Northville, MI 
Cass Benton Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 368ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Tee



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 home course

5+    4/29/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 3/21/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great course design
verity of holes
distance from hole to next tee
secenery
some holes challening some not so much makes for a great time
18 holes
plenty of new holes can be made with some imagniation [hole 19: shoot from 17 pro tee to basket 18]
plenty of parking
lots of like minded individuals
pro and am tee's
free
Cons: lots of people
has a tendency to flood when it rains for a few days
missing signs
park system dose not take care of it
Other Thoughts: this is the first course i every played at and is still my favorit even with all the Cassholes its big its challenging i never have the same game twice

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've played yet

5+    8/10/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: gmalsparty
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass Benton (Hines Park if you're from the area) is the course I picked up the game at. Since then I have yet to find a course that compares. The amateur and pro tee option is something a lot of courses in Michigan don't have, and very helpful one for beginners. There's a mix of thick woods and open field; uphill, downhill, and level; and hole lengths vary enough that each drive doesn't seem redundant. Not to mention anyone who doesn't enjoy Hole 3 "Heartbreak Hill" has to be out of their mind.
Cons: Poorly respected by the people there to put it simply. Each tee is surrounded by a mound of cigarette butts and bottle caps. A ton of hole signs are missing, which accounts for why navigating the course can be a bit difficult for first-timers. If Hines was maintained at a higher level, there would be nothing bad to say about it.
Other Thoughts: The earlier you go the better. Once it hits about noon on weekends and 4 or 5 on weekdays, be ready to do a lot of waiting if you're just arriving. Hines isn't just the best course in the area, it's also one of the only free ones. Don't be surprised if a caravan of 10 people in front of you ruin your day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Hills and Creeks.

1    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes, good variety in shots. A lot of tight tree shots in the woods, outside of the woods long big fairways. Some sharp hooks to force you to learn your hyzers. Most of the roughs are pretty open, making for easy disc finding, though in the sunnier areas, some of the edges are quite thickly grown. Hole 12 is absolutely gorgeous with a little creek winding through it. Many fallen trees give this course a unique and picturesque appearance. Hole 3 and 18 are both extremely long, 3 from the top of the hill, 18 with a right dogleg.
Cons: A little difficult to find your way around. A lot of the tee signs have been removed/destroyed, but with a few exceptions it's not too bad to find your way around, and if you find yourself shooting at a black ace, there's still good play to be had. The concrete tees at get you started. Hole 1 has been crushed by a tree, you can still hit the chains, but landing it in the basket is a different matter. This course is strenuous. Expect to get a good workout on your legs going up and down hills and climbing over the fallen trees. Erosion has definitely aged this course, making some of the concrete tees undesirably sandy. Running water behind Hole 3's basket can take your disc away if you overshoot.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely one of the finest courses in the area, and I will definitely be making the trek out there more in the future. It easily competes with Hudson Mills for scenery, design, and challenge, while offering more shade and being free of charge. Took us a little bit to find the first tee, but after that, this course was pure discing joy. If you're in southeast Michigan and haven't played this course yet, remedy this as soon as possible. The rest of the park looks to offer a pretty good and scenic time, too, if you've not got the desire to throw anymore.

Re: Cassholes and litter, the condition on the course was pretty good today. We arrived a little before noon on a saturday, and found the people friendly, the course quite clean and uncrowded. Hopefully this is a sign of a change in attitude, and not just us lucking out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 AMAZING

5+    6/25/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: CCADGL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. It is the best of all I have been too. It is very challenging as there is a wide variety of terrain- from long wide open hole, to holes that are consumed with trees to holes that have streams or rivers that traverse them. The best part is that it is free. You dont have to pay an enterance fee or a fee to play. It is not like any of those soft courses where the hole may curve and bend while being surrounded by fields. This has rolling hills, tight passages, and many many trees. it is truely a test of accuracy and skill.
Cons: There is vanadalism on all of the course signs as well on every park bench. Also it gets very crowded on weekday afternoons and weekends. I recomend going in the morning or early afternoon.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a great course to go to. There are some fallen down trees on holes 9 and 11 but it oonly makes it more interesting and challenging. I think it makes it better. Finally, there is a gr8 ice cream place just down the road off of 7 mile.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Northville

5+    5/1/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: waterhyzerd
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety- This course has very good elevation, good variation in hole length ranging from under 250 ft to over 700 ft, open and wooded shots, water, and great scenery.

