Northville, MI 
Cass Benton Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
4 / 597ft.   3 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Long Tee

Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    6/10/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -dual cement tees
-good variation between long, open holes and shorter wooded holes
-fun elevation changes
-great use of space in the park
-there are ace run holes that you can just as easily take a 4 on if you don't hit your lines
-a few elevated tees on open holes for those that have big arms and like to crush
-just as many short, finesse holes for those that like to work their discs
-decently descriptive tee signs, but they are rather simplistic
-fencing used to protect trees that get hit often
Cons: -park is not as well kept as it could be (lots of trash and bottles just laying around on the wooded holes)
-if you play on a weekend expect to come across some backups on the longer holes because there are large groups of teens that play and don't generally think about the courtesy of letting faster groups play through
-some of the tee signs have been stolen or have graffiti on them
-after a hard rain many of the wooded holes will become VERY muddy due to the fact that there isn't any underbrush to soak the water out of the ground
Other Thoughts: overall this is a very nice course that's definitely worth visiting. the largest problem with it is the fact that while the park as a whole is kept up pretty well, the disc golf course gets forgotten about when cleaning time comes. but this course has a hole for everyone and i know that you'll enjoy yourself if you go out of your way to visit it

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/25/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: CCADGL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. It is the best of all I have been too. It is very challenging as there is a wide variety of terrain- from long wide open hole, to holes that are consumed with trees to holes that have streams or rivers that traverse them. The best part is that it is free. You dont have to pay an enterance fee or a fee to play. It is not like any of those soft courses where the hole may curve and bend while being surrounded by fields. This has rolling hills, tight passages, and many many trees. it is truely a test of accuracy and skill.
Cons: There is vanadalism on all of the course signs as well on every park bench. Also it gets very crowded on weekday afternoons and weekends. I recomend going in the morning or early afternoon.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a great course to go to. There are some fallen down trees on holes 9 and 11 but it oonly makes it more interesting and challenging. I think it makes it better. Finally, there is a gr8 ice cream place just down the road off of 7 mile.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/6/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: LordSphinx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free
Good for all levels of ability
Cons: Trash: some of the holes are littered with it
Signs missing
Other Thoughts: Try to hit this course in the morning to beat the crowds. For a free course, it isn't bad, just ignore the trash.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course but needs TLC

5+    6/4/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: DaPiCkEL
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with mixed short and long holes. Hole #3 is by far my favorite, with its high elevation, wind is a factor on this hole most of the time, with a water hazard near the basket, don't over throw or you might have to get wet to get your disc. Hole #10 "Knock On Wood" is a very challenging and rewarding hole, if you can get though the very tight tree's on this hole. Hole #15 is a very steep downhill hole that will always have you wanting to throw a second disc to try to ace this hole. The 18th hole called "The Final Insult" is a long dog leg right that is always fun to play. I have been playing this course for quite a while, and I always keep comming back.
Cons: Graffiti, and trash are getting a bit out of hand at this course, lots of bottle poachers dumping trash cans out and not picking up after themselves. Lots of tree's have fallen onto the fairways and have yet to be cleaned up, especially hole #6. Very high traffic at peak play times.
Other Thoughts: I really wish people wouldn't trash this course, if your up for it, bring a garbage bag and chip in on cleaning up this course. I recommend getting there early to avoid the crowds, 8am is preferred, park starts to get really active after 10am, from lots of casual players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/20/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: RiverBandit
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass Benton has a great variety of holes. 6 hole in the open and mostly wooded holes create a challenge. Lots of shade, and benches provided for those days which you are waiting in line to tee off. Signs on most hole to make navigation a bit easier. Cement tee pads, Pro and Am tees on most holes, and Chainstar baskets.
Cons: The crowds at peak hours can be unbearable. Lots of people around the course causing a ruckus can sometimes get frusurating. Lots of vanalisim on every sign and bench, even the big rocks around the course have some spray paint on them. Over flowing garbage cans all around the park Make it a bit trashy. Over the years many trees have come down throughout the woods due to natural and un-natural errosion. Path between 4 and 5 could use some trimming.
Other Thoughts: This course was an extremley awesome course when it was first built but has slowly gone down hill over the years. Tons of traffic, seems to be really taking its toll on the course.

Found some people sleeping in a tent with their dog, next to a smoldering fire the other morning on the tee pad for Hole 11 the other morning. Whats that all about.

