Lula, GA 
North Georgia Canopy Tours Share
Uploaded By: keith johnson Hole #10 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 295ft.   3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A really great Course

2-4    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: Matt
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great mix of lengths and lines and numerous memorable holes. This is definitely a great course for tournament play because there is a lot of room for scoring separation and it provides a challenge. This is because it really rewards good shots with it's moderately tight but completely fair fairways and punishes poor throws with it's thick rough. Par 4's and 5's are typically my favorite holes and this course's have been designed well with nice landing zones and some technical approaches. Finally, another big plus is that there are much more relatively flat and downhill drives than there are uphill drives.
Cons: Several walks between holes are a bit long, and up the these hills that can wear you down.

Thick rough can make it hard to find errant throws.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't require a big arm to score well but does require moderate distance. Big arms may be able to get a couple long eagle putts on the short pins though if they are accurate too.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Best Hole in Georgia!

1    5/25/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: DJ Drago
Played: 152  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chicken Coop Hole - GREAT, GREAT hole that words or pictures cannot do justice. I love crazy holes more than most (Hippodrome is my second favorite course), so I was really looking forward to this one, although I feared it would be a little "out there", even for me. The truth is, in person, the hole is not gimmicky at all. It was 95 degrees of oppressive heat but the Coop was surprisingly cool and pleasant and even had a Coke machine inside with ICE COLD sodas, PowerAdes and waters as an added bonus. With all apologizes to #3 at Flyboy and #1 at Steady Ed, this hole is the new signature hole in Georgia.


Individual Hole Design - Very unique holes. The designer asked a lot of questions that I was not used to answering: Extreme downhill, uphill with low ceiling, drives requiring short exact placement over distance. There really isn't a throw-away hole on the course (maybe #5) but my highlights were:

#1 - Fun, short downhiller with a very straight shot required.

#3 - Tricky hole plays big-time downhill. No room to throw a spike, or even a subtle hyzer.

#6 - Placement is key to get in position to make an approach on this Par 5. If you haven't played it before take a walk up to look at the basket once you hit the mouth of the gap. The green is much more treacherous than it appears on the bottom.

#8 - Just a beautiful short par 3, would be the signature hole on virtually any course without a Chicken Coop.

#11 - Brains over brawn par 4. Scores could range from an easy 3 to a frustrating 6 if the drive is not placed properly in the gap. Twenty feet left, long, or right is no man's land.

#12 - See Chicken Coop above

#13 - Steep downhiller reminded me of a ski-slope hole with the power lines even mimicking the chair lift.


Amenities - Perfect new Innova baskets, level and long tee-pads, nice tee-signs on every hole. You cannot overstate how nice the facility is: Spacious and cool with clean restrooms, friendly staff, and a much needed supply of beverages. In an ideal world would have been great to circle back here after each 9.

Cons: The sign on #6 is misleading. The sign depicts the basket to be further than the weather-vane. In actuality, the gap to the basket is in front of the weather-vane. My group overshot the gap because of the sign (and it was too damn hot to do a lot of extra walking and look), and replayed our shots when seeing the basket placement.


Right to left shots - Is the designer of this course a big anhyzer thrower? Not sure if it was an aberration of our particular rounds, but for me and my playing partner, a firebird or any over stable plastic never left the bag. Don't recall a hole where being a forehand or lefty player would have been an advantage; ideal shots were dead straight or RBH anhyzer with a fade finish. Course appears to be missing one (or two) good hyzer "meat hook" hole. Clearing the area to the right of the #10 green and moving the #10 tee-pad to the right and near the Chicken Coop exit would be my answer.


Tough Hike - especially in the summer heat. Could have used a shaded bench or two, particularly after hole #6 to #7 uphill trek.

Other Thoughts: All the fairways widths seemed... fair, but five feet off the fairway is absolutely brutal in most spots. Not a fault of the designer at all, but wear long socks if you plan on missing a fairway. Everyone in my group was bleeding at the end of this round.

Navigation is not really an issue, and a total non-issue after your first round. Still, the "next hole" signs (present on probably ever hole) were frustratingly small and hard to spot at times. The map provided at the clubhouse was very accurate and helped in the two tough transitions (#4 to #5 and #9 to #10).

