Lula, GA 
North Georgia Canopy Tours Share
Uploaded By: marc Hole #14 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 318ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
  DG in Lula GA

2-4    5/2/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: jimiwater
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Private course located in Lula, GA.

Great long course that is very private and player friendly.
Cons: Needs alot more folks to come up and play...couple of years and this will be a master course.
Other Thoughts: An additional 9 more holes will be welcomed.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    4/23/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: The Doctor
Played: 61  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Am and Pro tee pads
2. THE CHICKEN COOP HOLE
3. Platform tee pads on hillsides to keep a level pad
4. Holes have signs
5. Score card with distances and accurate map
6. Nice and helpful staff
7. Im from Michigan and the locals invited me to shoot with them...Good People up there
8. ITS PRIVATE...no jakes
9. I went on a Saturday and saw only one other group
10. Lots of variations in shot selection, elevation, and distance.
11. Beautiful Land
Cons: 1. New course so its not to defined yet
2. still some brush that needs to be trimmed back from the launch pads to give the shooter more room.
3. its hard to think of more cons. I had a great time
Other Thoughts: I had an awesome time at this course today. Its going to be a Championship course in a few years. It just needs to get worked in. The chicken coop hole was a highlight of my day. I have not seen a hole like that before. I only rated it a 3.5 because its so new...in 2 years its easily a 4 or 4.5...no question. I am visiting my sister in Symrna(ATL) and it was well worth the 60 mile drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 North Georgia Gem

1    4/18/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Finally…A course in Hall County! It's about time! I drove up from Savannah to visit my family in Gainesville and was really psyched to play this one. This course has potential to be a great. Friendly staff and a dedicated group of designers are pouring their hearts into it. Beautiful piece of property nestled in the N. GA mtns which is perfect for disc golf. Nice welcome center with tables, vending, and a cute girl working the desk is always a plus! Huge fun factor with good mix of open and wooded holes. Nice elevation on several holes, concrete tee pads (which the guys were pouring the last few) and decent signage. I cannot express how nice the property is. Nice little creek running through the property and zip liners cruising overhead as you play. Several challenging and fun shots, especially the chicken coop hole. I'm not a huge fan of gimmicky holes but this one was cool, different, and a perfect fit for Hall County, considering it's the poultry capital of the world. It's still rough around the edges but once the course is cleaned up a bit I think it will be awesome. I thought it was worth the five bucks and I hope they use their earnings to really "pimp out" the course. Discs are available to rent.
Cons: Like I said, it's still rough and in progress. It is so thick off the fairways that it took me several minutes to find my errant shots and I got hacked up pretty good going in to retrieve them. This also left little room for recovery shots. I pretty much had to just toss my disc in the fairway and take a stroke. My biggest criticism would be basket placement. A few baskets were surrounded by thick brush or backed right up to thick woods which made for tough birdie putts and did not reward parked drives. Give at least 20-30ft around the greens for birdie opportunities. I had several nice, parked drives that resulted in pars because of thick brush being within 10 feet of the basket. This left little reward for nice shots on these few holes and was a bit frustrating. There is red Georgia clay in many of the fairways and I can see it becoming pretty muddy and nasty. Some tees were elevated and constructed like small wooden docks. This didn't cause me any issues however I can see them being dangerous and injury prone when it's wet. A few holes need to opened up a bit and the crew seems responsive to suggestions. Tee signs are kinda weak but I'm sure will improve. The only difference between the rec and pro tees was distance. They poured the rec pads on the same line as the pro and just ahead of them. I think they should've consider different tee pad placement to add variety. Canopy tour staff said it was becoming a problem waiting on disc golfers to finish the course before they could go home for the day. They may impose tee times or a cutoff time for play.
Other Thoughts: Totally worth the five bucks and a great addition to the area. I was getting irritated to have to drive to Cumming to play Central park everytime I came home to visit. I hope this will help spawn more courses in the North GA area. We need one on Lake Lanier!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Diamond in the Rough

2-4    4/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: showdough
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Keep in mind this course is still being worked on!*

This course is awesome. Seriously awesome.

Upon completion and refinement, I see this as being one of the best courses in ATL, and a tournament worthy course.

Concrete tee pads are a HUGE pro! these are nice ones too.

2 teepads for each hole.

A sweet mix of open bombs, open to wooded, and tight wooded shots.

The gaps, tunnels and lanes are well defined.

There was great flow from hole to hole.

Scenic, the creek winding through the disc golf course was nice.

There was no interference with the zip lines. I was glad to see that.

The chicken coop shot was sweeeeeeeeeeeet!!! Not a gimmicky shot at all. You really have to beam a laser drive down the middle to get your birdie.

