Lula, GA 
North Georgia Canopy Tours Share
Uploaded By: marc Hole #13 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 445ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Short Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 NGCT

1    2/10/2012   2/14/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 102  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2012
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The North Georgia Canopy Tour in Lula, Georgia presents a very challenging par 61 course. Set in the scenic foothills of the North Georgia Mountains, it features varied terrain with plenty of elevation changes. Multiple tee pads give players of different skill levels options while multiple pin placements keep things fresh. Tight fairways, natural obstacles, and even an abandoned chicken house on hole twelve help define the course. Long holes that demand accurate drives, precise upshots and in general lots of smart golf add to the challenge. A few shorter holes, wooded holes, and tunnel shots are sprinkled in and just add to the variety. Overall you'll battle through twelve par 3's, five par 4's and one par 5. Four holes have you playing near or along a creek so getting wet a few times is possible as well.

The course is fully stocked with all the bells and whistles. As mentioned, duel tee pads (short and long) are on each hole. Most of them are very roomy concrete pads with a nice rough surface. A couple of the holes where there are very steep grades required wooden decks for tee pads. While not typical, they do the job. Great signs at each tee are here too. Although they don't have the newly installed alternate pin placements printed on them, makeshift indicators and distances were added and work just fine. Next tee signs are set around the course and help with some already pretty easy navigation. There are plenty of homemade benches throughout the course and they serve their purpose well especially after some of the arduous uphill walks. I also thought the burlap trash bags hung from trees with carabiners were a nice touch. Brand new Innova DISCatchers on all 18 holes are very familiar to most and of course they're very easy to spot in the woods.

The course has some interesting sights too. The first thing you'll notice is the zip line course that's visible throughout a lot of the course. Cables, towers, and occasional zip liners themselves add to the atmosphere. There are a few ponds visible from the tees but they really aren't in play. The windmill beside hole six's tee pad was an interesting addition too. I also noticed an old (probably 40's model) car that found its resting place tucked in the woods behind 14's basket. I actually thought it was pretty cool sitting back there. Probably the most memorable feature on the course was the before mentioned chicken house. It's roughly a 40'x 450' building just 6' tall on each end and maybe 20' tall at its peak. The basket rings up at about 365' from the long pad. Definitely easier said than done! You'll want to throw several on this hole for sure.
Cons: Getting off the fairway can be grueling on some holes. The well defined fairways are great but just don't stray. A really bad tee shot could earn you two or three extra strokes and probably even a little time searching for a disc.

I've not played this course in the Georgia heat yet but I can imagine that the hills will take their toll on those not in the best of shape (me).

The course is somewhat out of the way and most folks (those coming from the northern metro Atlanta area) will have close to an hour or more drive to the course. No restaurants, gas stations, etc. are near the course either.
Other Thoughts: I felt like $5 to play was well worth it and actually a bargain. After all, there's a friendly staff, a building that could dub as a club house, clean bathrooms, ample parking, and most importantly a great course. I also like the fact that you can make a weekend trip out of it if you are interested in zip lining too. There are a couple of lodging options including teepees and camping.

The course is a great tournament course too. Look for a pretty big scoring spread on a lot of the holes. Although there are a few holes where big arms have the advantage, key placement of shots will yield the best score in the long run.

I would put this up with the very top courses in the Atlanta area. I'm giving it a 4 but I could easily give it a 4.5 too. If you are looking for a truly challenging course with good variety and something a little different than what Atlanta has to offer then this is a must play in my view. Enjoy!

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've ever played

1    2/2/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 166  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course was an orgasm from hole to hole. Beautiful Northern Georgia, in the mountains. A ziplining course runs through the same private property.
This course creates tricky and clever shots... best of all, they're shots you've never seen before! The changes in elevation are incredible. The course is extremely well-manicured; with steps, benches, defined pathways, next tee signs, water stations, and trash cans. The course was well-cut (not overgrown).
Cons: The course is a good hike and will leave most players tired at the end. Retrieving some discs that leave the fairway may be a little dangerous on the steep hillsides
Other Thoughts: Hole #12 plays inside of a building! I love it

5 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Hilly Course

2-4    11/6/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This private pay to play course is one of Georgia's must play courses. The course is located in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains and is one of the most beautiful courses in the Southeast. The park has been designed to give the canopy tour guest a quiet solitude while they travel through the tree tops of an Appalachian Mountain forest. The course is designed so that it will not disturb the canopy tour guest. Because of this the course is located away from other park activities. The course is mostly wooded with plenty of elevation change, with a wide variety of holes. One hole is located inside of a former chicken house. The park has a pro shop, snack bar and a very friendly staff. I most recently played the course from the short tees this fall. The course is absolutely stunning in the fall and the short tees offer you an energy conserving round. The short tees will give you a different look at the course with a lot of fun shots. The baskets, tee pads and signs are in excellent condition.