Good Park- no entry fee, lots of parking (although it does fill up at later times on most days), dual cement tee pads, and somewhat clean.

Good location- only about a five minute drive from i-96 depending on traffic.

Cons: Mud- beware of the mud... not a good place to go early in the spring or after a good rainstorm. Holes 3 and 5 can get especially muddy.

Overcrowded- the best times to go are early in the morning (like before 12 pm) or not at all. Seems like kids are either skipping school more often now or people don't have jobs because the casual players start filling the place up in the early afternoons now. There really can be groups of 10+ people that make things frustratingly slow.
Other Thoughts: Cass Benton is a great place if you think you are a professional or going for your first time. The long tees offer a challenge in both distance and accuracy. The shorts are less demanding but will teach the beginners to think twice about going for it on some holes, risking an errant first drive. Either way, the course is both physically and visually appeasing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite

5+    10/19/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: wyndorf
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A wide variety of hole lay-outs and pon placements, lots of elevation changes, not too busy, you get a good workout.
Cons: some trails to the next hole aren't very well marked, really wooded holes at times.
Other Thoughts: I saw a hawk on my last visit there. I love this course, a great way to spend the morning on an autumn day!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

2-4    6/22/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: CMUviolin
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful, from the first tee through the woods, to a 700+ beast, to a long dog leg at the end. When I first played this, I went from wanting to check out a new course to finding a new love for the game. There is no water except for a small stream on one hole, but the variety of terrane is all you need.
Cons: THe course is trashed with beer caps EVERYWHERE. One rainy days some trails are impossible to walk through.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but Possible to Score

7/17/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: noahsalter
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course and still my favorite to date. It has a great mix of wooded and open holes that let you throw all out. Hole 2 (for me) is the most difficult. It is a long open (at first) par 3 but don't be deceived. The basket placement is very tricky. Number three is the most amazing view from the pro tees. Holes 5 and 17 are very forgiving from pro tees, easily can be birdied if you stay out of trouble.
Cons: Honestly, after playing this course over 40 times, the only issue is the crowd it sometimes draws. Someone wanted to fight me last year because he claimed I said something about him. He was drunk out of his mind. But generally people leave you alone. Don't let that keep you away from this amazing and challenging course.
Other Thoughts: This course is also generally very busy in the afternoon and even more so in the evening, especially the weekend. Mornings are usually when I play to avoid crowds. With two people you can usually get in 18 in about an hour and a half with no one in front of you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 course with everything!

6/5/2008   7/5/2008
Review By: compn
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: one of the best courses i've ever played. mix of shade/sun, open and woods, elevation and flat. also has good tees and baskets with lots of blind and challenging holes. am tees are great for beginners and pro tees keep the challenges up to improve skills.

friendly people you can join up with to make the game go quicker. plenty of players to help you look for lost discs.

ability to start at hole 1/10 or 13 (at other parking area) if course has big groups. new / used discs for sale by individuals on most days.
Cons: loads of dead, downed and vandalized trees have changed the course and its obstacles. have to climb over a few of them on hole 9. extremely busy course with vandalized picnic tables, signs and trees. alcoholic beverages are NOT ALLOWED, patrolled randomly. large groups slow down the course sometimes.
Other Thoughts: lots of non-golf traffic in this course, dont expect a lost disc to stick around. police stake out hole 6 "party table" a lot... also saw the mounted police arrest someone for marijuana once. sometimes get clueless picnic people who think they can set up camp on hole 5.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.