Disc Golf Store
Kennedale, TX 
Sonora Park Share
Uploaded By: NumSkul Hole #5 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wish there were more...

2-4    9/1/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 80  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sonora is the only 9 holer I've ever driven an hour to play again. It is perfect in many ways. Sonora is almost completely shaded on 8 out of 9 holes with a winding creek that will come back to haunt you if drives, approaches and putts are not on point. Nice concrete tees, accurate signs and intelligent use of land make for an experience that leaves you wanting another round as you realize you are sadly nearly done with the 9 holes Sonora offers. The course is extremely easy to find and is located in a well manicured, modern park. The grounds are immaculate and baskets are in good shape.
Cons: There are only 9 holes?

Like many other courses that share space, Sonora may have non golfers in fairways.

Other Thoughts: Sonoras minis (Monday) are year around and include night rounds.

Locals are talking of a soon to come back 9!

Gates are locked by city at 10pm

Course very balanced. May have a rare RHFH / LHBH bias...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

under the trees

1    10/24/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: laerton420
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice tee-pads,decent sighnage,park is well maintained,good use of elevation,the nine holes are made in a nice tight circle,makes for an enjoyable and less taxing experience.mostly technical shots thru trees,lotsa trees,creek in play,is really in play.overall a nice course.this course flows well and feels right,a nice plus
Cons: other than some poison ivy and a feeling this course could get nasty after a rain,i found no real cons...if you like the long game,you wont like it,if you have a problem with trees ,you wont like it,if your afraid of losing discs in the water,you wont like it....but other than that its a good play
Other Thoughts: good course for beginners,not so much for vets ima thinkin,folks were friendly on our trip there....parking is good,restrooms available,not too much pedestian traffic...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Little Course With a Mean Streak

1    8/31/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Never knew about this course from all the posts on DFW disc golf, and that is a shame. Its a fun nine-hole course that offers some challenges that can bite your butt. Found it when seeking a course near our motel in Mansfield last weekend. It is in a well-maintained park. The course is pretty, offers a variety of shots and elevation, and is shady. There is a splash pad for kids in the park, water and rest rooms close. The course itself is very compact.Other reviewers have described each hole, so I won't go there except to comment.For me 1, 2, 8, and 9 are pretty routine. Trees and crossing a creek are the challenges for 2, 8, and 9. 3 and 5 are fair and use elevation and trees well. 4, 6, and 7 presented me with problems because of the tight fairways, electric fence, and creek. 3 leaves you with a downhill putt if your approach is short. 4 has a very tight corridor to throw straight to the hole or a pray and loop an annie to get there. The left side sidewalk on 7 is tough for a fade. There was only mud in the creek, but it is soft and 4 inches deep if you need to go get a disc. lol. The course is easy to get to, tees are new concrete and well-marked The Chainstar baskets are nice, and the use of terrain is commendable.
Cons: I think better lines could be created by moving some of the baskets. A few holes leave you wondering what a good line is, but if I played Sonora a few more times that would work itself out for my skills. The electric fence on 4 gets in your head, so beware. Walkers are out on the sidewalks that run through some of the course, but they were friendly and one even wanted to throw a tee shot.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course, and I will play it again someday, even though 4 and 6 took a bite out of my rear. The parking is good. Sonora offers a bit of most shots in a nine hole course, and that is hard. You cannot score here without accuracy. Use the DGCR map and you will have no problems navigating. Again, the course is two years old, and I suspect not many DFW disc golfers know about it. I really think if you go play it a few times one day, you won't regret that choice.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

God course

1    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All of the tee boxes are marked. Baskets are very nice and show the hole number on each basket.
Cons: Cant say any really bad other than the grass needs to be cut and some trash picked up. But other than that the course plays very good.
Other Thoughts: Good course to practice your short game.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Jump in de line, rock your body in time

