Northville, MI 
Cass Benton Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 191ft.   3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Good, the Bad and the Weird

1    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Starts out the a challenging shot through the woods and then opens up into some very cool open holes on 2 and the signature hole #3.

Three is a very fun 600 or so ft drive down a large hill and then you end up Ina basket by a very pretty creek.

It varies between short heavily wooded holes and longer more open ones with some challenging lines and elevation changes.

There is potential here for a 4 or better rated course.
Cons: Unfortunately there are some significant things holding it back. Most of the signs are vandalized or stolen.

You can't find the first teepad without a guide, and when I got there there was a shady guy selling discs with other peoples ink on them, and a few guys sitting around smoking.

There are fallen trees everywhere and the fairways are generally poorly maintained.

A lot of people in a few places just hanging around, a lot of them doing things that shouldn't be done on a course, in public, or at all really.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course, I didn't like how crowded it was with non players and the massive amount of vandalism that goes on.

This should be a top rated course but the aesthetic hold it back.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

eh, not what they make it out to be

5+    9/7/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: jswoods1984
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes, some technical and some open. Get opportunites for the shorties as well as the bombers.
Cons: Lots of trees down, very busy, a lot of punk kids running around backing things up. Not the place to be if you want a relaxing round or don't like dealing with idiots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 room for improvement

1    6/13/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large course with lots of variety of lay outs. Pro and amature tees.
Tight shots and challanging use of elevations.
some not so challanging holes (for a nice confidence booster lol)
Cons: poorly maintained.
lots of trash, broken bottles, soda and beer bottles and cans.
signs leave a bit to be desired.
can get crowded quickly.
Other Thoughts: We started disc golfing as a "family outing" with out teens and preteens. And for the most part we have found this to be an enjoyable past time. we have visited a few courses and we are learnig the "rules" and "protocalls". For the most part the people we meet on the courses are friendly and helpful. I guess that we luckily havent met the people on the courses that toss thier trash all over like their maid is following behind them. It shows such a lack of respect for everyone when you leave your filth behing for other people to walk through, trip on, and have to pick up, and the graffiti, its just pathetic. Not only does it show that your a hood rat, but it shows your low IQ when you cant spell half of the things you are trying to write/paint....The best positive I can find from this part of this course is it helps me to emphasise to reinforce to my kids to have more respect for themselves and for others.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course near the D

1    6/4/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a very good course.

Nice mix of types of holes. Some in thick woods, some in the open, some uphill, some downhill.

I really liked the long distance holes (3, 16, 18)

Interesting artwork mosaics made of beer bottle caps pressed into the dirt on several holes (but this speaks to large volumes of alcohol consumed by the regulars, which might be a con).

Super-friendly locals helped us find our way around an unfamiliar course.
Cons: No way to figure out where to go for the next hole in a number of spots. Signage could be better.

I'm not a big fan of holes that require more luck than skill to make it through the woods. This course has several of those (witness the chain link wrapped around the trees on several of the deep woods holes).

Too many underage drinkers in this park on the two nights we played.
Other Thoughts: Really good course. We spent a couple of days in Novi on business, really enjoyed playing Cass Benton in the evening after sitting in meetings all day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not the same

5+    7/10/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: STXCougar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots and elevation changes. Free to play. wide enough fairways that if you botch a throw you wont lose a disc
Cons: Poorly cared for course now. Lots of slow moving groups it seems when i play.
Other Thoughts: Not the same since the state stopped funding it

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course in need of help

5+    7/2/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: Gifted
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great technical shots
-Great forgiving "catch-up" shots
-A few ace run holes
-Decent sinage and naming for the holes
-Tables/Seating at most holes
-Nice scenery
-Right along Hines Dr. so easy to get to.
Cons: -As someone else stated, all the Cassholes
-Many large groups play, and none understand the concept of "playing through"
-Littered badly
-No land care (i.e huge trees down, city hasn't fixed, trimmed, or cleared out anything in over 2 years)
-Vandalism
Other Thoughts: If the city would just reguard this as a great attraction, maybe start charging the average $2 to keep all the inbreds off the course and to also KEEP UP THE COURSE. This is a great place I've been playing for 12 years and last year through now is the worst I have ever seen the course. Both populous wise and course care.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: RiverBandit
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass Benton has a great variety of holes. 6 hole in the open and mostly wooded holes create a challenge. Lots of shade, and benches provided for those days which you are waiting in line to tee off. Signs on most hole to make navigation a bit easier. Cement tee pads, Pro and Am tees on most holes, and Chainstar baskets.
Cons: The crowds at peak hours can be unbearable. Lots of people around the course causing a ruckus can sometimes get frusurating. Lots of vanalisim on every sign and bench, even the big rocks around the course have some spray paint on them. Over flowing garbage cans all around the park Make it a bit trashy. Over the years many trees have come down throughout the woods due to natural and un-natural errosion. Path between 4 and 5 could use some trimming.
Other Thoughts: This course was an extremley awesome course when it was first built but has slowly gone down hill over the years. Tons of traffic, seems to be really taking its toll on the course.

Found some people sleeping in a tent with their dog, next to a smoldering fire the other morning on the tee pad for Hole 11 the other morning. Whats that all about.

If you see people breaking down trees or vandalizing the course don't be affraid to call them out on it. It is a very nice course to have in this area and if we keep abusing it they might take it away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.