Lula, GA 
North Georgia Canopy Tours Share
Uploaded By: marc Hole #2 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Beautiful Hilly Course

2-4    11/6/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This private pay to play course is one of Georgia's must play courses. The course is located in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains and is one of the most beautiful courses in the Southeast. The park has been designed to give the canopy tour guest a quiet solitude while they travel through the tree tops of an Appalachian Mountain forest. The course is designed so that it will not disturb the canopy tour guest. Because of this the course is located away from other park activities. The course is mostly wooded with plenty of elevation change, with a wide variety of holes. One hole is located inside of a former chicken house. The park has a pro shop, snack bar and a very friendly staff. I most recently played the course from the short tees this fall. The course is absolutely stunning in the fall and the short tees offer you an energy conserving round. The short tees will give you a different look at the course with a lot of fun shots. The baskets, tee pads and signs are in excellent condition.

Cons: The elevation change can be a bit grueling in the summer. However a Coke machine is available on hole twelve.

Other Thoughts: I consider this course to be one of the three must play disc golf destinations in Georgia (Flyboy, The International Disc Golf Center and the North Georgia Canopy Tour).

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Simply Amazing

1    11/25/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: dustinj1981
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The place is awesome! It has a great mix of hills/mountainous terrain and some flat ground. Great mix of woods and open holes. Awesome long and short shots. The chicken coop was interesting for sure! I could go on all day about this place, but you really have to see it for yourself.
Cons: If you go in the fall, like I did, it can be a bit tricky walking up and down the steep hill sides, with all the leaves on the ground. Be sure you have good foot wear.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is because nothing is perfect.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ga's newest Gem

2-4    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: Dollar26045
Played: 146  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.5 Years
11 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Solid Design - good mix of long and short. CLEAN FAIRWAYS!!!! A Very VALID Course.

Beautiful Land - Lots of elevation change, nice mix of woods and open, up and down, and left and right

2 sets of concrete Tees - I only played the longs

New Disccatchers

The chicken ShaQ (with drink machines)

Friendly People

Zip Lining and Canopy Tours on site! Also Camping and TeePee rentals!

Cons: While the hills are pretty, they do require some serious hiking up and down the "lil mountain."

While the fairways are CLEAN, the rough is thick with shule. A very good player will have little to no issues staying on the fairway most of the time.

It also gets a little windy up there.

BIGGEST CON- Is that I dont live there and can't play it all the time
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best new course in GA since Flyboy. It also easily breaks into the Top 5 of GA courses.

It's an excellent weekend getaway with Disc Golf, Zip Line tours, and camping on site.

I have played over 100 courses around the country and won Pro Tournaments in 7 different states, and this is only the 2nd course I have ever felt strongly enough about to review.

I hope enough disc golfers venture out to NGCT to show the owners what a special disc golf course they have created.

11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Not too beginner friendly

1    9/28/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: GavinSexton
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very technical and challenging, concrete tees, new baskets. Clean fairways.
Cons: Heavy shrubbery next to fairways (thorns, AND LOTS OF THEM, vines, poison oak and ivy). Muddy in places, after rain for a few days.

Other Thoughts: I think this would be a great pro course. But it was to difficult for me and my friend. We have just started and are beginners. We lost a total of three discs (2 of which we found, then lost, while playing).

I can almost guarantee loosing a disc here at some point.

Be prepared to walk and take at least 2 hours. Its a long long course. I'm not saying this is a bad thing. Just a warning

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun!

1    9/12/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: Subicon
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Well maintained course
-Challenging without being ridiculous
-Chicken. Coop. Hole.
-Good mixture of hole layouts (open, tight, right, left, uphill, downhill, etc)
Cons: -Easy to lose a disc on errant shots (very thick rough)

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course I've Ever Played(so far)

