Kennedale, TX
Sonora Park Share
Uploaded By: TexRex Hole #4 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 383ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket: Moved to the left of this old location and futher from the creek.



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  GOOD COURSE

5+    1/8/2012   1/19/2012
Review By: ciriloocampo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: If you have a big cannon and are needing a course that will mold your accuracy to perfection this is it.
Cons: The water is murky...Don't go OB
Other Thoughts: I really like this course, it is easy to shoot good if you dont miss your lines. If you do the short holes can easily become a 4.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little course

2-4    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked (for the most part)
New Baskets
Very nice parking and nice park
Wide variety of holes for a 9 holes course.
Cons: Dirt Tee Boxes
Tee markers are not placed very well, #4 is right in the middle of where the tee should have been.
Several of the holes area little close to private property or the creek.
Other Thoughts: Hole by hole review
#1 Boring hole next to the parking lot. There are literally no trees in this fairway, the only obstical is the parking lot on the right and the trees behind the basket (if you over throw this 300ft hole)
#2 nice little turnover shot. The tee sign is backwards. My biggest problem with this hole is the private property right near the basket. Throw a turnover shot too tight and you are over a fence that is electrified.
#3 the BEST hole on the course. It plays slightly downhill to the right (not the basket on the left) You can't actually see the basket from the tee (at least I couldn't. The basket in on the side of a small hill which makes it a little harder. The fence line is far enough away on this hole that it really takes an errant shot to throw over it.
#4 The Tee sign is smack in the middle of where the tee box should be. That makes this hole a tight 350ft shot with the fence line on the right and if you hyzer out left you will be in the creek and loose your disc (well, at least I did) The fairway gets pretty tight by the baskt which is literally on the bank of the creek. I did not like the placement of this basket, move it over 50ft and this would be a much better hole.
#5 A GREAT little hole with the creek on the right. I actually had a birdie putt on the second round with a great tee shot here.
#6 Another 300+ shot with the basket a little close to the creek. Don't turn it over too much or you will loose your disc.
#7 Nice tight pitch and putt hole. Don't over throw it too much or you will be in the creek.
#8 Another pitch and putt hole that is not nearly as tight as #7. This is a short little ace run.
#9 Nice bird run for the last hole. It has a nice clean right to left fairway that is perfect for my Roc.

In all, I played this course the first round and enjoyed it enough to play a second round before heading back for Thanksgiving.

I will be playing here again for sure. This is actually a pretty good course if you know how to stay out of trouble.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 These Baskets Are Almost Skinny Dipping

1    6/24/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 207  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a creek, woods, and an open hole. The tee signs are ok, except #2, which is showing the opposite direction. The signs give the general direction of the hole, footage, and hole number. The baskets are nice and in great shape. The grass/dirt tee pads are in good condition. The trees in the wooded section here are fun to navigate. The wooded areas are absolutely beautiful. Navigation here is real easy. Parking is fantastic and the course is very clean.
Cons: With half the holes being some kind of risk/reward with a drop off to water near the basket, it becomes redundant. Having one or two of these on a course is a challenge, but when there is a bunch of them, it takes away from the enjoyment of the course. There is not much of a variety of hole lengths here. Hole #1 seems to be in an odd spot considering where the parking is. If I come back here, starting on #2 is just easier and it ends you back up at the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor is a not that good. The woods are nice, but having water right behind the basket on so many holes, will take the fun out of it. It limits you from enjoying the drives and the entire middle of the course (which is the cool part of the course). I probably won't come back here unless they make some updates to these pin placements. I do understand this course is still under some construction, but my rating is on the permanent things.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  beautiful park

1    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: dpg.sa@live.com
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park is beautiful... Easy to find. Very low traffic due to its newness. Tight at most spots. Offers technical shots.
Cons: Layout has too many trees in play that make a few holes un-playable. Yes its new however it lacks forsight in the planning. I do not advocate cutting down trees. I only advocate a touch of common sense in the placement of the holes. You are fighting with being in a private fenced ranch 15 feet from chain placement or fighting a methane swamp.
Other Thoughts: About the creek. DONT GET IN. I lost a 167 boss with phone number and reward if by chance you decide to get in and find it. Holes 5 and 6 suck. Sorry to the designers, I know your left with limits to the set-up. More should have been near the pond. All and all I want to like it. Its 2.8 miles from my house. If your looking for D.Goss you will find me at another course. I would not and will not recommend to friends.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sanora Park Rundown!!!

