Lula, GA 
North Georgia Canopy Tours Share
Uploaded By: marc Hole #3 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well done!

1    9/7/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Secluded course with 18 holes and dual tee pads for each one. Concrete pads at most holes with a few wooden decks mixed in. Good signs at each hole showing basket positions and length. Also plenty of next tee signs to keep you on the right path.

Excellent hole length variety. Holes ranging from 180' all the way to 810'. Also a nice mix of wooded hole and open holes. There is something for everyone here.

Multiple basket positions. So the layout and angles may change the level of difficulty depending on what the set up is when you play here.

All fairways are cleared well, and offer clear defined paths to the basket. Only the shorter holes have lines that could be considered overly tight.

Good use of elevation. There are up hills and down hills. There is also several basket positions on hill sides to add to the challenge for approaches and putts. Nothing gets monotonous or repetitive.

Nice facilities with cold drinks, clothes and discs. Cool looking building that you can hang out in and have a snack or watch some TV. Camping on site also. Multiple zip lines if you need another reason to come here.
Cons: A couple of the wooden tee pads are a little slippery. I was told that once they have some steady dry weather they will treat them with some coating that will fix the problem.

Lots of straight shots with limited line shaping tests. Seemed as if there were many straight shots and then the basket positioned just left or right of the fairway center line.

Rough can be punishing in spots. Fairways offer plenty of room, but get off and you are in some thick vines, weeds and brush.

A few of the steep hilly fairways could use some stairs to help with the climbs and help with erosion.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that offers a lot of good holes. There is some nice wooded down hill ace runs, and some longer bombs. There are some uphill shots and even the famous indoor hole complete with a vending machine at the end.

Hole 6 was probably my favorite. It combines about 650' of open field with a dog left left and then about a 150' up hill shot through the woods. I love holes that combine a couple different elements like that.

The first few holes are short wooded holes that offer some nice ace chances. But don't let the start fool you, this course has plenty of length, and plenty of chances to get yourself in trouble.

The best way I can explain this course is that if Stan McDaniel was in a really good mood one day, this is something he might design. It has some long wooded holes with punishing rough. It just doesn't have the holes with the landing zones and extremely tight gaps. You are punished for mistakes here, but it doesn't seem like it was designed to intentionally put you through the ringer. I guess I would classify it as tough, but very fair. Play clean and you are OK. Plus there are no holes where I thought the lines were too tight or that contained trees in the middle of the fairway.

This course if definitely worth playing, even if it's a little out of the way. Keep in mind that it gets pretty hot in a Georgia summer, and this course has some steep hills and long open walks. Bring good shoes and plenty of water.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Big time fun!

1    8/11/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, this course is definitely a must-play destination type of course. It's very cool to be incorporated with the canopy tour, but the course stands on its own as sweet.

The hole variety, beauty, and challenge are all top-notch. You will definitely need a wide variety of shots in your bag, plus patience and endurance to score well here. I played one round from the longs and one round from the shorts and will probably play the shorts again next time as those longs are very long and tough.

This course is never boring with long holes, short holes, all kinds of curves and elevation, tight lines, and more open bombs.

The course is just a hair behind my favorite course, Steady Ed.
Cons: The rough is very rough in places and it is tough to find your disc at times. The walk is a bit grueling and there are times when it's hard to keep your footing going up and down hills at angles.
Other Thoughts: A definite must-play in Georgia. I can't wait to play this course again someday.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tired

1    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: willyb943
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We had a blast. It was a great workout for us. The change from playing in the open to trees and then in the chicken coop.And having a drink machine was nice at the chicken coop. We hope to play again soon.
Cons: It would be nice to have some sort of steps up and down the steep hills.
Other Thoughts: Even being a two hour drive from where we live i look forward to playing again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 top notch course!

1    3/28/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - peaceful, creative, challenging, demanding, diversified; simply a disc golf paradise.

- friendly staff, useful map/scorecard, worth every bit of the $5 they charge. Nice benches.

- Long holes, short holes, wide open holes, skinny technical holes, lefty holes, righty holes, downhill / uphill holes.

- short pads available to try to take it easy on the beginners on such a demanding course.

- well marked and flow is easy enough to follow. Excellent use of terrain which will force you to vary your shot selection quite a bit.

- prestine scenery allowing for some picturesque fairways.

- a chicken coop hole with a soda machine.
Cons: - nasty thorns in the rough.