The wooden deck style tee-pads on some holes are exceptional and obviously took a great deal of time and care. That being said, I felt nervous on the 14th tee-pad and detected a little give between base boards. I am 250+ lbs., but a couple of more 2x4s for support might be needed.

Flow of course was strange in that the two biggest uphill tee-shots were #16 (another really good hole) and #18. The only other uphill hole (#9) is much more restrained. Felt weird to end round this way.

Overall, this was a great experience and I cannot wait to play the course again in the cooler months of the year. Definitely a future threat to Flyboy and the IDGC courses for Georgia's number one course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Fun

1    5/30/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: Ghazlehurst
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Wide use of terrain and diversity of holes both on distance and openness. Well laid out with plenty of sign-age. Overall, I was really impressed with the course and it is worth a drive to play.
Cons: Underbrush is creeping back and it was HOT!
Other Thoughts: This will be on my regular rotation in the fall, Winter, and Spring. (Summer is to hot). the layout rewards good play and punish errant throws.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of a course that gets better daily!

2-4    5/15/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: keith johnson
Played: 186  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **Keep in mind this course is 7 weeks old today (5/27/2011) and this review is being written AFTER several items in other reviewers posts were addressed in the ongoing course refinement on MAY 15th during the spring growth cleaning of the course where ALL fairways were trimmed of overhanging limbs and foliage and areas around the tees and greens were widened and cleaned.**
Pros:
Dual mostly concrete tees on 16 of the 18 holes [only downhill holes 8 (215 ft) and 14 (318 ft) have 1 tee].
New 11"X17" full graphic tee signs with shorter tee distances next to short tees on Hole map as well as next tee markers were installed on May 14th 2011 for all 18 holes.
Soda/Gatorade/Water vending machine at the halfway point of the Course inside the Chicken Shack (200 ft from Hole 10 Tee)
In keeping with the natural surroundings and Zip line theme, LARGE Burlap trash bags are located in several places on the course attached to the trees with carabineers.
The Command Center now has discs available for sale including custom Zipline logoed discs to have as a nice keepsake momento of your visit.
There are monthly ($20) and Annual ($60) passes available to help save on the $5 daily greens fees if you are planning to play regularly. Random Draw best shot Doubles is being held every 3rd Sunday all year round meeting at the command center deck.
New benches are being installed on several holes before middle of June.
Cons: Cons:
Only restroom is at Command center near Hole 1
**Keeping in mind the newness of the course**
Holes 1, 2, 4 and 14 need mulch to help with potential mud issues if wet.
Not a problem for everyone, but poison Ivy is around on a few holes off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Signature holes:
Hole 6 (a par 5 from both tees) with newly planted trees lining the right side of the fairway to go with the thick woods on the left side of the entire fairway, which also climbs up 2 levels of elevation changes after the turn make shot placement a priority to have the chance at a birdie 4.
Hole 10 Has a view of the mountains in North Carolina from the pro tee.
Hole 12 - The Chicken Shack - enough said!
Hole 13 Has a view from the pro tee of the Georgia mountains.
Hole 15 A picturesque Par 4 hole that crosses the creek with a hillside basket placement
Hole 17 A winding fairway with a generous landing zone from both tees which allows golfers who execute the proper drive and upshot to have a chance at the birdie 3.
Other Thoughts:
No matter the score you are shooting, the screams of excitement from the people on the Zip line tours will keep up your spirits.
Mulch has been added to Holes 16 & 17 and will be added to the other 4 holes (1,2,7, 14) as it is delivered by the Power company.
Rustic, primitive Camping sites and large Teepees with electricity onsite will be available to rent by the end of June, along with a community bathhouse for those out of town visitors looking to make a weekend out of the visit.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Chicken...GOOD!