1    4/12/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Hole variety -- long, short, open, treed, rights and lefts
-Lots of shade
-Hazard variety -- OB fenced propety, road, water.
-Great surrounding park
-Clean
-Lots of parking
Cons: -No pads
-No signs
-Very muddy when wet
-Looks as though they're still doing a lot of construction out there (park construction)
-Currently, there is ton of poison ivy on the banks of the creek as well as other places on the course, so be careful!!!

Other Thoughts: Being that this is a BRAND NEW course, there's still a lot of cleaning up of the course to do -- brush, poison ivy, tall grass, etc. BUT this is to be expected guys and gals when courses start blossoming. NO course started out top-notch.

Great little course with variety. Front starts out fairly easy and wide open, then some of the holes blow-up for some killer difficulty though trees and along creeks.

This course has great potential and can't wait to play it again.

Makes for a nice warm-up round before playing near-by courses: Veterans, Bicentennial, Z-Boaz, Greenbriar.

Keep your eyes on this course everyone!!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Another great nine holes in the Metroplex.

2-4    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: FallenOak
Played: 95  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While it starts out fairly easy, the second half can be quite challenging. Great place to hone hitting lines and practicing shot placement. This course will entertain all skill levels from beginner to advanced. Beautiful park has restrooms, water fountains, play ground, water park and a pond. Kid friendly and dog friendly.
Cons: We've all played a new course so I won't waste your time telling you about dirt tees and no signage, it's easy to figure it out. Watch for foot traffic on sidewalks.
Other Thoughts:
1. Decent opening hole as it is only a 275-300 ft field shot (fyi my sense of distance can be off at times so take all my yardages with a grain of salt) with no obstacles. A RHBH hyzer route will have to carry the parking lot while being mindful of the consistent South wind. Briar "rough" with slight drop off 15 feet past basket punishes long throws.

2. ~300 foot dog leg right with plenty of room on the left and a well defined rough on the right. Left to right cross wind. Skinny routes on the right will have to contend with a handful of trees along the right side of the fairway.

3. Another left to right hole, found a RHFH over stable hyzer seemed to work well. Maybe 150 feet? Downward elevation change 15 feet before basket so any drive that comes short will have to deal with a downhill putt. Basket protected off the box by a few small trees in front and long drives will have to deal with a fir on their comeback putt.

4. Another short dinker hole, only this time with a fairway congested with trees (imagine a PuttPutt version of Gateway). Less than 100 feet. Pasture fence on right adds element of O.B. (the fence appears to have an electric component to it if the stroke penalty wasn't enough to deter you from crossing it).

5. Great hole, split fairway that will hopefully teach someone who doesn't know how, to thrown an "s" shot. I'd put it around 400 feet. Any errant shots or redirects to the right will flirt with the fence O.B. again. Slight elevation drop to basket which has a creek ~40 feet behind it, again punishing deep shots. This is the hole which cements the fact that the course designer s knew what they were doing and executed it well.

6. Just about shares the fairway with six as this is the turnaround hole. ~400 feet. Creek on right. Watch for bees in the gnarly tree in the center of the fairway just off the box. Like the previous hole, this hole demands shot placement. Straight fair way with a slight dogleg right 70 feet from the basket. Basket well protected by small grove of trees with sidewalk O.B. right/behind.

7. Was not sure exactly where the pad would be for this hole, so we played what we thought looked like the line desired by the designers. A longer, ~375 feet, left to right. Plays over creek with a low ceiling/tunnel (the first time around we went 3 for 3 into the drink : ). Once over the creek, the fairway widens into what appears to possibly be temporary parking for the ball fields (there was a dude chillin in a mini van on the right side of the fairway so keep an eye out). Creek does follow right side of fairway and again will come into play on deep up shots.

8. The course shortens up again here. 100-125 feet. Either a RHFH hyzer or RBBH putter turn shot with just a touch of fade. Rough on right and downhill elevation past the basket.

9. This was the only confusion we found on the course. There were two posts between the basket for eight and the basket for nine. We weren't sure if they were long/short for nine or possible the extra was an alt. for seven? So, 9 long; 350-375 feet, congested fairway on left, dry creek bed along right which appears the easiest route to the basket. 9 short; 275ish feet. RHBH hyzer route to basket. O.B. fence on right comes into play from both boxes.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Expectations

1    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: TexRex
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Easy to get to in the Metroplex. Nice layout with a good mix of challenging shots and dangers.
Cons: Young course, still being built, no tee pads.
Only 9 holes but hey, go around twice.
Other Thoughts: This course promises to be an excellent course when completed and settled in.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.