moveable basket locations, this could be a kickin' good time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Daddy_Dragon at Apopka

1    4/16/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: Daddy_Dragon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 22.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rolling hills.
Water stations.
Changes in wind directions.
Accurate signs.
"Next tee" signs.
Pro shop (Only Innova though).
Club House that serves drinks.
Wondering Marshall.
Clean Course.
Two Putting greens for practice.
Bathroom Area.
Wife and children liked it.
Located in a nice part of Apopka.
Cons: No perm. tee box. Just two cement walking slab that you find at the Garden shop to indicate where to tee from.
Walking distance from Parking to course, so do not forget anything.
Not challenging. Yes the wind and hills made a difference for us Florida players but not that much challenging.
Other Thoughts: Word to those who want to use a Golf Cart. Don't !!!! Walk the course. Due tot he many hills, there are many places in which you can not take a cart. My family and I walked and followed a group of three in carts. They would throw, drive their cart, stop at the ropes, walk to their disc & throw then walk back to their cart. Listen, My family and I started at one one, the group of three were on hole five. We caught up to them. Each hole afterwards we had to wait for them to use their cart. After the fourth hole they finally let us play through. We finished the course and they were four holes behind us. Carts here are a waste of money and tmie. Walk it. It is much faster.


Played the Championship Course as well. That course is much better. More hills, More trees, and much more difficult. Loved them both, but the Championship Course rocks. Can't wait until they have a Tourny !!!!!!!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner's course

1    4/2/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the first of two courses to go onto a former ball golf course in a very nice neighborhood. There is still another adjacent ball golf course open, so access to the amenities of pro-shop, rental carts, and disc sales is available. New Innova Discatchers are adorned with yellow flags and look sharp. There's a large warm-up / practice area with two baskets.

Greens fees are $3, and YES, this is a pro, not a con. This means that the property will be exclusively used by disc golfers, frequently maintained, and won't get trashed out.

There is no schule and no chance to lose discs. The course navigation is very simple. While it is true, as the previous reviewer stated, that there are points where multiple baskets are visible, it is obvious on the tee-box which basket is the intended target.

Many of the baskets have been strategically placed on the tops of large mounds, making for interesting putting, particularly when it's windy.

The lefty-righty balance is very fair.
Cons: The course is mostly wide-open. There are only two shots that require hitting a gap. The rest can be navigated with big backhand or forehand hyzers. The lack of trees also translates into a very hot round in the summer.

The course starts a fair ways from the parking area and then does not loop back to the start point after nine holes.

At present, the cement tee pads have not yet been installed. (I did not take off points for this, as the shots are relatively short.)

At present, benches and trash cans have not yet been installed.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer! Leave the course cleaner than you found it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pay-to-Play Hits Central Florida - How it Measures Up

1    4/2/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Rolling hills and changes in elevation make for some new challenges for many Florida disc golfers
2. On-site restroom facilities
3. New Innova DISCatcher baskets
4. Scorecards and Course Maps available from Pro Shop or Starter
5. Good challenge for beginner and intermediate players
6. Good signage with accurate representation of pin location and surrounding trees / obstacles
Cons:
1. Majority (16/18) of tee boxes are grass, others (2/18) are carpet
2. Crowded, open field layout with no mid-point rest stop
3. No garbage cans or benches along the course
4. Limited challenges for advanced or pro players
5. Innova DISCatcher baskets (I don't like them, so this may not be a con for you!)
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting short to mid distance course with a lot of wide-open spaces to shape your shots however you see fit. It's a converted golf course, so you don't have the tree canopy that you would find at other Central Florida courses...this course would be HOT on a summer day. There are a few technical spots on the course requiring some accuracy (#9 slight uphill with low canopy and dogleg left, for instance), but the overall challenge is provided by the sparse (but well placed) trees and the rolling hills. The overall course layout is tolerable, but is not the preferred (by me) double loop (where you can take a break half way through the round). There are a number of instances where you can see multiple baskets from your tee box (think open field with lots of baskets!)...and there are at least 2 (#7, #8, and #9) blind throws where the basket cannot be seen from the tee box...so first-timers on the course may inadvertantly throw at the wrong basket. If this course were to get busy, it could be somewhat dangerous due to the crowded feel and close proximities of the fairways. In the end, I felt the course was a "Reasonable" disc golf course with a tolerable layout, adequate challenge, and decent facilities. The things about the course that prevented a better score were the lack of shade (and technical challenges provided by trees), lack of water hazards, lack of concrete tee pads, and pay to play. If I'm going to pay to play disc golf, I'd like to have an experience that isn't available at the free courses...this course just doesn't provide that for me. If you live in Apopka, this may be the best thing available to you in the immediate area, but if you don't mind a short drive, you'll find a better disc golf experience at other Central Florida courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.