Cons: The elevation change can be a bit grueling in the summer. However a Coke machine is available on hole twelve.

Other Thoughts: I consider this course to be one of the three must play disc golf destinations in Georgia (Flyboy, The International Disc Golf Center and the North Georgia Canopy Tour).

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Simply Amazing

1    11/25/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: dustinj1981
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The place is awesome! It has a great mix of hills/mountainous terrain and some flat ground. Great mix of woods and open holes. Awesome long and short shots. The chicken coop was interesting for sure! I could go on all day about this place, but you really have to see it for yourself.
Cons: If you go in the fall, like I did, it can be a bit tricky walking up and down the steep hill sides, with all the leaves on the ground. Be sure you have good foot wear.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is because nothing is perfect.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ga's newest Gem

2-4    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: Dollar26045
Played: 146  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.2 Years
11 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Solid Design - good mix of long and short. CLEAN FAIRWAYS!!!! A Very VALID Course.

Beautiful Land - Lots of elevation change, nice mix of woods and open, up and down, and left and right

2 sets of concrete Tees - I only played the longs

New Disccatchers

The chicken ShaQ (with drink machines)

Friendly People

Zip Lining and Canopy Tours on site! Also Camping and TeePee rentals!

Exercise!
Cons: While the hills are pretty, they do require some serious hiking up and down the "lil mountain."

While the fairways are CLEAN, the rough is thick with shule. A very good player will have little to no issues staying on the fairway most of the time.

It also gets a little windy up there.

BIGGEST CON- Is that I dont live there and can't play it all the time
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best new course in GA since Flyboy. It also easily breaks into the Top 5 of GA courses.

It's an excellent weekend getaway with Disc Golf, Zip Line tours, and camping on site.

I have played over 100 courses around the country and won Pro Tournaments in 7 different states, and this is only the 2nd course I have ever felt strongly enough about to review.

I hope enough disc golfers venture out to NGCT to show the owners what a special disc golf course they have created.

11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Not too beginner friendly

1    9/28/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: GavinSexton
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very technical and challenging, concrete tees, new baskets. Clean fairways.
Cons: Heavy shrubbery next to fairways (thorns, AND LOTS OF THEM, vines, poison oak and ivy). Muddy in places, after rain for a few days.

Other Thoughts: I think this would be a great pro course. But it was to difficult for me and my friend. We have just started and are beginners. We lost a total of three discs (2 of which we found, then lost, while playing).

I can almost guarantee loosing a disc here at some point.

Be prepared to walk and take at least 2 hours. Its a long long course. I'm not saying this is a bad thing. Just a warning

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun!

1    9/12/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: Subicon
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Well maintained course
-Challenging without being ridiculous
-Chicken. Coop. Hole.
-Good mixture of hole layouts (open, tight, right, left, uphill, downhill, etc)
Cons: -Easy to lose a disc on errant shots (very thick rough)

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course I've Ever Played(so far)

2-4    7/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: DrumPhil
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging, requires a variety of throws, every hole is well designed and maintained, very easy to navigate w/o a map, multiple tees, great variety of elevation, open and wooded holes, great pro course. Very interesting and exciting holes, great scenery, very private and secluded. Never seen cops etc there and never even run to any other players there, for that matter. Chicken coupe is great. Drink machine at the end of the chicken coupe, hole 12($1.25) you will need it. Great workout, felt like I had been on a long hike in the mountains afterwards. I would drive a great distance to play this course, it's a gem.
Cons: Sometimes the grassy field on basket #5 is too high in the summer. If you throw lousy on any of the baskets you will be punished by the thick brush and probably loose a disc or two, not a beginner or even intermediate friendly course. $5 dollars to play(well worth it though) Very hot in the summer unless morning or evening(goes w/o saying)
Other Thoughts: By far the best course I've ever played and is my favorite! I was tempted to give it a 5 disc rating, it's that good.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A really great Course

2-4    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: Matt
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great mix of lengths and lines and numerous memorable holes. This is definitely a great course for tournament play because there is a lot of room for scoring separation and it provides a challenge. This is because it really rewards good shots with it's moderately tight but completely fair fairways and punishes poor throws with it's thick rough. Par 4's and 5's are typically my favorite holes and this course's have been designed well with nice landing zones and some technical approaches. Finally, another big plus is that there are much more relatively flat and downhill drives than there are uphill drives.
Cons: Several walks between holes are a bit long, and up the these hills that can wear you down.

