Kennedale, TX 
Sonora Park Share
Uploaded By: NumSkul Hole #4 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 383ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wish there were more...

2-4    9/1/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sonora is the only 9 holer I've ever driven an hour to play again. It is perfect in many ways. Sonora is almost completely shaded on 8 out of 9 holes with a winding creek that will come back to haunt you if drives, approaches and putts are not on point. Nice concrete tees, accurate signs and intelligent use of land make for an experience that leaves you wanting another round as you realize you are sadly nearly done with the 9 holes Sonora offers. The course is extremely easy to find and is located in a well manicured, modern park. The grounds are immaculate and baskets are in good shape.
Cons: There are only 9 holes?

Like many other courses that share space, Sonora may have non golfers in fairways.

Other Thoughts: Sonoras minis (Monday) are year around and include night rounds.

Locals are talking of a soon to come back 9!

Gates are locked by city at 10pm

Course very balanced. May have a rare RHFH / LHBH bias...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Accuracy

2-4    5/10/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight lines. Good use of trees and creeks. Some great choices for risk reward. Concrete tee pads. Some elevation. Good maintenance.
Cons: Only 9 holes (play it twice). Some pedestrian traffic. Somewhat short (Pro and Con)
Other Thoughts: Accuracy is the key to score well here. You can open up on hole one since it is longer and an elevated tee pad. Most of your other shots will require some accuracy, and a lot of accuracy on a couple of holes. If you hit your lines well you will have several opportunities at an ace. This course length wise might be good for new players but they will be extremely frustrated with the trees and creek.
I would consider this one of the best 9 holes I have played. Should be more well known in the DFW disc golf community.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Easy!

1    11/29/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Tight, challenging lines
- Good practice for accuracy, shot shaping
- Concrete teepads
- Not difficult to navigate
- Heavily wooded, shaded
- Peaceful rural setting, with duck pond, horses and cows
- Multi-use park with other facilities
Cons:
- Only 9 holes
- Pedestrian cross-traffic
- Little elevation change
Other Thoughts:
Contrary to other reviews, this would not be a great beginner's course. It's not long, but the lines are very tight. You can leave your distance drivers at home, but don't assume you're going to get a lot of easy birdies.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

under the trees

1    10/24/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: laerton420
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice tee-pads,decent sighnage,park is well maintained,good use of elevation,the nine holes are made in a nice tight circle,makes for an enjoyable and less taxing experience.mostly technical shots thru trees,lotsa trees,creek in play,is really in play.overall a nice course.this course flows well and feels right,a nice plus
Cons: other than some poison ivy and a feeling this course could get nasty after a rain,i found no real cons...if you like the long game,you wont like it,if you have a problem with trees ,you wont like it,if your afraid of losing discs in the water,you wont like it....but other than that its a good play
Other Thoughts: good course for beginners,not so much for vets ima thinkin,folks were friendly on our trip there....parking is good,restrooms available,not too much pedestian traffic...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Little Course With a Mean Streak

1    8/31/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: bayouace
Played: 39  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Never knew about this course from all the posts on DFW disc golf, and that is a shame. Its a fun nine-hole course that offers some challenges that can bite your butt. Found it when seeking a course near our motel in Mansfield last weekend. It is in a well-maintained park. The course is pretty, offers a variety of shots and elevation, and is shady. There is a splash pad for kids in the park, water and rest rooms close. The course itself is very compact.Other reviewers have described each hole, so I won't go there except to comment.For me 1, 2, 8, and 9 are pretty routine. Trees and crossing a creek are the challenges for 2, 8, and 9. 3 and 5 are fair and use elevation and trees well. 4, 6, and 7 presented me with problems because of the tight fairways, electric fence, and creek. 3 leaves you with a downhill putt if your approach is short. 4 has a very tight corridor to throw straight to the hole or a pray and loop an annie to get there. The left side sidewalk on 7 is tough for a fade. There was only mud in the creek, but it is soft and 4 inches deep if you need to go get a disc. lol. The course is easy to get to, tees are new concrete and well-marked The Chainstar baskets are nice, and the use of terrain is commendable.
Cons: I think better lines could be created by moving some of the baskets. A few holes leave you wondering what a good line is, but if I played Sonora a few more times that would work itself out for my skills. The electric fence on 4 gets in your head, so beware. Walkers are out on the sidewalks that run through some of the course, but they were friendly and one even wanted to throw a tee shot.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course, and I will play it again someday, even though 4 and 6 took a bite out of my rear. The parking is good. Sonora offers a bit of most shots in a nine hole course, and that is hard. You cannot score here without accuracy. Use the DGCR map and you will have no problems navigating. Again, the course is two years old, and I suspect not many DFW disc golfers know about it. I really think if you go play it a few times one day, you won't regret that choice.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