2-4    7/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: DrumPhil
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging, requires a variety of throws, every hole is well designed and maintained, very easy to navigate w/o a map, multiple tees, great variety of elevation, open and wooded holes, great pro course. Very interesting and exciting holes, great scenery, very private and secluded. Never seen cops etc there and never even run to any other players there, for that matter. Chicken coupe is great. Drink machine at the end of the chicken coupe, hole 12($1.25) you will need it. Great workout, felt like I had been on a long hike in the mountains afterwards. I would drive a great distance to play this course, it's a gem.
Cons: Sometimes the grassy field on basket #5 is too high in the summer. If you throw lousy on any of the baskets you will be punished by the thick brush and probably loose a disc or two, not a beginner or even intermediate friendly course. $5 dollars to play(well worth it though) Very hot in the summer unless morning or evening(goes w/o saying)
Other Thoughts: By far the best course I've ever played and is my favorite! I was tempted to give it a 5 disc rating, it's that good.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A really great Course

2-4    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: Matt
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great mix of lengths and lines and numerous memorable holes. This is definitely a great course for tournament play because there is a lot of room for scoring separation and it provides a challenge. This is because it really rewards good shots with it's moderately tight but completely fair fairways and punishes poor throws with it's thick rough. Par 4's and 5's are typically my favorite holes and this course's have been designed well with nice landing zones and some technical approaches. Finally, another big plus is that there are much more relatively flat and downhill drives than there are uphill drives.
Cons: Several walks between holes are a bit long, and up the these hills that can wear you down.

Thick rough can make it hard to find errant throws.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't require a big arm to score well but does require moderate distance. Big arms may be able to get a couple long eagle putts on the short pins though if they are accurate too.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Best Hole in Georgia!

1    5/25/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: DJ Drago
Played: 152  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chicken Coop Hole - GREAT, GREAT hole that words or pictures cannot do justice. I love crazy holes more than most (Hippodrome is my second favorite course), so I was really looking forward to this one, although I feared it would be a little "out there", even for me. The truth is, in person, the hole is not gimmicky at all. It was 95 degrees of oppressive heat but the Coop was surprisingly cool and pleasant and even had a Coke machine inside with ICE COLD sodas, PowerAdes and waters as an added bonus. With all apologizes to #3 at Flyboy and #1 at Steady Ed, this hole is the new signature hole in Georgia.

Individual Hole Design - Very unique holes. The designer asked a lot of questions that I was not used to answering: Extreme downhill, uphill with low ceiling, drives requiring short exact placement over distance. There really isn't a throw-away hole on the course (maybe #5) but my highlights were:

#1 - Fun, short downhiller with a very straight shot required.

#3 - Tricky hole plays big-time downhill. No room to throw a spike, or even a subtle hyzer.

#6 - Placement is key to get in position to make an approach on this Par 5. If you haven't played it before take a walk up to look at the basket once you hit the mouth of the gap. The green is much more treacherous than it appears on the bottom.

#8 - Just a beautiful short par 3, would be the signature hole on virtually any course without a Chicken Coop.

#11 - Brains over brawn par 4. Scores could range from an easy 3 to a frustrating 6 if the drive is not placed properly in the gap. Twenty feet left, long, or right is no man's land.

#12 - See Chicken Coop above

#13 - Steep downhiller reminded me of a ski-slope hole with the power lines even mimicking the chair lift.

Amenities - Perfect new Innova baskets, level and long tee-pads, nice tee-signs on every hole. You cannot overstate how nice the facility is: Spacious and cool with clean restrooms, friendly staff, and a much needed supply of beverages. In an ideal world would have been great to circle back here after each 9.

Cons: The sign on #6 is misleading. The sign depicts the basket to be further than the weather-vane. In actuality, the gap to the basket is in front of the weather-vane. My group overshot the gap because of the sign (and it was too damn hot to do a lot of extra walking and look), and replayed our shots when seeing the basket placement.

Right to left shots - Is the designer of this course a big anhyzer thrower? Not sure if it was an aberration of our particular rounds, but for me and my playing partner, a firebird or any over stable plastic never left the bag. Don't recall a hole where being a forehand or lefty player would have been an advantage; ideal shots were dead straight or RBH anhyzer with a fade finish. Course appears to be missing one (or two) good hyzer "meat hook" hole. Clearing the area to the right of the #10 green and moving the #10 tee-pad to the right and near the Chicken Coop exit would be my answer.

Tough Hike - especially in the summer heat. Could have used a shaded bench or two, particularly after hole #6 to #7 uphill trek.