The course rewards good shots, and punished bad shots. It has good opportunities to really go for it, or play it safe.

The first course in Hall county really sets a precedent if any other course go in the Gainesville area.

The facilities here are great. Some nice recreations like cornhole, teatherball, foosball, drink and snack machines, restrooms, sofas and chairs, and a great staff!

Cons: *Keep in mind this course is still being worked on!*

A diamond in the rough, dozer tracks in the fairways promote muddy conditions.

If I seem to be critical, it is because this is a pay to play course, designed by professionals, so it should be the best it can be, the best bang for the buck, because it is a great course in the works, and would be perfect for big tournaments.

In need of benches and trash cans (but i hear those are coming soon.)

Hole 8 detracts from the course as a whole. The rest of the course is intricate, well planned, and each hole works with the next. 8 is terrible. It's a tiny shot (jump putt distance for a lot of pros) across a gully with limbs impeding any decent shot. The fairway is non existent and the up and down is steep and tough. The hole could be easily removed and not harm course flow, and a new hole could be added. (like after 9 and utilize those trailers.) or before 15 (using those small pine trees.)

The teepads need to be level off the back with gravel and around the sides. Having to step up during a run up kills a drive and may trip up a golfer. Hole 5 is a good example. Gravel is needed here because one would slip on the clay during a run up as stepping up on the teepad. 5 is a huge drive and the better run means a better drive, and more fun for the player.

There are several wooden platforms from which one tees off. They are well constructed, however, I see them getting rather slick with mud and water (some were today). I feel they would benefit with having 1/2" rubber teepads tacked on to them, allowing better traction and more safety on those drives.

A stair case by 3 and 16 would be sweet. That is a steep climb after the trek up the gravel road.

The grass on 5 needs to be mowed.

On hole 17, there is a tree to the left, about 20-30' from the pad, that - if removed - would make a hzyer flip or annie a from the left side better. Not a huge deal though.

Better signage. The current signage is small laminated cards on wooden pickets. They are rather dinky and don't look too professional. A course like this deserves quality tee signs.

The paths between holes need to be more well defined and widened up a bit. Better next tee signs and arrows would be good too.

Like said before, since it's pay to play, it needs to be the best it can, or players will opt for the free courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is great.

4, 5, 10, 12, and 15 are my favorite holes.

This course is seeing a lot of action too! It's well advertised for being out in the middle of nowhere.

A small proshop would be sweet, with multiple manufacturers, with selection catering to pros and beginners.

A glassed in bulletin board with a lost and found box (like at Alexander Park) by the practice green would be a nice addition.

Naming the holes would be sweet. I think it would add to the creative aspect of this course.

A $1 or $2 buy-in for 3 ace throws from the command center to the practice basket would be a fun way to raise money and offer a chance to win a zip tour, swag, cash, or another prize. I would buy into that every time I come up.

I can't wait to see this course once it's perfected!

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Tough Course north of Gainesville!

5+    1/15/2012   4/12/2011
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is still a work in progress, but it is a great new course which can be tough to make. This course is gorgeous and one of the best in GA for sure!

Concrete tee pads on all holes, trash cans and benches are on every other hole now. Great flow of longer and shorter holes. New discatcher baskets. Two tee pads, pros are tough and recs are actually challenging and in most cases a different shot from pros. Clean cut wooded holes. Several pro holes over 400 feet. Tough shorter holes throwing uphill and downhill. Great job John Ritger and Keith Johnson as designers.

Chicken coup shot is fun, there are several other great holes though!!!
Cons: Course still needs some work to level out areas behind a few tee pads on longer holes.
Other Thoughts: Come play this fun course. pay $5 for the day and play all day, or pay $60 for an annual pass. Great flowing layout that tests your skill and determination. The staff is great and welcomes criticism.

815, 555, 480, & 400 foot holes here. Even wooded and open. Alternate pins on about a 3rd of the holes now!


This course continues to get better and better!

***Sunday dubs on the 3rd Sunday of every month, $15 for all in with 3 CTP's!***

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive!

