Lula, GA 
North Georgia Canopy Tours Share
Uploaded By: marc Hole #3 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good

1    7/1/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2014
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -well maintained
-nice clean multiple tees, often with brooms handy
-good intermediate course, with many holes being friendly to natural disc fade and pretty wide fairways on the wooded holes.
-very pretty, and quiet.. Except for kids on the zip line, which sounds fun. I was the only person playing on the Monday morning that I went.

Cons: -though I think this course is great for beginners/intermediate players, do be prepared to thrash through some heavy underbrush when you get off the fairway. Not a flaw in the course, but unpleasant..
-though there were some really fun holes to throw, but there were more that were unremarkable. I played from the longs and felt that a course considered to be a championship course should be more challenging and varied.
Other Thoughts: I did like the chicken shack hole way more than I thought I would. The sound of a disc flying inside a room is really interesting, and its a harder hole to birdie than I expected.

I was disappointed that the small pond behind hole 5 wasn't in play.. It's a perfect size for an easily clearable hazard that would totally change the feel of this part of the course. It would be great to tee off on hole 5 from behind the pond.. Much better than throwing across an open (for now, trees have been planted) field.

I did enjoy playing here, and the $5 fee is totally worth it. It just didn't really make me want to play a second round though, which is too bad, considering that it's pretty far out from the city.

*update*
Keith emailed me after my review and challenged me to play the course again as he felt I must have missed something by being a newer player. I was back in Atlanta visiting family and played the course twice more. I raised my rating because having played more courses in the past year I do appreciate the care given to the course. However, I definitely stand by my opinion that there is very little variety of shot required... Many other reviewers felt differently, but I don't see it. I threw a -3 from the long tees, and on 1,2,3,4,5,7,8,9,10,12,13,15,16,18 I threw a straight drive with the only variable being whether it was a putter (1,2,8) or a distance hyper flip (4,5,9,10,12,13,15,18) or a hyper flip that would fade a bit at the end (3,7). There's also elevation change on some of those holes, but the shots aren't remotely different enough to feel varied. Holes 6,11, and 17 stand out so much because they require precise disc placement and are more like putting golf shots together than throwing the obvious shot through the obvious clearing.

I did enjoy the course again, and will certainly be back.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Not too beginner friendly

1    9/28/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: GavinSexton
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very technical and challenging, concrete tees, new baskets. Clean fairways.
Cons: Heavy shrubbery next to fairways (thorns, AND LOTS OF THEM, vines, poison oak and ivy). Muddy in places, after rain for a few days.

Other Thoughts: I think this would be a great pro course. But it was to difficult for me and my friend. We have just started and are beginners. We lost a total of three discs (2 of which we found, then lost, while playing).

I can almost guarantee loosing a disc here at some point.

Be prepared to walk and take at least 2 hours. Its a long long course. I'm not saying this is a bad thing. Just a warning

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Strong course; great potential

1    5/7/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: bholy08
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Several pros that stand out:
1) memorable shots; legitimate par 5 on hole six, and a beautiful 15, and of course the chicken coop hole 12.
2) good variety...almost every hole has a unique feel (see cons for a couple of holes that lack some character)
3) great elevation changes; easier holes like 1 and 3 are much more entertaining due to downhill shots...and the tougher holes have difficult uphill looks that require a variety of shot selections.
4) good signage...first time out and didn't have any trouble navigating other than from 9 to 10.
5) multiple tees; almost every hole has a pro and rec tee pad that both offer a challenging game to their target player.
6) practice basket; nice touch right on the way to tee 1 or after the 18th basket...
Cons: Most of the cons are due to the courses newness so keep the date in mind as you read these.
1) tough foliage; several of the fairways were cut out of thick brush and some of the obvious areas that miss throws will end up are covered in weeds, thistles and some poison ivy.
2) dirty fairways; by this I mean many of the fairways were bull dosed so the soil is pretty loose and earthy. Some rain or early morning dew (my scenario) makes a mess.
3) no trash bins; not a big deal to me personally because I never have anything to throw out, but know its a concern for many.
4) no restrooms; other than the main facility there are no other options and considering the length of the course that could be an issue.
5) pay to play; didn't see this on any previous reviews but when I stopped by the office for a score card I found out that it was $5 per person (this could be avoided by skipping the office altogether, hint!)
6) the 17th is still in need of tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course 3.5 but believe that it could easily be a 4.0. As this course matures I feel that it will be a solid, challenging and memorable dg venue. As of now it could use some work but definitely still worth the time!

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  DG in Lula GA

2-4    5/2/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: jimiwater
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Private course located in Lula, GA.

Great long course that is very private and player friendly.
Cons: Needs alot more folks to come up and play...couple of years and this will be a master course.
Other Thoughts: An additional 9 more holes will be welcomed.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    4/23/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: The Doctor
Played: 61  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Am and Pro tee pads
2. THE CHICKEN COOP HOLE
3. Platform tee pads on hillsides to keep a level pad
4. Holes have signs
5. Score card with distances and accurate map
6. Nice and helpful staff
7. Im from Michigan and the locals invited me to shoot with them...Good People up there
8. ITS PRIVATE...no jakes
9. I went on a Saturday and saw only one other group
10. Lots of variations in shot selection, elevation, and distance.
11. Beautiful Land
Cons: 1. New course so its not to defined yet
2. still some brush that needs to be trimmed back from the launch pads to give the shooter more room.
3. its hard to think of more cons. I had a great time
Other Thoughts: I had an awesome time at this course today. Its going to be a Championship course in a few years. It just needs to get worked in. The chicken coop hole was a highlight of my day. I have not seen a hole like that before. I only rated it a 3.5 because its so new...in 2 years its easily a 4 or 4.5...no question. I am visiting my sister in Symrna(ATL) and it was well worth the 60 mile drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.