Northville, MI 
Cass Benton Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: taboo8614 Hole #18 (Taken 4/2010)
4 / 629ft.   4 / 512ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee

Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Very fun!

5+    5/23/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: raaf13
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free!
Course is very well designed
Good placement of pro/am tees
Great variety in holes
Cons: Course isn't very clean, lots of litter, vandelism, etc. (But its a free course)
Tendancy to be muddy
Can be very crowded at times
Other Thoughts: This course is probably one of the best I have played. If a few minor things were fixed it would be amazing!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing place

5+    4/5/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: taboo8614
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
18 holes with lots of woods
Long drives
A really good challenge every time through
Needs more trash cans
Some of the trees could be cleared up
Can be hard if it's your first time
Can get quite crowded at times
Other Thoughts:
Could use some more brakes on 13-18
Could build some more holes on the other side of the street

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

My favorite far

2-4    10/25/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: futant462
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As a beginner this course has been the most challenging of the metro Detroit courses to play. I love the challenge of playing from the Long Tees even though I don't have a great arm yet. Hole 3 has the great view and is obviously the highlight, but I like Hole 15 the best due to the fun downhill shot into the woods. The first time I played it I set my drive down about 7 feet from the basket. Just walking through the course is great with all the wooded trails and the terrain changes. The last time I played (10/24) the leaves were in peak colors and made for a beautiful discing experience!
Cons: My cons have to do with the upkeep of the signs. Graffiti and missing signage are my main pet peeves when it comes to disc golf courses and I don't understand the mentality of the people who feel the need to ruin the details that make a course so special. When I see pictures of courses that have clean signs, brooms at the tee pads, covered sitting areas, mowed grass, etc. They may be small things compared to course design and location but if Cass Benton had those details in place it would be rated higher.

As far as the course being crowded, I haven't really experienced that but I can certainly understand. I've only played there on Sunday's around noon and I've always had good luck with moving through the course easily without much wait. I cannot vouch for the other days of the week.
Other Thoughts: I've only been playing disc golf for less than a year but the most fun I've had on a course has been the 4 times I've played here. The scenery, the challenge, the length, this is the best course I've far. Next summer my friends and I are traveling to Ludington to play the Beast, Leviathan, and finally Flip City. I cannot express how excited I am for that trip and I assume I will have a new favorite course after I return.

EDIT from 9/3/14: Flip City is my favorite course now :)

The signs at Cass Benton have really been terrorized by vandals which is a shame since it's one of the nicer courses in the area. Since 2009 I've played the course a few times and each time has been busier than the last. Try to go earlier in the morning and avoid Memorial Day!

I've re-rated the course a 3 because it's condition has deteriorated over time and the courses I've played since then have proven how beautiful a well-tended disc golf course can be.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Too many people

5+    11/3/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: bpatton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing the longs makes the course much more difficult.
The variety of the holes tests all aspects of your game.
Very convenient location.

This has been my home course on and off for about 5 years. It has changed every year because of the emerald ash borer knocking out many of the trees that "back in the day" made the course more difficult. For this reason, I consider this course to be the "standard", in the area, for judging whether or not you have the skills to make the jump to the long tees. This course is pretty easy to shoot under par on from the shorts. However, from the long tees, this course is a much more difficult experience. Shooting scratch from the longs is much more impressive that ripping off a -8 from the shorts.
Cons: The very convenient location makes for the most crowded course I have ever experienced in almost 11 years of playing. During peak periods, expect groups of 10+. Also, average wait time on any hole at any given time is about 10 minutes during peak times.

The vandalism is not as rampant as it used to be, most of the signs having been destroyed years ago.
Other Thoughts: The best times to come to this course are early afternoon/morning. Also, if you come on Friday, the course is much less crowded between 4 and 7. I think it has something to do with all the damn teenagers and alcoholics having better places to be horrible.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    9/11/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: Juglaz
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - great variety
- multiple pads
- good signage
- elevation changes

Cons: This is a great course, but I just wanted to add that people have a tendency to steal discs here. I played there once and had two discs stolen down fairway on the same day!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    8/31/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: drummerjunkie101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -- holes where always a good length
-- lots of fun obstacles
-- never any long grass, so its easy to find discs
-- water comes into play but you only have to worry on hole 2
--all around fun course
-- people bring thair dogs!
Cons: -- to go at 2:30 to 6:30 its gona be crowded
-- i think theirs a league on mondays
-- everyonce n awhile i find some people smokeing the magic tobbacoo openly, people please smoke it before or after your game.
-- i wached as a dog ran up and stole some guys disc, the guy was kinda mad but got it back(most of it).
Other Thoughts: --people complane about fallin trees, but i did not notice them at first, they are just more obstacles.
-- seriously! do you have to smoke the magic tobbacoo while playing, a lot of time i bring family.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Frusterating beauty

1    8/24/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 127  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great concrete tee pads
Baskets are quite solid
Great variety of long and short holes.
Excellent variety of tight wooded holes and wide open holes.
Signature hole three is and absolute stunner
Course plays more challenging than most courses
Layout design uses the overall size of the park well
Dual tees are a nice touch
Water comes into play on a few holes