1    9/22/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: giles
Played: 147  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked this course, it has a lot going for it. The park itself is very nice and beautifully maintained. Aside from disc golf it features playground equipment and a splash pad, a huge plus for those of us who take their family disc golfing. The terrain was conducive to a baby stroller or disc cart. A majority of the course plays under a canopy of trees offering both obstacles and, more importantly, shade from the sun. The hole designs offer an interesting mix from the wide open hole 1 to the nerve racking tee shot on 4 where a bad kick will send you OB on a 400' shot. The course rewards skilled players with 3 of the holes requiring a very difficult right turning long throw to card a 2 with offline shots going ob. The course also give plenty of opportunity for a moderately skilled player to card a 2 with a well executed shot. Unlike many 9 hole courses, Sonora park does a good job of showing the mix of shots that disc golf courses can offer. The course plays quick with a adequate flow from basket to tee. The tee boxes were good enough for me, but concrete would be an improvement. The signage lacked information but did the job. I think anything more is overkill for a one tee, one pin course (though it was misleading on holes 3 & 6).
Cons: If a course offers nothing but big hyzers on every hole is it a con? I think so. When a course has no big righty hyzers is it a con? I don't think so but it is worth a mention that this course has none that I could see. The fence that comes into play on 2,3,4 is short and electric. It really comes into play on hole 4 with an errant shot or a bad kick off a tree. A tall chain link fence would be an improvement along this fairway, otherwise I see lot of trespassing or disc fishing over the fence.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great example of what disc golf can do for a city. It will introduce more people to the game of disc golf and get them outside exercising. It uses an otherwise unused area. It will increase traffic to the park, and increased traffic tends to discourage vandalism or other illegal activities that may happen in a secluded park. As a 9 hole course it will not realise the heavy traffic and economic benefits from outside the area that an 18 hole course enjoys with weekly league play or sanctioned tournaments.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive for 9 good holes

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: mmoorman12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Would give a full 4.0 (excellent) with tee box upgrade, but still very nice course. Simple but requires technical shots. Excellent use of small space. Go play this course!
Cons: 3 was kind of hard to find but earlier reviews here at dgcr saved us. Concrete tees would be nice, but a little dirt never hurt anyone.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little course

2-4    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked (for the most part)
New Baskets
Very nice parking and nice park
Wide variety of holes for a 9 holes course.
Cons: Dirt Tee Boxes
Tee markers are not placed very well, #4 is right in the middle of where the tee should have been.
Several of the holes area little close to private property or the creek.
Other Thoughts: Hole by hole review
#1 Boring hole next to the parking lot. There are literally no trees in this fairway, the only obstical is the parking lot on the right and the trees behind the basket (if you over throw this 300ft hole)
#2 nice little turnover shot. The tee sign is backwards. My biggest problem with this hole is the private property right near the basket. Throw a turnover shot too tight and you are over a fence that is electrified.
#3 the BEST hole on the course. It plays slightly downhill to the right (not the basket on the left) You can't actually see the basket from the tee (at least I couldn't. The basket in on the side of a small hill which makes it a little harder. The fence line is far enough away on this hole that it really takes an errant shot to throw over it.
#4 The Tee sign is smack in the middle of where the tee box should be. That makes this hole a tight 350ft shot with the fence line on the right and if you hyzer out left you will be in the creek and loose your disc (well, at least I did) The fairway gets pretty tight by the baskt which is literally on the bank of the creek. I did not like the placement of this basket, move it over 50ft and this would be a much better hole.
#5 A GREAT little hole with the creek on the right. I actually had a birdie putt on the second round with a great tee shot here.
#6 Another 300+ shot with the basket a little close to the creek. Don't turn it over too much or you will loose your disc.
#7 Nice tight pitch and putt hole. Don't over throw it too much or you will be in the creek.
#8 Another pitch and putt hole that is not nearly as tight as #7. This is a short little ace run.
#9 Nice bird run for the last hole. It has a nice clean right to left fairway that is perfect for my Roc.

In all, I played this course the first round and enjoyed it enough to play a second round before heading back for Thanksgiving.

I will be playing here again for sure. This is actually a pretty good course if you know how to stay out of trouble.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Expectations

1    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: TexRex
Played: 52  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Easy to get to in the Metroplex. Nice layout with a good mix of challenging shots and dangers.
Cons: Young course, still being built, no tee pads.
Only 9 holes but hey, go around twice.
Other Thoughts: This course promises to be an excellent course when completed and settled in.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.