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 7.8 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets, great concrete tees (2 sets) on all holes* and good signs at the long tee on all holes.
Extreme elevation changes on a lot of holes.
Real fairways with lots of twists and turns and doglegs...IE, not a lot of basket straight ahead kind of shots.
Long tees and short change the course by almost half a mile...but you still gotta walk it so why not go big?
Chicken coop hole...freakin' top notch grade A USDA choice poultry style major can of whoop 'a'.
Some streams in play but nothing to worry about.
Plays around the zipline course and you can hear people screaming and hollering through the woods.
Cons: 5 and 6 throw against each other.
The rough is ROUGH...go offline and you will pay or lose your disc, guaranteed.
I really didn't like 18, I felt it could have been a little wider with that much elevation to shoot up.
Lots of walks between holes but it is worth it because all the holes are worth playing.
Other Thoughts: The course is very new and it shows and will break in but as is it is a really fun and challenging tract.It is reminiscent of the IDGC in places with long sweeping tight fairways through the woods and up and down some crazy elevation changes.

A few holes have wooded decks as tees and they are great, I think spraying them with a rhino liner type stuff would be perfect.

It is a grueling round but satisfying. Go play it, worth the 5 bucks.

There is a drink machine in the chicken coop and back at the main building, it was nice to have one out on the course for the ice cold Powerade it held within.

Bottom line, tons of fun, a good work out and a satisfying play.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Strong course; great potential

1    5/7/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: bholy08
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Several pros that stand out:
1) memorable shots; legitimate par 5 on hole six, and a beautiful 15, and of course the chicken coop hole 12.
2) good variety...almost every hole has a unique feel (see cons for a couple of holes that lack some character)
3) great elevation changes; easier holes like 1 and 3 are much more entertaining due to downhill shots...and the tougher holes have difficult uphill looks that require a variety of shot selections.
4) good signage...first time out and didn't have any trouble navigating other than from 9 to 10.
5) multiple tees; almost every hole has a pro and rec tee pad that both offer a challenging game to their target player.
6) practice basket; nice touch right on the way to tee 1 or after the 18th basket...
Cons: Most of the cons are due to the courses newness so keep the date in mind as you read these.
1) tough foliage; several of the fairways were cut out of thick brush and some of the obvious areas that miss throws will end up are covered in weeds, thistles and some poison ivy.
2) dirty fairways; by this I mean many of the fairways were bull dosed so the soil is pretty loose and earthy. Some rain or early morning dew (my scenario) makes a mess.
3) no trash bins; not a big deal to me personally because I never have anything to throw out, but know its a concern for many.
4) no restrooms; other than the main facility there are no other options and considering the length of the course that could be an issue.
5) pay to play; didn't see this on any previous reviews but when I stopped by the office for a score card I found out that it was $5 per person (this could be avoided by skipping the office altogether, hint!)
6) the 17th is still in need of tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course 3.5 but believe that it could easily be a 4.0. As this course matures I feel that it will be a solid, challenging and memorable dg venue. As of now it could use some work but definitely still worth the time!

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great private course

1    5/2/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: Dsplayname
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of good things to say about this course.
1)Solid pads-some are concrete and some are elevated wood
2)Dual pads per hole with different angles on most
3)great layout-There was a fair amount of walking between a few holes, but overall a great setup with absolutely no interference from the ziplines.
4)Good use of water hazards-some lake play if you aren't careful and a few creek shots to cool the feet in the summer heat.
5)Nice office with vending machines, maps, scorecards, and shirts. Said they will be selling discs soon.
6)Great variety of shots required and good mix of long and relatively short fairways. Definately not a beginner course though.
7)Good use of elevation changes
8)steps and bridges in most useful places
9)Chicken Coop signature hole
10)Let me reiterate: Chicken Coop Signature Hole
Cons: It's a great course but there are a few areas that could be improved, and probably will be in the near future.
Office needs pro-shop{done}
Better signs with multiple distances and better lines{done}
Next Tee signs could be more frequent and clear, although navigating the course is not difficult{done}
Trash cans! There is only the one dumpster at hole ten right now
Needs benches, especially since the course will kick your ass.
There could be a bit more clearing out of the fairways and roughs in a few spots.
Poison Ivy/oak is in play on most holes, as are the ticks.
Course could use a few more sets of stairs in key locations. Some of the up and down hills are rough on the legs.
Other Thoughts: Overall, an excellent course that will probably get even better with time. If you live in Metro-ATL, I would call it a must play. If not, I would say it is worth the extra drive if you are coming to town.
As I stated, this is not a course for the beginners or the weak of leg. It will wear you out, demoralize you, build you back up, and leave you feeling like you accomplished more than just tossing a piece of plastic around the park. I highly recommend bringing plenty of food and drinks, as it takes a couple hours to play the course, and you will need to stay hydrated and keep your energy up for it.
Final Though: yeah, it's worth the $5 to play. I'd say it's a good mix somewhere between Chattooga Belle and WR Jackson.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  DG in Lula GA

2-4    5/2/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: jimiwater
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Private course located in Lula, GA.