Thick rough can make it hard to find errant throws.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't require a big arm to score well but does require moderate distance. Big arms may be able to get a couple long eagle putts on the short pins though if they are accurate too.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Best Hole in Georgia!

1    5/25/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: DJ Drago
Played: 152  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chicken Coop Hole - GREAT, GREAT hole that words or pictures cannot do justice. I love crazy holes more than most (Hippodrome is my second favorite course), so I was really looking forward to this one, although I feared it would be a little "out there", even for me. The truth is, in person, the hole is not gimmicky at all. It was 95 degrees of oppressive heat but the Coop was surprisingly cool and pleasant and even had a Coke machine inside with ICE COLD sodas, PowerAdes and waters as an added bonus. With all apologizes to #3 at Flyboy and #1 at Steady Ed, this hole is the new signature hole in Georgia.


Individual Hole Design - Very unique holes. The designer asked a lot of questions that I was not used to answering: Extreme downhill, uphill with low ceiling, drives requiring short exact placement over distance. There really isn't a throw-away hole on the course (maybe #5) but my highlights were:

#1 - Fun, short downhiller with a very straight shot required.

#3 - Tricky hole plays big-time downhill. No room to throw a spike, or even a subtle hyzer.

#6 - Placement is key to get in position to make an approach on this Par 5. If you haven't played it before take a walk up to look at the basket once you hit the mouth of the gap. The green is much more treacherous than it appears on the bottom.

#8 - Just a beautiful short par 3, would be the signature hole on virtually any course without a Chicken Coop.

#11 - Brains over brawn par 4. Scores could range from an easy 3 to a frustrating 6 if the drive is not placed properly in the gap. Twenty feet left, long, or right is no man's land.

#12 - See Chicken Coop above

#13 - Steep downhiller reminded me of a ski-slope hole with the power lines even mimicking the chair lift.


Amenities - Perfect new Innova baskets, level and long tee-pads, nice tee-signs on every hole. You cannot overstate how nice the facility is: Spacious and cool with clean restrooms, friendly staff, and a much needed supply of beverages. In an ideal world would have been great to circle back here after each 9.

Cons: The sign on #6 is misleading. The sign depicts the basket to be further than the weather-vane. In actuality, the gap to the basket is in front of the weather-vane. My group overshot the gap because of the sign (and it was too damn hot to do a lot of extra walking and look), and replayed our shots when seeing the basket placement.


Right to left shots - Is the designer of this course a big anhyzer thrower? Not sure if it was an aberration of our particular rounds, but for me and my playing partner, a firebird or any over stable plastic never left the bag. Don't recall a hole where being a forehand or lefty player would have been an advantage; ideal shots were dead straight or RBH anhyzer with a fade finish. Course appears to be missing one (or two) good hyzer "meat hook" hole. Clearing the area to the right of the #10 green and moving the #10 tee-pad to the right and near the Chicken Coop exit would be my answer.


Tough Hike - especially in the summer heat. Could have used a shaded bench or two, particularly after hole #6 to #7 uphill trek.

Other Thoughts: All the fairways widths seemed... fair, but five feet off the fairway is absolutely brutal in most spots. Not a fault of the designer at all, but wear long socks if you plan on missing a fairway. Everyone in my group was bleeding at the end of this round.

Navigation is not really an issue, and a total non-issue after your first round. Still, the "next hole" signs (present on probably ever hole) were frustratingly small and hard to spot at times. The map provided at the clubhouse was very accurate and helped in the two tough transitions (#4 to #5 and #9 to #10).

The wooden deck style tee-pads on some holes are exceptional and obviously took a great deal of time and care. That being said, I felt nervous on the 14th tee-pad and detected a little give between base boards. I am 250+ lbs., but a couple of more 2x4s for support might be needed.

Flow of course was strange in that the two biggest uphill tee-shots were #16 (another really good hole) and #18. The only other uphill hole (#9) is much more restrained. Felt weird to end round this way.

Overall, this was a great experience and I cannot wait to play the course again in the cooler months of the year. Definitely a future threat to Flyboy and the IDGC courses for Georgia's number one course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.