Northville, MI 
Cass Benton Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 201ft.   3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Great Bones

5+    4/10/2014   4/15/2014
Review By: CassBenton
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great elevation and diversity. Tight trees and wide open fields. Some really long holes and plenty of ace looks. Benches at almost every hole. I got my first ace here!
Cons: It's free. Sounds like a positive except for all the casuals and almost complete lack of upkeep this causes. Lots of downed trees especially on holes 9 and 10. Most of the signs have been stolen, if they're still there they are covered in crappy graffiti (tags not art). A lot of holes get torn up and muddy early in the season, and never have a chance to recover. Very busy in the warmer months.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, started playing it almost a decade ago. It's gotten progressively worse as the years go by. Its got some of the best geography/topography of any course in SE Michigan, and some truly classic holes. Really wish it was pay-to-play. Still a great course and I play it all the time.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wish I played here back in the day

1    9/1/2012   2/28/2014
Review By: donnyv
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass Benton has a fairly decent sized area for the disc golf course. I can imagine it was one of the best in the state when it first opened. There are many distinct holes on the course and it never became boring or frustrating. The terrain is perfect for a disc golf course. I was only able to play this gem once a few years back and wish I could play it more.

While we had a blast that day, you could tell that this place had seen better days. For some reason (budget?) this course has seemingly been forgotten by the park. Maybe it's lacking a dedicated club? The course needs some work to get it back into its prime.

Below are a few things that are worth mentioning…

PROS:

Length/Variety/Challenge - Plenty of chances to open it up on a few, while also containing some technical holes to balance it out. Elevation and water came into play on a handful of holes. Even though I played horrible in the front, I came back around on the back 9 and enjoyed the challenge of the entire course. The concrete tees and baskets were in good shape.

Dedicated Space to Disc Golf - Didn't have to worry about joggers, walkers or picnickers strolling through the area. The park is big and a good chunk of it is dedicated to the disc golf course. The course does play near a sledding hill but doesn't seem too bad.

Free - No charge to enter the park and no fee to play disc golf. Being that it is free, it can become quite crowded, which can be a con. There are also many other things to do in the park for non-dgers.
Cons: CONS:

Used and Abused - There is definite signs of wear on the course. With all the traffic the course gets, there were numerous worn out paths of bare dirt and damaged trees from discs. Every tee sign was damaged and/or had graffiti on them. Trash cans were overfull and some were dumped over. Not cool.

Upkeep - There were downed trees in multiple areas on the course. From the looks of it they have been there for a while. I'm not sure why the parks dept wouldn't cut them up. Some areas didn't look very safe but we played on anyways. The grass was a little taller than we'd like but it wasn't as bad as waist-deep Riverbends back home.

Crowds - Finding the course inside the park was a little tough the first time we stopped there. The place was packed and parking was sorta sketchy. Being a free course, it brings dger's from all over the place. We were lucky to find a parking spot. It might be a problem on busier days. At least we didn't run into any rude people.

Tourneys - As far as I know, there is little to no tournament play at Cass. It is large enough to hold a good tournament but I don't know if it's because of the red-tape or just because it's in a trashed state.
Other Thoughts: Overall, we had a good time at Cass Benton. It would be great to see it in its glory someday. I'd give it a 3.75 in its current condition, but I see the potential for it to climb as high as 4.25 if it could be cleaned up some. It's still worth playing and you'll probably have a nice round if you can get out there during the off-peak hrs. Give it a try sometime and I'm sure you'll see that there IS potential for it to get back on track.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Like playing with an endangered animal.

2-4    7/27/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: Trizzor
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: • Amazing diversity here, so fun and so much variety.
• Well thought out holes, not your typical wooded hook to the left/right.
• Free - Also a Con; I lived within 4 miles of this course for almost 20 years and never knew it was there.
Cons: • Japanese Giant Hornets... Have burrows at a few holes, careful where you walk!
• The course is in terrible shape; mostly due to teens tearing it apart. Broken baskets, trash and glass everywhere. No respect for nature or the game.
• Free - Also a Pro; I wish it were pay-to-play. To deter teens that use it as a hang-out and keep maintenance up.
• Extremely busy after noon to evening.
Other Thoughts: I titled the review "Like playing with an endangered animal" because I feel one of these days the course will be closed from the vandalism without warning. At that point, it will be extinct.