Other Thoughts: All the fairways widths seemed... fair, but five feet off the fairway is absolutely brutal in most spots. Not a fault of the designer at all, but wear long socks if you plan on missing a fairway. Everyone in my group was bleeding at the end of this round.

Navigation is not really an issue, and a total non-issue after your first round. Still, the "next hole" signs (present on probably ever hole) were frustratingly small and hard to spot at times. The map provided at the clubhouse was very accurate and helped in the two tough transitions (#4 to #5 and #9 to #10).

The wooden deck style tee-pads on some holes are exceptional and obviously took a great deal of time and care. That being said, I felt nervous on the 14th tee-pad and detected a little give between base boards. I am 250+ lbs., but a couple of more 2x4s for support might be needed.

Flow of course was strange in that the two biggest uphill tee-shots were #16 (another really good hole) and #18. The only other uphill hole (#9) is much more restrained. Felt weird to end round this way.

Overall, this was a great experience and I cannot wait to play the course again in the cooler months of the year. Definitely a future threat to Flyboy and the IDGC courses for Georgia's number one course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Fun

1    5/30/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: Ghazlehurst
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Wide use of terrain and diversity of holes both on distance and openness. Well laid out with plenty of sign-age. Overall, I was really impressed with the course and it is worth a drive to play.
Cons: Underbrush is creeping back and it was HOT!
Other Thoughts: This will be on my regular rotation in the fall, Winter, and Spring. (Summer is to hot). the layout rewards good play and punish errant throws.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of a course that gets better daily!

2-4    5/15/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: keith johnson
Played: 186  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **Keep in mind this course is 7 weeks old today (5/27/2011) and this review is being written AFTER several items in other reviewers posts were addressed in the ongoing course refinement on MAY 15th during the spring growth cleaning of the course where ALL fairways were trimmed of overhanging limbs and foliage and areas around the tees and greens were widened and cleaned.**
Dual mostly concrete tees on 16 of the 18 holes [only downhill holes 8 (215 ft) and 14 (318 ft) have 1 tee].
New 11"X17" full graphic tee signs with shorter tee distances next to short tees on Hole map as well as next tee markers were installed on May 14th 2011 for all 18 holes.
Soda/Gatorade/Water vending machine at the halfway point of the Course inside the Chicken Shack (200 ft from Hole 10 Tee)
In keeping with the natural surroundings and Zip line theme, LARGE Burlap trash bags are located in several places on the course attached to the trees with carabineers.
The Command Center now has discs available for sale including custom Zipline logoed discs to have as a nice keepsake momento of your visit.
There are monthly ($20) and Annual ($60) passes available to help save on the $5 daily greens fees if you are planning to play regularly. Random Draw best shot Doubles is being held every 3rd Sunday all year round meeting at the command center deck.
New benches are being installed on several holes before middle of June.
Cons: Cons:
Only restroom is at Command center near Hole 1
**Keeping in mind the newness of the course**
Holes 1, 2, 4 and 14 need mulch to help with potential mud issues if wet.
Not a problem for everyone, but poison Ivy is around on a few holes off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Signature holes:
Hole 6 (a par 5 from both tees) with newly planted trees lining the right side of the fairway to go with the thick woods on the left side of the entire fairway, which also climbs up 2 levels of elevation changes after the turn make shot placement a priority to have the chance at a birdie 4.
Hole 10 Has a view of the mountains in North Carolina from the pro tee.
Hole 12 - The Chicken Shack - enough said!
Hole 13 Has a view from the pro tee of the Georgia mountains.
Hole 15 A picturesque Par 4 hole that crosses the creek with a hillside basket placement
Hole 17 A winding fairway with a generous landing zone from both tees which allows golfers who execute the proper drive and upshot to have a chance at the birdie 3.
Other Thoughts:
No matter the score you are shooting, the screams of excitement from the people on the Zip line tours will keep up your spirits.
Mulch has been added to Holes 16 & 17 and will be added to the other 4 holes (1,2,7, 14) as it is delivered by the Power company.
Rustic, primitive Camping sites and large Teepees with electricity onsite will be available to rent by the end of June, along with a community bathhouse for those out of town visitors looking to make a weekend out of the visit.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.