If you see people breaking down trees or vandalizing the course don't be affraid to call them out on it. It is a very nice course to have in this area and if we keep abusing it they might take it away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/20/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 87  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variation on every hole. Best hole is hole #3, beginning on a huge hill and ending with a tough approach against the river. I freaking love this course!! Every hole offers something different. Open fields, heavy woods, a creek, elevation changes (which is damn near impossible to find in the greater Detroit area). Concrete tees on every hole, pro and am tees for most, signs marked though vandalized. A MUST PLAY IN THE METRO AREA!!!!!
Cons: If it has rained in the past few days, don't wear shoes. Every hole is muddy. A few paths between holes have been blocked due to downed trees. A few blind holes. Course can be extremely busy during peak times/seasons, but well worth the wait.
Other Thoughts: ****UPDATE****
I've had to drop this down a peg from my original 4 start rating. I've been a bit of a homer on this review, because this is where I fell in love with the game. But the more courses I play, the more I realize this ranking doesn't hold up. This course, while still challenging and unique, has simply lost its luster. It isn't kept up; every time I play there is another rash of fallen trees, the lines have further grown in, and there is more vandalism to the course. Each time I play I feel like there are more holes in which I walk up to the tee and think, "this hole is a pain in the ass." So I've adjusted my ranking accordingly.

***2013 UPDATE***
New wooded posts w/hole number have been dropped in but of course some already have graffiti on them. Looks like some of the baskets have been spray painted as well, improving their visibility. It's a start, but not enough to get this course back to its former glory. Still one of my favourites.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/1/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: waterhyzerd
Played: 61  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 8/11/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety- This course has very good elevation, good variation in hole length ranging from under 250 ft to over 700 ft, open and wooded shots, water, and great scenery.

Good Park- no entry fee, lots of parking (although it does fill up at later times on most days), dual cement tee pads, and somewhat clean.

Good location- only about a five minute drive from 275 depending on traffic.

Cons: Mud- beware of the mud... not a good place to go early in the spring or after a good rainstorm. Holes 3 and 5 can get especially muddy.

Overcrowded- the best times to go are early in the morning (like before 12 pm) or not at all. Seems like kids are either skipping school more often now or people don't have jobs because the casual players start filling the place up in the early afternoons now. There really can be groups of 10+ people that make things frustratingly slow.
Other Thoughts: Cass Benton is a great place if you think you are a professional or going for your first time. The long tees offer a challenge in both distance and accuracy. The shorts are less demanding but will teach the beginners to think twice about going for it on some holes, risking an errant first drive. Either way, the course is both physically and visually appeasing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/18/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: BearWolf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice elevations. Nice Pro and Armature tees. Nice mix of woods and open holes. Garbage cans on some holes. Nice location. Good Park. The best in the area.
Cons: Many of the signs are broken or missing. Quite a bit of mud after the rain and during the wet season. Make sure to bring a change of shoes, you will get muddy. Even though there are garbage cans scattered through out the course people still manage to throw their trash on the ground. Hole 3 has a tendency to eat disc due to the river that runs on the left side.
Other Thoughts: I know you didn't put it there, however if you see some garbage laying on the ground pick it up and throw it away. Let's keep our parks clean and the environment safe. We all can play a role in preserving this sport


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    5/6/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: sonicsbeer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging, mostly wooded course. Does have some beautiful open holes thrown in as well. Parks nearby for the children, with pavilions and grills nearby for making a day of it.
Cons: Very popular course, which is not all-in-all bad it's just that the course can get backed up sometimes with too many people waiting to throw. Also - and I mean this - a few of the holes do not drain very well after the winter or a good rain, and they will get VERY muddy. Finally, there is really very little maintenance done on the course - other than mowing the grass - so some of the paths, and even a fairway or two, are crossed by fallen trees and tangled undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: I always feel at home on this course, and I think this course is directly responsible for vastly improving my game. Plus, it's free!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cass Benton

5+    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: atassac66
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of holes with good amount of elevation changes coming into play. Pro Tees provide a challenging but fun alternative for even lower skill levels.
Beautiful area!

Course is clean and well manicured with defined fairways on every hole. There a lot of short holes to lower your score, but also a number of wide fairways to rip long drives.

One of the top 10 in the Detroit area. A tradtional "metro park" type course without having to pay.
Cons: None to speak of as far as I'm concerned. Hole 14 "lizards folly" is a bit tough to score well on from the pro tees..
Other Thoughts: Two stores close to park sell large amount lof discs. Lots of Discraft plastic.

UPDATE - Course has had many trees cut down or struck down by lighting. It has become a little more rough around the edges. Trees are across the fairways in some cases as well as walkways. Still a great play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.