Great long course that is very private and player friendly.
Cons: Needs alot more folks to come up and play...couple of years and this will be a master course.
Other Thoughts: An additional 9 more holes will be welcomed.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    4/23/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: The Doctor
Played: 61  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Am and Pro tee pads
2. THE CHICKEN COOP HOLE
3. Platform tee pads on hillsides to keep a level pad
4. Holes have signs
5. Score card with distances and accurate map
6. Nice and helpful staff
7. Im from Michigan and the locals invited me to shoot with them...Good People up there
8. ITS PRIVATE...no jakes
9. I went on a Saturday and saw only one other group
10. Lots of variations in shot selection, elevation, and distance.
11. Beautiful Land
Cons: 1. New course so its not to defined yet
2. still some brush that needs to be trimmed back from the launch pads to give the shooter more room.
3. its hard to think of more cons. I had a great time
Other Thoughts: I had an awesome time at this course today. Its going to be a Championship course in a few years. It just needs to get worked in. The chicken coop hole was a highlight of my day. I have not seen a hole like that before. I only rated it a 3.5 because its so new...in 2 years its easily a 4 or 4.5...no question. I am visiting my sister in Symrna(ATL) and it was well worth the 60 mile drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 North Georgia Gem

1    4/18/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Finally...A course in Hall County! It's about time! I drove up from Savannah to visit my family in Gainesville and was really psyched to play this one. This course has potential to be a great. Friendly staff and a dedicated group of designers are pouring their hearts into it. Beautiful piece of property nestled in the N. GA mtns which is perfect for disc golf. Nice welcome center with tables, vending, and a cute girl working the desk is always a plus! Huge fun factor with good mix of open and wooded holes. Nice elevation on several holes, concrete tee pads (which the guys were pouring the last few) and decent signage. I cannot express how nice the property is. Nice little creek running through the property and zip liners cruising overhead as you play. Several challenging and fun shots, especially the chicken coop hole. I'm not a huge fan of gimmicky holes but this one was cool, different, and a perfect fit for Hall County, considering it's the poultry capital of the world. It's still rough around the edges but once the course is cleaned up a bit I think it will be awesome. I thought it was worth the five bucks and I hope they use their earnings to really "pimp out" the course. Discs are available to rent.
Cons: Like I said, it's still rough and in progress. It is so thick off the fairways that it took me several minutes to find my errant shots and I got hacked up pretty good going in to retrieve them. This also left little room for recovery shots. I pretty much had to just toss my disc in the fairway and take a stroke. My biggest criticism would be basket placement. A few baskets were surrounded by thick brush or backed right up to thick woods which made for tough birdie putts and did not reward parked drives. Give at least 20-30ft around the greens for birdie opportunities. I had several nice, parked drives that resulted in pars because of thick brush being within 10 feet of the basket. This left little reward for nice shots on these few holes and was a bit frustrating. There is red Georgia clay in many of the fairways and I can see it becoming pretty muddy and nasty. Some tees were elevated and constructed like small wooden docks. This didn't cause me any issues however I can see them being dangerous and injury prone when it's wet. A few holes need to opened up a bit and the crew seems responsive to suggestions. Tee signs are kinda weak but I'm sure will improve. The only difference between the rec and pro tees was distance. They poured the rec pads on the same line as the pro and just ahead of them. I think they should've consider different tee pad placement to add variety. Canopy tour staff said it was becoming a problem waiting on disc golfers to finish the course before they could go home for the day. They may impose tee times or a cutoff time for play.
Other Thoughts: Totally worth the five bucks and a great addition to the area. I was getting irritated to have to drive to Cumming to play Central park everytime I came home to visit. I hope this will help spawn more courses in the North GA area. We need one on Lake Lanier!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.