- I would not say it's a major issue, but there are a few holes in which some better defined pathways on steep sections and more use of steps where applicable can help lower risk of injury. Holes 3 (downhill) & 6 (uphill) come to mind on this issue.
Other Thoughts: This course was amazing in every regard. It was not just a typical round of disc golf, but more like an entire disc golf experience. I played solo with the entire course to myself and I still had a great relaxing round. This course is worth the drive if you are passing through north GA.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 I Love Lula

1    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North Georgia Canopy Tour has installed an extreme disc golf dream course. Every hole is difficult in one or more respects (usually more). Radical elevation changes, thick punishing rough, long distance, tricky lines through woods, protected or hilly pin placements, water, and an indoor hole can all be found on the course. Awesome mix of challenging throws and different looks make for several memorable holes offered. Only consistent quality shots will keep you close to par. Number 12 is a one of a kind for me so far. It is in an old barn, chicken coop, or something, that it maybe 50 feet wide, 25 feet tall at the roofs peak, and 400 feet long. Straight shot nearly all the way from one end to the other.

All of the necessary equipment is in good shape. Almost all holes have two tees, either concrete pads or decks, with signs mapping the hole with distance. The Discatchers are good as new, and a practice basket. Signs do well locating direction of next tees.
Cons: The wind was constant 20 MPH the duration of my round while I was there, making it even harder. This course kicked my butt, and I was OK with it. Definitely not beginner friendly, not even recreationally friendly. Traversing the steep slopes may be too much for anyone unable to withstand a moderately strenuous hike. Cost is $5, and the high winds discouraged me from getting my moneys worth by playing a second round.
Other Thoughts: This would be a fun place to spend a weekend. Of course disc golf is the main attraction (to me anyway), but there is also a zip line tour and camping on the same grounds. Playing this course again is something I would be happy to do (preferably without the wind). If you're a serious disc golfer, I would suggest you check this one out if you're able. It's worth the trip. Similar to Stoney Hill or All Terrain Disc Golf in South Carolina.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 NGCT

1    2/10/2012   2/14/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2012
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The North Georgia Canopy Tour in Lula, Georgia presents a very challenging par 61 course. Set in the scenic foothills of the North Georgia Mountains, it features varied terrain with plenty of elevation changes. Multiple tee pads give players of different skill levels options while multiple pin placements keep things fresh. Tight fairways, natural obstacles, and even an abandoned chicken house on hole twelve help define the course. Long holes that demand accurate drives, precise upshots and in general lots of smart golf add to the challenge. A few shorter holes, wooded holes, and tunnel shots are sprinkled in and just add to the variety. Overall you'll battle through twelve par 3's, five par 4's and one par 5. Four holes have you playing near or along a creek so getting wet a few times is possible as well.

The course is fully stocked with all the bells and whistles. As mentioned, duel tee pads (short and long) are on each hole. Most of them are very roomy concrete pads with a nice rough surface. A couple of the holes where there are very steep grades required wooden decks for tee pads. While not typical, they do the job. Great signs at each tee are here too. Although they don't have the newly installed alternate pin placements printed on them, makeshift indicators and distances were added and work just fine. Next tee signs are set around the course and help with some already pretty easy navigation. There are plenty of homemade benches throughout the course and they serve their purpose well especially after some of the arduous uphill walks. I also thought the burlap trash bags hung from trees with carabiners were a nice touch. Brand new Innova DISCatchers on all 18 holes are very familiar to most and of course they're very easy to spot in the woods.

The course has some interesting sights too. The first thing you'll notice is the zip line course that's visible throughout a lot of the course. Cables, towers, and occasional zip liners themselves add to the atmosphere. There are a few ponds visible from the tees but they really aren't in play. The windmill beside hole six's tee pad was an interesting addition too. I also noticed an old (probably 40's model) car that found its resting place tucked in the woods behind 14's basket. I actually thought it was pretty cool sitting back there. Probably the most memorable feature on the course was the before mentioned chicken house. It's roughly a 40'x 450' building just 6' tall on each end and maybe 20' tall at its peak. The basket rings up at about 365' from the long pad. Definitely easier said than done! You'll want to throw several on this hole for sure.
Cons: Getting off the fairway can be grueling on some holes. The well defined fairways are great but just don't stray. A really bad tee shot could earn you two or three extra strokes and probably even a little time searching for a disc.