God course

1    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All of the tee boxes are marked. Baskets are very nice and show the hole number on each basket.
Cons: Cant say any really bad other than the grass needs to be cut and some trash picked up. But other than that the course plays very good.
Other Thoughts: Good course to practice your short game.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

fun 9 holes

1    12/30/2012   2/17/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fun and challenging holes
-lots of trees and a creek in play
-uses the slight elevation well
-nice baskets and adequate signs
-little underbrush, looks like most of the poison ivy has been neutralized
-decent parking
-NEW concrete tee pads
Cons: -can get quite muddy after a bit of rain
-possibly a bit too challenging for the beginner, too bad for a 9 hole course in a smaller town.
Other Thoughts:
**Edit**
The new concrete pads are in and they are great. The new location for tee 1 back by the pond is cool too. Gives a bit of elevation to the tee shot. The course looks great but some of the poison ivy may be returning.
****

This is a pretty fun and rather challenging 9 hole course. Most of the holes have a significant number of trees and a bad kick can leave you in the creek, over the OB fence, or with no upshot. Not a lot of easy hyzers, you have to carve your line through the obstacles.

I can't imagine the course ever being crowded. If it were, there are a few close fairways and the entire area of the course is not that big. Still shouldn't be a problem though since you probably won't be just trying to bomb it on these holes.

Another course well worth playing in Ft. Worth. Not a destination but certainly worth it if you are in the area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really nice 9 holer.

1    11/5/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice for a nine hole course, may be one of the best in the area. There are a lot of trees in play, and a creek as well. Not just the same shot over and over.
Cons: Navigation is a little tricky in some places. The baskets are numbered, but from a distance it can be hard to tell which one goes with what hole. Look out for joggers on trail. Hole 4 is very close to the fence line. A bad skip off of a tree could send you 50' or more off the property.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good park for beginners, much better for a newbie to go here than Veteran's. It's also nice as a shorter course for more experienced players who want to disc down.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jump in de line, rock your body in time

1    9/22/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: giles
Played: 147  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked this course, it has a lot going for it. The park itself is very nice and beautifully maintained. Aside from disc golf it features playground equipment and a splash pad, a huge plus for those of us who take their family disc golfing. The terrain was conducive to a baby stroller or disc cart. A majority of the course plays under a canopy of trees offering both obstacles and, more importantly, shade from the sun. The hole designs offer an interesting mix from the wide open hole 1 to the nerve racking tee shot on 4 where a bad kick will send you OB on a 400' shot. The course rewards skilled players with 3 of the holes requiring a very difficult right turning long throw to card a 2 with offline shots going ob. The course also give plenty of opportunity for a moderately skilled player to card a 2 with a well executed shot. Unlike many 9 hole courses, Sonora park does a good job of showing the mix of shots that disc golf courses can offer. The course plays quick with a adequate flow from basket to tee. The tee boxes were good enough for me, but concrete would be an improvement. The signage lacked information but did the job. I think anything more is overkill for a one tee, one pin course (though it was misleading on holes 3 & 6).
Cons: If a course offers nothing but big hyzers on every hole is it a con? I think so. When a course has no big righty hyzers is it a con? I don't think so but it is worth a mention that this course has none that I could see. The fence that comes into play on 2,3,4 is short and electric. It really comes into play on hole 4 with an errant shot or a bad kick off a tree. A tall chain link fence would be an improvement along this fairway, otherwise I see lot of trespassing or disc fishing over the fence.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great example of what disc golf can do for a city. It will introduce more people to the game of disc golf and get them outside exercising. It uses an otherwise unused area. It will increase traffic to the park, and increased traffic tends to discourage vandalism or other illegal activities that may happen in a secluded park. As a 9 hole course it will not realise the heavy traffic and economic benefits from outside the area that an 18 hole course enjoys with weekly league play or sanctioned tournaments.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Setting

2-4    8/30/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: starfire56
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very effective layout in limited space. Holes 5-8 are near the creek, therefore accuracy is required. Took about 35 minutes to play each round. Beautiful setting and a great place to work on various shots.
Cons: The creek is very close to the basket on holes 6, 7, and 8.
Other Thoughts: Very fun place to play and work on accuracy game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.