EDIT: I went back to Cass recently.
If this course was pay-to-play, it would be a 5. Its that fun, but its also in that bad of shape.
I just wish I could have played here before it went bad.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cass Benton

5+    2/26/2013   2/26/2013
Review By: PwEmc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty nice course layout with some challenging holes and not much repetition.

Course is split into wide open holes and wooded very nicely.
Cons: Maintenance is absolutely awful. Fallen trees stay where they've fallen, regardless of where they are. Plenty of trees fallen right on the path.

Navigating the fallen tree jungle on hole 9 is depressing.

The amount of graffiti/hoodlum teens is pretty high since this is in an urban area and the course is free.

Absolutely packed in the summer. Prepare to wait for the group of ten 16 year olds to all take their 6 shots to the basket.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cass Benton

1    9/16/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Challenge for new and advanced players alike. Mix of long hiking hills and woods. Some fantastic long shots and elevation changes.
Cons: Can be a hike for some. Not too many complaints.
Other Thoughts: A great challenge course, will make you a better player.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, challenging course...

5+    6/18/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: MrDiscinox
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent mix of shots. More than a couple bombs (400+) from the Pro tees with a good mix of technical holes.
- Locals are often selling discs, possible food and drinks
- Gets very busy but course design usually allows for good flow with minimal backups
- Lots of shade and sitting areas and trash cans everywhere
- Generally minimal litter despite the amount of people that play there... Depends on the day really.
Cons: - Can get ridiculously busy. Sits in the middle of a lot of courses and areas where there are a lot of golfers. Summer evenings will find every parking lot full.
- Signage is old and vandalized
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses. The huge 700+ bomb off the top of hill on #3 is awesome. This is the place where I learned how to disc golf. Fun to just come out with some beers and party golf all day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home course, First course, Good course

5+    12/28/2011   5/4/2012
Review By: CavanC5
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great course design
-Great elevation change as well as basket placement
-Challenging from the backs, fun from the fronts
-Easy access, free
Cons: -the local color sometimes is not always conducive to disc golfing
-the city doesnt much care for its disc golf course
-when it rains the course can flood and gets very muddy
-in the summer the fairways can get very tall
Other Thoughts: This was the course where i first learned on and have played probably 100 times on, the course itself is awesome if a little down in the dumps from people stealing tee signs and trash, etc. The course is sometimes a local meeting spot for high school kids which sometimes is good because it gets new people into the sport but can also be bad because they are often drinking or engaging in behavior of questionable legality. i love this course but its definitely not my favorite

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A must play

5+    5/14/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: ToneBone69
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass was the first disc golf course I have ever played on, and is my home course. There is a lot to like about Cass.
- The variation of wooded to open, short to long, challenging to relatively simple and flat to rolling hills never lets the player get board.
- There are a few holes you will never forget; The long tee from #3 is over 700 feet on top of waht seems like a mountain, #16 the longest 350 feet you will ever throw and good luck ducing #18.
- Cass is absolutely free, one of the best free courses out there.
Cons: - The course has a lack of funding for up keep.
- At noon or five, be prepared to wait at every hole.
- Many downed trees block your way, may not be the best course for someone who has trouble moving around.
Other Thoughts: Cass was an amazing course back in its heyday, but with neglect it is falling apart. This course is an unpolished gem that is a must play!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/9/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass Benton Hills offers a wide variety of hole design with some great topography to work with. Tight and tree rich, open, short, long, down hills, up hills, some water to contend with as well. This course offers a great walk and some terrain that is refreshing with some beauty to take in along the way. It is moderately challenging in spots but never becomes frustrating. A revisit would be welcomed.
Cons: Navigation can be confusing at times. Most signage is absent and vandalism has unfortunately taken its toll in some spots. The grounds were pretty clean though. It was relatively early in the day and the place was quite steady with traffic. Other players displayed good etiquette at the time of this review and playing through was permitted where applicable. Plan for hold ups. Have a good time.
Other Thoughts: If you are in this area this is a good one to tack on to your tour. It is a free park that seems to be well maintained, although this review is based on the very early season where garbage and destruction may not have had proper time to proliferate. The locals in this sample population seemed pretty decent despite their reputation and nickname.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    2/25/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: Jabanger
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I was pretty impressed with this course. Nice mix of distances and hills. Along with open and confined shots.
Cons: None that I can think of though I have only played this course once at the end of winter.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.