5+    4/10/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Review is from the longs*
*Getting to hole 1 might be tricky, go towards the practice basket and then up the hill towards 18's basket. Hang a right when 18's basket is on your left, go up the hill and you'll see a next tee sign pointing to your left. Tees are a few paces into the woods*

-Two sets of tees, for me, this is the biggest pro
-Big pads, tee signs, scorecards, next tee signs
-Intelligent design, good mix of up-down and left-right
-Discernible fairways, punishing rough
-First course in Hall county!
-Course flows fairly well, no really long walks between holes
-Disc golf did not interfere with the canopy tours and vice versa, this was nice to see!
-Chicken barn hole was really unique and a nice idea, not gimmicky at all
Cons: -Still rough around the edges, fairways through the woods are typically dirt from the dozers...this will become muddy when it rains
-Pay to play: in a community where most courses are free, pay to play feels like a con although its def worth it!
-9 holes doesn't take you back to the beginning parking lot, although they do propose playing 1-6 then 15-18 for a 10 hole round
-I would've liked to see the short tees play even shorter or easier. I would classify these as intermediate/rec tees that are not suitable for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Brand new course in Lula, GA which is run by the North Georgia Canopy Tours. Go to the command center to sign the waiver and pay the $5, they will then supply you with a nice scorecard with par/distances from the longs. The manager took time to show me where hole 1 was, as it wasn't too clear from the scorecard, and was happy to see people playing the course. On the second day open, there were two other groups playing (twosome, and a group of six) and the waiver form indicated that about 10-12 had played Saturday and Sunday morning...so this course has already seen some action!

Seeing as this is the first review, I'm going to delve into my hole by analysis to guide anyone looking to get out here before pics are available. I'll try and get a sufficient amount of pics up soon.
Please keep in mind this is from the longs-
Hole 1: 300 par 3 tight downhill shot, keep it in the middle and the birdie is there for the taking
Hole 2: 280 par 3 undulating fairway with some trees guarding the straight on shot, another birdie opportunity if you hit your line
Hole 3: 320 par 3 another tight downhill (I mean downnnnnhill) shot with a narrow gap to hit
Hole 4: 365 par 3 flat slight right shot with a creek left and tight woods to your right, fairway is clear of any trees and grassy
Hole 5: 554 par 4 tee shot is up by the pond, slightly elevated. The fairway will tunnel as you get closer to the pin, and I assume the flags out there indicate OB..could be wrong though.
Hole 6: 810 par 5 You'll look at how open this hole is and think you've got a lot of room to work with, but really your first two shots will set up your approach to the green. If you manage to place your second or third shot in front of the fairway then you'll be approaching straight up hill to a well protected pin. Miss the gap and you'll be using a stroke to get in position for your upshot-thus the par 5 IMO

Skip to 15 to play 10 holes

Hole 7: 340 par 3 another undulating semi-tight fairway that rewards an accurate drive
Hole 8: 215 extremely tight downhill shot through the woods
Hole 9: 350 par 3 downhill at first then shoots up to an open green, drives are well guarded by a group of trees
Hole 10: 400 par 3 sweet, open grassy drive with wind coming into play on this shot. The pin is tucked away near some shrubs
Hole 11: 475 par 4 is a tough hole. Drive is left to right for lefty hyzers, RHBH anhyzers, or sidearms. Your second shot is again a tough one if you're hoping for the birdie...tight approach leading up to a well protected pin
Hole 12: 364 par 3 the chicken barn hole! Absolutely unique hole, you have to keep it low but manage to stretch it out above 300 for a chance at the bird (pun intended). Surprisingly wind is a factor!
Hole 13: 350 par 3 kind of feels like hole 10 with the grassy downhill fairway, errant drives are punished but keep it in the middle and you'll be fine
Hole 14: 318 par 3 is a tight downhill right to left shot in which you'll need to be accurate, the rough is punishing here
Hole 15: 525 par 4 this hole plays in front of a creek which will only come into play if you can't hit the fair gap. The hole plays open and slightly left to right, with the pin tucked up on a hill
Hole 16: 220 hole 3 is a straight uphill shot with woods left and right
Hole 17: 450 par 4 is a tight wooded downhill shot that moves right to left with a well protected pin tucked away in the woods. One of the common landing zones here is punished by wall of dense thin trees, which you'll have to shoot over to set up your birdie attempt. So, if you "go for it" you'll end up being punished from the natural fade that occurs when you throw downhill.
Hole 18: 400 par 4 you'll have to hit a wooded gap well up the fairway that continues uphill to an open green. Tough way to finish a round!

Overall, I was really impressed with the course. It is worth a drive to play. It is playable enough to reward good play and punish errant throws. Replay value here is pretty high, especially with two sets of tees. Tee pads are quite large, and with some downhill or uphill shots the tees were made out of raised wood platforms. Like I mentioned before, two sets of tees are great, but the short tees are just shorter versions of the same shot that you'd make from the longs. Considering this might be the course that some people play for the first time, the short tees aren't forgiving enough to reward recreational players. I would've like to see it shortened a little more, and possibly even change the angle in which they drive and play the hole.

*Edit: now that the course has seen dubs and a c-tier its in fantastic shape and is a solid 4 stars. ADGO's forums say that they plan on adding another course? A must play!*

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.