Cons: Lots of navigation problems
1/3 of tee signs when I played were stolen.
Numerous downed trees in the forest
Vandalism issues, graffiti, trash
most of the second tees are relatively unimaginative, they don't really create a new shot or change the hole, they're just a bit shorter.
Other Thoughts: This course left an unfortunate bad taste in my mouth, playing the course for the first time without a guide was definitely a huge mistake. There is no indication of where the first tee is from the parking lot, having course maps would be a huge improvement. Some of the walkouts are completely unmarked and I needed the help of some kind park walkers several times. Part of this problem comes from the 6 or 7 tee signs that have been torn down. Honestly the course design warrants a 4 star review but my round felt more like a 3, I'll give the course a 3.5 because playing it again with others would've improved the experience greatly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/10/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: toxicgolfer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a excellent course with tons of shot variation, elevation changes, and gorgeous scenery. The designer of the course definetly used the land to its full potential. There are cement tee boxes on every hole, many with both pro and am tees and most of the holes have signs. Players of all skill levels will have a good time.
Cons: If it rains, some of the holes have a tendency to be very muddy. All together, the only reason this course is a 4-disc instead of 5 is due to the maintenance of the course. There are downed trees, grafitti, and some missing signs for the holes. As much as I would prefer not to pay for a course, this one could definetly use the money to keep up the course. Trust me, it would be worth it.
Other Thoughts: The bugs aren't that bad so the Cutter and OFF! aren't really necessary. Make a whole afternoon of the course and bring some lunch. Also, this course has a tendency to be very busy during the peak times on the weekend and during the afternoon times during the week so have some patience. Most people are pretty cool about letting you play through if you are fast though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Once great course - continues to deteriorate

5+    7/16/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 193  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Offers great disc play and a fun, well balanced round. Quite the complete course with all types of holes offering exceptional shot variety: several wooded holes, a few long and open fairways where you can really let'em rip, a few ace runs, uphill shots, downhill shots, fairways that bend right, others to the left, some go straight. Several greens on or near slopes can make you pay with a nasty roll if your putt/approach goes too far or misses to the wrong side (#2, #14, #16, #17). Many holes offer a few different lines, and a couple are suitable for a tomahawk or thumber if that's in your bag. Hard to believe this much shot variety in only 18 holes.

Signature hole is a beauty: 700 ft + from atop a large hill (maybe 40ft?) where wind often comes into play. Wide fairway can be somewhat forgiving, but if your drive gets away from you to L or R, you could end up with a lousy lie behind some trees or in some brush, with another 400-500 ft between you and the basket. River runs about 20 ft or so behind pin, so long approaches can fly or roll in. One of my very favorite holes anywhere in terms of being "extremely inviting to play."

Wonderfully laid out, with #9's basket near tee #1. Easy to play 9 or 18, or even start out at # 13, and come back to play 1-12 if the front part of the course is filled up when you arrive. Dual concrete tee pads on many holes.
Cons: Course is aging like a drug addicted rock star that used to be a headline act, but now screams silently for help. Vandalism, erosion, ashborer, storms and lack of maintenance have combined to create a situation where this course can never be any better than in fair condition. This once phenomenal course can only be considered very good at best today.

Nasty storms and ash borer have claimed numerous trees, several of which still block 9's fairway (not accessible with a cart at all) and hamper the return on 4.

Erosion is a problem on 5's short tee, as well as the pins on 14 and 17, and has all but claimed hole 2... I can't even describe how the basket is staying up, but it quite literally is no longer "in" the ground.

15's basket is only about 18 inches off the ground, and 2's is hanging on for dear life and about to tip over.

Cassholes have treated this course very, very badly, and it's hard to play a round without getting stuck behind a group of chuckers who couldn't care less if people are waiting behind them... and a lot worse. Even the fairly new tee markers have been grafilthied.

Once upon a time, each hole had great signage with each hole creatively and appropriately named, but vandals destroyed those long ago. Given the area's economy, I don't expect any government agency to step up cleaning efforts or refurbish a blessed thing.

Traffic can be heavy during peak hours, so you may need to be very patient on evenings and weekends. But during week days, it's not too bad.
Other Thoughts: If not for the ongoing efforts of wonderfully friendly non-playing local named Jerry, this place would be loaded with beverage containers.

When pristine, I'd have rated this course a 4.5, but sadly, it's simply too run down to merit such a rating in it's current state.

Updated 9/5/10: Even more trees have been lost to storms and what I'm guessing is ash borer. Several trees have been recently cut down to the right of the tee on on hole 12 (Swamp Monster) which make the tee shot quite a bit easier.

Updated 8/7/13: Erosion issues, broken baskets, and condition of some fairways. This once vibrant course is slowly sinking into an abyss from which it will likely never return. :(

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 El Casso

5+    7/23/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: rcd1649
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging course.
Excellent mix of long open holes and short technichal holes.
Course varies from thickly wooded to very open.
Overall one of the best designed courses in Michigan.
Cons: Almost always very, very crowded.
Seems to lack the disc golf etiquette found on most courses.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play would be a great addition here, but not sure if that is feasible in Hines Park. Overall an excellent course just be prepared to wait.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.