I've not played this course in the Georgia heat yet but I can imagine that the hills will take their toll on those not in the best of shape (me).

The course is somewhat out of the way and most folks (those coming from the northern metro Atlanta area) will have close to an hour or more drive to the course. No restaurants, gas stations, etc. are near the course either.
Other Thoughts: I felt like $5 to play was well worth it and actually a bargain. After all, there's a friendly staff, a building that could dub as a club house, clean bathrooms, ample parking, and most importantly a great course. I also like the fact that you can make a weekend trip out of it if you are interested in zip lining too. There are a couple of lodging options including teepees and camping.

The course is a great tournament course too. Look for a pretty big scoring spread on a lot of the holes. Although there are a few holes where big arms have the advantage, key placement of shots will yield the best score in the long run.

I would put this up with the very top courses in the Atlanta area. I'm giving it a 4 but I could easily give it a 4.5 too. If you are looking for a truly challenging course with good variety and something a little different than what Atlanta has to offer then this is a must play in my view. Enjoy!

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've ever played

1    2/2/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 142  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course was an orgasm from hole to hole. Beautiful Northern Georgia, in the mountains. A ziplining course runs through the same private property.
This course creates tricky and clever shots... best of all, they're shots you've never seen before! The changes in elevation are incredible. The course is extremely well-manicured; with steps, benches, defined pathways, next tee signs, water stations, and trash cans. The course was well-cut (not overgrown).
Cons: The course is a good hike and will leave most players tired at the end. Retrieving some discs that leave the fairway may be a little dangerous on the steep hillsides
Other Thoughts: Hole #12 plays inside of a building! I love it

5 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Hilly Course

2-4    11/6/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This private pay to play course is one of Georgia's must play courses. The course is located in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains and is one of the most beautiful courses in the Southeast. The park has been designed to give the canopy tour guest a quiet solitude while they travel through the tree tops of an Appalachian Mountain forest. The course is designed so that it will not disturb the canopy tour guest. Because of this the course is located away from other park activities. The course is mostly wooded with plenty of elevation change, with a wide variety of holes. One hole is located inside of a former chicken house. The park has a pro shop, snack bar and a very friendly staff. I most recently played the course from the short tees this fall. The course is absolutely stunning in the fall and the short tees offer you an energy conserving round. The short tees will give you a different look at the course with a lot of fun shots. The baskets, tee pads and signs are in excellent condition.

Cons: The elevation change can be a bit grueling in the summer. However a Coke machine is available on hole twelve.

Other Thoughts: I consider this course to be one of the three must play disc golf destinations in Georgia (Flyboy, The International Disc Golf Center and the North Georgia Canopy Tour).

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Simply Amazing

1    11/25/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: dustinj1981
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The place is awesome! It has a great mix of hills/mountainous terrain and some flat ground. Great mix of woods and open holes. Awesome long and short shots. The chicken coop was interesting for sure! I could go on all day about this place, but you really have to see it for yourself.
Cons: If you go in the fall, like I did, it can be a bit tricky walking up and down the steep hill sides, with all the leaves on the ground. Be sure you have good foot wear.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is because nothing is perfect.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ga's newest Gem

2-4    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: Dollar26045
Played: 135  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.2 Years
11 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Solid Design - good mix of long and short. CLEAN FAIRWAYS!!!! A Very VALID Course.

Beautiful Land - Lots of elevation change, nice mix of woods and open, up and down, and left and right

2 sets of concrete Tees - I only played the longs

New Disccatchers

The chicken ShaQ (with drink machines)

Friendly People

Zip Lining and Canopy Tours on site! Also Camping and TeePee rentals!

Exercise!
Cons: While the hills are pretty, they do require some serious hiking up and down the "lil mountain."

While the fairways are CLEAN, the rough is thick with shule. A very good player will have little to no issues staying on the fairway most of the time.

It also gets a little windy up there.

BIGGEST CON- Is that I dont live there and can't play it all the time
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best new course in GA since Flyboy. It also easily breaks into the Top 5 of GA courses.

It's an excellent weekend getaway with Disc Golf, Zip Line tours, and camping on site.

I have played over 100 courses around the country and won Pro Tournaments in 7 different states, and this is only the 2nd course I have ever felt strongly enough about to review.

I hope enough disc golfers venture out to NGCT to show the owners what a special disc golf course they have created.

11 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.